Low Life Scum Strike Again in Dublin Zoo Car Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

What's the story with the posts bitching about no paragraphs and return keys...is that a big deal to some people? Get a life...

That's because it's AH and they think they've to say something smart to fit in...
    Most of them are probably now in this thread saying those tests are bull.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056401342

Sorry to hear your news Op..hopefully those scum get their comeuppance someday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

titch1 wrote: »
    Just searching through old threads to see how often this has happened. Decided to bring the kids to the zoo today. Got there about 4, left again at 5 after getting a phonecall to say Gardai in HQ had my handbag. Alarm bells started ringing and as suspected, legged it back to the car to find the driver's lock in bits and the car rifled through. I brought the baby bag into the zoo with me and usually throw my handbag into it when I'm emptying the boot but hubby said he'd do all the paying so we just closed over the boot cover, locked the car and headed off. The lowest of the low in the world cleaned up when they took the sat nav and an ipod from the glove box, cash from my handbag and a brand new telescope which was also in the boot. Be warned that it now doesn't matter if you conceal anything in your car, those gutter filth will still take everything you honestly and decently worked hard for (apart from the bag of dog food - too heavy to carry god love them). Gardai were brilliant as was the absolute gentleman who picked up my bag which he found in the middle of the road near the polo grounds. The Garda in Cabra also told us a bloke was just in ahead of us to report his spare wheel stolen from underneath his jeep. He warned us never ever to park there again, it's notorious. We always park there, this is the first time ever (it was a car we only bought 2 months ago too) but I just want to let others know what's going on and please stay away from it. I never want to see the zoo again, cop on people and put some cctv in there. Just a pity these dragged up scum ruined a family day out for their indecent ways of making a living. I hope you all rot in hell (still too good for you).

Where abouts did you park?

Just park on Chesterfield Ave down by the zoo entrance, it's so busy there that the chances of this happening there are very slim.

Does the zoo have it's own carpark? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

FrostyJack wrote: »
    If people didn't keep leaving valuable things in their car there wouldn't be a reason to break into them, no one said the scumbags are right.
    It's not practical to always avoid having valuables in a car. As said elsewhere - are you going to take a satnav with you every time you get out of the car? Or ensure that you drive straight home after doing your shopping and putting it in the boot?

Unfortunately this kind of smash-and-grab is going to be a lot more common. Cars by-and-large are becoming keyless, so the traditionally breaking in to take your car will become very rare (they usually come into the house and steal you car key now), but with one of these guys, they can smash a window and strip out anything remotely of worth in less than 30 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Op don't mind the posters giving out to you for leaving stuff- if they bothered to read the post they'd have seen that the scum would have trashed your car regardless of finding stuff in the boot.

Keyboard warriors at their finest :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Very sorry to hear of your experience OP. :(

Where abouts did you park? I'm really confused. I thought people just parked on the main road in Phoenix Park?

I thought the gay men only parked in the car parks?

Plus how on earth did they manage to break into a car in such a built up area, mid-day?

Ignore the haters on this thread btw, they need to cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Yeah,:rolleyes:
    Anyone who leaves a car radio or a sat nav in a car is just asking for trouble?

Yep.

Personally I take my TV, computer and the missus' jewellery with me everytime I leave the house.

Takes me hours to get around the Zoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

go back to the zoo and nick a penguin, that'll teach 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 titch1

You've just made me smile for the first time since this happened yesterday, thank you all!!
    We parked in the car park which is right opposite the leopard enclosure part of the zoo. You cross the road and walk past the green fencing, staying left to get to the main zoo entrance.That car park wasn't always there but it's not too new either. It's always busy but on reading some stuff last night, apparently it's worse when there are loads of cars around because there's cover. This was between 4-5pm yesterday, still bright. You can't win anymore!
    I read last night that a guy who runs in the park left his car on Chesterfield Ave and he was done too. I think I'll park outside Garda HQ in future and pay whatever fine they give me! At least there's cctv all along that road- which I only found out yesterday thanks to the 2 on duty who were brilliant to me.
    I'm just so frustrated especially as it was a kids day out. We put them first but in future we'll stay shopping and carry everything around in the centre!

