Dogs in shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

I personally wouldn't like animals near food products - I'd be uncomfortable with that alright, for hygiene reasons but otherwise I completely agree with you.
    come on now,food doesent taste the same without dog hair in it,in the UK its changing quickly,most places are now aware that if they want people to come into their shops and cafes,they need to provide for people with dogs,my son noticed that in the lake district{cumbria] that many of the pub restaurants have doggy menus ,ie doggy bone 50p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Pets don't care if they are in a store, they aren't customers, they want to be outside.

I'd like to second this. Plus, I can't see why anyone would want to bring their dog clothes shopping, or around the local Superquinn. Last thing I want to do when I'm out shopping is have to mind a (my) dog.

if you live in a area like me,blackpool [UK]you will notice the large number of people with dogs,the older generation,and those who are on a day trip to the coast,and i dont know if any of you have noticed, the economy is in a bit of a mess,many of the shops and businesses can no longer be that selective,when walking my bullie ,shopkeepers have come to tell me,to bring in the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I carry my dog, FiFi, around with me in my man bag the whole time when I'm shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

The only animals in shops should be in the meat section. Dog owners are sad weirdos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Dogs are capable of pissing anywhere, we had a family dog that pissed on the alter during a Mass.
    Shenanigans - sorry i just don't believe that!
    That happens alright, when I was a kid our dog followed us to mass a few times and once he peed on the pulpit during a reading, then when one of the alter boys tried to get him out the dog started barking at him, my mother was too embarrassed to do anything so she whispered at us to pretend he wasn't ours and just sat tutting and shaking her head with the rest of the congregation. :)

CiaranC wrote: »
    The only animals in shops should be in the meat section. Dog owners are sad weirdos.

It's a well known fact that only psychopaths with mammy issues dislike dogs.

TheZohan wrote: »
    It's a well known fact that only psychopaths with mammy issues dislike dogs.

I dont dislike dogs, I dislike dog owners. Gibbering, socially retarded idiots that they are

i prefer dogs to some people,[look in the mirror]

getz wrote: »
    i prefer dogs to some people,[look in the mirror]

You should take one to dinner in a restaurant so. Like they do in France.

I dont dislike dogs, I dislike dog owners. Gibbering, socially retarded idiots that they are

Maybe you should sleep it off.

You should take one to dinner in a restaurant so. Like they do in France.
    i did,your mum said hi

This is where my mummy does her shopping

http://puppybeef.com

nom nom nom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

The dog with the girl was not a dog in training - it was a *** *zu/small type dog and it was in a childs arms as she was walking around the supermarket.
    I believe a puppy in training is required to wear the vest indicating that he is in training. I know of a lady near me that trains labs for the blind.

I must say, I have maybe once encountered a blind person with a dog on Limericks main streets and never in a supermarket - I would make allowances for them but that doesn't make dogs any less scary to those who have a fear.
    It's never come up for my brother in the proper situation - it's always been (and it's happened maybe four times in the last three years) someone bringing a dog they shouldn't be into a shop - and for some reason they make a beeline for my brother.

I have never, ever encountered a Gardai dog or a working dog as described above - the only time I have ever encountered a working dog was in Australia and it was a beagle dog trained to search for both drugs and food.

My brother would never be able to avail of the dog assistance program as his fear is overwhelming to him and he is a giant of a man. We have him, as I said before, at a stage where he calmly edges past a dog tied up outside but no way could he handle some irresponsible parent parading their child around a shop with their new puppy! He was badly bitten as a child and will never get over it - though we have tried on many occassions it has mostly ended with my brother injuring himself and others trying to get away.

Also, like I said before, I know of many many adults who do not have autism or similar that would be equally as terrified of dogs. I am also aware that dogs are being used for less these days as technology is being rolled out that is far more beneficial and reliable. The lady that trains the dogs told me that her group train less dogs now than they ever did.

Like I also said before - dogs have no place in a store - most especially if it's only a pet - like this debate is about! Not everyone is madly in love with animals and I'm generally of the opinion that your pet doesn't really want to be inside a store and it's only really for the benefit of the owner. I have never encountered a working dog inside a store - not even once.

