Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charity Wages - Mary Davis

• 04-10-2011 10:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

I had this over in 'Volunteerism' but nobody is biting, so..

With this latest Mary Davis 'p60 story', she is paid roughly €160,000/year for her role in 'Special Olympics'. Is this the norm for somebody working at this level for a charity?

Do other charities pay as much, or more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

Possibly.

The chief executive of Rehab gets close to half a million a year, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

This is the norm for all charities. Though obviously not as much. In most charities the higher ups and office workers receive some sort of wage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

I think it's sickening how much she uses the Special Olympics as some reason she should be President when she was paid so much for what was just another JOB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Running an animal rescue myself I was very surprised recently to find out how many other rescues get paid and how much :eek:. Also, quite a good few of them use chuggers.

I must be doing something wrong :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭frash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

EGAR wrote: »
    Running an animal rescue myself I was very surprised recently to find out how many other rescues get paid and how much :eek:. Also, quite a good few of them use chuggers.

Rescuing animals was your first mistake.

Nah, I am a sucker for punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

EGAR wrote: »

Maybe a deal with a chinese restaurant would bolster your coffers?

No, the microchips are a dead give away..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

It's the norm - in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

http://www.marydavis.ie/

Says her financial details are up on her website. FYI Mary, FF don't have the same level of influence anymore. The gravy train has terminated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

Mary davis is a cash hungry individual who is only seeking higher office to promote mary davis and co and has no clue about this country only her self interests and her cronies.
    Her charities paying her husbands PR firms thousands,conflict of interest maybe.
    I think the people of Ireland are not that stupid to vote in this fianna fail crony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

what i she role? Most charities like Oxfam for example, have nothing but people giving there spare time except for management. 160K for working in the special Olympics must mean she does some integral work like dotting iiis and crossing tttts scandalous :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

reprazant wrote: »
    Possibly.

...and that Kerins woman is also on a quango or two, so a bit more more can be added to that big chunk.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Not comparable to other irish charities. She's Managing Director of Special Olympics for all of Europe and Eurasia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

This is more of the shyte going on in this country, why is she on €160,000? She shouldn't even be on half that amount. I mean this is little Ireland we are talking about. But of course you get a lot of these jobs, many even with multiple 'titles'. They have fúck all to do and fúck all to be done, with the underpaid foot soldiers having any work done. I suppose though they must be compensated for doing nothing, because these 'titles' must be a true burden to shoulder.

As Managing Director of Special Olympics Europe/Eurasia (SOEE), Mary Davis is responsible for overseeing the growth and development of Special Olympics across 58 countries in Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Central Asia.
    http://www.specialolympicsee.eu/ee_Our_Leaders_Mary_Davis.aspx
    Not just little old Ireland.

Anita Blow wrote: »

Seen MDs of much bigger corporations on much less. Not having a swipe but thank God the general population voted her shyster mates out of government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

You think a website justifies her ridiculous salary?

I love this bit from the website......

As Managing Director of Special Olympics Europe/Eurasia (SOEE), Mary Davis is responsible for overseeing the growth and development of Special Olympics across 58 countries in Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

Ah the oul shyte talk, a bit of perspective is needed. We are not talking about a global corporation here, we are talking about a charity. How she can accept such a salary is both disgusting and hypocritical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Chugger Queen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I'd love to get in on this Charity gig... & get some of that creamy pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The land of saints and scholars seems to have a huge shortage of the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

She is a dose, and those vain, silly looking posters of her strutting like she's on a cat walk prove it, the absolute hack of her, seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's depressing really;
    Mary Davis - establishment cronie
    Gay Mitchell - rightwing career politician
    Dana - eurovision winner
    Martin McGuinness - terrorist
    David Norris - prolific letter writer
    Sean Gallagher - celebrity business man
    Michael D Higgins - Yoda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

How she can accept such a salary is both disgusting and hypocritical.

God you've gotta love the good old irish bitterness here...if someone offering you €160,000 to do a job you'd bite their fúckin hands off...and don't bother denying it.
    The fact is €160,000 a year for heads of charities is about average despite what the begrudgers think.
    Another lovely fact that the other politicians are spinning is her €390,000 she received over a decade..so basically €39k a year..
    Let's compare that to the rest of the candidates and it's probably peanuts to what they received.
    But no...let the media twist the facts to generate more news :rolleyes:

You think a website justifies her ridiculous salary?

I love this bit from the website......

Ah the oul shyte talk, a bit of perspective is needed. We are not talking about a global corporation here, we are talking about a charity. How she can accept such a salary is both disgusting and hypocritical.
    No I think the fact that she's the Managing Director of a multi-national sporting organisation spanning over 50 countries through Europe and Asia justifies her salary. While €160,000 is a big salary, it doesn't seem ridiculous for a person in her position. She's earning much less than some of the MDs of charities here and yet she's in a much higher position.
    You don't know what she does, neither do I. All we can do is speculate. But as an MD, she hardly sits on her ass all day.
    squod wrote: »
    Seen MDs of much bigger corporations on much less.
    Any examples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

reprazant wrote: »
    Possibly.

