Assaulted by a Gard - what should I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

MagicSean wrote: »
    And no way of getting into most apartment blocks.

How about the front door 'bell'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I even tried to reason with them
    I can't admit this enough, but yes I was hammered. .

In the same post?

Anyone who claims to be Hammered couldint negotiate with the lid of a toilet let alone a Garda!

LMFAO im starting to think he was trying to hold you up not down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

He wasn't trying to arrest me - he was trying to get me on the ground to lay into me.

And I rang directly; I wouldn't dare to ring 999 for something like that.

If someone is physically stronger and resistin arrest it's easier to put them on the ground to arrest them.

At least you didn't tie up an emergency line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

SV wrote: »
    I'm taking your post as the truth for what it's worth.

However are you sure you didn't react when told to 'fúck off' ?
    It takes a very very big man not to react after a statement like that

btw, to everyone else commenting here. Whether he did what he says he did or not, the Garda was wrong to grab him in a headlock if that's what happened so will ye ever stfu.
    just cos he 'deserved' it. The gardaí are not expected to work that way.

It takes a lot to set me off. Actually, I can safely say that, because it takes an awful lot, I never get riled up. This fact was evident last night and sticks...I did not react whatsoever.

In all honesty, it looked like he was trying to act the big man in front of his mates (he was a lone Gard on the gates, his mates were there chatting away to him, and it was then that he reacted).

The thing that's pissing me off is the fact that I actually did nothing - I was simply standing outside the Govt. building....I repeat, standing outside, that was all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

It takes a lot to set me off. Actually, I can safely say that, because it takes an awful lot, I never get riled up. This fact was evident last night and sticks...I did not react whatsoever.

In all honesty, it looked like he was trying to act the big man in front of his mates (he was a lone Gard on the gates, his mates were there chatting away to him, and it was then that he reacted).

The thing that's pissing me off is the fact that I actually did nothing - I was simply standing outside the Govt. building....I repeat, standing outside, that was all.
    That's not true, you said you were protesting. Explain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

kfallon wrote: »
    How about the front door 'bell'?

"Hi, gardai here, we're hear to investigate the shouting between you and your wife.

Piss off."

Not ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

The thing that's pissing me off is the fact that I actually did nothing - I was simply standing outside the Govt. building....I repeat, swaying outside, that was all.

fyp

kwalshe wrote: »
    I agree , you sound like a dick. What do you work at? Would you like to have to deal with drunken obnoxious dicks on Saturday night while working out in the cold and rain.
    If you have admitted how drunk you were already so you must have been slaughtered.
    By all means go out and have as many drinks as you like , but remember there are members of the public and people that work that don't drink every saturday night that have to deal with dopes like you.

Mods - personal abuse. No need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Yeah...the world would be a much better place if everyone just did what they were told. :rolleyes:

It would be a better place than if drunken idiots are just let do as they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

bad2dabone wrote: »
    agree, seriously you should be ashamed of yourself complaining about this. you were acting the idiot after a few jars and got a deserved slap.
    I'd keep it to yourself.

You're not exactly Rodney King.

too funny!

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

Didnt you say you went up to kildare street because of something that was said to you at central bank plaza at the occupy dame street camp? must've gotten you awfully riled up to walk 15 minutes out of your way to "stand" quietly outside an empty building to protest

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Yes, I fully understand I should have gone home and not have taken the piss, but hindsight's a great thing. Regardless he assaulted me for no reason, and let's be honest it looks like he'll get away with it because they look out for themselves.

Does anyone have an opinion on what I should do?

And before the usual shite comes in - yes I was hammered and should have just gone home, but did that give him a right to assault me?

In this one instance, I hope the Gardai do "get away with it". You sound like an almighty prick. Give up the drink for awhile.

On the other hand, it'll be cool to tell the girls in work you got a black eye from fighting the "Gards" at the weekend!

Augmerson wrote: »
    In this one instance, I hope the Gardai do "get away with it". You sound like an almighty prick. Give up the drink for awhile.

On the other hand, it'll be cool to tell the girls in work you got a black eye from fighting the "Gards" at the weekend!

Again mods, personal abuse.

Cool? If you think that's cool then you need to cop onto yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

You were acting like a d*ck and you got a slap? Man up, ffs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

You feel that sting ? Yeah? That's pride fvcking with you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Again mods, personal abuse.

Cool? If you think that's cool then you need to cop onto yourself.

sarcasm01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

You gonna respond to any of my posts? and as for crying to the mods you had no problem physically putting it up to a guard last night whats the difference standing up for yourself on an anonymous internet forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Report it too the Ombudsman, if you have witnesses then tell them.

The Gardai should not get as physical as you say he did unless you yourself were being overtly or physically aggressive yourself.

Even if you were being a dick and a loudmouth, they cannot do that.

coach23 wrote: »
    You gonna respond to any of my posts? and as for crying to the mods you had no problem physically putting it up to a guard last night whats the difference standing up for yourself on an anonymous internet forum

Where did I 'physically put it up to a Guard last night'? What are you on about?

And what would you like a response to?

I'm not standing for this double standard - if I ever get too riled up and abuse someone on here I get banned, so why aren't the ones abusing me here getting banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Sonics2k wrote: »

The Gardai should not get as physical as you say he did unless you yourself were being overtly or physically aggressive yourself.

agree with this, as for the comments you were acting like a dick and got a few slaps since when were the guards allowed to do this. granted his story might not be true but if it is the guards have no right to do this. what were they arresting him for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Where did I 'physically put it up to a Guard last night'? What are you on about?

And what would you like a response to?

I'm not standing for this double standard - if I ever get too riled up and abuse someone on here I get banned, so why aren't the ones abusing me here getting banned?

i agree here also, i got banned the other day for calling someone a fool so its the exact same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Well they can - being drunk in public is an offence -

Anyway OP i think you got lucky that you werent arrested -

And no point reporting it you havent a sigle chance of been taking serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Green Back

Did you drink anything before hand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

The OP absolutely shouldn't go to the ombudsman. Don't you think they have better things to be doing with their limited resources? OP should sleep off the hangover and stop crying about it

I wasn't aggressive at all, whatsoever. He told me to "**** off" and leave, but I said no.

I have a question, and I'm actually looking for an answer and not trying to be smart - did he have a right to say this to me, and by law should I have gone? (genuine question, I'd like to know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

If I was that "hammered" last night I don't think I'd be capable of being so articulate at 10.30am this morning. Just be thankful this didn't happen in a country where the police are a bit tougher and you would have been pepper sprayed / maced / shot / or never seen again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

m.j.w wrote: »
    what were they arresting him for?
    By the OP's own admission, being drunk in a public place.

The statute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

To be fair... the coppers have no right to lay a hand on him if he is making a non physical/violent protest. Go to the ombudsman and get the footage also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Offence 1: You were drunk in a public place which is an offence and you can be arrested for it.

Offence 2: You were told to leave the area by the guard and refused, which again is an offence. You can be arrested for this too.

Offence 3: The guard attempted to arrest you and you resisted which is another offence.

You then ran away like a coward.

I say ring pearse st station and report it, give them your name/address details and then wait for your summonses.

You weren't assaulted...although you sound like you deserved to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

m.j.w wrote: »
    i agree here also, i got banned the other day for calling someone a fool so its the exact same thing

i got a stiff warning over in the food forum for saying in reply to someone asking what to do with a tin of mackrel "chuck it"