Bottom line - if yr dog isn't a working dog - then no, you shouldn't be bringing it into a store/restaurant/supermarket - there is no need and it causes others stress. It's very insensitive to others.

What your saying makes no sense what so ever?

"Pet dogs shouldnt be allowed in shops because my brother has a fear of them" but then "Guide dogs should be allowed in shops because they are needed".... Your brother still has a fear of them? It kinda makes your reason for not wanting pet dogs in shops mute. Unless your brother is not afraid of guide dogs that is?

Bottom line is there are more dog lovers than autistic lovers.... I blame mercury rising personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

But you may keep your Horse outside :rolleyes:

http://www.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/coyj.jpg?f22064

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Pussy is much tastier, but I guess you've never had any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

Pussy is much tastier, but I guess you've never had any.

CiaranC you have just been owned!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

hightower1 wrote: »
    What your saying makes no sense what so ever?

"Pet dogs shouldnt be allowed in shops because my brother has a fear of them" but then "Guide dogs should be allowed in shops because they are needed".... Your brother still has a fear of them? It kinda makes your reason for not wanting pet dogs in shops mute. Unless your brother is not afraid of guide dogs that is?

Bottom line is there are more dog lovers than autistic lovers.... I blame mercury rising personally.

what a disgusting comment to make. are you like this with all disabled people?

i have a nephew with autism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Gal pal

come on now,food doesent taste the same without dog hair in it,in the UK its changing quickly,most places are now aware that if they want people to come into their shops and cafes,they need to provide for people with dogs,my son noticed that in the lake district{cumbria] that many of the pub restaurants have doggy menus ,ie doggy bone 50p

That is friggin adorable!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Laura_lolly87

PucaMama wrote: »
    what a disgusting comment to make. are you like this with all disabled people?

i have a nephew with autism.

so do I, but I'm not getting offended by something I've read on the internet. Don't these things personally.

if it was a racially motivated remark they would be banned or at least reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

mapaco wrote: »
    my dog comes everywhere with me but i would hate to annoy people by bringing her anywhere except pet shops-so i dont go to town as much as i'd like-too many break ins to chance leaving the mite at home.
    its a pity cos shes tiny, spotless, quiet and far more well behaved than alot of the little monsters that parents traipse into shops.
    in germany the dog gets served 1st in some restaurants......how cool is that?

they serve dogs, ****ed if I'm eating dog....

if it was a racially motivated remark they would be banned or at least reported.

?????WTF? "racially motivated remark"?.... so you think of autistic people as an entirely seperate race? Thats Discriminatory isnt it? Seeeing as you view people with a disability as a seperate race as you?
    <random stranger used "racisim accusation".....backfire, its not very effective>

And on my second point that there are probably more people who like dogs more than people who like autistic people what I mean is go to a group of people and ask would you like to spend the evening with a puppy or a person with autisim and see how many people take the puppy? I am sorry BUT the truth is more will want to spend the evening with a puppy :o

Oh and BTW, my brother of 9 has severe downs syndrome but yet I dont feel the need to get all uppity about it and (fail) attempt to accuse people of discrimination if they use facts. The fact of the matter is most people wouldnt want to mind my brother for a day over the option of minding a puppy for the day.... its just a plain fact and not a personal dig at him, me, people with downs , his race (caucasian btw, autistic or downs syndrome wasnt a race last time we checked) or the entrity of the human race itself. Get a frickin grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

almaocarroll, If the fear was a rational one you'd have a point, but it's not. The vast majority of dogs are perfectly friendly. Your argument for excluding dogs from a number of public places is because some people have an irrational phobia of them, which really isn't a particularly strong argument. As long as the dogs admitted are well trained and don't bother other customers, they should certainly be allowed inside cafes or smaller shops. My dog is very friendly and impeccably clean (this is her, for reference), and there really is no rational reason why she shouldn't be allowed in shops or on buses.

