Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlos Tevez refused to come off the bench

• 27-09-2011 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭

Quite amazed at this, never heard the likes of.
    Cant think of any other player who has refused to go on

From the BBC

An incredible game at Old Trafford but that's nothing on the scenes at the Allianz Arena where Carlos Tevez refused to warm up when he was asked to come on in the second half. Tevez's team-mate Edin Dzeko, who I think he was meant to replace, showed his disgust when he took his place on the bench, and I suspect that is just the start of this particular story.

Incredible. Roberto Mancini confims Carlos Tevez refused to come off the bench against Bayern Munich. Mancini sounded as stunned as you and I when he explained what happened. "I can't accept this one player refusing to go on," Mancini said.

Man City boss Roberto Mancini explained that he brought on defensive midfielder Nigel de Jong for striker Edin Dzeko after 55 minutes with his side trailing 2-0 because "I wanted to calm everything down." He added "Afterwards I wanted to put Carlos Tevez on the pitch, he refused to go on the pitch. For me it is a bad situation."

Roberto Mancini on Carlos Tevez after the Argentine refused to come off the bench tonight: "He's finished with me, with me he's finished."

More from Mancini on Tevez: "Can you imagine a Bayern Munich, Milan or man U player doing this?" And on Edin Dzeko, who reacted angrily after being brought off: "He had a poor game. In terms of being unhappy, it should be me, not him. This is the last time with me a player will do this."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Disgusting behavior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Hate City, but this is disgusting behaviour. I hope City sue him Adrian Mutu-style and leave him penniless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

You put your faith in a man of his calibre and you can't complain when it goes tits up tbh.

He clearly is angling to be loaned out somewhere or have his contract terminated so City should do neither and just freeze him out for the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

I have alot more respect for Mancini now than ever. Fair play to him for saying this.
    But it goes to show when you try buy a team of superstars there just is not enough room for all the egos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

man city surely won't sack him, he's worth too much money for that. a rather large fine is in the offing i'd say followed by a spell in the reserves.

his attitude is totally out of order, he earns so much money compared to the avg working man, and when asked to do his job he simply refuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Kill him

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Bad form, needs to go or get serious splinters and fade into oblivion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Spoilt Brats.

Surely some disciplinary action from City. If you are paid to do a job then do your feckin job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I think De Jong should deal with this matter on the training pitch:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

WOFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Having money in a soccer isnt always a good thing

Mancini on Tevez: "If I have my way he will be out of the club."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I blame Ferguson and Man Utd. I just do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

He's pissed on just about every club he's been at,City can afford to let him rot in the reserves and should do so.

Who would want him anyway,knowing that he might do the same thing again in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

You have to feel for Mancini.
    He's trying to build something and the douche bag goes and does that.
    Obviously 2 many stars in that dressing room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Tevez is a disgrace, he should be dismissed and sued for breach of contract.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

They should let him rot in the reserves for the rest of his contract after that - refuse all offers for him and make him either see out his contract or force him to buy out his own contract. After all, the owner can afford to do this and it would act as a deterrent to other players that act like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

zerks wrote: »

Who would want him anyway,knowing that he might do the same thing again in future.

No one else could afford him. This is what happens when you pay all these egos ridiculous amounts of money, there'll eventually be conflict and when it all goes tits up there'll be no other clubs for these players to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

The only real surprise is that everyone is surprised, this type of behaviour has been brewing with Tevez, all through his career he has gotten his own way until now.

He shows what a stupid, immature, person he is who for some strange reason is blessed with good football skills!!!

I suggest a public execution....joking or maybe not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I really hope the Manchester City owners force him to train with the kids and let him rot in the reserves for the duration of his contract.

I feel sorry for Mancini, he clearly wanted rid in the summer but Tevez' desire to be back nearer his family wasn't great enough to extend to him taking a pay cut.

He's a cracking player when he wants to be but another example of how money is ****ing the modern game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭taytothief

What a díckhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Leave him in the reserves for the remainder of his contract . Every day he refuses to train or play with them then fine him a weeks wages .

That way should see him honor is contract til the last day at zero on going cost .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Paully D wrote: »
    I really hope the Manchester City owners force him to train with the kids and let him rot in the reserves for the duration of his contract.

I feel sorry for Mancini, he clearly wanted rid in the summer but Tevez' desire to be back nearer his family wasn't great enough to extend to him taking a pay cut.

He's a cracking player when he wants to be but another example of how money is ****ing the modern game.

