Drink Spiking, real or fake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

Show Time wrote: »
    Yes and it is that sort of attitude which has every 2nd person who can't hold a drink claiming to be spikes.

Look, I'm not trying to be a smart arse, just telling you that this does happen and to men.
    Like Azureus has said I also know my limits very well, I'm in my forty's, years of experience of going out to pubs/clubs, Have often been drunk but never anything like this.
    I could not stand up, both my shoes were in bits from my mate having to drag me arms around his neck style on his back all the way home.
    The next morning I fell over in the toilet.
    I have never fallen before, saying that this was anything like not being able to hold my drink is completely wrong, and I'm not claiming to have been drugged, I'm telling you I was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

No1J wrote: »
    Look, I'm not trying to be a smart arse, just telling you that this does happen and to men.
    Like Azureus has said I also know my limits very well, I'm in my forty's, years of experience of going out to pubs/clubs, Have often been drunk but never anything like this.
    I could not stand up, both my shoes were in bits from my mate having to drag me arms around his neck style on his back all the way home.
    I have never fallen before, saying that this was anything like not being able to hold my drink is completely wrong, and I'm not claiming to have been drugged, I'm telling you I was.

Seriously peeps this dude was so spiked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

Just a little note of warning to people here.
    Not in Ireland but a bar in London was having a lot of drinks reported as being spiked by loacl hospital staff. The bar was monitored by the owner and police, the sick individual caught on CCTV was a barman that was dropping the tabs into the bottle as he de-capped them. He thought it was a "laugh". So sadly you even need to watch your drink at the point of being served:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

MoodeRator wrote: »
    Just a little note of warning to people here.
    Not in Ireland but a bar in London was having a lot of drinks reported as being spiked by loacl hospital staff. The bar was monitored by the owner and police, the sick individual caught on CCTV was a barman that was dropping the tabs into the bottle as he de-capped them. He thought it was a "laugh". So sadly you even need to watch your drink at the point of being served:mad:

Jesus what a cnut, I hope he got a lot of time in the big boys prison.

Sadly I do not know the result as I left the area very shortly after. But it sadly proves how careful you need to be in some bars.
    It was only by luck that the women he had targeted were lucky to have found help in some passing decent human beings. It was mostly kind strangers that had escorted these young women safely to the hospital. It happened over a 6-7 week period as it was never suspected that it would have been the bar staff.

Sorry I should have explained how he did it so that you can keep an eye out; The barman had the tablet pushed into the soft part of his thumb, so that as he then took the top off the bottle he would swipe his thumb over the now open top to make the tab drop off into the bottle. Simple but hard to spot if you are now aware!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Came across this while checking a link in another thread:
    Apart from disappointed audiences stabbing themselves in the eye with shivs made from popcorn containers, it is hard to imagine how Wedding Crashers, an irreverent comedy, could possibly influence criminal behavior. Olga Louniakova, a student at the Oxford School of Hair Design in Connecticut, found out the hard way that spiking a drink with Visine (as demonstrated by Owen Wilson in Wedding Crashers) not only causes diarrhea but can cause severe poisoning. In a mistake capable of being in a movie, Olga poisoned the wrong bottle, which turned out to be her supervisor’s. She was found guilty of second degree reckless endangerment and sentenced to 2 years probation. Similar incidents have occurred at several high schools by student pranksters

http://brainz.org/15-films-inspired-real-life-crimes/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

why hasn't anyone here who has been "spiked" been raped on this thrend? Seems loads have been spiked and spent the next day in bed sick but nobody has actually been raped.
    ie the purpose of these pills is to pull some in such a state they can be easily raped.. either a lot of "stories" are being made up for doing stupid things on a night out or the spkiers are crap at picking targets!

Anyway a Doc friend of mine worked in James Hospital in A&E for 6 month. No. i repeat No toxicology report he did come back with date rape drugs. and he delt with up to 10 spikings on a sat night.
    just makes me skeptical about all there claims made on this thrend

MoodeRator wrote: »
    Sadly I do not know the result as I left the area very shortly after. But it sadly proves how careful you need to be in some bars.
    It was only by luck that the women he had targeted were lucky to have found help in some passing decent human beings. It was mostly kind strangers that had escorted these young women safely to the hospital. It happened over a 6-7 week period as it was never suspected that it would have been the bar staff.

Sorry I should have explained how he did it so that you can keep an eye out; The barman had the tablet pushed into the soft part of his thumb, so that as he then took the top off the bottle he would swipe his thumb over the now open top to make the tab drop off into the bottle. Simple but hard to spot if you are now aware!

sounds like spoof to me, you know way to much about the "technique" to have got the info 1st hand, i can guarntee you were told this story and didn't witness it 1st hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

seanmc1980 wrote: »
    why hasn't anyone here who has been "spiked" been raped on this thrend? Seems loads have been spiked and spent the next day in bed sick but nobody has actually been raped.

Because we all know rape victims have absolutely no issue shouting about their ordeal, making police reports, seeing through a trial, etc, etc... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

Generally people who have been through that kind of ordeal dont just throw it out there on a casual basis to add to a debate with a load of people they dont know.

