Double-Barreled Surnames

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I think people take double-barrelled surnames because they think they sound posher. Load of hogwash IMO.
    Call me old fashioned but I see double barrelled surnames as pretentious. I'm not changing my surname when I get married and my wife will be taking my name (I hope :().

Ah, how little minds can get consumed with nurturing little prejudices just for the sake of it. I'm sure if you two are both so dead set against "double barrelled surnames" you'll be willing to give up your own surname and let your kids have your wife's surname? Or maybe it's really, when all is said and done, your opposition to women having their surname on the child's birth cert rather than "double barrelled surnames" that's your problem?

Im old fashioned, Any guy who takes on his woman's surname in any form is a pu$$y whipped pu$$y.

Yeah, like Francis Sheehy Skeffington, who was imprisoned for opposing British recruitment in Ireland during WW I and then shot dead during the Easter Rising in 1916, some years after incorporating the name of his famous feminist wife Hanna Sheehy into his own surname?

Skullsri wrote: »
    These people are usually found within the pale and usually think they are more important than they actualy are..just as bad as them d4 heads with the new trend of using the irish version of their names just to be "cool"..

More historical ignorance wrought about by being so colonised the poster is unaware of Irish nomenclature tradition "beyond the Pale", and very, very much among the Gaelic Irish within the Pale for the entirety of its existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Double-barrelled surname
    Range Rover
    Shades on top of head

salt of the earth imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

kincsem wrote: »
    Double-barrelled surname
    Range Rover
    Shades on top of head

salt of the earth imo
    bang on there. It's like people informing you that "little connor is going to the orthodontist tomorrow".
    Just "Dentist" would do, thanks, Moira Geebag-McSharry.

By the way kincsem, that sig is an Italian accented quote which makes the horses achievements all the more impressive.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭northern lights

I kept my own surname and added my husbands purely because my forename is irish but my surname is scottish and I really didn't want to lose it. It's a wee surname which goes very well with my husbands. Don't use it all the time but it's on all my official stuff and if we had children I'd love them to have that connection their scottish side ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

People realise that people can be named with DB names from birth right? It's not something done just to be trendy.

I'm one of them. When I got married I didn't want to lose my family name. I come from a close knit family, and proud to be part of it. I adore my Dad, and thought it would be a nice gesture to carry over the family name. I do have brothers, but it's not the point. I can't see why I couldn't carry the name also.

I'm split from the guy I married, and as soon as I did I dropped the use of his surname in mine immediately. Theres no snobbery or pretentiousness about having a double-barreled surname, I saw it as a nice gesture and sign of respect to both families.

People that get wound up over a surname are retarded. It's just a fucking name, have you nothing better to be getting pissed off over? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Does it become quadruple-barrelled?

QUAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Laura_lolly87

I have a double barreled surname but its not both my parents surnames. It goes way back so with most of my family (cousins and uncles) we pick the one we like most and use that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    Penelope O'Shaughnessy-McGillicuddy? Aye....
    Hermaphrodite??:eek:

Edit: Technically I know O' and Mac are gender neutral in English

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I seem to remember when I was in the Gaeltacht in Connemara long long ago (1990ish) that a lot of the folks there have to have long winded extra names instead of their surnames just so that people know who you are talking about.

For example - Kathleen Flaherty (or Caitlin ni Fhlahurtha - excuse my spelling) being a relatively common name. I remember encountering someone called Caitlin Marcus Beartla Mharcusin. They used the spouse's name, spouse's father, and spouse's father's father. There were other similar examples too. Practical, I suppose. And there could be no doubt which Kathleen Flaherty you wanted to talk to :-)

So it's not all bad
    I was over in innismore aran island back in the 80's and the taxi driver was Martín Coneen Tom. Don't know if he is still there but he was fairly p1ssed off with us as he couldn't get us out of the pub going on for 2.30 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Nothing against double Barreled surnames myself

Eoin Lost-horizon jr

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    It is ridiculously pretentious and so idiotic when people with spud-munching culchie names decide to merge them.

Daniel Day-Lewis? Grand
    This isn't a Dub v country people thread Miss Fluffy drawers o Hanlon :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I have a double barreled surname but its not both my parents surnames. It goes way back so with most of my family (cousins and uncles) we pick the one we like most and use that.

