Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dogs in shops

• 14-10-2011 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

Just wondering if people think it's ok to bring your dog into shops.I'm getting some strange looks.Legally you can't bring a dog into a premises selling/serving food..But going into the bank?Heh I think it would take the numbing mindlessness out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

It's a cultural thing. In Ireland+UK it's not the norm. On the continent people bring their dogs everywhere tho, even into restaurants, and noone cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You'll probably get some funny looks, but I don't see a problem as long as the dog is calm and well behaved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Jockey123 wrote: »
    Just wondering if people think it's ok to bring your dog into shops.I'm getting some strange looks.Legally you can't bring a dog into a premises selling/serving food..But going into the bank?Heh I think it would take the numbing mindlessness out of it.

You could jam forks in your eyes. I think guide dogs get in most places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

Funny you should mention it. Earlier I was in a shop and some dude brought his dog in... to be fair it was a pet store tho :pac:
    I was actually thinking to myself that it would be gas if they actually said "you cant bring your pet in here sir" (knowing he was buying stuff for said dog)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

If the dog is on a lead and is calm can't see anything wrong with it. Some people are afraid of dogs and that would be a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

A blind man came into our shop one day with hits guide dog, stood in the middle of the shop floor and started to spin the dog by its lead, over his head, around and around and around!

My Mam (God love her) asked him what on earth he though he was doing, to which the blind man replied.

Just having a look around

*calls taxi*:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

I've seen many a dog in a shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Rather dogs then babies/children and that includes restaurants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

hondasam wrote: »
    Some people are afraid of dogs and that would be a problem.

They're called pussies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

What kind of shops? Apart from guide dogs, they tend to be banned from all clothes shops. I would agree with that, racks of clothes are pretty much perfect height for them to piss on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Just wondering if people think it's ok to bring your dog into shops.

It's not a very nice way to refer to your gf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Carry a long white stick and a pair of dark shades and you can get Fido into almost anywhere. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Jockey123

Why in the name of God would a dog piss on clothes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Why in the name of God would a dog piss on clothes?
    Dogs are capable of pissing anywhere, we had a family dog that pissed on the alter during a Mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

Throw a pair of sunglasses on and no problem, you can bring that dog anywhere you want.

Warning - if you do this in a car you may get pulled over

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I see it from time to time - to be fair most shops don't explicitly state you can't bring your dog in with you. Most dogs take up less room than an enormous pram with shopping bags hanging out of it anyway, so I know which I'd rather see :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

It would be nice to bring my dog into the shop as I don't like leaving her outside, someone might(and have tried to in the past) try to take her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

seanbmc wrote: »
    It would be nice to bring my dog into the shop as I don't like leaving her outside, someone might(and have tried to in the past) try to take her.

That's no way to address your gf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭mapaco

my dog comes everywhere with me but i would hate to annoy people by bringing her anywhere except pet shops-so i dont go to town as much as i'd like-too many break ins to chance leaving the mite at home.
    its a pity cos shes tiny, spotless, quiet and far more well behaved than alot of the little monsters that parents traipse into shops.
    in germany the dog gets served 1st in some restaurants......how cool is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Pets don't belong in public spaces, beyond walking them around the block. It annoys me to see and smell people bringing dirty animals on public transport particularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

If they are small and well behaved I don't mind too much but if the owners are a nightmare than out!

A lot of dog owners aren't aware that not everyone likes dogs particulary the smell/greasy feel of the coat or are they think their pooch is wonderfully behaved when it isn't. Dogs will pee anywhere!

I wonder how fair on the dog is it to walk it through a crowded town with loads of foot and vehicle traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Pets don't belong in public spaces, beyond walking them around the block. It annoys me to see and smell people bringing dirty animals on public transport particularly.

To be honest most pets are better behaved than kids. Probably more hygienic too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭EmacB

I was doing German classes in Germany a while ago and one of the teachers brought his dog into work everyday. It followed him everywhere, into the elevator and into class rooms. That dog was awesome. I wish our country was more like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I was in a takeaway once in my home town and this person came in with two alaskan malamutes (look like huskys only bigger and in my opinion have a thicker coat). I could see the hairs floating round from them and the dirt from their paws. ive had dogs and i didnt need to bring them into takeaways or restaurants. its disgusting.

also i never had that problem with children. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Dogs are capable of pissing anywhere, we had a family dog that pissed on the alter during a Mass.

