Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink Spiking, real or fake?

• 26-09-2011 10:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭

Okay this has kinda been on my mind a while and has been brought to the forefront this weekend.

A girlfriend of mine was out on sat night and according to the other girls and herself she was slipped a date rape drug. I'm always skeptical about date rate in ireland as most of the time the girls just get hammered, do something stupid and blame it on a date rate. I said this at lunch on sunday wit a few girls and i was lambased called insensitive etc..

I know nobody how usees them and nobody has even given me a toxicoligy report show the presence of the drug in their system,
    a doc friend of mine (trainee) has worked in a&E and has never seen the presence of the drug in any of the girls coming in claiming to have been spiked.

so is drinks being spiked in dublin a urban legend??? or does it actually occur. Medical evisdence would seem to suggest no its just women getting too drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

I've heard about €50 per hour is the going date rate, if that helps? may be more for "extras".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

seanmc1980 wrote: »
    I know nobody how usees them...
    Well, to be fair, it's not something that you go round telling everyone about, is it?

Sort of ruins the surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Of course it's real. Stupid question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

Judging by some of the comments on various women related threads in Ah, I think the rate of dating is rather low in Ireland for some of these poor chaps.

As for date rape, i haven't a clue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

couldnt you have just googled it...they,r real...from what ive heard on tv....mainly from the hangover movie...the main one is rufees in america.......basically cause amnesia of the previous night....but other,s simply ...put the girl....or guy....unconscious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Of course it's real. Stupid question.
    I think the OP means the prevalence of so-called date-rape drugs more than date-rape itself. Thread title may need to be edited for clarification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I heard that some people who ring in sick to work aren't sick.

Newsflash OP : some people lie about stuff and some don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It is real, but i reckon only a tiny percentage of girls who claim to have been spiked really have. I've been out with a girl who was genuinely spiked and it's really scary to witness- and you'd know right off that it's not just drunkeness.
    However, I know of several girls who claim to have been spiked when they're just too thick to own up to having 5 too many Bacardi Breezers. It makes the real cases appear less credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

i'd love it if some good looking sexy chick date raped me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's true in some cases
    http://www.independent.ie/unsorted/features/why-you-cant-take-your-eyes-off-your-drink-155367.html
    Rachel (names changed) says her friend Emer, 26, had her drink spiked with the classic rape drug, Rohypnol, a prescribed sedative, at a popular Dame Street pub. Rachel became concerned when Emer did not re-appear from the ladies' toilets for a long time. When she went to investigate, she found her friend had completely passed out, with her eyes rolled back in her head.

"I dragged her out to the door and the bouncer tried to tell me she was just drunk but I knew she wasn't," says Rachel. "We took her to St James's, where they put her on a drip and did various tests. It turned out in the morning that she had Rohypnol in her system. The gardai were called and asked her if she wanted to press charges but she said forget it."

I'm sure the stats are skewed because many cases aren't reported and in many cases they're just really drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Right two things happen with girls who drank too much..

First is they're chucked out of a club, hammered, covered in piss and puke and first crap they come out with is their drink was spiked - bullsh*t, they simply drank too much.

Second and other scenario is they get way too drunk, fall over and break an ankle and blame it on a wet floor and sue the ass off the club owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

starch4ser wrote: »
    i'd love it if some good looking sexy chick date raped me

Not if she penetrated your bum with a big dildo.

yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Of course date rape occurs and it's a very serious issue.

But I also think many use it as an excuse after doing something they regret.

In one minor incident a girl I knew in college spread rumours that I forced the shift on her. Fortunately there we plenty of people to dispel the rumours and it died out. Had that gone further it could have been quite a serious accusation.

Women are just as responsible for their actions when drunk as men are, however they're far more likely to be believed when unsubstantiated accusations arise which only takes public spot-light away from the real incidents that women go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"I got complety drunk last night, made a fool of myself and went home with some random guy" = you fool with no self control.

"I was out last night being sensible, went home with some random guy but my drink was spiked" = ah pet, not your fault

It happens but only a tiny percent of claims are correct.
    Medical evidence for your claim or GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Date rape definitely happens, drugging someone happens a lot less frequently. I thought I read it barely happened at all in Ireland, the main problem is women getting way too drunk.*

Not that that's saying in any way 'women brought it on themselves by drinking too much'. We just have a culture where many women think they can drink toe to toe with men, who outweigh them by 1/3rd.

*The main problem is really rapists.