My friend and I had our drinks spiked on a night out a few years back. Thankfully because of the intervention of a couple of good samaritans neither of us had anything really bad happen. But we were very lucky!

I knew the "head nurse" at the time at the hospital. I also later bumped into the bouncer that used to work at the bar and he confirmed it to me. That is good enough for me to suggest it is true. However you and anyone else are fully entitled to your own view of the matter.

why hasn't anyone here who has been "spiked" been raped on this thrend? Seems loads have been spiked and spent the next day in bed sick but nobody has actually been raped...

To be fair, I don't think anyone is going to post that such a thing has happened to them on any public forum - and quite understandable too if they don't choose to.

Biggins wrote: »
    To be fair, I don't think anyone is going to post that such a thing has happened to them on any public forum - and quite understandable too if they don't choose to.

My point being seems everyone has had a "near miss" or "been so lucky" just very coincidental in my opinion. If i was spiked i would have no problem getting my ass to the hospital in the morning and get a toxicology report, it takes 10 mins to prove i've been spiked.

The human body works in mysterious ways may things can triger sickness fainting,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape. "No one is going to question the subject of rape?" Do you think a girl who had a one night stand and regretted it would really say she was raped/assaulted? Why the hell would she do that?

Believe me, some girls have lied about been raped.
    Why because they had a one night stand and regretted it, did not want parents or partner to find out, other reasons, just spiteful really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Its like everything,some cases are true some are not. Id reckon most cases are false, IMO its an easy card to play if a girl gets wasted and makes a tit of herself.

Ive often seen girls drink the sh*t out of it and when they start to feel sick they claim"i was spiked" or "i didnt even drink that much"!haha its bullsh*t half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

My point being seems everyone has had a "near miss" or "been so lucky" just very coincidental in my opinion.

if only 10% of people who got spiked were raped that's still an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I like to spike myself and then abuse myself like crazy.... ahh saturdays :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

revell wrote: »
    lucky you didn't lose any part of your body.

Don't really want to think about it, but there is one angle that relates to something someone said above.....I vaguely remember the bar-girl giving said girl a quick nod/wink out of the corner of my eye - thought nothing much of it at the time, but yeah - I'd guess that some are spiked at source.

Not a night I want to relive, ever. And aside from the "what could have happened" the after-effects were bad enough - although in hindsight having a room spin surreally and being more sick than I could have imagined humanly possible may have been a blessing in disguise as no long-term damage was done - as far as I can tell.

Nearly did lose my insides, though - and despite the drunken idiots that brag proudly about inducing that through drinking too much, it's not something I ever want to repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape. "No one is going to question the subject of rape?" Do you think a girl who had a one night stand and regretted it would really say she was raped/assaulted? Why the hell would she do that?

More girls are raped and assaulted than you think...it takes huge courage to come forward, most say nothing, why would they when this is the attitude that is out there: she's only making it up because she regretted a one night stand.

Imagine how absolutely HORRENDOUS it is to be sexually assaulted, and then to be told a you're a liar on top of that, mainly because people would rather believe it didn't happened. It is so huge and serious a topic that people stick their head in the sand.

Girls are getting raped and sexually assaulted out there, things need to change, not calling girls liars would be a start.

Heaps and heaps of women lie about being raped. I personally know two ****ing ejits that have came out with the old "he raped me" bull, and heard of many more. I would not be surprised if more women lied about being raped than were actually raped every year ..! All that said its a terrible crime but lying about it happening and accusing someone is a horrendous thing to do also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

This might sound strange but my sisters boyfriend had his drink spiked by a girl, He was off his feet and this after 1 pint, The girl was trying to get him to leave but he was struggling to stand was only when my sister noticed that the girl took off, So can happen to anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Some girls do....

Link

She was found guilty and given a suspended sentence in the end. This wagon used to live around the corner from me actually. She also lied to her husband and kids about having terminal cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