That's brilliant, the thought of lugging your entire belongings around the zoo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

The sooner some posters get rid of 'Boards.ie high-horse syndrome' the better (its approaching epidemic proportions).

More people might then actually realise it's the thieves that are in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

Sorry to hear that OP, hopefully your car or home insurance will cover you for your losses. :)

In future you'll lug your telescope and bag of dog nuts around the zoo, eh ?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

The sooner some posters get rid of 'Boards.ie high-horse syndrome' the better (its approaching epidemic proportions).

More people might then actually realise it's the thieves that are in the wrong.

No one ever said the thieves were in the right.

But the fact is if you leave your wallet in the street and someone takes it you have some bit of culpability.

If you leave valuables in clear view in your car and someone break in you also have some bit of culpability, and a claim on insurance will support this (you won't get payed in full if you are shown to have some legal culpability).

The world can be a **** place at times with scum running around and if you're not cautious don't be surprised when someone takes advantage of your naivety. You should be able to keep whatever you like in your car but the thieves are out there and ignorance doesn't warrant sympathy.

I'm not saying this applies to the OP's situation but it does apply to other people's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

OP when you get to know some of the posters in AH you'll realize they usually inject a little humour in most threads - Squod is one (made the joke about paragraphs) but they don't lack understanding either... Some other's are just pricks, you'll get to know them and learn to ignore 'em too.

But stick around, boards.ie is a great place to hang out.

As regards the park, no where is really safe from scumbags. But down around the zoo, Garda HQ, The Army sports grounds and The Peoples Park are particularly bad.. The Papals Cross and The Furry Glen area's aren't much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Helix wrote: »
    not yet in this thread

give it time though

or take a look through any of the other anti scum threads

also, suggestion; read my post again. i didnt say anyone posted that at all

I would have thought it was implied :confused: Seems a bit odd to make a comment criticising posts that aren't actually there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Koltashe

U can hide your stuff all you want or not leave anything at all in the car it will not stop the scum breaking into your car. This saturday I was on my balcony having a smoke at 9pm and saw these two idiots just walk up to the first car parked on the road and proceed to break into it! There were fancier cars parked on that same road, they just went for the first one they saw, didn't even look inside to see if these was anything to take in it. Muppets didn't even have the cop on to look up to see if there was anyone on the balconys facing the road. The best part is I just looked down at them an told them to **** off the faces on them when they saw me standing there watching them, they ran so fast lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Did the kids have a good day otherwise?
    Did you get to see the rodrigues fruit bats or the platypus??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

I would have thought it was implied :confused: Seems a bit odd to make a comment criticising posts that aren't actually there.

are you new around here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Sure in Dublin the animals are outside the cages.:pac:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

I'll probably get slated for saying this but here goes...

OP comes on and warns folks of a particular spot not to park as there is a high chance of getting your car broken into.. Thanks OP.

The slow moral and social decline in Irish society has left us in a position where most posters then follow up with slateing OP for either their puncuation or what was in her own car.. Aparrently it's now a bigger crime in Ireland not to punctuate on a social media website or leave your own property locked in your own car, than it is to steal from someone by smashing open their car.. :confused:

FFS :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

bbam wrote: »

OP comes on and warns folks of a particular spot not to park as there is a high chance of getting your car broken into.. Thanks OP.

The slow moral and social decline in Irish society has left us in a position where most posters then follow up with slateing OP for either their puncuation or what was in her own car.. Aparrently it's now a bigger crime in Ireland not to punctuate on a social media website or leave your own property locked in your own car, than it is to steal from someone by smashing open their car.. :confused:

Yes, that's exactly what's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

Sympathies OP, hopefully the stuff will be covered by your car insurance. At least by having your handbag in the boot, its likely to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I've had 3 motorbikes & several bicycles stolen over the years. My bike has been pushed over 3 times, and the ignition damaged beyond repair twice.
    I've also been burgled once, and mugged/severely beaten once.