Shenanigans - sorry i just don't believe that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I used to bring my dogs into the local shop all the time when they were pups, I'd be walking them and they're way too small to leave outside on their own ( and they're purebred's, wouldn't risk leaving them tbh) so i'd carry them into the shop. The shop assistant used to love them, would keep me chatting for ages so she could play with them.

Yeah...she got fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I dunno, as much as I love dogs I don't think they should be in clothes shops or restaurants, just because some owners clearly don't groom their dogs as often as they should. Plus my Jack Russell just sheds hair constantly no matter how much I brush her, so if I were to bring her into a shop and she rubbed off a black dress inadvertently then it'd be covered in white hairs.

Plus some people have allergies.

The pissing everywhere thing is total bollocks though, unless you just never bothered to train your dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

That dog could be that persons partner, have some consideration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 almaocarroll

Okay I rarely post in these forums but when I saw this I had to give you another point of view here:
    My brother has Autism - he absolutely LIVES for Saturday when he goes with me and my dad to Aldi shopping and sometimes to the crescent to see some CDs and get some ice cream.

HE IS TERRIFIED OF DOGS!!!!

A few weeks ago someone thought bringing their puppy around Aldi in their arms was an altogether fantastic idea - (I personally think it's disgusting bringing animals around food but that's a story for another day) - Que my father and myself trying to hide the fact that the girl had a dog with her from my brother, failing at it as he's six foot 4 and sees EVERYTHING and then my brother screaming at the top of his lungs in absolute terror in the middle of a busy store.

I have a bruise on my shoulder from him clinging to me as we just left the trolley and led him out of the store - while everyone watched.
    He always thought of inside as his safe zone and had just about gotten to the point that he can edge past any dogs tied up outside the store (as long as I block said dog from view) He was so upset all day long and was irritated in until the Monday after in his work.

Now, he's on edge every time he goes to Aldi and to the Crescent in case he sees the girl with the dog! His one day he looks forward to every week is ruined. It'll take a long long time before he can be relaxed again.

I know a hell of alot of people who don't have Autism that are terrified of dogs too and probably would have reacted the same way as my brother, had that happened to them. It's not on - there's no need for your dog to be in a store - it's not cute, not everyone likes animals, not everyone likes the idea of animals being near food or items they want to buy, and as you can see from my story, sometimes it can be a horrible experience to someone who isn't expecting it.

Keep it in mind in future, yeah? Not everyone likes your pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I'd be more afraid of the dogs that are behind the counters serving in some shops than the 4 legged kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

Okay I rarely post in these forums but when I saw this I had to give you another point of view here:
    My brother has Autism - he absolutely LIVES for Saturday when he goes with me and my dad to Aldi shopping and sometimes to the crescent to see some CDs and get some ice cream...

Keep it in mind in future, yeah? Not everyone likes your pet.

Not everyone likes your autistic brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

bowsie010 wrote: »
    Not everyone likes your autistic brother

Aren't you clever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

If someone is blind or disabled they are likely to bring a dog into a shop with them but seriously though once the dog doesn't shyte or bark or cause an obstruction or piddles and behaves then I am ok with it. Often see dogs on a bus like ha ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I know a hell of alot of people who don't have Autism that are terrified of dogs too and probably would have reacted the same way as my brother, had that happened to them. It's not on - there's no need for your dog to be in a store - it's not cute, not everyone likes animals, not everyone likes the idea of animals being near food or items they want to buy, and as you can see from my story, sometimes it can be a horrible experience to someone who isn't expecting it.

I'm sorry about the situation with your brother but there will always be dogs in shops. Guide dogs have been around for a long time but in the last decade or so the uses of assistance dogs have multiplied significantly. There are dogs for the deaf, alert dogs for epileptics and other seizure alert dogs, dogs that assist wheelchair users, dogs that assist people with other physical disabilities, psychiatric service dogs, hypo alert dogs for diabetics and even assistance dogs for autism.

Beyond that there are many other working dogs that will be in public places, sniffer dogs sniff; fire hazards, money, explosive devices, people, firearms, blood, bodies and drugs. It's not that unusual to see the Gardaí dog units, with protection/crowd control dogs either. Along with all of those dogs are people who work at socialising pups to be trained as all emergency service and assistance dogs. For all you know the pup in question was in training, as otherwise it's unlikely to have been allowed in a supermarket.

