The most Irish thing I've seen lately

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Peep O'Day wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of the way "that's very Irish" is often used as a synonym for "that's very stupid".

Loads of people associate the two as indistinguishable from each other..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There was a butchers near my house a few years ago..they sold meat...and also videos!

I was always wary of drinking too much in those pubs that also bury people. A hangover's one thing, but trying to claw your way through a coffin lid and five feet of dirt the following morning adds insult to injury.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

Dionysus wrote: »
    There are plenty of stupid, thick fúckers in Britain - have you seen their tabloids, or their rabidly nationalistic poppy day celebrations?

If you want to see rabid nationalistic celebrations you should try looking closer to home at the annual St Patrick's Day celebrations.

As for your remarks on Poppy Day, I find them quite disgusting.

Poppy Day - official name Remembrance Sunday - is commemmorated throughout the Commonwealth to pay respects to the thousands of servicemen and women who have died fighting for us in wars. Men and women who sacrificed their lives for freedom and democracy.

Some people need to start showing respect.

I get what you're saying but it's all about the context. If it's some Brit limey saying it then yeah it's an arse of a thing to say but it's Irish folk laughing at the little things that you would only get in Ireland so it's a bit of a laugh. Lighten up;)

What would you like?

O'Hanlan sat in the cafe and perused the menu. Then he called the waitress and said:

'I don't want a set-price meal, can you do separate orders?'

'Yes sir,' said the waitress. 'What would you like?'

'Well,' said O'Hanlan, 'how much is two boiled eggs?'

Two boiled eggs is £1.50 sir,' was the reply.

'And how much is one boiled egg?' he asked.

'One boiled egg is £1, sir,' muttered the waitress impatiently.

'Well, then,' said O'Hanlan, 'I'll have the other

Lost in the desert

The Clancy brothers, lost in deepest Sahara, cut off from the rest of the legionnaires, had been crawling across the desert for hours. The heat was unbearable. The glare blinding, the water was gone and their hopes of rescue were diminishing by the second.

'Do you know,' said Peter. 'I've just remembered something.'

'What's that?'asked Paul.

'Well,' said his brother, 'today is 24 June - it's Ballybunion fair day.'

'Sure and haven't they got lovely weather for it,' said Paul.

Lost in the store

'Follow the written instructions and you can't get lost in the building,' said the security man to Sean Flynn freshly up from the country and looking around a major Dublin store for the first time.

Awe-struck, young Flynn made his way around the building. But, all too soon, he returned, slightly dejected, to the security man.

'Look,' said Sean, 'I've tried my best. The door marked 'Push' I pushed.

The door marked 'Pull' I pulled. But when I got to the big door that said 'Lift' -I couldn't get it off the floor!'

In the Blitz

The two Kerrymen were wending their way home from the pub in London's East End. The Blitz was at its height with German bombers overhead every night.

"Tis a terrible time to be in London,' said Pat. 'With no defence against the terrible air raids.'

'Sure it was, until now,' said Mick. 'Now of course they've found the answer. That's it up in the sky -barrage balloons!'

Mick pointed to the massive inflated objects hovering over the city on guide wires.

'You see,' he explained, 'the German planes come over and bump into the balloons and are destroyed.'

'But surely,' argued Pat, 'when the planes hit them the balloons will burst.'

'Indeed not,' said Mick. 'You see, the balloons are full of concrete.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Batsy wrote: »
    If you want to see rabid nationalistic celebrations you should try looking closer to home at the annual St Patrick's Day celebrations.

As for your remarks on Poppy Day, I find them quite disgusting.

Poppy Day - official name Remembrance Sunday - is commemmorated throughout the Commonwealth to pay respects to the thousands of servicemen and women who have died fighting for us in wars. Men and women who sacrificed their lives for freedom and democracy.

Some people need to start showing respect.

You having a laugh? You telling me the men who fought in Ireland, India and Kenya etc were dying for freedom and democracy? They were fighting to deny countries their freedom.

WWII I grant you. But Britain's conquests around the world were not them fighting for US! Jeez-oh there is some gullible people out there who just lap up propaganda....

What would you like?

Nah, racist jokes aren't for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Young irish people pissed on a Sunday night after drinking all day and working early in the morning but sure who gives a ****,it'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Michael D Higgins is the most Irish thing i've seen this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Wow, After Hours really has gone sh*te, you can't even laugh at yourself or it's called racisit.:(

curlzy wrote: »
    Wow, After Hours really has gone sh*te, you can't even laugh at yourself or it's called racisit.:(

It's us laughing at ourselves though, it's someone English coming away with the thick Paddy jokes that make it racist. It's a bit like how if I called a black man the 'N' word it's racist, yet black men calls themselves it no bother. Well in America anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Karamoja wrote: »
    My grand dad drinks cabbage water. After he boils the cabbage he just scoops the water out with a cup and drinks it like tae.
    saying tae instead of tea....because tea's too fecking british

You having a laugh? You telling me the men who fought in Ireland, India and Kenya etc were dying for freedom and democracy? They were fighting to deny countries their freedom.