Total cost to me is in excess of €20,000.

I've taken all reasonable precautions....multiple locks + alarms on bikes, no open windows at home etc. It makes no difference. These scumbags are experts in taking whatever they want. The guy that burgled me actually had the cheek to use my stolen phone to call my mum and boast about it. They really have no fear, and no conscience.

So I have full sympathy for the OP. There is nothing they (or Dublin Zoo) could have done to prevent this. Determined thieves are unstoppable.

The Gardai don't have the resources to track down these scum, and even when they do catch them, the scum get suspended sentences, or short jail sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Take a look at this thread i read last week in A/R/T forum.
    More experiences with cars being broken into and robbed.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056393740

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Determined thieves are unstoppable.
    Jesus CR you've had it bad. :eek: Hopefully someone shoots a couple of these type of scum dead. The more the merrier. The world would be a better place without them. And no I don't think all human life is sacred. Given the chance I'd throttle the life out of a scumbag burglar with no conscience problems.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

bbam wrote: »

Just taking a look at afterhours show's what a nation of lowlifes ireland is.The streets of our cities are plaqued by junkies and scumbags yet no one seems to give a damn!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 titch1

Cheers again, at least the thread is moving towards reasonable people!!
    Anyway just posting the latest which is neither a fully comp car insurance policy nor a house insurance policy will cover yesterday's events.
    Gotta LOVE Ireland!
    Won't mention who's who obviously. Car Insurers said they would only pay for the lock if it was over €300 and at that, they would be taking away 7 years no claims bonus for the privilege.
    Likewise, house insurer might give €70 cash but will add god knows how much onto the premium next year.
    May dip into child benefit to pay back the telescope and just hope good ol' Santa brings a new ipod and a sat nav! Hey at least we can get ones that aren't 8 and 6 years old.
    Did you sell them yet scum? Was it really worth robbing them for what you got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Wibbs wrote: »
    Jesus CR you've had it bad. :eek: Hopefully someone shoots a couple of these type of scum dead. The more the merrier. The world would be a better place without them. And no I don't think all human life is sacred. Given the chance I'd throttle the life out of a scumbag burglar with no conscience problems.
    Biggest problem is that if you do injure the scumbag, you'd likely get convicted and a longer sentence 'to deter vigilantes'. And then the scumbag would sue you for damages...and win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Helix wrote: »
    are you new around here?

Too lazy to look at my post count eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

These scum should be thrown to the lions - break their arms and legs, throw them into the enclosure , and let nature take its course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Jess16 wrote: »
    Not a nice thing to happen but considering there are a whole pile of people in Ireland having a much harder time right now, meh

The OP posted about the ****ty experience of having their car broken into, what the fcuk has that to do with others having a hard time? Let those having a hard time of it come on here and post their own problems then you can then sympathise with them in their own threads...but you'll probably know someone else worse off than them too...you're a hard bastard to please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Seachmall wrote: »
    No one ever said the thieves were in the right.

But the fact is if you leave your wallet in the street and someone takes it you have some bit of culpability.

If you leave valuables in clear view in your car and someone break in you also have some bit of culpability, and a claim on insurance will support this (you won't get payed in full if you are shown to have some legal culpability).

The world can be a **** place at times with scum running around and if you're not cautious don't be surprised when someone takes advantage of your naivety. You should be able to keep whatever you like in your car but the thieves are out there and ignorance doesn't warrant sympathy.

I'm not saying this applies to the OP's situation but it does apply to other people's.

And the OP never said they left the valuables in clear view :rolleyes:

Read the thread before making a comment next time matey.

As for the dribblers saying the OP shouldn't have left the Sat nav and other items in the car (not in clear view I should add), have a bit of cop on.
    Do you seriously bring your ipod/sat nav around with you when you leave you car?
    Come to think of it, you probably don't leave the house as you're all too busy on here posting, sitting on your proverbial high horses...