Charity Wages - Mary Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

It is not a sporting organisation.

It's not wha? Special Olympics is some kind of cover story for something else now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Sooopie wrote: »
    She is a dose, and those vain, silly looking posters of her strutting like she's on a cat walk prove it, the absolute hack of her, seriously

i see her catwalk poster and presume there's a charity fashion show on somewhere locally

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

Well i think the salary is justified, Adobe charge fairly high prices for its software

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

bamboozle wrote: »

i see her catwalk poster and presume there's a charity fashion show on somewhere locally

she must seriously love herself like

wouldn't mind, but when she grimaces you can see she's missing a top tooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 canhascheez

It's not wha? Special Olympics is some kind of cover story for something else now?

Its not a sporting organisation, its a charity.

HEHE!

Just donated 50c by payapl to mary davis's campaign under the name "Michael D Higgins"

Its not a sporting organisation, its a charity.

Ah here. Stop. The special olympics isn't a sporting organisation. Get off!

Plenty of athletes require donations or sponsors to help them with costs. Trainers, equipment, diet, physio etc. If your post is in the style of AH humour I applaud you. If not then I can lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

squod wrote: »
    lol.

Give me some facts and figures for comparisons. What's the budget? How many staff on the payroll?

Well, you made the claim that there were MD's of much bigger corporations on much less, so really, you should just be able to list out a few would being given hints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 canhascheez

Ah here. Stop. The special olympics isn't a sporting organisation. Get off!

Plenty of athletes require donations or sponsors to help them with costs. Trainers, equipment, diet, physio etc. If your post is in the style of AH humour I applaud you. If not then I can lol.

It is a registered charity, what other sporting organisations are registered charities?

So the purpose of the special olympics is to raise money for charity???? Are you for real? ? Special Olympics is a sporting organisation. It also helps raise funds for it's athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

Them posters would put anyone off voting for her. Round here she has them on ten poles in a row in two places. Her supporters must be retarded thouh. Some of them are upside down.

vetstu wrote: »
    Them posters would put anyone off voting for her. Round here she has them on ten poles in a row in two places. Her supporters must be Australians though. Some of them are upside down.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

So the purpose of the special olympics is to raise money for charity???? Are you for real? ? Special Olympics is a sporting organisation. It also helps raise funds for it's athletes.

"Athletes" who are only considered as such due to mental deficiency. They're not exactly breaking any records.

Haelium wrote: »
    "Athletes" who are only considered as such due to mental deficiency. They're not exactly breaking any records.

Maybe not, but their certainly breaking stereotypes, or maybe not looking at your opinon.

I now grade you a deficient and just a "poster" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Simple fact is these CEOs of charities deal with millions and are paid accordingly -

Also when you compare the wages to a college lecturer €60k-160k - they're on pittance really

Maybe not, but their certainly breaking stereotypes, or maybe not looking at your opinon.

I now grade you a deficient and just a "poster" :rolleyes:

I am just a poster, and I have terrible English skills.

Your point?

What stereo types are they breaking?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Simple fact is these CEOs of charities deal with millions and are paid accordingly -

Also when you compare the wages to a college lecturer €60k-160k - they're on pittance really

Yeah, 160k for "charity work" is a pittance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

I'll go again.

Special 160K Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Yeah, 160k for "charity work" is a pittance.

See there's were you're going wrong - It's not 'charity work', it's 'working for a charity' - In order to get top people to run a million dollar charity they need to pay top dollar -

Understand now? probably not!

See there's were you're going wrong - It's not 'charity work', it's 'working for a charity' - In order to get top people to run a million dollar charity they need to pay top dollar -

Understand now? probably not!

I highly doubt that working for the Special Olympics is among the most demanding jobs around. So explain why they need to pay "top dollar".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

squod wrote: »
    lol.

Give me some facts and figures for comparisons. What's the budget? How many staff on the payroll?
    You first. You made the claim that you know of MDs of much bigger corporations on much less pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

If she can get this type if money fair play to her .I'd take it if I got it

You're right. You don't consider them athletes, therefore they are not athletes.
    Ham isn't a meat. I just decided it there.

Yes it's a charity. It's also a sporting organisation. They're hardly mutually exclusive are they?

Anita Blow wrote: »
    You're right. You don't consider them athletes, therefore they are not athletes.
    Ham isn't a meat. I just decided it there.

Yes it's a charity. It's also a sporting organisation. They're hardly mutually exclusive are they?

I didn't say they weren't athletes because I say so. I Implied that they weren't athletes based on their poor performance, they generally are not capable of competitive sports when compared to other "Athletes".

Which is of course completely relevant in a discussion on Mary Davis' salary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

Oh no not this argument again. RTE called, they want their argument back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Quite a big one actualy, FIFA

That particular charity pays it head a million dollars (well did in 07anyway, probably more now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Charity like everything else is an industry, it has its accountants, PR, advertising and its CEOs.

Although you may think" but their income is supported by people giving to whatever cause".

But to gather and disperse those funds most efficiently they would need a paid staff.

Where charities suffer the greatest waste and corruption is the African charities, there should be some better way found to give Aid to the third world. Direct aid should be stopped altogether to these places.

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Which is of course completely relevant in a discussion on Mary Davis' salary

The point being that it is a charity rather than a sporting organization.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

HEHE!

Just donated 50c by payapl to mary davis's campaign under the name "Michael D Higgins"

what a waste of 50c!