WWII I grant you. But Britain's conquests around the world were not them fighting for US! Jeez-oh there is some gullible people out there who just lap up propaganda....

I don't care about your opinions. Your opinions are wrong.

And you can whinge all you like about Remembrance Sunday. It isn't going anywhere. It'll still be around long after you've gone. In a few weeks' time I'll be wearing my poppy with pride.

It's us laughing at ourselves though, it's someone English coming away with the thick Paddy jokes that make it racist.

You have no qualms with being anti-English, though.

Anyway, the most Irish thing I see (or, rather, hear) is when Irish people (who can't pronounce the two "th" sounds) say "turd" instead of "third."

And you can whinge all you like about Remembrance Sunday. It isn't going anywhere. It'll still be around long after you've gone. In a few weeks' time I'll be wearing my poppy with pride.

Good for you, just don't claim they were fighting for me when they were murdering people in India and Kenya.

Britain clings on to WWII as some sort of justification and cleansing all their other conflicts when they denied other countries their freedom under your 'empire'. Wear what you like, I wear my Lilly at Easter with pride, now they were fighting for me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

The most Irish thing I've seen in a while was this morning on a country road when a van came around the bend against me on the wrong side of the road.

Cue the index finger salute from the steering wheel from the driver. So that makes your driving ok so.:rolleyes:

I laughed out loud..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What would you like?

Have you got any funny ones, those ones were crap the first time that I heard them?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

Shiner11 wrote: »
    Getting caught behind sheep or cows on the road and then getting out of the car to give a hand and have a good chat with the farmer.

warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭copperhead

You have no qualms with being anti-English, though.

Not at all, I criticise your nations rampage around the world denying people their right to freedom. It's like saying me criticising Saddam Hussein's rampage into Kuwait in 1990 was being anti-Iraqi.
    Anyway, the most Irish thing I see (or, rather, hear) is when Irish people (who can't pronounce the two "th" sounds) say "turd" instead of "third."

The amount of birds I've rode because of that is unreal:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

How many exactly?

Britain clings on to WWII as some sort of justification and cleansing all their other conflicts when they denied other countries their freedom under your 'empire'. Wear what you like, I wear my Lilly at Easter with pride, now they were fighting for me:)

I'm proud of the British Empire. This world would be a much better place today if the British Empire was still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

kkdela6 wrote: »
    Ive often seen our local garda ****faced in the pub, and one night a few months ago when ireland were playing a soccer match cant remember who against he was up roaring at the telly, full as an egg of guiness, and his garda car was parked outside!

Was on a ski holiday a few years ago in Italy and went to da local disco. The local cops were all sat at the bar (in uniform, with their guns) drinking beers. I'd have photographic evidence of this only one of the lads tried taking a photo, only for a copper to come over to our group and demand the photo's be deleted.

So sorry, not only in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,869 ✭✭✭cython

I'm proud of the British Empire. This world would be a much better place today if the British Empire was still around.
    That is your opinion. You have no way of backing that up, as no matter how proud you may be of the Empire, not even they invented a means to peer into alternate realities where hypotheticals are true. Given that you were the one who posted
    I find that somewhat ironic.

In light of the amount of struggles for freedom brought about by the presence of the British Empire (US War of Independence, India and Kenya as mentioned, and of course Ireland) and the violence adopted to try to maintain authority, however, I believe it likely that there would be even more conflict in the world today were it still around. That is something which I certainly don't see contributing to the world being a better place.

Yeah because the world was a sea of peace and tranquillity when you lot ran most of it. Brain washed or wha'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

Driving on a motorway and talking to the person in the car on the other lane about the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

If the british empire was still around the world would be very different and chances are that you might not exist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I dunno if it's an Irish thing but.....

This thread has really gone off course. Can I call it an AH thing???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

Now how the f$ck did that happen, got sick of reading eegits arguing with other eegits over stupid things they know f%ck all about so I decide to look for something lighthearted. Hmm a thread about irishism, now that should be a laugh..... but no the eegits arrive.

Boards/AH sux donkey ball because of posters like those above who have to turn every thread into an egotistical arguement over nothing. If ye are that argumentative and the internet just isnt doing it for ye I would recommend that ye start walking up to people in the street and arguing with them. It'll be much more fun.

Im outa here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

Robbie Keane on the lash Sunday night singing ballads