It's actually quite difficult to distinguish extreme alcohol intoxication from that caused by Rohypnol (flunitrazepam) or other benzodiazepines, as they act on the same areas of the brain (GABA receptors) and have similar effects.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Date rape definitely happens, drugging someone happens a lot less frequently. I thought I read it barely happened at all in Ireland, the main problem is women getting way too drunk.*

Not that that's saying in any way 'women brought it on themselves by drinking too much'. We just have a culture where many women think they can drink toe to toe with men, who outweigh them by 1/3rd.

*The main problem is really rapists.

actually its 50/50 the drunk women and the supposed rapists.......all guys chat up drunk girls......so if a girl is really drunk and a guy is really drunk.....and the next day she says he raped her jus cause she was drunk then...tbh.....id blame both ....but think she was wrong to blame him..........

ah...if...only...it was easy to find bangable girls somehwere other then a pub on a friday night......alas...WE ARE THE IRISH

denballs wrote: »
    id blame both

Only if they both regret it.

If she wakes up regretting it, but slept with him willingly, it's her fault for going with him.
    Likewise if he wakes up regretting it, but slept with her willingly, it's his for going with her.

If a guy wakes up regretting it he just says "**** it, I was flaming. Still got me hole though!!".

If a girl wakes up regretting it's far more likely to be "OMG, he totally took advantage, like I'm totally a sweet and innocent girl and he totally only bought me drinks to steal my flower."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Seachmall wrote: »
    "OMG, he totally took advantage, like I'm totally a sweet and innocent girl and he totally only bought me drinks to steal my flower."

Have these girls been transported forward in time from the 1960's?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Have these girls been transported forward in time from the 1960's?

Waking up with a dog of a man beside you will do that.

Or so I hear anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Was out in a club one night. Was just on 7up. Picked up my drink, drank a mouthfull.

Thought it tasted strange and next thing I know the bar man whips the drink out of my hand and I see two bouncers running out the door after some fella.

Felt a bit whoozy for the next few hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

It's actually quite difficult to distinguish extreme alcohol intoxication from that caused by Rohypnol (flunitrazepam) or other benzodiazepines, as they act on the same areas of the brain (GABA receptors) and have similar effects.

And alcohol is actually viewed as another date-rape/inducement drug of choice - the auld offered a drink, ask for a single get a triple is a common rouse that most girls I know have experienced...with the added bonus they can blame the woman for just being drunk and them being the innocent gentleman rather than admit to their own less than savoury motivations...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

When you consider that a good 90% of women that I know have claimed to have been 'spiked' on some occasion, it indicates that there's something wrong. Especially when some of said women are either constantly getting themselves into ridiculously drunken states, known attention seekers or...let's call a spade-a-spade...wouldn't be the type of lookers where a man would need to slip them a roofie to get them in the sack.

It does happen, though. I'd guess it's just much more rare than we are led to believe. Maybe 1 in every 100 cases are legit?

That said, another point that's worth highlighting is how careless people (women especially) are with their booze. I would've thought that it was common knowledge for people to never leave their pints unattended or, if they're drinking a bottle, put their thumb over the top if they're walking around with it. Nope...I do be shocked when I'm hanging out with a lot of students and younger folk at how little regard they have for their safety when twisted. If it wasn't so serious, it'd be funny, Irish women's 'anti-rape security measures' on a night out: essentially it boils down slag off any lad who approaches you that you aren't attracted to so he doesn't come near you again. Sure, if he was a rapist, that'd only piss him off!

Just because it's rare doesn't mean that there isn't some freaks around who think that this stuff is acceptable/funny. Always best to think ahead and take small precautions, because this stuff is serious enough that if you get caught only once, that's that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

Was out in a club one night. Was just on 7up. Picked up my drink, drank a mouthfull.

Thought it tasted strange and next thing I know the bar man whips the drink out of my hand and I see two bouncers running out the door after some fella.

Felt a bit whoozy for the next few hours.

spoof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

Not if she penetrated your bum with a big dildo.

yeah?

aaaahhhh, you spoiled my fantasy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Newsflash OP : some people lie about stuff and some don't.

Is that a lie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I have heard of mates spiking each others drinks with E's, Sleeping tablets and Viagra. It was on the FM104 phone show, some guy's do it for the laugh of seeing someone make a show of themselves.

People do use the pretty serious topic of rape to there advantage because they couldn't handle themselves and said they got spiked, then date raped because no one is going to question the subject of rape. When in fact they are telling fibs.

Then there's the flip side of the coin someone who has actully been drugged and rapped. I can't believe people would use such a serious topic to get them out of making a fool of themselves. Also that there a such sick bastards out there that would go too great lengths just for sex and ruin someones life.