I doubt more than a couple of weeks go by that most people aren't in close proximity to a working dog in public. That's only going to increase as more and more medical uses for dogs are discovered and rolled out. As difficult as it is with your brother you can't expect to bring him out in public and for him to never see a dog indoors. I know it would be far, far from easy but you should take this as a sign that as long and hard a road as it will be, your family need to teach him to overcome his fear. I'm not sure if it's the type of thing they can help with but http://www.autismassistancedogsireland.ie/ might be able to offer some advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

ooooooo Animals are bastards, animals are pricks...there only good for eating and fetching ****ing sticks!!

i'm miserably drunk!!

iguana wrote: »
    I'm sorry about the situation with your brother but there will always be dogs in shops. Guide dogs have been around for a long time but in the last decade or so the uses of assistance dogs have multiplied significantly. There are dogs for the deaf, alert dogs for epileptics and other seizure alert dogs, dogs that assist wheelchair users, dogs that assist people with other physical disabilities, psychiatric service dogs, hypo alert dogs for diabetics and even assistance dogs for autism.

Beyond that there are many other working dogs that will be in public places, sniffer dogs sniff; fire hazards, money, explosive devices, people, firearms, blood, bodies and drugs. It's not that unusual to see the Gardaí dog units, with protection/crowd control dogs either. Along with all of those dogs are people who work at socialising pups to be trained as all emergency service and assistance dogs. For all you know the pup in question was in training, as otherwise it's unlikely to have been allowed in a supermarket.

I doubt more than a couple of weeks go by that most people aren't in close proximity to a working dog in public. That's only going to increase as more and more medical uses for dogs are discovered and rolled out. As difficult as it is with your brother you can't expect to bring him out in public and for him to never see a dog indoors. I know it would be far, far from easy but you should take this as a sign that as long and hard a road as it will be, your family need to teach him to overcome his fear. I'm not sure if it's the type of thing they can help with but http://www.autismassistancedogsireland.ie/ might be able to offer some advice.

The dog with the girl was not a dog in training - it was a *** *zu/small type dog and it was in a childs arms as she was walking around the supermarket.
    I believe a puppy in training is required to wear the vest indicating that he is in training. I know of a lady near me that trains labs for the blind.

I must say, I have maybe once encountered a blind person with a dog on Limericks main streets and never in a supermarket - I would make allowances for them but that doesn't make dogs any less scary to those who have a fear.
    It's never come up for my brother in the proper situation - it's always been (and it's happened maybe four times in the last three years) someone bringing a dog they shouldn't be into a shop - and for some reason they make a beeline for my brother.

I have never, ever encountered a Gardai dog or a working dog as described above - the only time I have ever encountered a working dog was in Australia and it was a beagle dog trained to search for both drugs and food.

My brother would never be able to avail of the dog assistance program as his fear is overwhelming to him and he is a giant of a man. We have him, as I said before, at a stage where he calmly edges past a dog tied up outside but no way could he handle some irresponsible parent parading their child around a shop with their new puppy! He was badly bitten as a child and will never get over it - though we have tried on many occassions it has mostly ended with my brother injuring himself and others trying to get away.

Also, like I said before, I know of many many adults who do not have autism or similar that would be equally as terrified of dogs. I am also aware that dogs are being used for less these days as technology is being rolled out that is far more beneficial and reliable. The lady that trains the dogs told me that her group train less dogs now than they ever did.

Like I also said before - dogs have no place in a store - most especially if it's only a pet - like this debate is about! Not everyone is madly in love with animals and I'm generally of the opinion that your pet doesn't really want to be inside a store and it's only really for the benefit of the owner. I have never encountered a working dog inside a store - not even once.

Bottom line - if yr dog isn't a working dog - then no, you shouldn't be bringing it into a store/restaurant/supermarket - there is no need and it causes others stress. It's very insensitive to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

While I sympathise with your brother who has a fear of dogs, dog owners cannot live their lives based around the fact that others may have a fear of dogs. If that were the case, we'd never leave our houses!

Of course, places where you wouldn't expect a dog to be (supermarkets, clothes stores, etc) could be expected to remain dog-free but I've had kids scream bloody murder at my Spaniel puppy in a park (during ridiculously restricted "dogs may be off leash" hours) and I have no sympathy there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

srsly78 wrote: »
    On the continent people bring their dogs everywhere tho, even into restaurants, and noone cares.

There would be outrage here. A full hours worth on Liveline. Joe...........

While I sympathise with your brother who has a fear of dogs, dog owners cannot live their lives based around the fact that others may have a fear of dogs. If that were the case, we'd never leave our houses!

Of course, places where you wouldn't expect a dog to be (supermarkets, clothes stores, etc) could be expected to remain dog-free but I've had kids scream bloody murder at my Spaniel puppy in a park (during ridiculously restricted "dogs may be off leash" hours) and I have no sympathy there.