Dogs are an accepted part of everyday life in many countries. They're allowed on public transport in nearly all European cities, and allowed in certain cafes and restaurants, and it's quite sad that they aren't similarly permitted in Ireland. Also, as a previous poster pointed out, most people won't want to take their dogs with them all the time, so even if the laws were relaxed somewhat there wouldn't be a sudden influx of dogs in all shops, it would just give their owners a bit more choice.

hightower1 wrote: »
    ?????WTF? "racially motivated remark"?.... so you think of autistic people as an entirely seperate race? Thats Discriminatory isnt it? Seeeing as you view people with a disability as a seperate race as you?
    <random stranger used "racisim accusation".....backfire, its not very effective>

And on my second point that there are probably more people who like dogs more than people who like autistic people what I mean is go to a group of people and ask would you like to spend the evening with a puppy or a person with autisim and see how many people take the puppy? I am sorry BUT the truth is more will want to spend the evening with a puppy :o

Oh and BTW, my brother of 9 has severe downs syndrome but yet I dont feel the need to get all uppity about it and (fail) attempt to accuse people of discrimination if they use facts. The fact of the matter is most people wouldnt want to mind my brother for a day over the option of minding a puppy for the day.... its just a plain fact and not a personal dig at him, me, people with downs , his race (caucasian btw, autistic or downs syndrome wasnt a race last time we checked) or the entrity of the human race itself. Get a frickin grip.

you seem to have missed the "if" in my original post. :rolleyes: as in if he/she had made a remark about someone from a different race, and not someone with a condition :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes. Most likely. But this was a couple of years ago, when people were more laid back and not utter prolapses like they are now.
    I'd have to agree with you here R. There appear to be a lot more handwringers around these days.

Personally I'd not allow dogs in shops(other than pet shops if they so decided on an individual basis). I can completely sympathise with almaocarroll's situation with her brother on this point. It's nada to do with rational fear or not. The chap is mentally disabled. Rational isn't coming into it for him. He really can't stop this fear and even with heavy duty professional help(which the chap has probably been under all his life) and the long term support of his family, it's unlikely he's going to progress on this point.

To be fair to him and his family, he's not expecting a dog in a place where no dogs should have reason to be. Hey lets imagine you've an unholy horror of dentists. You sit down for a nice meal in a cafe and out of the kitchen doors bursts a bloke in a white coat, who flies over to you, knocks you back in your chair and proceeds to fiddle around in your mouth with a set of pliers, telling you it's gonna cost thousands. You'd have a shítfit. Damn right. Well that's likely along the lines of how her brother feels. Pure terror.

Now if he was a grown man and otherwise compos mentis and was flipping out like Penelope Pitstop at the sight of a small dog or puppy, I'd be invoking this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh6pZQX22CQ (NSFW) and suggesting he(or she) harden the fcuk up. I knew one nonce who as a grown man had a "phobia" about worms. Yea worms folks. Worms FFS.

Restaurants and the like I'd say the same. As folks have pointed out you do see this more on the continent and fair play, but it would be my opinion too many Irish people are of "I'm ringing Joe Duffy to complain" variety. Even among dog lovers.

Hell with my last dog I got static in parks from some of them. He was a very big dog, but he was always muzzled and under control and on leash, yet I had some of these windowlickers happily come up to me without a by your leave to and state that I was being a danger to others. All too often their own dog was either one of those near fatally inbred flat faced hyperactive rats on a string, off lead and snapping at kids or an similarly large dog not on the "bad list" also unmuzzled and off lead causing ructions. Needless to say my usual retort was a polite and quiet two words, involving sex and travel. No way would I have brought him into a shop though. In that case any complaint would be on solid ground.

Public transport I'd say yes myself. Providing the dog in question was under full control, relaxed and well behaved and if a big dog muzzled. Of any breed BTW. A big lab can cause as much damage as a German Shepard if it takes a mind to. A mate of my cousins was badly bitten as an adult (requiring stitches and follow up surgery on his hands) by a black labrador.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Im loving this thread, though it does make me a bit worried for when I return to Ireland. Here on the continent, in my local pub there is a dish of water on the ground for any dog who wants it, including the 2 regulars(dogs) who come in with their owners. Also a few of the restaurants I go to, have pedigree chum on the menu which you can order for your dog, but it wont appear on your bill. I have seen dogs on the tram, the bus, the train, in shops, supermarkets. I have never seen one pee anywhere inappropriately.I have never seen one bark for longer than a minute or two. One did chew on the end of my trousers once. Its owner apologised profusely, but I was just amused.

