Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison Officer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Roster is a 7 day roster. The main shift is 8am to 8pm. This is how your 2 weeks would go.
    Week 1 Week 2
    Mon On Off
    Tues On Off
    Wed Off On
    Thurs Off On
    Fri On Off
    Sat On Off
    Sun On Off
    You do nights and early starts but thats the bones of the roster. We have built in overtime as well which basically means you will be doing an extra day per fortnight, I can't really explain it quickly. The majority of your duty will be on the landings dealing with prisoners. After a few years you can apply for a few different units.
    Escort corp deals with prisoner transfers and the courts. Some lads like it as it's monday to friday and no nights.
    Operational support group are the specialist search teams, gather intelligence, investigate stuff etc.
    Canine unit has the drugs and "biting" dogs.
    These are small enough units and usually you need a few years under your belt to have a shot of getting on them. The pay and conditions in the job have been badly eroded over the last few years and morale is fairly low. The guards offer more variety in my opinion, but overall, despite what some people say, its still a good job. If your in the reserves then I don't need to tell you that it can be dangerous dealing with scrotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Has the Government ditched the plan that would have seen prisoner escorts outsourced ?

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭macroman29

Got a letter from IPS this morning. PCT Test on 7 October in Beladd House.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

macroman29 wrote: »
    Got a letter from IPS this morning. PCT Test on 7 October in Beladd House.

The 40 shuttle runs are the hardest part. The rest is easy. Good luck:)

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

you do realise you are a muppet and have not a clue what you are talking about? prisoners cost the state a fortune! so much so that we suffer to make sure they are happy!

Whats the main cost of keeping a prisoner??? STAFF. Whats the handiest way of saving money???? PRIVATISE. Who is going to Lose??? STAFF. They dont give a **** about either the staff OR the Prisoners... A Necassary evil we are to keep prisoners locked up. The give them everything to keep them quiet and take everything off us cos they know they have the POA in their pockets. .. and IF they can save money by NOT HAVING TO PAY PENSIONS , then they will gladly do it. The cost saving factor of not having to pay pensions to employees. Get your facts right before you start calling people Muppets. Gob ****e

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭slim1919

looks like i am ****ed was just on to IPS not getting job dident get security clearance for some reason thats 3 years well spent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 somehope11

slim1919 wrote: »
    looks like i am ****ed was just on to IPS not getting job dident get security clearance for some reason thats 3 years well spent
    Sorry to hear that buddy,its been a long wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭slim1919

somehope11 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that buddy,its been a long wait.

thanks man i realy dont know why they dident give me security clearance i have never been in trouble with the law before i will be appealing it though but i will definitely miss the next class

Delancey wrote: »
    Has the Government ditched the plan that would have seen prisoner escorts outsourced ?

It was put into legislation but never acted upon. I'd be very surprised if it wasn't privatised in the next 2 years along with the tuck shops, staff screening units and anything else they can privatise. It's fairly common knowledge that G4 have taken on a few retired Governors and they would have a field day with no pesky union to get in their way.

Was speaking to a member of HR today (they actually returned my call :eek:) who told me they are hoping to get a class started in Belaad in late October or early November.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

they are supposed to be training 40 in october thats uposed to be true :):)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,761 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

480905 wrote: »
    Get your facts right before you start calling people Muppets. Gob ****e
    Infracted for A) refusing to follow moderator instructions and B) abusing another boards.ie member.

Folks I'm serious, if I issue a perfectly reasonable moderator instruction on-thread, I expect that to be respected and complied with. This forum requires the least moderation, and I'd like it to stay that way.

There is to be NO FURTHER COMMENT on this post, or the post it was responding to.

Back on topic please and thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

slim1919 wrote: »
    thanks man i realy dont know why they dident give me security clearance i have never been in trouble with the law before i will be appealing it though but i will definitely miss the next class

Probably not your fault.
    Not getting clearance is most likely a result of your file, sitting in a pile of files on some Garda desk somewhere and not getting cleared in time.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭pada1981

hey all, got my letter for pct, oct 7th, just wondering what its like? i heard the 40 shuttle runs is the hardes part??? any insights would be helpful from people who have done it...