Not even with teh kids, let him train on his own, it would be unfair to the academy players to have him poisoning their atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

killwill wrote: »
    I have alot more respect for Mancini now than ever. Fair play to him for saying this.

Have to say ill only have a lot more respect for Mancini if he follows through on his threat and does drop Tevez, and Dzeko to the rserves. Both of them behaved in an appaling manner, Sky also reported David Platt had to console Zabaleta who was sitting on the bench so im sure theres more to this or more to come other that what weve heard so far.

Have to say ill only have a lot more respect for Mancini if he follows through on his threat and does drop Tevez, and Dezeko to the rserves. Both of them behaved in an appaling manner, Sky also reported David Platt had to console Zabaleta who was sitting on the bench so im sure theres more to this or more to come other that what weve heard so far.

I posted in teh other thread, I believe the Zabaleta situation was him losing the rag at Tevez.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

Who the hell is Carlos Tevev?

Mont wrote: »
    They should let him rot in the reserves for the rest of his contract after that - refuse all offers for him and make him either see out his contract or force him to buy out his own contract. After all, the owner can afford to do this and it would act as a deterrent to other players that act like that.

Yep, I agree.

The money they'd be losing out on by continuing to have him on the books would be the equivalent of me or you throwing €1 away. The same goes for if they tried to get rid of him through breach of contract, the transfer fee they'd lose out on is pocket change to them, but I can't see them wanting to risk what would be one of their European rivals getting a player like him on a free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

You knew who he was a few posts ago.

Great player, shame about the attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,243 ✭✭✭mosstin

It must be your arse - he played against Napoli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

pkelso (Guardian)
    Say one thing for Tevez, he hasn't let the money change him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Post 18

Post 27

:p:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Not sure if its true but a few reports on twitter that Zabaleta struck Tevez in the tunnel. I think he was more upset with Tevez then Roberto.

Vanbis wrote: »
    Not sure if its true but a few reports on twitter that Zabaleta struck Tevez in the tunnel. I think he was more upset with Tevez then Roberto.

I got this impression when I saw them on the bench just after Tevez appeared to warm up. There is no one more committed on the pitch than Zabs and this would not have gone down well with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

2238: It looks like we might hear from Carlos Tevez tonight too. He is in the media mixed zone at Bayern's Allianz Arena and talking to journalists.

BBC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Vanbis wrote: »

Who's saying that?
    Just read:
    Carlos Tevez isn't going quietly - he has emerged in the mixed zone and wants to talks #MCFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

As a United fan I was delighted when he left, because regardless of his whining it was always about the money. Maybe now City fans are getting it and can see him for what he is. What an utter disgrace he is as a 'professional' and I hope Mancini makes him suffer for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Can see him throwing a strop and getting on the next plane to Argentina or wherever it is that he'd rather be.

What an absolute prick. The amount of people out there who would kill to be able to even play at LOI level and he's swanning around on £200k a pulling stunts like this. Would love to see him rot in the reserves for the rest of his contract, as he's picked the one club who can afford to do that. Can't see it happening unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Why all this talk of too many egos? The problem here is Tevez is a child. Nothing wrong with anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

welcometomanchesterc_354670.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Thrill wrote: »
    2238: It looks like we might hear from Carlos Tevez tonight too. He is in the media mixed zone at Bayern's Allianz Arena and talking to journalists.

BBC

Has he been using his new found bench time to learn the lingo after all these years?

Kinda feel sorry for Mancini..looked proper upset

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

what i cant understand is how many years is Tevez in England? and he couldnt be bothered learning the language. Interviewed by sky through interpreter. I feel sorry for Mancini to be put in that situation. Tevez a bad egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Well that Man City interpreter might have just cost himself a job.

Bodhisopha wrote: »

Didn;t see this, what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

dsmythy wrote: »
    Why all this talk of too many egos? The problem here is Tevez is a child. Nothing wrong with anyone else.

Not only Tevez hes getting all the limelight for obvious reasons, but Dzeko came off ranting and raving aswell whining about being taken off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

In most of the football threads "disgusting" is the in word to use for anything mildly reprehensible. I'm not sure why. It's not even reprehensible, moreso something a little bit out of the ordinary. What he did isn't disgusting. It's not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Bodhisopha wrote: »

What's happening? Where online can I watch this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

What did Dzeko do?

BERBA wrote: »
    what i cant understand is how many years is Tevez in England? and he couldnt be bothered learning the language. Interviewed by sky through interpreter. I feel sorry for Mancini to be put in that situation. Tevez a bad egg.

Too busy shagging around Manchester, despite missing his family so much :rolleyes: