Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Double-Barreled Surnames

• 03-10-2011 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭

Seems to be slowly creeping in here. What happens if two people with double-barrelled surnames marry? Does it become quadruple-barrelled? And if two with quadruple-barreled surnames wed.......opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

its like dividing by 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I think the whole taking your partners name thing is bullshit.. double-barrel or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I think the who taking your partners name thing is bullshit.. double-barrel or not.

But where does it end?

Freddie59 wrote: »
    But where does it end?

Germany - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/8040118.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I really love my surname.

When I finally find the lucky person that I want to marry, I will be informing them that I am keeping my own name :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I really love my surname.

When I finally find the lucky person that I want to marry, I will be informing them that I am keeping my own name :D

Woman..you'll do damn well what you're told to do...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

I think people take double-barrelled surnames because they think they sound posher. Load of hogwash IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Sc@recrow wrote: »

you have much to learn

and will be sleeping on the sofa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

BBDBB wrote: »
    you have much to learn

and will be sleeping on the sofa

'Cause the woman will be too busy sleeping in the kitchen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Call me old fashioned but I see double barrelled surnames as pretentious. I'm not changing my surname when I get married and my wife will be taking my name (I hope :().

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Alot of it has to do with single parents and the desire to have your child know that they have 2 parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Call me old fashioned but I see double barrelled surnames as pretentious.

That's the word I was looking for:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

People will note your name and think you are a Protestant
    Not that's there is anything wrong with that of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I think people take double-barrelled surnames because they think they sound posher. Load of hogwash IMO.
    Or else it's because they think they were so popular before that all their old friends won't know them if they take a different surname. Either way they are full of sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

A guy i went to school with had the most god awful name, it didnt have to be so bad if his folks had just decided to not go with the double barreled thing.

one part of the surname was the type of name you'd just rather not have as it sounded ridiculous. The other part quite normal.

Plus they gave him the first name Daena (ghay name)

They could have just named him Darren and added the normal surname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Sc@recrow wrote: »

Hahahahahahahahahaha

No, I won't. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I think the whole taking your partners name thing is bullshit.. double-barrel or not.
    You are contradicting yourself there as the idea is that your children won't have a double barrel surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

There's usually nothing pretentious about it. I wasn't married when our children were born, but I wanted them to have my surname. I didn't really like it but it was ok. I am married now and my wife took my name as it is nicer for the family to all have the same surname. The children will have the second part of the surname dropped.

My cousin lives in spain and they do it as standard over there. When you are born you take your mother's father's name and your father's father's name. When you get married, you keep your father's name and take your husband's father's name. Think that's it anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Kasabian wrote: »
    Alot of it has to do with single parents and the desire to have your child know that they have 2 parents.

There can't be many outside that criteria.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There can't be many outside that criteria.:P

Haha. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

I seem to remember when I was in the Gaeltacht in Connemara long long ago (1990ish) that a lot of the folks there have to have long winded extra names instead of their surnames just so that people know who you are talking about.

For example - Kathleen Flaherty (or Caitlin ni Fhlahurtha - excuse my spelling) being a relatively common name. I remember encountering someone called Caitlin Marcus Beartla Mharcusin. They used the spouse's name, spouse's father, and spouse's father's father. There were other similar examples too. Practical, I suppose. And there could be no doubt which Kathleen Flaherty you wanted to talk to :-)

So it's not all bad

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

the pretencious buzz here hummmmms strongly of ah chip on shoulder bull. Its quite the norm in many european countries, and to me makes sense, personally dont have it, my missus does and it seems perfectly understandable why people do it. FF clearly have been out of the news too long and people need a good moan at something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

It is ridiculously pretentious and so idiotic when people with spud-munching culchie names decide to merge them.

Daniel Day-Lewis? Grand
    Penelope O'Shaughnessy-McGillicuddy? Aye....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Hahahahahahahahahaha

No, I won't. :p

I bet you're a traditionalist when it comes to getting a €10K shiny stone on your finger :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    It is ridiculously pretentious and so idiotic when people with spud-munching culchie names decide to merge them.