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭innercitydub2

Rawhead wrote: »
    Roster is a 7 day roster. The main shift is 8am to 8pm. This is how your 2 weeks would go.
    Week 1 Week 2
    Mon On Off
    Tues On Off
    Wed Off On
    Thurs Off On
    Fri On Off
    Sat On Off
    Sun On Off
    You do nights and early starts but thats the bones of the roster. We have built in overtime as well which basically means you will be doing an extra day per fortnight, I can't really explain it quickly. The majority of your duty will be on the landings dealing with prisoners. After a few years you can apply for a few different units.
    Escort corp deals with prisoner transfers and the courts. Some lads like it as it's monday to friday and no nights.
    Operational support group are the specialist search teams, gather intelligence, investigate stuff etc.
    Canine unit has the drugs and "biting" dogs.
    These are small enough units and usually you need a few years under your belt to have a shot of getting on them. The pay and conditions in the job have been badly eroded over the last few years and morale is fairly low. The guards offer more variety in my opinion, but overall, despite what some people say, its still a good job. If your in the reserves then I don't need to tell you that it can be dangerous dealing with scrotes.

Thanks for the reply to my question rawhead :)

pada1981 wrote: »
    hey all, got my letter for pct, oct 7th, just wondering what its like? i heard the 40 shuttle runs is the hardes part??? any insights would be helpful from people who have done it...

The shuttle runs are the hardest bit. I didn't practise them before I done mine and I still made it with about 10 seconds to spare. If your reasonably fit then it won't be problem. The trick is just pacing yourself and not going off like a mad man on the first few. The rest of the test is easy.

do you have to touch the cones as you run, or is it with your feet if that makes sense???

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

pada1981 wrote: »
    do you have to touch the cones as you run, or is it with your feet if that makes sense???

You run between two points and have to touch the line with your foot..

Practice your shuttle runs!

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

ST John is on tv again procrastinating about people in jails for fines could nearly agree with him on this ,What a waste of money sending these people to already over crowded prisons:rolleyes::rolleyes:

cordub wrote: »
    ST John is on tv again procrastinating about people in jails for fines could nearly agree with him on this ,What a waste of money sending these people to already over crowded prisons:rolleyes::rolleyes:

+ 1 . Why a process where offenders have fines deducted from wages / social welfare has not been implemented is beyond me.

Whats your opinion on the lady being sent to prison for not allowing the esb to go in and knock all her trees.Was it the right thing to send her to prison or not.

somehope11 wrote: »
    Whats your opinion on the lady being sent to prison for not allowing the esb to go in and knock all her trees.Was it the right thing to send her to prison or not.

You will come across loads of people that you know shouldn't be in prison. You will come across even more that you know should never be let out of prison. Your job is to make sure that they are locked securely in the cell when you go home at night. We have no say or shouldn't care who the courts send to us.

Rawhead wrote: »
    You will come across loads of people that you know shouldn't be in prison. You will come across even more that you know should never be let out of prison. Your job is to make sure that they are locked securely in the cell when you go home at night. We have no say or shouldn't care who the courts send to us.
    Fair points.

In the book by Philip Bray he says Prison Officers always call each other Mister Murphy / Jones or whatever and never use first names in front of prisoners - is this still the case ?

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Yes, its still the case!-We dont use first names in front of the clients!

Delancey wrote: »
    In the book by Philip Bray he says Prison Officers always call each other Mister Murphy / Jones or whatever and never use first names in front of prisoners - is this still the case ?

First names are never used. A lot of lads take off wedding bands going into work (and going out). You really try and minimise what the lags know about you. Prisoners are usually called by their first name and they call us Officer or Mr X if they know you. The first names can be confusing on the traveller landings though...

Are there any protocols in place if an officer knows an inmate personally?

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭rogieop

if you have been scheduled in for your pct is it safe to assume you have passed your background checks? or is that done after the physical?

Im due in for 7th oct, just wondering,

rogieop wrote: »
    if you have been scheduled in for your pct is it safe to assume you have passed your background checks? or is that done after the physical?

Im due in for 7th oct, just wondering,

No!

I did my pct test in December and didn't get cleared until April. Some guys are still waiting.

im doing my pct 7 oct, hate this waiting game, how was the training???