Have these people never heard of hookers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Realityhits

Everyone seems to be on about women's drinks being spiked but men's drinks get spiked too. Know of afew people it has happened to who have had adverse reactions, such as swelling, to whatever drug is being used aswell as those who have horrific hallucinations. It can't all be blamed on alcohol consumption as not all were drinking alcohol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Real.
    I can personally testify to it happens via being poisoned by the crap.
    Landed me in hospital and a bed for three days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I reckon myself only about one in ten of the spike drink stories have any truth to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

msg11 wrote: »
    I have heard of mates spiking each others drinks with E's, Sleeping tablets and Viagra. It was on the FM104 phone show, some guy's do it for the laugh of seeing someone make a show of themselves.

People do use the pretty serious topic of rape to there advantage because they couldn't handle themselves and said they got spiked, then date raped because no one is going to question the subject of rape. When in fact they are telling fibs.

Then there's the flip side of the coin someone who has actully been drugged and rapped. I can't believe people would use such a serious topic to get them out of making a fool of themselves. Also that there a such sick bastards out there that would go too great lengths just for sex and ruin someones life.

Have these people never heard of hookers?

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape. "No one is going to question the subject of rape?" Do you think a girl who had a one night stand and regretted it would really say she was raped/assaulted? Why the hell would she do that?

More girls are raped and assaulted than you think...it takes huge courage to come forward, most say nothing, why would they when this is the attitude that is out there: she's only making it up because she regretted a one night stand.

Imagine how absolutely HORRENDOUS it is to be sexually assaulted, and then to be told a you're a liar on top of that, mainly because people would rather believe it didn't happened. It is so huge and serious a topic that people stick their head in the sand.

Girls are getting raped and sexually assaulted out there, things need to change, not calling girls liars would be a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape.

Unfortunately it does happen. Remember earlier this year a woman was found to have lied about being raped after regretting a one nighter with an innocent bloke.
    http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/kerry-taxi-driver-gives-evidence-at-rape-trial-495870.html

It's a despicable thing to do to someone, he'll have that follow him around forevermore. Even worse, it could discourage a girl from reporting a genuine rape/assault. That woman should have been locked up.

A nurse I know who work in A and E has an interesting take on this subject.

She thinks some of it is a case of some girl starting a one lettuce leaf a day type diet

She is fine for the first few day then its Friday night and she goes out drinking after having only eaten one lettuce leaf all day.

She gets drunk very very quickly and cant understand why as normally she can drink loads before she gets drunk, her friends and herself think her drink has been spiked and don't make the connection to the fact she has eaten almost nothing all day and that's why she has got so drunk so quickly.

It's a despicable thing to do to someone, he'll have that follow him around forevermore. Even worse, it could discourage a girl from reporting a genuine rape/assault. That woman should have been locked up.

Someone who lies about charges like this should face the same charges as the accused person was facing

If you're willing to bring false charges and see someone jailed for eight years maybe, you should face eight years if it's all a made up story

Just my opinion

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Can be easily got.

Knew a guy years ago who actually drank it one night, the fool nearly died and doctors said he was lucky not to have killed himself.
    Some mothers do have them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape. "No one is going to question the subject of rape?" Do you think a girl who had a one night stand and regretted it would really say she was raped/assaulted? Why the hell would she do that?

More girls are raped and assaulted than you think...it takes huge courage to come forward, most say nothing, why would they when this is the attitude that is out there: she's only making it up because she regretted a one night stand.

Imagine how absolutely HORRENDOUS it is to be sexually assaulted, and then to be told a you're a liar on top of that, mainly because people would rather believe it didn't happened. It is so huge and serious a topic that people stick their head in the sand.

Girls are getting raped and sexually assaulted out there, things need to change, not calling girls liars would be a start.

Plenty of women do lie about rape and have been found out to be liars. The fact of the matter is some women who claim they were raped are lying and some are not. It's an unfortunate situation but the fact of the matter is it's not a good idea to always take people's word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wrong!
    There are plenty of girls who lie about things like that. There are also unfortunately plenty who are telling the truth. However the ones who lie should be treated every bit as harshly as the rapists. I know a girl who lived on my parents road who accused about a dozen different guys of raping her, all seperately, police enquiries the whole lot. Nothing was ever done about her, despite her being clearly lying. She was killed in an accident a few years back, otherwise i'd say she'd still be accusing people left right and centre.
    As for the spiking, yes it goes on (i was spiked myself once) but i wouldn't think it goes on too much for date rape reasons, more just for mischief.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Spiking of drink is no myth.

