Man told he can stay in ghost estate home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Would there a possibility of everyone on the estate funding the tarmac.

That was the plan. But also have sewer reports, etc before they will take over and costs mounted. we were happy to share cost with the council. Wouldn't it be better for the county as a whole to have a completed estate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Predalien wrote: »
    Isn't he actually saving the state money? If he was in rented accommodation he'd be getting rent allowance, this way he's just taking up a house no one else is going to live in. He may as well stay there until he gets a place on the housing list.

I'm heading down the shop now to steal some ****. Shure, no one else is using it, it's just sitting there on the shelf. I'm sure you'll all be there to back me up when it goes to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

donalg1 wrote: »
    Well the council won't take it over even if one light in the estate isn't working so they certainly won't do it if there is something like top coat needs to be done. The councillors will know this so will realise there is no point pursuing it with the developer gone now and especially not if there is no bond in place

We haven't had a meeting in a long time but there may be an issue with the bond. The council/planning allowed the development to go ahead without a bond in place. Is that illegal?

Gonna have to get some professional advice and setup another meeting. Just wish all residents would get involved rather than leave it to some :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

He should rent out the two spare bedrooms while he's at it. He could buy toys for his seven kids with the extra income.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

I'm heading down the shop now to steal some ****. Shure, no one else is using it, it's just sitting there on the shelf. I'm sure you'll all be there to back me up when it goes to court.

steeling a product and occupying an area are two different things,but hey dont let me stop you being petty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I agree with you completely!! But this is the society we are happy to live in.We have 400k+ unemployed and growing and still no protest from the people.

Protest for jobs? Do you propose the government hires 400k people to push paper around desks, and tax the knackers off the rest of us to pay their salaries?

Let's just nail the myth that government has any direct role in employment. The best they can do is create a stable environment that favours business, and stand back. Of course when businesses become too large and employ a lot of people, they become the enemy too. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

If you are going to make an analogy you should really use one that works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

MagicSean wrote: »
    A bit of confusion i think. The judge didn't give him permission to stay there. She simply made it a civil matter instead of a criminal one. The guy even said he would pay rent. Well done to him. He isn't harming anybody. This is what Nama should be doing anyway.

how?

he does not work.

Dotrel wrote: »
    He should rent out the two spare bedrooms while he's at it. He could buy toys for his seven kids with the extra income.

he could buy a skipping rope for the 29 year old to use in the garden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The man has skills and can do up the house yet is on disability?
    Yeah there is huge unemployment but he should be on jobseekers so, he seems well able to work
    Disability is for genuine cases, not for drug abusers

The system is broken

mikemac wrote: »
    The man has skills and can do up the house yet is on disability?

The system is broken

and its for depression like

if he is bad enough to be on disability for depression, i'm surprised he can even get himself out of bed, let alone do up a house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

but it must be done in some sort of ordered fashion, not with oul junkies jumping to the front of the queue so their 29 year olds have a garden to play in.

Never going to happen this is Ireland after all.

That being the case fair ****s to the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

Sooopie wrote: »
    I didn't mate :)

Was it his 3 bed? Nope. What has he contributed to society? Nothing.

He's yet another scrounger that you & me are paying for, and I'm kinda sick of it.
    ah the wrath of the rightous, or is it downright begrudgery, so unless one has a job and a morgage they are not supposed to live a reasonable life in this country

he could buy a skipping rope for the 29 year old to use in the garden

I was thinking a Nerf gun for the 29 year old. He's probably a bit too old for skipping rope.

Dotrel wrote: »
    Bloody scrounger.

OT (slightly diff scenario). Say I have a house bought and paid for and I decide to take off somewhere for a year and leave the place unoccupied. Does that give the right for some chancer to move in and live there? :confused:

there is a big difference in both instances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

You buy something, you own it

This lad didn't buy that house.

The house is worth feck all now, he's spent money doing it up, the alternative is to let it rot, nobody's queuing up to buy houses in ghost estates. If the owner can find a buyer then of course he should have the right to kick the guy out but in the meantime it's better to have someone maintaining the place. He isn't stealing from anyone, simply using & maintaining a house which would have further fallen into disrepair as time went on. He's doing the owner a favour as the house will be in a more sellable condition in later years.