I also love the "dogs in supermarkets/public transport is unhygenic" argument. Having worked in a supermarket, a supermarket I have since never been into, its amazing I still shop in any of them because they are filthy places, that just appear clean. (Hint: They clean the floors, but they never, ever clean the wheels of the trolleys) and lets face it public transport at its best is hardly spick and span is it? I have seen a handful of dogs on Dublin Bus and the Luas, and never seen one pee or vomit on either. I have seen humans do both. Yes I have seen one dog try to get off with another, but that happens on the nitelink and the late night Luas all the time(more so the red line for some reason).

you seem to have missed the "if" in my original post. :rolleyes: as in if he/she had made a remark about someone from a different race, and not someone with a condition :rolleyes:

Are you serious? Talk about diggin a biggr hole!

OK... so the word "if was so pivitol to your remark and despite the fact that it was blatenly saying I was "racist" as you put it.... your saying I could be reported IF I made a racist remark, why stop there? Why not list ever reason why any poster could every be reported?

Discussing illegal activities
    Personal abuse
    Selling goods or services

The list goes on and on. FFS, you were simply trying to call me racist incorrectly and caught rotten using the term completely incorrectly and factually strung up to boot.

In relation to the actuall thread here.....:rolleyes:...... where every you find human you should expect to find dogs. Plain and simple , as guide dogs are allowed everywhere a human is allowed to go. If you have a crippling fear of dogs for whatever reason you just have to get over it or stay indoors forever more - or would you prefer we ban blind people and their guide dogs from shopping centers too? The point of people having pet dogs in shops is mute because whether they are allowed or not is negated by the fact that guide dogs are allowed everywhere, the only thing it would change is the frequency that bumping into a dog in a shop would occur.

Also, dogs are mans best friend, cute, smart, hate cats and generally are awesome so bring on dogs everywhere! Wish I had one of those sweet office jobs like the states where folk can bring their dog to work.

I live in a nice aparment block in the penthouse and pay a pretty penny for it, we have tennants and neighbours who pay less and have dogs living there / bringing them in and ou the whole time but in no way is this an issue for me. Im sure if I complained / threatened to leave over it there would be hassle but why? Their dogs, the worst they do is bark a bit and look cute in th elevator. Hell, its a great way to get to know your neighbours living in a block as its natural to want to start petting a dog / talk to the owners. If I had the choice of a neighbour who loved loud music or dog owners I know which I'd be pickin thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

Wibbs wrote: »

To be fair to him and his family, he's not expecting a dog in a place where no dogs should have reason to be. Hey lets imagine you've an unholy horror of dentists. You sit down for a nice meal in a cafe and out of the kitchen doors bursts a bloke in a white coat, who flies over to you, knocks you back in your chair and proceeds to fiddle around in your mouth with a set of pliers, telling you it's gonna cost thousands. You'd have a shítfit. Damn right. Well that's likely along the lines of how her brother feels. Pure terror.

I perfectly understand how terrifying phobias can be for people, I have one myself, but I don't for a minute think that that other people should be inconvenienced (particularly not by restrictive legislation) because of my irrational fears.

I think people who are strongly against dogs in shops/on transport are people who have either never owned a dog themselves, or just had a badly trained and poorly groomed family dog, that just lived in the garden and was brought for walks now and again. Honestly, dogs can be trained to control their bladder and if well kept don't smell at all. If dogs are well groomed and trained there is no rational reason why they shouldn't be allowed in shops/on buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Jockey123

Well as the person who initialised this thread (and a newcomer to boards.ie wow you guys have time on your hands.not to mention issues in spades!)
    I recently opened a shop and intend to bring my better smaller half in with me on rainy days when she can't hang out in the garden.Shop will be animal friendly just no bad manners from man or beast.