Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

mars bar wrote: »
    That Mexico v Brazil game was last night it seems! That gives Chicharito some chance of being back for the game...

Was wondering about that, thought Thursday was very late to have an international. That means Lucas will be back in good time for 'pool too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Vidic missed pen.
    That's mad is he their first choice penalty taker??

And boy what a bad penalty it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,997 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

And boy what a bad penalty it was.

Twas as lame an effort as Berba peno in semi final of FA Cup back in 2009.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Twas as lame an effort as Berba peno in semi final of FA Cup back in 2009.

:eek: surely not! that was the worst penalty in the history of time ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,997 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

:eek: surely not! that was the worst penalty in the history of time ever!!

Saw it on my break on SSN and ya it was bad.

But I still think her legend and I am sure Fergie told him to miss it so he have summer off;);)

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Another commercial deal...
    Manchester United has extended its reach into the Middle East after reaching a deal to sell match footage to United Arab Emirates mobile phone firm Du.

The two-year deal is worth around 2 million pounds ($3 million), with United providing club content to the Dubai-based company’s 5 million mobile customers.

United has capitalized on its global appeal by signing regional deals that have pushed commercial revenue beyond 100 million pounds ($165 million) each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,253 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

The Glazers are shrewd...

Such a pity about the debt though. They'd be THE perfect owners otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

The Glazers are shrewd...

Such a pity about the debt though. They'd be THE perfect owners otherwise.

Have to agree, they are really upping their games and I am quite impressed. Hopefully in the next 5yrs we will see significant gains on the reduction of our debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

"Roy Keane:Legend of the Premiership" is on ESPN classics @ 2235.

United v. Liverpool FA cup '99 is on at 2200.

"Roy Keane:Legend of the Premiership" is on ESPN classics @ 2235.

United v. Liverpool FA cup '99 is on at 2200.

one of the best channels imo..some great documentaries at times.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

The United Liverpool match is the game I most look forward to every year. I'd say it's due to the majority of friends growing up followed the Pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭aperture_nuig

killwill wrote: »
    Have to agree, they are really upping their games and I am quite impressed. Hopefully in the next 5yrs we will see significant gains on the reduction of our debt.

this. I've been firmly against them in the past, but they've been churning out the business deals lately, which is great. however, they wouldn't be getting half as many except the team are doing/did so well in the last year or so.

Keno 92 wrote: »
    The United Liverpool match is the game I most look forward to every year. I'd say it's due to the majority of friends growing up followed the Pool.

Ya in my primary class there was 11 Liverpool supporters and 5 United and that was it, no other teams supported. Used be great craic.

EVENFLOW

this. I've been firmly against them in the past, but they've been churning out the business deals lately, which is great. however, they wouldn't be getting half as many except the team are doing/did so well in the last year or so.

I'm more surprised they didn't start doing this earlier to be honest. United have always been successful and would have gotten these deals anytime in The Glazers reign.

I just love the way they don't meddle. They stay out of it and understand that Fergie is the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Trilla wrote: »
    miss u :(
    He'll be back.

He's an athlete and a Winner, and when he realises they won't be winning much over there due to Barca, he'll end up moving on, or hopefully back to us.

And even though this won't happen, a man can dream :pac:

I used to love the Ronaldo songs alone.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

Congrats on the promotion to Mod Mars Bar! Only noticed it now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Average-Ro wrote: »

I second this! Only saw it there! Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

I'm more surprised they didn't start doing this earlier to be honest. United have always been successful and would have gotten these deals anytime in The Glazers reign.

I just love the way they don't meddle. They stay out of it and understand that Fergie is the man.

I guess it just takes time. They took over in 2005. Richard Arnold became Commercial Director ~end of 2007. Commercial team moved to Pall Mall, London in ~2008, then moved to Mayfair Feb 2011 to expand its operations.

Add to that the emergence of potential revenue from the technological side i.e. such mobile operator deals weren't really plausible before the last couple years.

I think they have made good progress on the commercial side in the amount of time they've been in charge.

Average-Ro wrote: »

Thank you, just happened in the past hour or so!
    Keno 92 wrote: »
    I second this! Only saw it there! Congrats!

Thank you! :D
    TheTownie wrote: »
    I guess it just takes time. They took over in 2005. Richard Arnold became Commercial Director ~end of 2007. Commercial team moved to Pall Mall, London in ~2008, then moved to Mayfair Feb 2011 to expand its operations.

Add to that the emergence of potential revenue from the technological side i.e. such mobile operator deals weren't really plausible before the last couple years.

I think they have made good progress on the commercial side in the amount of time they've been in charge.

Jaysus, you know a lot about this! You make good points too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

Whose up for some trolling in the Limerick IT forum:pac:

Congradulations Mars Bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

She is going to cut her teeth in the LIT forum then

372444993.jpg

She will be pwning trolls in the soccer forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,831 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Fair play mars bar, a name I was surprised not to see mentioned on the nomination thread.

Dunno why you'd inflict it on yourself but best of luck :)

TheTosh wrote: »
    Whose up for some trolling in the Limerick IT forum:pac:

Congradulations Mars Bar

Please don't, I'm still reading through all of the Mod-ly stuff!
    She is going to cut her teeth in the LIT forum then

372444993.jpg

She will be pwning trolls in the soccer forum!

:D Can I steal that picture for my avatar now that I can change it?!
    keane2097 wrote: »
    Fair play mars bar, a name I was surprised not to see mentioned on the nomination thread.

Dunno why you'd inflict it on yourself but best of luck :)

Thanks but I'd rather stay clear of the soccer forum when it comes to modding. Soccer, YLYL, After Hours and Politics and the Religion forums are fora I wouldn't touch with a barge pole!

congrats Mars Bar or should that be best of luck;).

From just going by posters I read, you will be fair and good mod.

EVENFLOW

Congrats mars, and to be honest I am a little embarrased I never even thought of you earlier when I made my suggestions. You will be fantastic and best luck. What a game to cut your teeth in this weekend :D

Wait guys!

I'm not a mod in the Soccer Forum! :pac:

Sorry mars, read the posts on my android loan phone (iPhone is sick) and not able to full screen things yet. Just presumed
    it was soccer forum, sorry about confusion.

Sorry mars, read the posts on my android loan phone (iPhone is sick) and not able to full screen things yet. Just presumed
    it was soccer forum, sorry about confusion.

Easy mistake to make to be fair. That android touch site leaves something to be desired...