Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlos Tevez refused to come off the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭noodler

An absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭dahat

My dad always said.......what would you expect from a pig only a grunt.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Abramovich is only the other one in the PL, who would be stupid enough to buy him, come January.

Especially, if Torres continues to be rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

I was disappointed when he left United and even then he was carrying his shadowy agent/owner with him, but over the past year I feel like SAF made the right call, the guy for all his talent has too much baggage.

Are Inter Milan or any other club going to pay a massive fee and his inflated wages in January and have to endure his sudden changes of heart and cries of "home sickness" in a years time?

The guy could be left in limbo.

He's likely an example of a naive individual surrounded by self aggrandising advisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Blatter wrote: »
    It doesn't matter.

Have a chat with the manager after the game and air your frustrations then. Don't go off in a strop displaying a shocking attitude and a basic lack of respect to your manager. It doesn't do anyone any good. Not him, not Mancini, not the team.

I remember listening to Steve Claridge on BBC 5 Live giving out about Ronaldo being taken off by Ferguson and went into a strop.

A few weeks later Rooney was taken off and did the same thing and Claridge was going on saying "the desire Rooney shows is great. He just wants to play"

I know it's beside the point but just thought I'd share..... and I hate Claridge. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hopefully city have the wealth to be really spiteful here. Let him rot and refuse him a transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

stovelid wrote: »
    Hopefully city have the wealth to be really spiteful here. Let him rot and refuse him a transfer.

I'm sure it wouldn't take long for him (or some Brazilian or Argentine club) to buy out the rest of his contract, as long as I'm not seeing his mug I don't care where he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,038 ✭✭✭✭adox

Another from twitter:
    Not seen this much trouble with subs in Germany since the hey day of the U- boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Watching SSN there, Mancini almost had to be held back by Brian Kidd(?) after Dzeko sulked, can't imagine what he wanted to do to Tevez. Have much sympathy for him, you could see in post match interview he looked absolutely mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭henke

Wonder how many years has he left on his City contract?

Not being a City fan I love the entertainment value their player's egos provide. I'm sure Balotelli wont want to be outdone here so expect him to hit the headlines soon :D.

On a serious note though I hope Mancini stays true to his word and doesn't play him again because this sort of behaviour is just not on at any club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Don't mind them Carlitos - West Ham United legend (ps any chance of a lend of stg30 million to pay off Sheff Utd)?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

henke wrote: »
    Not being a City fan I love the entertainment value thei's players egos provide. I'm sure Balotelli wont want to be outdone here so expect him to hit the headlines soon :D.

I'd say he'll be up all night thinking up of a plan. Expect something big in a few weeks for the derby ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Mark! wrote: »

I'm sure it wouldn't take long for him (or some Brazilian or Argentine club) to buy out the rest of his contract, as long as I'm not seeing his mug I don't care where he goes.

Just refuse to sell him and make him see out his contract training on his own or with the reserves.

Shock horror, Sir Alex was right again and saw the type of person he was years ago.

I'd rather have the relaxed style of Berbatov anyday.

There was me think Tevez loved the fans......oh wait that was just the same waffle and tripe he uttered no matter what club he was with.

He and those like him are a cancer on the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Technique

vicwatson wrote: »
    Don't mind them Carlitos - West Ham United legend (ps any chance of a lend of stg30 million to pay off Sheff Utd)?;)

14izhhj.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

danthefan wrote: »
    Not a Man City fan at all but I actually feel for Mancini here. His players are letting him down badly.

what do you expect at city, every player getting over 200 grand a week, egos as big a the rings around saturn.

I said it before and its a reason they wont win the league.

it takes more than ridiculous sheik wealth to win a league... you also need a nice cosy bonding and that is not something i see at city...

by a good step of the imagination.

tevez is an embarrassment to all footballers at all levels of the game around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

How long is Tevez playing in England and he can't speak English yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Tevez really does take the biscuit. I've never heard of anything like this in football before :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Just refuse to sell him and make him see out his contract training on his own or with the reserves.

I doubt they will do it. They are mindful of the FFP rules and there's money to be made off him on both a transfer fee and his wages.

They probably don't want to be accossiated with him anymore either. Unfortuntaley it'll mean Tevez will probably get what he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

One has to admit, even though the behaviour is erratic to say the least, this guy is a very very special footballer, he is a world class footballer and one cannot take that away. His behaviour sometimes is not very professional as we've all seen, but he is a magnificent footballer - no matter who he plays for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

amiable wrote: »
    How long is Tevez playing in England and he can't speak English yet?

dont think maradona can speak f**k all english also

south americans generally couldnt give a rats a$$ about english.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I'd love if Fergie signed him. Just to shut up all the "See, Fergie was right" and "We told you so" man-u fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Would love to be a fly on the wall at the training ground tomorrow as Tevez strolls in....awkward.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I'd love if Fergie signed him. Just to shut up all the "See, Fergie was right" and "We told you so" man-u fans.

Yeah, he didn't sign him once, so now, he's going to buy him at a more expensive price, even though he doesn't want to stay in England, has already publicly criticised Ferguson and shown just the type of person he is.

Oh yeah, that'll happen all right.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Why would Maradona ever need to speak English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Seriously, WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I'm a United fan, and as such should probably be revelling in this drama, but instead it just sickens me.

I forgave Tevez when he moved to City, which wasn't easy, but I did it because he was such a good player, and I always remembered his reaction on his last match at Old Trafford when he was taken off early. The crowd booed but he clapped them as if to say "it's grand lads"....

But Whatever respect I had for him is dead. I feel so bad for Mancini and City. He seems so upset over the incident in the interview...

I really hope City are spiteful now. I know they won't, but they should let him rot on the bench for the rest of his contract, ruin his career, fine him if he refuses to play a reserve match, refuse him a transfer. But they won't, he'll be sold in the January window for a knock-down price to a club in Argentina/Brazil and we'll never hear about him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

What? Small difference though, Maradona didn't spend 6 or 7 years playing football in England did he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

vicwatson wrote: »
    he is a magnificent footballer - no matter who he plays for.

Or refuses to play for, in this case.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Welcome to Tevez, Manchester.

No fan of city at all but that's a disgrace, how many people get the privilege to play at the highest level and throw it away? I can't think of anyone wasting their talent more than Tevez. I hope the pay day is worth it Carlos.