msg11 wrote: »
    It was on the FM104 phone show,

Stopped reading after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

Anyone remember when Halo opened in Galway? There was a barman in CPs who was spiking people's drinks for fun. I had arranged to meet my boyfriend & friends in the Skeff after I finished work at 11pm. I had one drink there before we left for the nightclub. The plan was to go to Halo but one of the girls was under 21 & they wouldn't let her in so we headed down the street to CPs. I went to the bar & ordered a bottle of bud for himself & a vodka & coke for me. I'm not a big drinker at all (no, seriously. I drink Smirnoff Ice :)) so I poured half the bottle of coke in. It tasted strange so I poured the rest of the coke in. After a couple of mouthfuls, I said to the boyf that it must be rank, cheap-a$$ vodka so I left it down, went back to the bar & ordered a coke. We went to the table the girls were all sitting at.
    About 5 minutes later, I started slurring my words. Then I couldn't hold my head up. My eyes were rolling in my head & I kept saying I was going to be sick. Two of the girls tried to pick me up to bring me to the loo but I vomited all over the floor before I could be moved. A bouncer came over, saying I'd have to leave, I was too drunk to be in there. Boyf started shouting "WTF?! She's had one drink all night, that's the drink she ordered here but didn't finish there on the table!" At this point, one of my friends was in tears, I was coming around a bit, saying "I just want to go home". Boyf & crying friend left with me, spent the following day on the couch with worst headache ever, felt like I was coming down with the flu, aches & pains everywhere.
    Turned out the barman thought it was a cool joke to play. At the same time I got done, there was about a period of 4-6 weeks where there seemed to be someone every week who had had their drink spiked. It all stopped after a girl drowned. CCTV from the club showed her heading to the loo (she was feeling sick she told her boyf) then heading out past him, straight out the door of the club. Boyf got worried when he didn't see her come out, asked a girl to look for her then asked bouncers to check for her when she wasn't in the loo. It was all over the papers at the time as she was missing for the weekend & she was captured on CCTV wandering all around the town that night, from cameras on NUIG campus to cameras outside a hotel down by the docks,before her body washed up. Toxicology reports found traces of ecstasy & rat poison in her system.
    So OP, your friend in A&E claims it's all a myth. The reason is most people don't go & get checked out because they know full well that they're not going to be believed. I was a student, out on a Saturday night with a bunch of friends, some of whom were drunk when I was saying I was sober? Yet every one of them will stand beside me & dare you to call me a liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Has anybody in Ireland ever been arrested/charged/convicted of drink spiking and if so what was the outcome ?

catreyn wrote: »
    Anyone remember when Halo opened in Galway? There was a barman in CPs who was spiking people's drinks for fun. I had arranged to meet my boyfriend & friends in the Skeff after I finished work at 11pm. I had one drink there before we left for the nightclub. The plan was to go to Halo but one of the girls was under 21 & they wouldn't let her in so we headed down the street to CPs. I went to the bar & ordered a bottle of bud for himself & a vodka & coke for me. I'm not a big drinker at all (no, seriously. I drink Smirnoff Ice :)) so I poured half the bottle of coke in. It tasted strange so I poured the rest of the coke in. After a couple of mouthfuls, I said to the boyf that it must be rank, cheap-a$$ vodka so I left it down, went back to the bar & ordered a coke. We went to the table the girls were all sitting at.
    About 5 minutes later, I started slurring my words. Then I couldn't hold my head up. My eyes were rolling in my head & I kept saying I was going to be sick. Two of the girls tried to pick me up to bring me to the loo but I vomited all over the floor before I could be moved. A bouncer came over, saying I'd have to leave, I was too drunk to be in there. Boyf started shouting "WTF?! She's had one drink all night, that's the drink she ordered here but didn't finish there on the table!" At this point, one of my friends was in tears, I was coming around a bit, saying "I just want to go home". Boyf & crying friend left with me, spent the following day on the couch with worst headache ever, felt like I was coming down with the flu, aches & pains everywhere.
    Turned out the barman thought it was a cool joke to play. At the same time I got done, there was about a period of 4-6 weeks where there seemed to be someone every week who had had their drink spiked. It all stopped after a girl drowned. CCTV from the club showed her heading to the loo (she was feeling sick she told her boyf) then heading out past him, straight out the door of the club. Boyf got worried when he didn't see her come out, asked a girl to look for her then asked bouncers to check for her when she wasn't in the loo. It was all over the papers at the time as she was missing for the weekend & she was captured on CCTV wandering all around the town that night, from cameras on NUIG campus to cameras outside a hotel down by the docks,before her body washed up. Toxicology reports found traces of ecstasy & rat poison in her system.
    So OP, your friend in A&E claims it's all a myth. The reason is most people don't go & get checked out because they know full well that they're not going to be believed. I was a student, out on a Saturday night with a bunch of friends, some of whom were drunk when I was saying I was sober? Yet every one of them will stand beside me & dare you to call me a liar.

Have you a link for this? Toxicology reports.

Heard all the stories about barman,spiking drink, rat poison and water but never seen any evidence it was true.

hondasam wrote: »
    Have you a link for this? Toxicology reports.

Heard all the stories about barman,spiking drink, rat poison and water but never seen any evidence it was true.

I wouldn't in any way consider it proof - far from it - but still interesting reading here: http://www.weddingsonline.ie/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=43670&start=0

Biggins wrote: »
    I wouldn't in any way consider it proof - far from it - but still interesting reading here: http://www.weddingsonline.ie/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=43670&start=0

A few people went missing and committed suicide which led to the stories spreading like wild fire. Is there any evidence to suggest it's true.
    That link paints Galway in a very bad light and it's really not that bad.
    I don't believe some of the posts in that link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

No1J wrote: »
    I was spiked the June weekend in Sir Henrys in 94'

Best fecking buzz ever.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    An absolute stunner spiked my drink one night when I was on holidays abroad !

Not as rosy as it seems, because the gang I was out with managed to get me out of there pretty quickly and reckoned she was "working" and probably had a few mates outside that would have mugged me.
    It would be a bad bang to wake in an ice bath missing a kidney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

If anyone wants to test out drink spiking i'm available, date rape is extra.