Drink Spiking, real or fake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I reckon myself only about one in ten of the spike drink stories have any truth to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

msg11 wrote: »
    I have heard of mates spiking each others drinks with E's, Sleeping tablets and Viagra. It was on the FM104 phone show, some guy's do it for the laugh of seeing someone make a show of themselves.

People do use the pretty serious topic of rape to there advantage because they couldn't handle themselves and said they got spiked, then date raped because no one is going to question the subject of rape. When in fact they are telling fibs.

Then there's the flip side of the coin someone who has actully been drugged and rapped. I can't believe people would use such a serious topic to get them out of making a fool of themselves. Also that there a such sick bastards out there that would go too great lengths just for sex and ruin someones life.

Have these people never heard of hookers?

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape. "No one is going to question the subject of rape?" Do you think a girl who had a one night stand and regretted it would really say she was raped/assaulted? Why the hell would she do that?

More girls are raped and assaulted than you think...it takes huge courage to come forward, most say nothing, why would they when this is the attitude that is out there: she's only making it up because she regretted a one night stand.

Imagine how absolutely HORRENDOUS it is to be sexually assaulted, and then to be told a you're a liar on top of that, mainly because people would rather believe it didn't happened. It is so huge and serious a topic that people stick their head in the sand.

Girls are getting raped and sexually assaulted out there, things need to change, not calling girls liars would be a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape.

Unfortunately it does happen. Remember earlier this year a woman was found to have lied about being raped after regretting a one nighter with an innocent bloke.
    http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/kerry-taxi-driver-gives-evidence-at-rape-trial-495870.html

It's a despicable thing to do to someone, he'll have that follow him around forevermore. Even worse, it could discourage a girl from reporting a genuine rape/assault. That woman should have been locked up.

A nurse I know who work in A and E has an interesting take on this subject.

She thinks some of it is a case of some girl starting a one lettuce leaf a day type diet

She is fine for the first few day then its Friday night and she goes out drinking after having only eaten one lettuce leaf all day.

She gets drunk very very quickly and cant understand why as normally she can drink loads before she gets drunk, her friends and herself think her drink has been spiked and don't make the connection to the fact she has eaten almost nothing all day and that's why she has got so drunk so quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's a despicable thing to do to someone, he'll have that follow him around forevermore. Even worse, it could discourage a girl from reporting a genuine rape/assault. That woman should have been locked up.

Someone who lies about charges like this should face the same charges as the accused person was facing

If you're willing to bring false charges and see someone jailed for eight years maybe, you should face eight years if it's all a made up story

Just my opinion

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Can be easily got.

Knew a guy years ago who actually drank it one night, the fool nearly died and doctors said he was lucky not to have killed himself.
    Some mothers do have them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Believe me, girls tend not to lie about as serious a topic as rape. "No one is going to question the subject of rape?" Do you think a girl who had a one night stand and regretted it would really say she was raped/assaulted? Why the hell would she do that?

More girls are raped and assaulted than you think...it takes huge courage to come forward, most say nothing, why would they when this is the attitude that is out there: she's only making it up because she regretted a one night stand.

Imagine how absolutely HORRENDOUS it is to be sexually assaulted, and then to be told a you're a liar on top of that, mainly because people would rather believe it didn't happened. It is so huge and serious a topic that people stick their head in the sand.

Girls are getting raped and sexually assaulted out there, things need to change, not calling girls liars would be a start.

Plenty of women do lie about rape and have been found out to be liars. The fact of the matter is some women who claim they were raped are lying and some are not. It's an unfortunate situation but the fact of the matter is it's not a good idea to always take people's word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wrong!
    There are plenty of girls who lie about things like that. There are also unfortunately plenty who are telling the truth. However the ones who lie should be treated every bit as harshly as the rapists. I know a girl who lived on my parents road who accused about a dozen different guys of raping her, all seperately, police enquiries the whole lot. Nothing was ever done about her, despite her being clearly lying. She was killed in an accident a few years back, otherwise i'd say she'd still be accusing people left right and centre.
    As for the spiking, yes it goes on (i was spiked myself once) but i wouldn't think it goes on too much for date rape reasons, more just for mischief.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Spiking of drink is no myth.

Last year I was out, left the house around 11 and straight to the pub, got a drink and chilled out. About 12 I went up and got another. I cant remember the rest of the night at all. Woke up the next morning and spend 3 days in an awful state...... i had receipts for all the drinks I bought which was 2 rounds of 2 drinks each, one for me and one for one of the girls..... I think I took the wrong drink.

