Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most Irish thing I've seen lately

• 16-06-2011 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭

I was perusing the menu of a local fast food joint here in Mullingar, and it turns out you get a free bale of briquettes if you spend over €30 on your food!

Score!

Has anyone else seen anything lately that made you smile and think, only in Ireland...? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭MonTheBiffy

In fairness thats Mullingar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭orlyice

well I am sitting her watching Fair city that i sky plus from earlier today.....

and still I watch it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Has gas central heating arrived in westmeath yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Only in Ireland would Irish people make shyte threads on an Irish message board about things that only Irish people would do in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

KungPao wrote: »
    Only in Ireland would Irish people make shyte threads on an Irish message board about things that only Irish people would do in Ireland.

Yeah. State the obvious

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

orlyice wrote: »
    well I am sitting her watching Fair city that i sky plus from earlier today.....

and still I watch it!!!

..how does she feel about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

St Patrick riding a leprechaun, while doped to the gills on shamrocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Driving through towns on a hot day rather than go on the motorway just to check out the wimmins:D

Maybe its just me:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

+1000000

no doubt it'll eventually turn into a thread against the church/ryan tubridy/dubs/culchies/GAA/jedward etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭GSI

Me sister ****ed me brother.ye can't get any more Irish than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

Ah don't be such a buzzkill, there've been worse threads here.

I once drove home behind a tractor that had full shopping bags tied on to the back.

By the way, what's the craic with people from around Kildare/Offaly pronouncing "Briquette" like "Brickit"??? Used to work up there, always found it weird...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

GSI wrote: »
    Me sister ****ed me and my brother.ye can't get any more Irish than that.
    FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Mullingar is years ahead of anywhere else on this island in fairness, come winter there'll be free briquettes being handed out in chippers all over the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I was perusing the menu of a local fast food joint here in Mullingar, and it turns out you get a free bale of briquettes if you spend over €30 on your food!

Score!

Has anyone else seen anything lately that made you smile and think, only in Ireland...? :rolleyes:

briquettes? Very fancy.... In Roscommon its turf in fertilizer bags if you spend that much in the chipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

orlyice wrote: »

and still I watch it!!!

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

We're hardly going to make a thread called 'Only in Turkmenistan!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

Score!

yes my willy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Last summer, I saw two drunk Irish guys (Ireland football shirts, Dublin accents) throwing their guts up in Vienna, in the middle of the afternoon.

It was like a flashback to Temple Bar on a Thursday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Driving through towns on a hot day rather than go on the motorway just to check out the wimmins:D

Maybe its just me:P

driving to local petrol station to get bulb for car, leave with possible cinema date :p

seriously, good luck tomorrow, we are all rooting for u B

Caraville wrote: »
    By the way, what's the craic with people from around Kildare/Offaly pronouncing "Briquette" like "Brickit"??? Used to work up there, always found it weird...

People from Offaly don't believe in France, and so pronounce words with French origins however they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Score!

Apologies for giving this more seriousness than you've intended but this shít pisses me of. Let's go.

Is this whole "that's very Irish" thing not merely a hangover from British colonial stereotypes, particularly 19th century ones such as that typically delusional and conceited English remark that "every time the English find an answer the Irish question, the Irish change the question"? Mar a dúirt Behan, "Not so, a mhic, because there isn't any such thing as the Irish Question for us Irish; there's only the English question"

Of course it is. Grow up. There are plenty of stupid, thick fúckers in Britain - have you seen their tabloids, or their rabidly nationalistic poppy day celebrations? - does that mean we should say "that's very British" about anything stupid or xenophobic which a British person does? No, but some Irish people have internalised British stereotypes about us Irish. So uncool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Dionysus wrote: »
    Apologies for giving this more seriousness than you've intended but this shít pisses me of. Let's go.

Is this whole "that's very Irish" thing not merely a hangover from British colonial stereotypes, particularly 19th century ones such as that typically delusional and conceited English remark that "every time the English find an answer the Irish question, the Irish change the question"? Mar a dúirt Behan, "Not so, a mhic, because there isn't any such thing as the Irish Question for us Irish; there's only the English question"

Of course it is. Grow up. There are plenty of stupid, thick fúckers in Britain - have you seen their tabloids, or their rabidly nationalistic poppy day celebrations? - does that mean we should say "that's very British" about anything stupid or xenophobic which a British person does? No, but some Irish people have internalised British stereotypes about us Irish. So uncool.