Well, I never said anything different to what you said now did I? I only mentioned indoors - in places where you wouldn't expect a dog.
    My brother doesn't get to go to our local park because there is a chance he may encounter a dog but I'm not complaining about it - it's a fair enough situation.
    A supermarket/store/restaurant should be a no go place for a dog! I have no fear of animals and I wouldn't like to see animals around stores/restaurants etc animals belong outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

BT don't just allow dogs in their shop, they actually employ them!

Well, I never said anything different to what you said now did I?

Well then why pick a fight if we are not disagreeing?

I was just replying to your post. I was making sure that your grievances weren't projecting onto my issue. You were adding my issues to your outside park issue. Which I don't have an issue with.

Grand, so. Neither of us have an issue then. I agree that dogs shouldn't be in supermarkets and you agree that they can be in parks. :)

This has been a full of win conversation :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

I was just replying to your post. I was making sure that your grievances weren't projecting onto my issue. You were adding my issues to your outside park issue. Which I don't have an issue with.

I understand you issue but unfortunately you are going to run into a little resistance on this one. Toy dogs have been bred for hundreds of years specifically for the companionship they offer. They are bred to live indoors and interact with humans. They are not one bit out of place in the scenario that you describe. Actually its common place.

Its really an unfortunate scenario but you could not say its wrong for people to have their pet dogs somewhere like a shopping center. It's not wrong, but it is obviously a big inconvenience for you.

What is wrong though is the ****wits who have these dog and give them to their kids, and they would not have one clue how to look after and care for the dog. They just carry the poor feckers around showing them off and ... etc etc Could go on about this for a while ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

When I used to work in the video store in my hometown, my dog at the time, a black labrador collie, would follow me down to work or show up outside the shop after a while.

She wouldn't go home at all, and would wait outside until I finished work which could often be up to 9 hours. On colder days, I used to let her lie inside the door. On really Baltic days, she would lie behind the counter. She was in plain sight the entire time, and was one of the most placid creatures you would come across.

I never once got a complaint, as she wasn't in the way, was happy out just lying in the corner, and would let people pet her if they wanted or ignore them otherwise.

I have no problem with dogs in shops, as long as you're not having to climb over them to get in the door or stinking up the place.

k.p.h wrote: »
    Its really an unfortunate scenario but you could not say its wrong for people to have their pet dogs somewhere like a shopping center. It's not wrong, but it is obviously a big inconvenience for you.

What is wrong though is the ****wits who have these dog and give them to their kids, and they would not have one clue how to look after and care for the dog. They just carry the poor feckers around showing them off and ... etc etc Could go on about this for a while ..

I personally wouldn't like animals near food products - I'd be uncomfortable with that alright, for hygiene reasons but otherwise I completely agree with you.

When I used to work in Xtravision, my dog at the time, a black labrador collie, would follow me down to work or show up outside the shop after a while.

She wouldn't go home at all, and would wait outside until I finished work which could often be up to 9 hours. On colder days, I used to let her lie inside the door. On really Baltic days, she would lie behind the counter. She was in plain sight the entire time, and was one of the most placid creatures you would come across.

I never once got a complaint, as she wasn't in the way, was happy out just lying in the corner, and would let people pet her if they wanted or ignore them otherwise.

I have no problem with dogs in shops, as long as you're not having to climb over them to get in the door or stinking up the place.

Why was your dog not on a leash - is that not the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Why was your dog not on a leash - is that not the law?

Cause I wouldn't have one on me. Like I said, she'd follow me down to work or appear after a while. That dog was very much her own free spirit.

And no, before you ask, I never thought of bringing a lead with me to work on the off chance she'd show up.

Saw nothing online about a law for that particular scenario, guess it's down to the individual and the nature of the dog.

Cause I wouldn't have one on me. Like I said, she'd follow me down to work or appear after a while. That dog was very much her own free spirit.

And no, before you ask, I never thought of bringing a lead with me to work on the off chance she'd show up.

Saw nothing online about a law for that particular scenario, guess it's down to the individual and the nature of the dog.

Well, I believe the law is, if you're away from home and have no intention of bringing your dog properly with you, then you lock the dog somewhere where it can't roam freely. Like inside a fence. Pets aren't allowed to be "Free spirits" - what an irresponsible owner you are!
    Did you clean up after the dogs leavings during the 9 hour period? If you didn't bother with a leash, I can only assume you didn't bring a baggie either or a water bowl.
    You do know that anyone who encountered your dog was totally within their rights to call someone of authority to take your dog away.