Why anyone thinks its fun to spike anyones drink is beyond me..... two weeks later one of the girls went out and her first drink was spiked in the same place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Has anyone else had enough of this guy lying in every thread on boards. I had to register an account just to say something. Every single thread he has some personal experience with some ridiculous story attached. People like you ruin boards for readers and users alike.

How has no one ever called him out on this? If you want examples ill link you loads. Im so sick of it.

I was in fact hospitalised for someone spiking my drink in a bar in Laytown.
    I have mentioned this before if you bother to look at previous threads.
    (Here from 2009 - post 50)
    The person that did it was working for me, a supposed friend and considered it a joke.
    I didn't. I fired his ass. He was lucky he wasn't facing charges.

If you don't like the fact that I have been around - perhaps due to being older than maybe some here, get out there and live your own life instead of making yourself come across as one bitter, sad sod with a chip on your shoulder!

I suspect your another more known poster who just don't have the balls to use your normal posting name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

It's actually quite difficult to distinguish extreme alcohol intoxication from that caused by Rohypnol (flunitrazepam) or other benzodiazepines, as they act on the same areas of the brain (GABA receptors) and have similar effects.

This.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Unfortunately it does happen. Remember earlier this year a woman was found to have lied about being raped after regretting a one nighter with an innocent bloke.
    http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/ireland/kerry-taxi-driver-gives-evidence-at-rape-trial-495870.html

Where does it say she lied? I presume something was found out later is why you're saying this? Why would she run to the taxi driver and say she was raped? How can you regret a one night stand so severely 5 mins after it happened? Why were there bruises all over her? why was her cervix inflamed? Are questions I'd all want to know.

It does annoy me when some girls claim to have their drinks spiked when they actually drank more than they can handle. I can't say whether guys do the same as I personally have never heard one say it.

Girls - if you think your drink was spiked, go to the hospital as soon as you can and get yourself tested to see if there were any trace amounts of it in your system.

Biggins wrote: »
    Kop yourself on. Go be an idiot elsewhere and troll.

Typical defense of a liar. Call someone a troll. I dont think you should be tolerated on boards if you continue to lie.

Heres another example http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74522529

Wow you always seem to have a story that fits just right. Just stop lying and then there is no problem

Ppsstt if you have a problem with somebody then take it to PM - nobody really gives a toss about your personal grievances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

Visited London last year to catch up with an old mate of mine, the usual went out for a few pints by ourselves left the girls at home.:D
    had about 6 pints and started to head home, spotted a little Irish pub so in for the one, actually had 2.
    His house is about a mile away, next thing I know we are at his house and the wife is slapping my face and shouting at me. I've been out cold for the last two hours, my mate is almost dead after having to carry 18 stone sack of sh1t all the way.
    We had left our phones at home and no taxi would take us.
    Was in a heap all the next day, I know we had 8 pints but I've always been last man standing in the drinking stakes, I'd have 8 pints for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stall the ball a moment lads please

DaTruthBrigade, I don't know what your Problem is but stop derailing the thread over a gripe.

Fair warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I know 2 women who've had their drinks spiked with ecstasy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No1J wrote: »
    I know we had 8 pints but I've always been last man standing in the drinking stakes, I'd have 8 pints for breakfast.

You had a long day, you were probably tired from traveling.
    Likely you skipped meals

It's not a shock realy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Its very very real

My sis in law does not get drunk, she is one of those, that just doesn't like it, so its usually 2 or 3 glasses of wine then water.

She was out with a work crowd but got separated.

Then at about 1 in the morning my father received a phone call from her number. He then rang my brother and we picked her up.

What happened was, 3 guys seen 2 guys virtually carrying a girl, they stopped and asked if the the girl was OK, they ran off. So he got her mobile and rang my father.

She was rescued from god knows what, it was reported to the guards but we heard nothing since and that was over 5 years ago.