Whoever mentioned the brits? Now thats very irish ;)

why bring the british into this ? there are thick ****ers in every race we need to get over the whole english irish bull**** times have changed we need to move on there are plenty of our lads making a good living over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

orourkeda wrote: »
    Yeah. State the obvious

Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Pi$$ing buckets in summer :mad:

Whoever mentioned the brits? Now thats very irish ;)
    superfish wrote: »
    why bring the british into this ? there are thick ****ers in every race we need to get over the whole english irish bull**** times have changed we need to move on there are plenty of our lads making a good living over there

Because anti-Irish stereotypes did not emerge out of thin air. In the vast majority of cases, they can be directly attributed to British views of the Irish. They have a context. To ignore this origin does not negate this reality.

feck it your right lets go over and kill the bast@rds

is é seo an rud is héireann ive le feiceáil

You sure sucked the fun out of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

This is typical Irish. Any excuse to whinge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Giselle wrote: »
    Last summer, I saw two drunk Irish guys (Ireland football shirts, Dublin accents) throwing their guts up in Vienna, in the middle of the afternoon.

It was like a flashback to Temple Bar on a Thursday night.

In Temple Bar, it's normally Americans throwing their guts up. You get an odd British stag party who can't afford Vegas go there, too. But hey, I'm sure you're completely correct and we're the only ones who get sloshed on holidays.

funny thing is you could have named this thread " whats the most american thing you have seen or french or german my point being every country has stereotype even the brits the tea drinkin toffs, you cant blame anyone particular race for making them stereotypes

super-rush wrote: »
    This is typical Irish. Any excuse to whinge.

Oh Jesus, the irony. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Noticed seeing the Guarenteed Irish logo more than once recently. This logo was everywhere back in the bad old 80's and pretty much disappeared during the "celtic tiger" years. I guess it's just a portent for bad times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Not having house numbers/street names/postcodes out in the sticks.
    especially living away now, it never struck me until recently that it only seems to be an ireland thing.
    people(north americans) are completely bemused how I can receive mail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

Just ordered a kebab from the local chipper....

Meat, Sweetcorn and Mushrooms..... Leave the kebab making to the professionals please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

fend wrote: »
    Just ordered a kebab from the local chipper....

Meat, Sweetcorn and Mushrooms..... Leave the kebab making to the professionals please...

Did you know dem Yanks think it's an abomination to put corn on a pizza?! They're the ones with a bleedin' corn belt!

Anyway, last week I saw a potato dressed as a priest having sex with a breakfast roll dressed up as a politician giving a brown envelope to a loaf of soda bread dressed as a ghost estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

The Weather....:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Score!

Whats wrong with this? Are "we" now too up our own to think this is a good deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

The most Irish thing I've seen lately?
    Myself in the mirror:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

chucken1 wrote: »

Whats wrong with this? Are "we" now too up our own to think this is a good deal?

Oh I'm sure its a great deal, I'm just commenting on how odd it is and you wouldn't get something like that in many other countries, (And yes I understand every country has their oddities!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

dont think this thread was intended to be negative anyway:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Karamoja

My grand dad drinks cabbage water. After he boils the cabbage he just scoops the water out with a cup and drinks it like tae.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Currently on a J1 in New York and you can spot the Irish lads miles away! Key traits include burnt necks, GAA shirts and Umbro tracksuit bottoms in 35 degree heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

At the top of the town(doesnt matter which town)5/6 souped up 98/99 Corrolas/starlets/colts etc...all lined up side by side together with their respected owners sitting on their own in each car........

On the Athlone bypass a few weeks ago, a contraflow with an end of speed limit sign in the middle of the section with the works on it! (the start of limit was 10km before the works started).

In other words, you had to slow down on the open road but were allowed to speed up for the "chicane".
    Now that's Irish. ;)

edit: I forgot the "no overtaking " sign on a single track road! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

I regularly drive home from town stuck at 20mph behind a tractor that has the loader at the back filled with shopping, the elderly husband driving, and the wife squeezed in beside him..And they clearly stopped off for a few bevvies too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

really really sorry to bump this thread, was just looking around...

Most Irish thing I've experienced recently?

me, at the end of a "trad night" being served a pint of guinness, wayyy after hours, singing the national anthem, with a member of AGS (off duty) 2 barstools up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Only in Ireland would people say "at least they're not out selling drugs and stabbing people" in response to "Jedward are crap".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Shiner11

Getting caught behind sheep or cows on the road and then getting out of the car to give a hand and have a good chat with the farmer.