Signing on day ( people skippin the queue )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 tonymantana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I've to sign on myself today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

What does FML stand for?

Free Money Leechers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I've had this happen to me too, and typically it happened on a morning when I was due for a job interview within the hour. I shot one of them the evil eye and just said, "I was before yous." He stared back at me and for a moment I thought he was likely to spit on me or something, but then he shrugged and replied, "Go'wan ahead then."

They'll do it for as long as they get away with it. Stand up for yourself OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Go in there with black dots painted all over your face and watch the queue scatter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Go in there with legitimate job offers and watch the queue scatter.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I used to do the same thing, arrive down good and early to get in and get out sharpish. Same thing, always some fella or two would try and jump the line. I just told em **** off to the back and they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

If you have a problem with that, tell them. If nobody does anything about it, they'll keep doing it.

try doing that at the navan road office and you'll get an iron bar smashed over your skull.

daveyeh wrote: »

try doing that at the navan road office and you'll get an gold bar bought with your taxpayers money smashed over your skull.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Always sign on in the afternoon. The mornings and straight after lunch are jam packed. 3-4 is the best time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Every month I sign on at the dole office and every month I arrive early to get first in the queue standing there for like half hour, and every month there are guys in front of me and when the doors open at half nine the queue is MASSIVE and then their ''mates'' ( about five of them ) come and stand beside them at the queue and sign on with them. They dont go to the back of the queue and they just skip it. Security guards do damn all because they are rough lads taken advantage and they is scared of them.

does queue skipping happen at your local social welfare office? and if so, whats done about it?

I think they are setting up a tribunal to investigate this atrocity. Have you tried calling the Gardaí?

MagicSean wrote: »
    I think they are setting up a tribunal to investigate this atrocity. Have you tried calling the Gardaí?

Should ring that racist presenter on 4fm instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

You should be thankful that your dole scum arent trampling people if they fall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

In my local office they use CCTV and anyone caught skipping the queue is forced to sign daily for a month. Great idea in my opinion however whether they follow through with it or it's an empty threat I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Oranage2 wrote: »
    You should be thankful that your dole scum arent trampling people if they fall

I wonder how many of the people in that clip could guess what this is a drawing of?

http://29.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lnrf6r9gCp1qeyj2to1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I arrive early to get first in the queue

You only think you're there first. The truth is they have been queueing since they were 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 How Many Users

in the office I go to they split up the lines based on position in the alphabet. Normally the person doing the queue that isn't mine is about 10x faster then my queue so there will be nobody in the second queue but the first is almost out the door. What loads of people do is queue up for the wrong queue and get told to use the other hatch, so the skip the entire queue and sign on.

Some bloke tried to skip in front of me today and my reply was "Just because you don't know the alphabet does not mean you can skip the queue, back of the line you muppet"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

The only solution is the 24-hour dole office.

Follow this guy's example I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

FYP

FYP

HAW HAW HAW Let them eat cake.

What...what do you mean my jobs gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

in the office I go to they split up the lines based on position in the alphabet. Normally the person doing the queue that isn't mine is about 10x faster then my queue so there will be nobody in the second queue but the first is almost out the door. What loads of people do is queue up for the wrong queue and get told to use the other hatch, so the skip the entire queue and sign on.

Some bloke tried to skip in front of me today and my reply in my head was "Just because you don't know the alphabet does not mean you can skip the queue, back of the line you muppet"