People who say Hiya should be shot

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

I say fúck off when i see people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    I say fúck off when i see people

You're a people person, aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I shopped in Aldi once.

I went in for a loaf of bread & came out with a tin of Russian sardines and a snorkel.

You think thats bad..I went into Army Bargains to buy a pair of hiking boots and came out dressed as a Cossack General..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I agree, this Hiya person should be shot, ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Ahoy hoy

Anyone remember the tv chat show presented by former Spurs goalkeeper Ian Walkers wife Suzi?

It was called HIYA!

?

?

Thought not. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

dulpit wrote: »
    There is a girl who works with me, she's our bookkeeper, and she is on the phone quite a bit throughout the day. She constantly says "Hiya", and it is driving me round the bend :mad:

Another person in this shambles of an office starts internal emails with Hiya. :mad::mad:

Is there anything that can be done to rid us of the plague of such a stupid salute?

Happin cuzzzzz

Story cnuts

Well shamm

Hiya not so bad compared to that lot op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭pcardin

stovelid wrote: »
    Is this the kind of stuff that occupies your mind during the working day?

No wonder the country is fucked.

People that say this should also be shot. There is at least few in every thread that like to vomit this line. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I can see the headline now...

"DISGRUNTLED OFFICE EMPLOYEE GOES ON KILLING SPREE AT KARATE WORLD FINALS" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

No-ones says Hiya

Everyone says 'Well how are ya'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Bookkeeper/bookkeeping are one of the few (only?) words in the English language with 3 double letters in succession.

Hai...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

hiya jesus you have little to worry you in your life
    get a life mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

you should start saying 'well' to everyone, that it the most contagious greeting. I've always said it (from Tipp where it's what everyone says) and the boss has caught on, and so has my polish colleague :)

no more hiya from herself then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

OP is from Cork afaik...if I had to listen to some yang wan from Cark saying "hiiii-ya" every time the phone went, I'd probably be up for murder at this stage. Even the most mundane utterances can become brain gratingly annoying if you end up hearing them every 2 min throughout the work day...
    Only advice I can offer is picture her as Miss Piggy belting Kermit everytime you hear said greeting and smile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

We say well too, im in Waterford but lived in Cork for 14 yrs, they did not get the idea of saying well at all.

Hiya is a very normal greeting, I dont see the problem at all maybe you just hate your job/collegues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭jsd1004

dulpit wrote: »
    There is a girl who works with me, she's our bookkeeper, and she is on the phone quite a bit throughout the day. She constantly says "Hiya", and it is driving me round the bend :mad:

Another person in this shambles of an office starts internal emails with Hiya. :mad::mad:

Is there anything that can be done to rid us of the plague of such a stupid salute?

Hiya
    I hate people who forget full stops. They should all be brought out and whipped. Smileys are not full stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Paulor94

People who make pointless threads like this should be shot :)

oh also HIYA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

and dont get me started on those whinging feckers going on about full stops, jeez their the worstest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Wha about ye???

Standard greeting in Belfast 1980's:D Still use it myself on occasions:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Pandora2 wrote: »
    Wha about ye???

Standard greeting in Belfast 1980's:D Still use it myself on occasions:D

http://images.wikia.com/coronationstreet/images/a/a8/Jim_McDonald.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

Myself and the security guard in work always ask each other "How are you?" when passing but never wait to find out the answer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 sara_q

Hiya's alright by me, but "Cheers" for thanks...aaaarrrrggghhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I used to work in a call centre in Australia - I had to greet people with "How you going?" It's flipping impossible to say! I ended up sounding like Joey out of friends and I'm a girl!
    "Hey, how YOU going?"

I'd have given my left boob to be allowed say Hiya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I think the OP just doesn't like that girl. Whatever she said enough times he would prob hate.

Alriiiii boiiiiiiii

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Left boob.