Public urination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

4leto wrote: »
    As for urine been sterile it is and it isn't Urine directly from the bladder is normally sterile. However, on its passage from the bladder to the outside world, urine becomes contaminated by bacteria normally present in the lower urethra and external genitalia plus it acts as a base for any existing bacteria to grow on as in a wet urine sodden pavement.

Public toilets must be the most toxic places on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Seachmall wrote: »
    Public toilets must be the most toxic places on earth.

Not really as long as they are kept clean regularly they should be ok.

4leto wrote: »
    Not really as long as they are kept clean regularly they should be ok.

Streets are cleaned regularly, more regular than some of the toilets I've been in (think Oxegen).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭phoenix833

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

One Clare Businessman's solution to public urination.
    Shock awaits tipplers who urinate in Ennis lane

Written by Dan Danaher
    Clare Champion Newspaper

A NASTY electric shock awaits Ennis pub goers who decide to urinate on the doorway of a well-known music shop, a local businessman has warned. Fed up of removing foul-smelling urine, faeces and vomit outside Custy’s Traditional Music Shop in Cooke’s Lane every Monday morning for over three and a half years, proprietor John O’Connor insists that he is left with no option but to take radical action to safeguard his business.

Mr O’Connor has installed a device that transmits a painful electric shock for men and women who decide to relieve themselves in the recessed entrance to his premises behind a posted sign on the wall stating, “electric current in operation, urinate at your own peril”.

After building up a large number of local, national and international customers over the last 17 years, including his three-and-a-half year stint in Cooke’s Lane, Mr O’Connor is determined to protect his business in the middle of an economic downturn.

The proprietor has also vowed to place a photograph of anyone engaging in anti-social behaviour outside his premises on a billboard, which will be situated in a prominent position in nearby O’Connell Street to inform the general public what is happening.

He said that he will also send photographs taken from new closed circuit television cameras to the local gardaí, which can be considered as evidence in any subsequent court prosecution.

Having confronted a few perpetrators in the past, he stressed that he would vigorously pursue anyone who engaged in this shameful activity in the future.
    He admitted that sensor security 500 watt lighting and older cameras hadn’t proven to be enough of a deterrent because the transgressors felt they would get away without punishment.

“I have had enough and I am not going to tolerate this type of behaviour any longer. This is a societal issue because the majority of these are average working people who feel they have the right to urinate outside private property.”
    He claimed it happened when people who go outside pubs to smoke, can’t be bothered to go back inside to use the toilet.

He said, “I attach no blame to publicans who can’t force patrons to use their toilets, particularly when they leave the premises. There is no excuse for this type of behaviour.

“The smell of bodily exertions is horrendous some Monday mornings and extends up the length of the lane. It isn’t conducive to attracting new or existing business. It is illegal to urinate, defecate or vomit on private property and it is doesn’t say much for society that some people think this is acceptable.

“Although I am a ratepayer, I am not blaming Ennis Town Council, which has spent a lot of money improving the overall appearance of Cooke’s Lane. I don’t blame the gardaí either, they can’t be on the spot all the time. I want to do my business without having to put up with foul smells,” he said.

http://www.clarechampion.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=506:shock-awaits-tipplers-who-urinate-in-ennis-lane&catid=74:general&Itemid=60

Electricity won't travel up urine.

A lawsuit will be filled if I "trip" on it this weekend.

If he posts my picture in public libelous charges will be pressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

They should have it the same as in Holland. With the outdoor urinal

amsterdam-outdoor-urinal.jpg

MrsD007 wrote: »
    One Clare Businessman's solution to public urination.

Just asked my boss, that was taken down a couple of years ago after the Gardai told him he was making himself vulnerable to all types of criminal charges.

Apparently the urine was going under the door and stinking up the shop.

Still the most stupid thing I've heard recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Just asked my boss, that was taken down a couple of years ago after the Gardai told him he was making himself vulnerable to all types of criminal charges.

Apparently the urine was going under the door and stinking up the shop.

Still the most stupid thing I've heard recently.
    Yes, it was taken down but he succeeded in getting lots and lots of publicity for his business, the story was covered locally, nationally and by Sky and the New York Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Electricity won't travel up urine.

A lawsuit will be filled if I "trip" on it this weekend.

If he posts my picture in public libelous charges will be pressed.

Where to start.

FIrstly, don't piss in his doorway. It's nothing short of sickening. Would you do it when the shop is open, with customers inside?

As for the current travelling through urine, it will indeed. Mythbusters did a thing on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Sitting in a bar down stairs below street level I happen to look up and see an attractive man walking on the street so a few seconds later I looked up and there he was his pen!s in hand urinating while we all got a full view! I didn't know whether to laugh or cry I was actually shocked shame it put me right off..

He later came into the bar all I could think of was ''he never washed his hands'' ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

OP - In the czech republic it is socially acceptable for men and children to urinate in public, in fact a lot of websites warn people of this as it is not common in other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Anyone else ever used one of those weird street toilets they have in Amsterdam ?