So it is real. But I think rare, well I hope it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

mikemac wrote: »
    You had a long day, you were probably tired from traveling.
    Likely you skipped meals

It's not a shock realy

Thanks for the kind thought's but no we had a slap up meal in the middle of the pints, it was on the third day of the visit and we had no drink the day before.
    The reason we stopped at 8 was because he is not a big drinker.
    I won't go too much into my drinking habits but when I go out with the lads 2 or 3 times a year we don't count pints we count gallons.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Was spiked once and got a doc report to prove it, but I still know there is people who probably doubt me. Sucks considering anybody who was there knows it couldnt have been alcohol: not only because Id only had very little to drink, but because no matter how drunk Ive been ive never ko-d in a toilet, been found with some random guy literally holding my head up trying to kiss me when I was clearly out of it and woken up with scratches on my legs from tearing at them because I couldnt move or feel them. I didnt recognise my best friends and wouldnt let them near me.
    Its a terrifying experience, I was in bits for days afterwards-not a scrap of a ''hangover'' but pure fear and vunerability. Anyone who says to me ''cough up the proof/show me the report'' I would tell them to feck right off. How is it my responsibilty to prove to anybody what had happened to me! Luckily, I wasnt raped, but if my boyfriend hadnt found me when he did who knows what could have happened and for people to turn around to me and give me the look that says 'yeah yeah, you were just hammered' belittles the experience I went through. Its because of doubting attitudes like this that cases ARENT reported and that people dont go to hospital or pursue their attackers/people responsible for spiking.
    The only people worse than those who cast judgement before they know the facts are the stupid girls who cry date rape when theyve had three too many shots that night and gone and embarrased themselves. Dont they see how theyre tarring everybody with the same brush and making it difficult for people who have had actual drugging experiences!
    *rant over*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Anytime someone has said to me they were spiked and I was around to see them it was pretty obvious they were just drunk. Others who describe what it's like, again, it's things that happen to me with a few drinks.

I'm a fat bastard so there's time I could drink 12 pints or a bottle of vodka and be more or less fine. There's other times when 2 or 3 pints has me blotto. Also there's times when I feel fine but when I go to bed the walls are moving, the wardrobe is in a different place, I find myself having conversations with people who were around earlier etc. With such a large window for a fatass I assume the much narrower window for a someone who weighs less than half what I do makes the unpredictable effects of drink even harder to explain to them.

Ecstacy spiking I have heard of though and it correlates pretty well with SWIM who took it for the first time without knowing what it would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

No1J wrote: »
    we don't count pints we count gallons.:D
    Yes and it is that sort of attitude which has every 2nd person who can't hold a drink claiming to be spikes.

When mine was spiked I had barely a drink on me at all.
    (my current wife will testify to the fact that I very rarely drink alcohol at all, am never drunk of any kind - and has said so previously on this forum herself)

I do think (and its only opinion open to be wrong) that sometimes people might have gotten a bad pint on a rare occasion and this affected them adversely.
    Other occasions I take some victims I've talked to as genuine cases where their drinks have indeed been interfered with.

Not all suspicions of drinks spiked might be true every time, but certainly I believe there a lot of genuine cases where it has happened.
    Sad and depressing that it has happened - and if anyone thinks its a myth, they should visit the Rape Crises Center in Leeson st, Dublin and listen/see some genuine testimonies.
    Their publications are HERE where I think you will find some figures as to this crime.
    I suspect it sadly happens more often than actual number of cases actually reported that turn out to be genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Just in case anyone is tempted, at this moment in time, you wouldn't have to spike my drink, just look at me crooked and I'm yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

An absolute stunner spiked my drink one night when I was on holidays abroad !

Not as rosy as it seems, because the gang I was out with managed to get me out of there pretty quickly and reckoned she was "working" and probably had a few mates outside that would have mugged me.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Not as rosy as it seems, because the gang I was out with managed to get me out of there pretty quickly and reckoned she was "working" and probably had a few mates outside that would have mugged me.

Sounds like you had a lucky escape.
    Fair play to your then friends for being sharp enough to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

who are these idiots spiking people's drinks? if i've got some roofies, benzos or yips i'll be spiking myself! much more fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

Liam Byrne wrote: »

lucky you didn't lose any part of your body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Bookworm85

Happened to me about 6 years ago. Went out with a few friends for a meal and was the designated driver for the night. Went to the pub with them after the meal and then went to pub & then clubbing. Didn' touch a drop all night but woke up the following day in CUH. Have vague recollections of what happened that night. Remember the meal, getting a round in at the bar and remember being balmed out on the ladies room floor with bouncers and friends surrounding me.

I was told that I suddenly started acting weird, slurring my words, stumbling and tripping and getting clumsier. The girls were trying to get me out of the club for some fresh air and apparently my legs went from under me and the eyes started rolling. I was conscious but couldn't move my arms or legs.

Woke up the next day in CUH with a drip and needed CT scan, but thankfully no lasting ill effects. I felt like muck for about a month afterwards though and NEVER take my eyes off my drink when out anymore.