If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

iPhone 5 - All questions, rumours, discussion goes here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭4ndroid

Stinicker wrote: »
    I am glad in a way that iPhone5 has not come out as when it does it will probably be quite expensive and I wish Apple would make it more exclusive so that less riff raff could afford it as Apple has already lost quite alot of its exclusive appeal and it risks going down the Android mass market Toyota type bullsh1t.

Haha snob alert

buzz_killington_191x300_So_troll-s191x300-152037-535.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Stinicker wrote: »
    the iPhone is superb and its screen is so responsive and it is so easy to use.

Android really is not for me and the idea of having to scan your phone for viruses is beyond a joke,

As apposed to any other touch screen out there? Why do you think Apple are suing Samsung all of a sudden. There is no difference to touch screen performance with any HTC or Samsung or Apple phone I have. All handle and feel exactly the same.

Anti virus app, just download and leave it there and forget about it. It scans everything for you as you download it in about 2 seconds tops automatically. You don't have to touch it again ever unless you want to try another AV app. Big deal alright.

You talk about Android fanboyism. You sound exactly like an Apple sheeple with the likes of those comments you made.

Yes Apple have serious competition for the past 18 months and they have missed the train today and are now trying to catch back up, that's reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

copacetic wrote: »
    I don't think every one has been a big improvement, the first phone was a meh, as was the 3GS and now the 4S.

The decent iPhone cycle was the 3G, the 4 and wait for the 5.

The filler phones are just placeholders.

tend to agree with you to a certain extent there.

iphone 2g whilst meh now, it was THE game changing phone - it was slow compared to todays standards, only had a 2mp camera, no mms, edge, crap headphone socket but it chnaged the way we thought about UI

iphone 3g - form factor change + 3g + gps

iphone 3g - speedier + 3 mp camera

iphone 4 - speedier + retina display + 5mp camera

iphone 4s - speedier + 8mp camera

i waited 3 years to change from iphone2 to iphone4 because the i didnt consider the 3g's enough of an improvement for me. and i will (probably) wait until iphone5, i only say probably because taking photo/video is a big part of my iphone usage and the new camera is tempting (probably not enought to fork out a few hunderd yo yo's + my contract is until June next year - perfect timing for iphone5)

prior to iphone i changed phones every 12 months without fail.

not tempted by android at all - why compromise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

@captain choas - agreed there is better hardware out there - however is the software / apps on a par? i think the big thing about iphone is the user experience - everything is done so sexily. last time i saw android it was still a little rough around the edges.

@stickner - tend to agree re: the bmw vs toyota comparison. it may have better specs but i know which one i drive :)

@captainchoas - i think you'll find that android/marketplace has been trying to catch up with ios/appstore. i dont think its got there yet (while samsung may have caught up with the hardware)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

@captainchoas - i think you'll find that android/marketplace has been trying to catch up with ios/appstore. i dont think its got there yet (while samsung may have caught up with the hardware)

The Android Marketplace is, to put it mildly, an absolute cluster****. It's a shame really because it's an otherwise decent OS and a good competitor to iOS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Most of the goodies will come with iOS5. That'll do me for now.

Won't bother my ar$e with the 4S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭savic04

As long as they sort the home key...

I had problems with 2 lots of i4's.. same thing, slow response and sometimes not working at all.. All these features are about pressing Home, but no good id the damn thing dont work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭beer enigma

I love my iPhone 4 and think ios5 will cover me until there is a major change - only person disappointed here is my niece who had baggs on my iPhone 4 as she presumed I'd use my upgrade to 5 - lads you needs something to say it's the latest - shape/ colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭reelkidmusic

I was really looking forward to the thoughts of the iPhone 5 and got caught up in the pre release hype but now I'm glad that there haven't been major changes to the iphone because now I think I will spend what I will be saving on an iPad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

My reaction to this was originally one of disappointment, as my 3Gs broke over the summer and I was reduced to using a non-smartphone. To upgrade to something that's been out for a year would be a disappointment. But then I realized, I'll know I have the fifth gen. Since last April, the thing I've been looking forward to the most about this coveted phone is being able to hold one in my hand and know that I own it, and I still get to do just that. Excitement restored. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭touts

Well that was about as underwhelming as they come. Here's the properly working version of the phone we released 16 months ago. See you again in a year or more when we might have something real to announce.