The bitterness & hatred on this thread against the guy is simply disgusting. He clearly has made mistakes in his life & has psychological problems but nevertheless is trying to be industrious & make a project of restoring a house that otherwise would have just fallen apart. I'd rather have him as a neighbour than many of the bile-filled snobs on this thread.

flutered wrote: »
    ah the wrath of the rightous, or is it downright begrudgery, so unless one has a job and a morgage they are not supposed to live a reasonable life in this country

begrudgery, no

I have no problems with anyone wanting to live a reasonable life in this country, if they try and make a go out of their life in some way.

this lad has not

there is a big difference in both instances

Well I would hope there is (and that they'd be seen as such in the eyes of the law).

Custardpi wrote: »
    The house is worth feck all now, he's spent money doing it up, the alternative is to let it rot, nobody's queuing up to buy houses in ghost estates. If the owner can find a buyer then of course he should have the right to kick the guy out but in the meantime it's better to have someone maintaining the place. He isn't stealing from anyone, simply using & maintaining a house which would have further fallen into disrepair as time went on. He's doing the owner a favour as the house will be in a more sellable condition in later years.

The bitterness & hatred on this thread against the guy is simply disgusting. He clearly has made mistakes in his life & has psychological problems but nevertheless is trying to be industrious & make a project of restoring a house that otherwise would have just fallen apart. I'd rather have him as a neighbour than many of the bile-filled snobs on this thread.

where'd he get that cash?

after some hard grafting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

He should be shot with a ball of his own 5hite

Eleganza wrote: »
    Disability benefit is great. No need to turn up to sign on and pretend to be seeking work. No one forcing you to go on any training courses of any description that you have no interest in becuase you are a shiftless waster.
    Entitles you to other social welfare benefits; Would you like a Medical Card? Why thank you.
    it is extreamly difficult to draw disability of any type, you have to get doctors, consultants, then social welfare referees to all agree that you are going to recieve it, then one has to present themselves for examination every five to six months.

PK2008 wrote: »
    He should be shot with a ball of his own 5hite

in his garden

These houses should have been sold years ago at market clearing rate and a proportion of them would have found their way in to the hands of honest hard working young families looking to get a start in life.
    As long as squatters occupy this house then it can't be sold on and money repaid to NAMA which is the public of Ireland.[/QUOTE]d

the delevopers and the bankers would not sell as the taxpayer was going to bail them out
    honost hardworking familys are quite scarce during a recession
    the banks are not giving morgages simples
    please come up wth a reasonable arguement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

where'd he get that cash?

after some hard grafting?

What business is that of yours? Just because someone is on social welfare does not make them sub-human. There's bugger all jobs out there, if you know of any available that would suit him why don't you contact the papers who can pass on the details to him? Like I said he's made mistakes in his life but is trying to establish a more stable environment for himself. Regardless of your hatred of unemployed people & those with psychological issues the fact remains that this guy by living in & maintaining the house is preserving it's value far better than letting it rot & be taken over by rats & pigeons. Practically, it's the best option for the owner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I like one of the comments after the story:
    This fellow, by occupying and improving an otherwise vacant proprerty has contributed to the overall wealth of the nation. The word "Entrepreneur" literally means "To enter and take", so by my reckoning, this fellow is one of those Entrepreneurs that the governement is always crying out for.

LOL

These houses should have been sold years ago at market clearing rate and a proportion of them would have found their way in to the hands of honest hard working young families looking to get a start in life.
    As long as squatters occupy this house then it can't be sold on and money repaid to NAMA which is the public of Ireland.
    d

the delevopers and the bankers would not sell as the taxpayer was going to bail them out
    honost hardworking familys are quite scarce during a recession
    the banks are not giving morgages simples
    please come up wth a reasonable arguement.[/QUOTE]

Banks should start to give morgages out.

Would there a possibility of everyone on the estate funding the tarmac.
    not unless they get a rather large loan which the banks are not giving.

What business is that of yours? Just because someone is on social welfare does not make them sub-human. There's bugger all jobs out there, if you know of any available that would suit him why don't you contact the papers who can pass on the details to him? Like I said he's made mistakes in his life but is trying to establish a more stable environment for himself. Regardless of your hatred of unemployed people & those with psychological issues the fact remains that this guy by living in & maintaining the house is preserving it's value far better than letting it rot & be taken over by rats & pigeons. Practically, it's the best option for the owner.

as a tax payer i think it is my business

excuse me?

I have no hatred for unemployed people :rolleyes:

spare me your self righteous bleeding heart rants.

not unless they get a rather large loan which the banks are not giving.

Im sure the pickeys could lend them a hand