Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assaulted by a Gard - what should I do?

• 16-10-2011 9:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

First of all, I fully admit I was hammered last night - no denying that.

But I went up to Kildare St. when I was hammered to stage a stupid drunken protest. This came about after I had spoken to those stupid ****ing hippy ****s at the Central Bank - I was of the opinion that if they want to stage a protest they should do it outside Govt. buildings.
    I wasn't in any way being abusive toward anyone at all, but a member of An Garda Siochana took an immediate dislike to me.

Now don't get me wrong, I wasn't getting in anyone's face or any of that sort of carry on - I simply stood at the gates outside Kildare St (Govt buildings) and minded my own business. It was then that a Gard told me to, and I quote, 'fúck off'.

As admitted already, I was hammered, no denying it. But I tried to explain to him how I had a right to stand here and 'protest' if i wanted. But he was having none of that - him and his mates continued to tell me to **** off.

I told him again that "no, I'm staying here" and it was then that he became abusive - he grabbed me and put me in a headlock and tried to pummel me to the ground. I was too strong for him, however, so he was unable to get me on the ground. I struggled away from him and rang Pearse St. Garda Station to report him - they were having none of it; bunch of incompetent fools. I even have a slight black eye because of it.

Yes, I fully understand I should have gone home and not have taken the piss, but hindsight's a great thing. Regardless he assaulted me for no reason, and let's be honest it looks like he'll get away with it because they look out for themselves.

Does anyone have an opinion on what I should do?

And before the usual shite comes in - yes I was hammered and should have just gone home, but did that give him a right to assault me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

So you were acting the dick, getting cheeky with the guard and are shocked that he pulled you up on it?

Totally your fault. You should have done what you were told!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Sounds like you deserved it if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Sorry to hear that.of course he has no right to do that. Unless you have witnesses though i'd say you're at nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Kiera wrote: »
    Ok, now tell us what really happened....

That's exactly what happened.
    Poly wrote: »
    Sounds like you deserved it if you ask me.

You're entitled to your opinion. Just out of interest, why?

That's exactly what happened.

Sorry, edited my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

So you got hammered and tried to work up a mob at central bank? Then resisted arrest and ran away only to make a prank call to the Garda station?

So you were acting the dick, getting cheeky with the guard and are shocked that he pulled you up on it?

So are you defending that fact that he assaulted me by putting me in a headlock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

You claim to have the right to protest but you refer to the protesters as "stupid ****ing hippy ****s at the Central Bank"

My guess is that you were acting the gobsh1te and being abusive towards the genuine protesters, the Gardai have a responsibility to protect the protesters too you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yeah...the world would be a much better place if everyone just did what they were told. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

Wouldn't there be camera footage?

If it was at the gate there at Government Buildings- I'd say they have a camera on the gate.

You should look into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Report it to the Garda Ombudsman, they are "supposed" (Look up the Garda Shane Waldron fiasco) to investigate their own. There may be CC footage outside Kildare street to help your case.

Regardless of whether you deserved it or not cops are supposed to be above provocation unless it is in the extreme or self defence requires it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

did you get arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ringing Pearse St Garda Station is a waste of time. Did it a couple of months ago after a couple across the way were shouting at each other for an hour, thought it was gonna end in an assault (or worse) and they were disrupting the neighbourhood. All I got was, "Are you in the same Apartment block?" I told them I wasn't so came the reply "Ah well there's not much we can do!"

I was half hoping one of them killed the other one that night just to show up the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vinn

grow up and get over it
    it would not have happened to you if you had kept quiet and went home

Report it to the Garda Ombudsman, they are "supposed" (Look up the Garda Shane Waldron fiasco) to investigate their own. There may be CC footage outside Kildare street to help your case.

Regardless of whether you deserved it or not cops are supposed to be above provocation unless it is in the extreme or self defence requires it.

Finally some sense. Exactly, I even tried to reason with them by saying "hold on, you're supposed to be upholding the law, not assaulting people" but he was, of course, having none of that.

I can't admit this enough, but yes I was hammered. But it gives him no reason nor right to assault me.

So are you defending that fact that he assaulted me by putting me in a headlock?

You brought it on yourself tho. I dont believe for one min that what you have said is 100% true. You are not as innocent as you are trying to make out. Should have done what you were told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

I agree , you sound like a mick. What do you work at? Would you like to have to deal with drunken obnoxious dicks on Saturday night while working out in the cold and rain.
    If you have admitted how drunk you were already so you must have been slaughtered.
    By all means go out and have as many drinks as you like , but remember there are members of the public and people that work that don't drink every saturday night that have to deal with slopes like you.