Last year I was out, left the house around 11 and straight to the pub, got a drink and chilled out. About 12 I went up and got another. I cant remember the rest of the night at all. Woke up the next morning and spend 3 days in an awful state...... i had receipts for all the drinks I bought which was 2 rounds of 2 drinks each, one for me and one for one of the girls..... I think I took the wrong drink.

Why anyone thinks its fun to spike anyones drink is beyond me..... two weeks later one of the girls went out and her first drink was spiked in the same place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Has anyone else had enough of this guy lying in every thread on boards. I had to register an account just to say something. Every single thread he has some personal experience with some ridiculous story attached. People like you ruin boards for readers and users alike.

How has no one ever called him out on this? If you want examples ill link you loads. Im so sick of it.

I was in fact hospitalised for someone spiking my drink in a bar in Laytown.
    I have mentioned this before if you bother to look at previous threads.
    (Here from 2009 - post 50)
    The person that did it was working for me, a supposed friend and considered it a joke.
    I didn't. I fired his ass. He was lucky he wasn't facing charges.

If you don't like the fact that I have been around - perhaps due to being older than maybe some here, get out there and live your own life instead of making yourself come across as one bitter, sad sod with a chip on your shoulder!

I suspect your another more known poster who just don't have the balls to use your normal posting name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

This.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Unfortunately it does happen. Remember earlier this year a woman was found to have lied about being raped after regretting a one nighter with an innocent bloke.
    http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/kerry-taxi-driver-gives-evidence-at-rape-trial-495870.html

Where does it say she lied? I presume something was found out later is why you're saying this? Why would she run to the taxi driver and say she was raped? How can you regret a one night stand so severely 5 mins after it happened? Why were there bruises all over her? why was her cervix inflamed? Are questions I'd all want to know.

It does annoy me when some girls claim to have their drinks spiked when they actually drank more than they can handle. I can't say whether guys do the same as I personally have never heard one say it.

Girls - if you think your drink was spiked, go to the hospital as soon as you can and get yourself tested to see if there were any trace amounts of it in your system.

Biggins wrote: »
    Kop yourself on. Go be an idiot elsewhere and troll.

Typical defense of a liar. Call someone a troll. I dont think you should be tolerated on boards if you continue to lie.

Heres another example http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74522529

Wow you always seem to have a story that fits just right. Just stop lying and then there is no problem

Ppsstt if you have a problem with somebody then take it to PM - nobody really gives a toss about your personal grievances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

Visited London last year to catch up with an old mate of mine, the usual went out for a few pints by ourselves left the girls at home.:D
    had about 6 pints and started to head home, spotted a little Irish pub so in for the one, actually had 2.
    His house is about a mile away, next thing I know we are at his house and the wife is slapping my face and shouting at me. I've been out cold for the last two hours, my mate is almost dead after having to carry 18 stone sack of sh1t all the way.
    We had left our phones at home and no taxi would take us.
    Was in a heap all the next day, I know we had 8 pints but I've always been last man standing in the drinking stakes, I'd have 8 pints for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stall the ball a moment lads please

DaTruthBrigade, I don't know what your Problem is but stop derailing the thread over a gripe.

Fair warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I know 2 women who've had their drinks spiked with ecstasy.

No1J wrote: »
    I know we had 8 pints but I've always been last man standing in the drinking stakes, I'd have 8 pints for breakfast.

You had a long day, you were probably tired from traveling.
    Likely you skipped meals

It's not a shock realy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Its very very real

My sis in law does not get drunk, she is one of those, that just doesn't like it, so its usually 2 or 3 glasses of wine then water.

She was out with a work crowd but got separated.

Then at about 1 in the morning my father received a phone call from her number. He then rang my brother and we picked her up.

What happened was, 3 guys seen 2 guys virtually carrying a girl, they stopped and asked if the the girl was OK, they ran off. So he got her mobile and rang my father.

She was rescued from god knows what, it was reported to the guards but we heard nothing since and that was over 5 years ago.

So it is real. But I think rare, well I hope it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

mikemac wrote: »
    You had a long day, you were probably tired from traveling.
    Likely you skipped meals

It's not a shock realy

Thanks for the kind thought's but no we had a slap up meal in the middle of the pints, it was on the third day of the visit and we had no drink the day before.
    The reason we stopped at 8 was because he is not a big drinker.
    I won't go too much into my drinking habits but when I go out with the lads 2 or 3 times a year we don't count pints we count gallons.:D