If you marry someone with a similar surname what happens then? No-one has answered this thus far.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Freddie59 wrote: »
    If you marry someone with a similar surname what happens then? No-one has answered this thus far.:confused:

Like what? either use them both or drop one of them I'd imagine =/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Haven't the Spanish got about five hundred names each?

Handy when signing on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

Skullsri wrote: »
    These people are usually found within the pale and usually think they are more important than they actualy are..just as bad as them d4 heads with the new trend of using the irish version of their names just to be "cool"..

Irish is cool now ?.....yay !!!!! :D

I have noticed that 50% of the time people call me by my Christian name and the other 25% by my nickname and the other 25% by my brothers name.

What's in a name?

percentages may not be accurate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Hermaphrodite??
    I think O and Mc are both masculine in Irish, and the feminine is Ni/Nic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

Kasabian wrote: »
    I have noticed that 50% of the time people call me by my Christian name and the other 25% by my nickname and the other 25% by my brothers name.

What's in a name?

percentages may not be accurate

Shaniqua.............

What are you thinking right now ?? :)

30Min wrote: »
    Shaniqua.............

What are you thinking right now ?? :)

How the hell you know me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My kids have a double barrelled surname. We never married, never will at this stage, and baby no 3 on the way will also have the double barrelled surname:). I think it makes sense, and tbh I wasn't going to let the kids just take himself's surname, ie making me the odd one out with a different surname. In a lot of cases, either one or other of the names is used, and that doesn't bother me. If they ever chose to use one or the other themselves in years to come, that also wouldn't bother me. What I don't understand is an unmarried woman like myself, who may have kids from different relationships, giving the kids their Dad's surnames. So you have siblings, with different surnames from each other altogether. Dunno, just imagine this gets confusing:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

73Cat wrote: »
    My kids have a double barrelled surname. We never married, never will at this stage, and baby no 3 on the way will also have the double barrelled surname:). I think it makes sense, and tbh I wasn't going to let the kids just take himself's surname, ie making me the odd one out with a different surname. In a lot of cases, either one or other of the names is used, and that doesn't bother me. If they ever chose to use one or the other themselves in years to come, that also wouldn't bother me. What I don't understand is an unmarried woman like myself, who may have kids from different relationships, giving the kids their Dad's surnames. So you have siblings, with different surnames from each other altogether. Dunno, just imagine this gets confusing:confused:

So your reason for giving the kids a double barreled surname is to highlight the fact that you and your partner aren't married?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

I think people take double-barrelled surnames because they think they sound posher. Load of hogwash IMO.

You don't decide to take a double-barrelled surname, it's given to you.

Seems to be a lot of people here who have nothing better to moan about, you'd swear it wasn't just a name, but an insult to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

seanbmc wrote: »
    You don't decide to take a double-barrelled surname, it's given to you.

Seems to be a lot of people here who have nothing better to moan about, you'd swear it wasn't just a name, but an insult to them.

You may not but your parents decide for you, and that could be seen as their reasoning (i dont believe that)

Also some people do choose them for themself when they get married, they choose to keep their own name and take their husbands/wifes name.

I dont like them! Think they sound silly and could cause problems when too strong willed people with double barrelled names marry and want their kids to have all names (unlikely but it could happen) However I dont really care what other people do.

I dont have a huge attachement to my name, its just a name, and will have no problem if i ever get married to take on my future husbands name. I do think it is nice for everyone in the family to have the same surname - it gives a sense of unity and family. and would rather have any kids I may have share my full surname and that of my husbands.

Again its just about personal preference. Who cares what other people do, it doesnt directly affect you so it makes no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

I always pre judge someone with one to be pretentious. Its not your fault if your dope parents give you one but surely by the age of 18 or so you should have enough cop on to just use your dads surname instead of signing yourself as James Williamson Bradford or whatever the fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

Jesus Christ, all this talk of 'but what happens when your kid marries someone with a double barreled name also?'
    Who cares?!

Do what you want, pick what name you want and for God's sake, LET YOUR KIDS DECIDE WHAT THEY WANT TO DO! :mad:

This is one of the most pointless arguments. Seriously, it's just a name. It causes no offence to you.

Why did you come here to argue about it then?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Why did you come here to argue about it then?

to point out the stupidity of people having issues with a surname...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

to point out the stupidity of people having issues with a double or quadrupled barrelled surname...