Daniel Day-Lewis? Grand
    Penelope O'Shaughnessy-McGillicuddy? Aye....

so it depends on the name? not the reasons for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Did Ross O'Carroll-Kelly books add the social stigma or was it always there?

(I've always thought they were stupid btw)

Sky King wrote: »
    Did Ross O'Carroll-Kelly books add the social stigma or was it always there?

(I've always thought they were stupid btw)

i think it did for some folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

They sound even worse when combined with female double-barreled forenames.
    Sally-Ann huffington smyth....ugh

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Personally don't like it, think it is generally unnesessary. There may be cases where it would be required or usefull but I think in 99% of the cases it is just trying to one up someone.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Amazed at some of the attitudes people have about double barrelled names... it's just a name ffs.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

Im old fashioned, Any guy who takes on his woman's surname in any form is a pu$$y whipped pu$$y.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Haven't the Spanish got about five hundred names each?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Call me old fashioned but I see double barrelled surnames as pretentious.

How is it pretentious?

When I was married I double-barreled my name. Men get to pass on their surname, but women are expected to be stripped of theirs when they marry. I liked the idea of keeping my family name, but also took my exes as a sign of acceptance to the family. It really has nothing to do with being pretentious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

I'd prefer a double barrelled shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I have a double barrelled name, it sounds pretentious and I only use one of them, can't wait to get married and lose the damn thing!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I think in 99% of the cases it is just trying to one up someone.
    Anyone who thinks they're being 'one upped' because somebody has one more surname than them has some odd insecurity issues. Anyone who takes offence to somebody else's name...:rolleyes:

I think you are misinterpreting what he/she is saying. My mother did it to me to one-up my father. Bítch caused me endless years of annoyance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I have a double barrelled name, it sounds pretentious and I only use one of them, can't wait to get married and lose the damn thing!!!!!

You don't have to use the whole thing if you don't want to, you can legally change it by deed poll.

Abi wrote: »
    You don't have to use the whole thing if you don't want to, you can legally change it by deed poll.
    Would go any bloody change it altogether and have nothing to do with either of them!

But all my bits and pieces are in the first part of my name (except banking details) Couldn't be bothered with trying to change everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Mr Chumley-Warner :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

I've heard of someone who was O'Driscoll-O'Driscoll.

Funniest thing I ever heard. Not sure if its true or not as I didn't meet the person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

If my girlfriend took my surname and used it as part of a double barrelled name, she'd sound like she was a type of dog food.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

ottostreet wrote: »
    If my girlfriend took my surname and used it as part of a double barrelled name, she'd sound like she was a type of dog food.
    Agricola wrote: »
    Mr Chumley-Warner :cool:

I think it shows a certain pedigree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

harry21 wrote: »

Funniest thing I ever heard. Not sure if its true or not as I didn't meet the person.

This should be in the friend o' friend thread

My middle name is my mother's maiden name, so I have a double-barreled surname without the hyphen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

harry21 wrote: »

In countries like Spain, where people take both of their parents' surnames (or grandfather, in the absence of a parent), it's not all that uncommon to see people with the same surname repeated as a double-barrelled one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

My God!

My eyes have been opened, me and my husband NEVER EVER considered what will happen if, forsooth, our future fruit wants to get hitched.

It's a non issue. It takes two people to make a baby, so our kids will get two names. Putting one name only is like doing a huge report for work as a team and giving only one person the credit, which is bullcrap. If I'm going to be pushing something the size of a watermelon out of my vagina, I'm sure as hell not going to give himself all the credit in the form of his surname only.

lazygal wrote: »
    I'm sure as hell not going to give himself all the credit in the form of his surname only.

Surely the 'credit' is in raising the child more so than in what name is scrawled on the birth-cert.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

lazygal wrote: »
    My God!

My eyes have been opened, me and my husband NEVER EVER considered what will happen if, forsooth, our future fruit wants to get hitched.

It's a non issue. It takes two people to make a baby, so our kids will get two names. Putting one name only is like doing a huge report for work as a team and giving only one person the credit, which is bullcrap. If I'm going to be pushing something the size of a watermelon out of my vagina, I'm sure as hell not going to give himself all the credit in the form of his surname only.

Have you considered a pet?