All Apple have done today is give Google, Sony and Samsung time to complete the catch up and overtake them and the fall in the Apple share price overnight reflects that. While the iPad looks like being their saviour, and may indicate their long term strategy, Apple as a phone company are now on the same trajectory as Nokia (Market leader to takeover bait in 5 years). If you own Apple shares sell now as the market mood has changed. In future years MBA students will be reading case studies about Tim Cook and how one disappointing announcement changed the fortune of the largest company in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,743 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I wonder, if they changed the external look of the iphone, had called it iPhone 5, and kept the same upgrade chip, camera, voice controls, internet speed etc would there be as many people sulking. I doubt it. Obviously not everyone would be happy, but i bet a lot less would be complaining.

4 ---> 4S is pretty similar to 3G ---> 3GS, It got faster.
    I'm not sure what other features people were expecting?

Edit:
    I should point out, I had planned on gettign a new iphone nect month anyway. I still ahven't decided if it will be a 4 or a 4S, that will come down to the cost. I don't think there will be a huge difference between 16GB 4 (still availible from carriers) and 16GB 4S. 4S makes sense from a point of view of best hardware speed for future developments. But if vodafone try to overcharge then i'll pick up a cheap 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭touts

Mellor wrote: »
    Lol at all the cry babies and drama queens in this thread.

I wonder, if they changed the external look of the iphone, had called it iPhone 5, and kept the same upgrade chip, camera, voice controls, internet speed etc would there be as many people sulking. I doubt it. Obviously not everyone would be happy, but i bet a lot less would be complaining.

The iPhone4 was two years ahead of their competitors when it was released 16 months ago. Yesterday was a glorified bug fix. If they follow their normal leadtime then it will be another 16 months before they come out with a real upgrade. That means they will be the guts of a year behind their competitors when they eventually limp out with the iPhone5 designed to challenge the latest Samsung and/or Sony-Ericsson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

touts wrote: »
    The iPhone4 was two years ahead of their competitors when it was released 16 months ago.

Eh...? a what now?

That would mean that the original iPhone 4 will be the best speced phone on the market for the next 8 months... even though the new iPhone 4 upgrade is already behind the competition...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭quad_red

Mellor wrote: »

I think that hits the nail on the head. I concur that after all the hype, no change to the exterior design was a disappointment.

But.... I still prefer the iPhone 4 form factor to the competitors. The 4s is an incremental upgrade and The screen size is as big as I want from a mobile phone. The battery is still best in class. The camera is reportedly best of it's competitors. The 'feel', the build quality of the 4/4S is (IMHO) still far superior to the main competitors (galaxy s2, sensation etc).

The main upgrades are software based. By hook or by crook, if they have stuck in enough swish 'transformative' changes in the iOS experience, perceptions may change.

I am now undecided. I think my 3GS will go on for longer. And I'm not going near iOS 5 until I get confirmation that it won't basically brick my phone's existing performance.

Certainly, I don't think either the current Android handsets or the latest Windows phones have enough to convince me to leave the iOS platform.

I await the Nexus Prime and the first Nokia/MS phones with interest.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

quad_red wrote: »
    I think that hits the nail on the head. I concur that after all the hype, no change to the exterior design was a disappointment.

But.... I still prefer the iPhone 4 form factor to the competitors. The 4s is an incremental upgrade and The screen size is as big as I want from a mobile phone. The battery is still best in class. The camera is reportedly best of it's competitors. The 'feel', the build quality of the 4/4S is (IMHO) still far superior to the main competitors (galaxy s2, sensation etc).

The main upgrades are software based. By hook or by crook, if they have stuck in enough swish 'transformative' changes in the iOS experience, perceptions may change.

I am now undecided. I think my 3GS will go on for longer. And I'm not going near iOS 5 until I get confirmation that it won't basically brick my phone's existing performance.

Certainly, I don't think either the current Android handsets or the latest Windows phones have enough to convince me to leave the iOS platform.

I await the Nexus Prime and the first Nokia/MS phones with interest.

The standby battery life is 33.3% WORSE than the iPhone 4, the specs are plain as day on the apple site, as it stands i'm a heavy user, and i barely get a full day out of my iPhone 4 as it is, i couldn't imagine what it's like getting 33.3% less already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭quad_red

eeloe wrote: »
    The standby battery life is 33.3% WORSE than the iPhone 4, the specs are plain as day on the apple site, as it stands i'm a heavy user, and i barely get a full day out of my iPhone 4 as it is, i couldn't imagine what it's like getting 33.3% less already

Really? Dunno what I was reading there. That's a load of bollix then :confused:

To be fair, when I had a 4 (which my wife has now) I found the battery fine. Certainly enough to get at least a full day out of.