I'd say he was trying to arrest you but failed. Report it to the ombudsman if you think he was wrong. Did you ring the station direct or use 999?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,061 ✭✭✭sticker

Agreed with above - you were acting the maggot - I can't see how you can read your op sober and try to defend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Jesus wept.

Drink gets a bad rap because of people like you. WTF were you thinking? Protest me hole, you made a complete cúnt out of yourself. I'd safely say your version of events and the facts are a million miles apart.

What you should do is drink Lucozade form now on, man the fúck up and go down and apologise. Ask for the cctv footage andd post it up to prove how hard done by you are. I dont believe a word of it.

Hard done by? Schlobbery at best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Gingersnaps

At least your new black eye suits your username. :D:D:D

Every cloud has a silver lining :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I was hammered to stage a stupid drunken protest.

I simply stood at the gates outside Kildare St (Govt buildings) and minded my own business.

I had a right to stand here and 'protest' if i wanted.

Yes, I fully understand I should have gone home and not have taken the piss,

I was hammered and should have just gone home

So you staged a drunken protest, while actually minding your own business, protesting, taking the piss and admit you were completely hammered and shouldn't have done whatever you did. Right...

You put 'protest' in quotes as if you weren't actually protesting, what on earth were you doing?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'm taking your post as the truth for what it's worth.

However are you sure you didn't react when told to 'fúck off' ?
    It takes a very very big man not to react after a statement like that

btw, to everyone else commenting here. Whether he did what he says he did or not, the Garda was wrong to grab him in a headlock if that's what happened so will ye ever stfu.
    just cos he 'deserved' it. The gardaí are not expected to work that way.

kfallon wrote: »
    Ringing Pearse St Garda Station is a waste of time. Did it a couple of months ago after a couple across the way were shouting at each other for an hour, thought it was gonna end in an assault (or worse) and they were disrupting the neighbourhood. All I got was, "Are you in the same Apartment block?" I told them I wasn't so came the reply "Ah well there's not much we can do!"

I was half hoping one of them killed the other one that night just to show up the Gardai

Gardai have absolutely no power in relation to noise complaints. And no way of getting into most apartment blocks.

You brought it on yourself tho. I dont believe for one min that what you have said is 100% true. You are not as innocent as you are trying to make out. Should have done what you were told.

That's your right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

vinn wrote: »
    grow up and get over it
    it would not have happened to you if you had kept quiet and went home

agree, seriously you should be ashamed of yourself complaining about this. you were acting the idiot after a few jars and got a deserved slap.
    I'd keep it to yourself.

You're not exactly Rodney King.

MagicSean wrote: »
    I'd say he was trying to arrest you but failed. Report it to the ombudsman if you think he was wrong. Did you ring the station direct or use 999?

He wasn't trying to arrest me - he was trying to get me on the ground to lay into me.

And I rang directly; I wouldn't dare to ring 999 for something like that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Nobody here will be able to convince you that you were clearly acting in a disorderly manner, and that it sounds like the Garda tried to RESTRAIN you to effect an arrest. You got away, so he made a judgment call to leave you go and stay where he was tasked.

You weren't punched, kicked, slapped or stomped. A headlock is a perfectly acceptable method of restraint in order to effect an arrest as it leaves no marks or bruises.

If you REALLY think you were assaulted, contact the Garda Ombudsman and waste lots of taxpayer's money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Sounds to me like it was the guard acting the pr1ck and he was on a complete power trip

bad2dabone wrote: »
    agree, seriously you should be ashamed of yourself complaining about this. you were acting the idiot after a few jars and got a deserved slap.
    I'd keep it to yourself.

You legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

MagicSean wrote: »
    And no way of getting into most apartment blocks.

How about the front door 'bell'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I even tried to reason with them
    I can't admit this enough, but yes I was hammered. .

In the same post?

Anyone who claims to be Hammered couldint negotiate with the lid of a toilet let alone a Garda!

LMFAO im starting to think he was trying to hold you up not down!

He wasn't trying to arrest me - he was trying to get me on the ground to lay into me.

And I rang directly; I wouldn't dare to ring 999 for something like that.

If someone is physically stronger and resistin arrest it's easier to put them on the ground to arrest them.

At least you didn't tie up an emergency line.

SV wrote: »
    I'm taking your post as the truth for what it's worth.

However are you sure you didn't react when told to 'fúck off' ?
    It takes a very very big man not to react after a statement like that

btw, to everyone else commenting here. Whether he did what he says he did or not, the Garda was wrong to grab him in a headlock if that's what happened so will ye ever stfu.
    just cos he 'deserved' it. The gardaí are not expected to work that way.