Not very hygienic (no place to wash hands) not much good if one needs to take a dump and I cant imagine them being much use for those female types :pac: but its still a "dam" sight better than the public facilities in most Irish towns (i.e. non fu©king existent).
    SeantheMan wrote: »
    They should have it the same as in Holland. With the outdoor urinal

amsterdam-outdoor-urinal.jpg

The ones Im on about are a different design. Theyre kinds more wraparound and semi enclosed if you know what I mean. Still feels a bit wierd having ones dong out pissing away in the middle of a busy street though but if one is desperate enough what the heck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

smash wrote: »
    You see lads do it all the time but I've only ever seen a girl doing it once. On the side of the M50, jeans down and squatting in full view of passing cars.

DURTY !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

syklops wrote: »
    Where in the Czech Republic are you? I'm in Brno.
    :eek: Snap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Where in the Czech Republic are you? I'm in Brno.

Both you walk outside your house right now!

sdeire wrote: »
    FIrstly, don't piss in his doorway. It's nothing short of sickening.
    Who said I was going to pee in or on his shop?
    Would you do it when the shop is open, with customers inside?
    What type of question is that? How is it even relevant?
    As for the current travelling through urine, it will indeed. Mythbusters did a thing on it.
    They busted that due to urine not being a continuous stream, although stated it was plausible if the distance was short enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Your also in Brno?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Yay or nay?

This came to mind today because I saw someone doing it and nobody gave a crap.

Let me explain. I live in the Czech Republic. I was walking home from work, along a fairly busy road through the city I live in. It wasn't in the city centre, it's more of a business park area. So I was walking a long the road and on the other side, I saw a car pull over in an entrance to a disused factory. He pulled over to the side of the road, got out and walked in maybe two metres. Then, he went for a piss. Now, it's a busy road but the speed limit can't be more than 50. There were dozens of cars going past, none of them slowed down or anything. Even a police car drove past when there was a break in the traffic. They MUST have been able to see the car pulled over with the guy standing in a bit with his hands in front of him, he wasn't hiding. They didn't give a ****.

This isn't the first time I've seen it here. In parks, there's always people popping off to quieter areas of the green to piss and come back. Again, noone bats an eyelid. When children need to go, they tend to go anywhere there's a drain nearby or in the square where a tree has been planted in the street. Kids even do it for crapping.

I've seen something similar in Spain, if kids need to go, they go pretty much anywhere. If adults need to go, they'll go in a bush or something.

Now, I'm not sure as to the law in Spain but I figure in the Czech Republic, if the police drive right past the guy and don't stop, then it can't be a serious offence.

I know back home, it is and in the States and in Brazil, you can get done for "indecent exposure" if you're caught.

So, my question is, what do you think? Should we be punished if there's no jacks nearby and we badly need to go? Or is it just filthy?

I'm somewhere in the middle. I think if you're desperate to go and there's no public jacks around, it shouldn't be a problem but I feel uncomfortable if people are just being lazy about it and going for it right in front of you. I don't see any harm in doing it in a bush or in a quiet corner.

Actually I live in the czech republic and nowhere near as many people piss in public as at home.
    I've also lived in Dublin city centre where women piss on the street on Friday/Sat nights.
    People here don't do it much, and if they do it's very rare and must be an emergency.

You probably seen it once and decided that was it.

Leftist wrote: »
    Actually I live in the czech republic and nowhere near as many people piss in public as at home.
    I've also lived in Dublin city centre where women piss on the street on Friday/Sat nights.
    People here don't do it much, and if they do it's very rare and must be an emergency.

This is getting silly. Are you in Brno too? Or Prague? Or elsewhere?

Did I open open boards.cz this morning by accident?

This is getting silly. Are you in Brno too? Or Prague? Or elsewhere?

Did I open open boards.cz this morning by accident?

Bydlim v Praze ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Bizarre píss story right here (not quite in public, but very, very odd) :eek:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056398608

Your also in Brno?
    Yep, I live down by the train station. You?
    Leftist wrote:
    No, I've seen people pissing in public a few times here and a few when I was in Prague before this. This incident, where a guy was pissing while the police drove right past him, highlighted how acceptable it is here.
    Leftist wrote:
    Bydlim v Praze ffs.
    Don't you mean 'Bydlím v Praze'?

There's no way I'm adopting fadas and changing words in sentences because they're feminine/locative or anything like that.

Rozumis?

Yep, I live down by the train station. You?

No, I've seen people pissing in public a few times here and a few when I was in Prague before this. This incident, where a guy was pissing while the police drove right past him, highlighted how acceptable it is here.

Just off Moravska Namesti.

Let me guess, IBM?

Leftist wrote: »
    There's no way I'm adopting fadas and changing words in sentences because they're feminine/locative or anything like that.

Rozumis?
    Rozumím, ale nesouhlasím.
    skylops wrote:
    Let me guess, IBM?
    No, just an English teacher. Yourself?

Rozumím, ale nesouhlasím.

No, just an English teacher. Yourself?

I work for Red Hat. We should meet for a drink. Do you ever go in the Immigrant?

v tomto zavit: cizinců

Google translate ftw!

If it wasnt for google translate I would literally be living under a bridge.

Kdyby to nebylo pro Google Translate to by bylo napsané v angličtině