But I've seen friends with a few HTCs and am just back from America where pretty much everyone was sporting new android handsets. Many of them had taken to getting aftermarket battery packs attached to the back of their phones in order to ensure they got a day's battery life out of the things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,714 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

If they follow their normal leadtime then it will be another 16 months before they come out with a real upgrade.
    That makes no sense. It would mean the next iPhone would be announced in January 2013, which simply won't be the case. The next iPhone is at most 12 months away. And there's nothing to say Apple won't announce it at WWDC next year, in which case it may be only 9 months away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

The iPhone4 was two years ahead of their competitors when it was released 16 months ago. Yesterday was a glorified bug fix. If they follow their normal leadtime then it will be another 16 months before they come out with a real upgrade. That means they will be the guts of a year behind their competitors when they eventually limp out with the iPhone5 designed to challenge the latest Samsung and/or Sony-Ericsson.

2007: iphone original.
    12 months later: iPhone 3G.
    12 months later: iPhone 3Gs.
    12 months later: iPhone 4.
    16 months later: iPhone 4s.

16 months is their normal leadtime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fbjm wrote: »
    2007: iphone original.
    12 months later: iPhone 3G.
    Technically speaking, the 3G was "revealed" 18 months after the 2G, though the 2G was revealed 6 months before it started shipping, so you're right in that there's some degree of consistency. For the most part the phones have been announced at the WWDC.

My suspicion here is that this time last year they had two plans on the drawing board - one was the "teardrop" design we saw touted, the other was a "fallback" plan of cramming better hardware into the existing case. This would account for the delay, if they were trying to figure out how to cram the 4S hardware into the teardrop design.

There's also an argument that there seemed to be no flagging in iPhone 4 sales - if anything they increased in popularity as time went on - so Apple saw no reason to rush a new version to market.

The rumours now will be that the iP5 will be revealed early next year, but I doubt it. Maybe the WWDC, but there's no reason why they wouldn't leave the 4S on sale for twelve months and call another upgrade next October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

A glorified bug fix? Do you have any idea how rediculous that sounds?

The iPhone 4s has updated graphics, processor and camera, a larger memory size and a new operating system. These are the changes over the iPhone 4 (obviously the 4 will be able to make use of most of the features of the new iOS).
    So explain to us how that is a glorified bug fix?
    If the shell had changed shape slightly and they had changed the number on the back from 4 to 5, people would be claiming it was another brilliant move by Apple!

Apple have announced a new phone with updated hardware and software. What more do people want? Yes it would have been nice to have a new shell. But the shell makes feck all difference. Especially seeing as it is a sturdy, well built shell. Unlike some of the high end Android devices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Dam34

Hey Folks,

Could have missed it but I've read through the thread but didn't get a clear idea of when the full (not beta version) of ISO5 will be availble for the iphone 4?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

GM was seeded yesterday

full release next Tuesday October 12th!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Dam34 wrote: »
    Hey Folks,

Could have missed it but I've read through the thread but didn't get a clear idea of when the full (not beta version) of ISO5 will be availble for the iphone 4?

Available on the 12th of this month

• Subscribers Posts: 16,859 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

eeloe wrote: »

Aha! Wondered why they had absolutely no mention of the standby life at the keynote.

That is crazy, I can barely get through the day with the 4 myself.

IMO that's the clincher that proves they couldn't add a bigger screen and slimmer profile without murdering the battery life altogether and making it 66% worse at least.

It's nothing to do with strategy, they couldn't develop a usable phone with the hardware changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Wow wow wow..
    The ip4s has a 33% worse battery than the ip4?!

As a 3GS user I was interested in upgrading more for the battery than anything else cos I get nowhere near to a full days usage out of my phone at the mo.

Essentially I'd be better getting a 4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

I got my sim-free iPhone 4 from the Apple Store in Belfast on launch day last year.

I couldn't be bothered going the whole way up for the 4S this time around.

Where could I get a sim-free in Ireland? Do Carphone Warehouse sell them or do I have to go through Apple online?

Is it generally easier to get it sim-free as opposed to going with a carrier?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Afaik, you can only get it SIM Free online from Apple.

The carriers will sell it on PAYG, but it'll be network-locked and only about €10 cheaper than buying SIM free from Apple.

It's probably actually easier to buy it direct from Apple than source it from a carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Meteor never locked their android phones, do they lock the iphones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭nickhx

iOS 5 GM works very well on my 3GS, better than iOS 4 actually!