It takes a lot to set me off. Actually, I can safely say that, because it takes an awful lot, I never get riled up. This fact was evident last night and sticks...I did not react whatsoever.

In all honesty, it looked like he was trying to act the big man in front of his mates (he was a lone Gard on the gates, his mates were there chatting away to him, and it was then that he reacted).

The thing that's pissing me off is the fact that I actually did nothing - I was simply standing outside the Govt. building....I repeat, standing outside, that was all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

It takes a lot to set me off. Actually, I can safely say that, because it takes an awful lot, I never get riled up. This fact was evident last night and sticks...I did not react whatsoever.

In all honesty, it looked like he was trying to act the big man in front of his mates (he was a lone Gard on the gates, his mates were there chatting away to him, and it was then that he reacted).

The thing that's pissing me off is the fact that I actually did nothing - I was simply standing outside the Govt. building....I repeat, standing outside, that was all.
    That's not true, you said you were protesting. Explain.

kfallon wrote: »
    How about the front door 'bell'?

"Hi, gardai here, we're hear to investigate the shouting between you and your wife.

Piss off."

Not ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

The thing that's pissing me off is the fact that I actually did nothing - I was simply standing outside the Govt. building....I repeat, swaying outside, that was all.

fyp

kwalshe wrote: »
    I agree , you sound like a dick. What do you work at? Would you like to have to deal with drunken obnoxious dicks on Saturday night while working out in the cold and rain.
    If you have admitted how drunk you were already so you must have been slaughtered.
    By all means go out and have as many drinks as you like , but remember there are members of the public and people that work that don't drink every saturday night that have to deal with dopes like you.

Mods - personal abuse. No need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Yeah...the world would be a much better place if everyone just did what they were told. :rolleyes:

It would be a better place than if drunken idiots are just let do as they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

bad2dabone wrote: »
    I'd keep it to yourself.

too funny!

:D:D:D:D:D

Didnt you say you went up to kildare street because of something that was said to you at central bank plaza at the occupy dame street camp? must've gotten you awfully riled up to walk 15 minutes out of your way to "stand" quietly outside an empty building to protest

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Yes, I fully understand I should have gone home and not have taken the piss, but hindsight's a great thing. Regardless he assaulted me for no reason, and let's be honest it looks like he'll get away with it because they look out for themselves.

Does anyone have an opinion on what I should do?

And before the usual shite comes in - yes I was hammered and should have just gone home, but did that give him a right to assault me?

In this one instance, I hope the Gardai do "get away with it". You sound like an almighty prick. Give up the drink for awhile.

On the other hand, it'll be cool to tell the girls in work you got a black eye from fighting the "Gards" at the weekend!

Augmerson wrote: »
    In this one instance, I hope the Gardai do "get away with it". You sound like an almighty prick. Give up the drink for awhile.

On the other hand, it'll be cool to tell the girls in work you got a black eye from fighting the "Gards" at the weekend!

Again mods, personal abuse.

Cool? If you think that's cool then you need to cop onto yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

You were acting like a d*ck and you got a slap? Man up, ffs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

You feel that sting ? Yeah? That's pride fvcking with you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Again mods, personal abuse.

Cool? If you think that's cool then you need to cop onto yourself.

sarcasm01.jpg

You gonna respond to any of my posts? and as for crying to the mods you had no problem physically putting it up to a guard last night whats the difference standing up for yourself on an anonymous internet forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Report it too the Ombudsman, if you have witnesses then tell them.

The Gardai should not get as physical as you say he did unless you yourself were being overtly or physically aggressive yourself.

Even if you were being a dick and a loudmouth, they cannot do that.

coach23 wrote: »
    You gonna respond to any of my posts? and as for crying to the mods you had no problem physically putting it up to a guard last night whats the difference standing up for yourself on an anonymous internet forum

Where did I 'physically put it up to a Guard last night'? What are you on about?

And what would you like a response to?

I'm not standing for this double standard - if I ever get too riled up and abuse someone on here I get banned, so why aren't the ones abusing me here getting banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Report it too the Ombudsman, if you have witnesses then tell them.

The Gardai should not get as physical as you say he did unless you yourself were being overtly or physically aggressive yourself.

Even if you were being a dick and a loudmouth, they cannot do that.

agree with this, as for the comments you were acting like a dick and got a few slaps since when were the guards allowed to do this. granted his story might not be true but if it is the guards have no right to do this. what were they arresting him for?