Which is why I won't donate to Rehab anymore. I find it ludicrous to see this type of money squandered by a charity which is trying to RAISE funds.

Some fund raising on 500m.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

beagle001 wrote: »
    Mary davis is a cash hungry individual who is only seeking higher office to promote mary davis and co and has no clue about this country only her self interests and her cronies.
    Her charities paying her husbands PR firms thousands,conflict of interest maybe.
    I think the people of Ireland are not that stupid to vote in this fianna fail crony.

She is not unique. It is just another example of all that is wrong with salaries in general in Ireland, Inc (currently under administration).

But as an MD, she hardly sits on her ass all day.

lol.

Any examples?

Give me some facts and figures for comparisons. What's the budget? How many staff on the payroll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 canhascheez

Director of a multi-national sporting organisation

It is not a sporting organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

It is not a sporting organisation.

It's not wha? Special Olympics is some kind of cover story for something else now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Sooopie wrote: »
    She is a dose, and those vain, silly looking posters of her strutting like she's on a cat walk prove it, the absolute hack of her, seriously

i see her catwalk poster and presume there's a charity fashion show on somewhere locally

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

Well i think the salary is justified, Adobe charge fairly high prices for its software

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

bamboozle wrote: »

i see her catwalk poster and presume there's a charity fashion show on somewhere locally

she must seriously love herself like

wouldn't mind, but when she grimaces you can see she's missing a top tooth

It's not wha? Special Olympics is some kind of cover story for something else now?

Its not a sporting organisation, its a charity.

HEHE!

Just donated 50c by payapl to mary davis's campaign under the name "Michael D Higgins"

Its not a sporting organisation, its a charity.

Ah here. Stop. The special olympics isn't a sporting organisation. Get off!

Plenty of athletes require donations or sponsors to help them with costs. Trainers, equipment, diet, physio etc. If your post is in the style of AH humour I applaud you. If not then I can lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

squod wrote: »
    lol.

Give me some facts and figures for comparisons. What's the budget? How many staff on the payroll?

Well, you made the claim that there were MD's of much bigger corporations on much less, so really, you should just be able to list out a few would being given hints.

Ah here. Stop. The special olympics isn't a sporting organisation. Get off!

Plenty of athletes require donations or sponsors to help them with costs. Trainers, equipment, diet, physio etc. If your post is in the style of AH humour I applaud you. If not then I can lol.

It is a registered charity, what other sporting organisations are registered charities?

So the purpose of the special olympics is to raise money for charity???? Are you for real? ? Special Olympics is a sporting organisation. It also helps raise funds for it's athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

Them posters would put anyone off voting for her. Round here she has them on ten poles in a row in two places. Her supporters must be retarded thouh. Some of them are upside down.

vetstu wrote: »
    Them posters would put anyone off voting for her. Round here she has them on ten poles in a row in two places. Her supporters must be Australians though. Some of them are upside down.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

So the purpose of the special olympics is to raise money for charity???? Are you for real? ? Special Olympics is a sporting organisation. It also helps raise funds for it's athletes.

"Athletes" who are only considered as such due to mental deficiency. They're not exactly breaking any records.

Haelium wrote: »
    "Athletes" who are only considered as such due to mental deficiency. They're not exactly breaking any records.

Maybe not, but their certainly breaking stereotypes, or maybe not looking at your opinon.

I now grade you a deficient and just a "poster" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Simple fact is these CEOs of charities deal with millions and are paid accordingly -

Also when you compare the wages to a college lecturer €60k-160k - they're on pittance really

Maybe not, but their certainly breaking stereotypes, or maybe not looking at your opinon.

I now grade you a deficient and just a "poster" :rolleyes:

I am just a poster, and I have terrible English skills.

Your point?

What stereo types are they breaking?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Simple fact is these CEOs of charities deal with millions and are paid accordingly -

Also when you compare the wages to a college lecturer €60k-160k - they're on pittance really

Yeah, 160k for "charity work" is a pittance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I'll go again.

Special 160K Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Haelium wrote: »
    Yeah, 160k for "charity work" is a pittance.

See there's were you're going wrong - It's not 'charity work', it's 'working for a charity' - In order to get top people to run a million dollar charity they need to pay top dollar -

Understand now? probably not!

Oranage2 wrote: »
    See there's were you're going wrong - It's not 'charity work', it's 'working for a charity' - In order to get top people to run a million dollar charity they need to pay top dollar -

Understand now? probably not!

I highly doubt that working for the Special Olympics is among the most demanding jobs around. So explain why they need to pay "top dollar".