Is there Class Distinction in Ireland ?

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

RMD wrote: »
    I've been a Leinster season ticket holder now for 6 years, I've been to all Leinster Vs Munster games in the last 4 years. I can speak from experience in saying when it comes to snobby supporters sadly Leinster takes it hands down, there's the "prawn cocktail brigade" as Roy Keane would put it who are the greatest shower of **** in the world.

The worst Munster supporters are the ones who moved to Dublin, found they now were earning a decent bit of money and decided to adopt a version of the "nouveau riche" D4 attitude while retaining their Munster heritage, turning them in a right dickhead.

Munster rugby is fairly classless, look at Moyross. It's a rugby stronghold yet a working class place with a reputation that rivals some of the worst parts in Dublin. You don't find any Rugby strongholds in the working class area of Dublin, it's pretty much Middle Class and above sadly.

What has Moyross to do with it pal ?

Saw that poser Earls with "special" boots with Moyross printed on them.

That poser never lived in Moyross and sure as hell is not livin there now.

I said Munster Rugby supporters were some of the most arrogant pricks I have ever come across and i stand by that.

temply wrote: »
    Hallo Flutteringbantam - need an alias in here for back up, ya?

Bless ya, buddy

What are you on about Dude ?

See your getting thanks from your girlfriend as well......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

D4 cnuts! Die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Haven't read all the thread but the young folk at the rugby they would be called immigrants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Townie
    Culchie
    Bogger
    Islander

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Ireland always had the name of a "classless" society ...unlike our neighbours across the pond.

I wonder though .....

Even just lookin at the TV coverage of the recent matches...Soccer and Rugby would seem to point up some differences.

Coverage of the recent soccer match in Russia showed mainly a cohort of middle aged irish Fans...most of them looking fairly "weathered" and flashing a fair collection of "Goalpost teeth" and good rounded bumps under their lycra tops.

Average height about 5.5 i would say ..with typical 40/30 measurements.

A viewer would be forgiven if he/she took them for fork lift drivers/taxi drivers/storemen/ general operstives.

On the other hand it was very noticable to this poster that the crowd pictures at the Rugby in NZ showed a much younger demographic.....good proportion of females and all well groomed with shiny well cared for gnashers.

So is there a class distinction here ...an where does the avg GAA person fit in...uber culchie ? Professional person or what......

Just arskin.....

Uneducated class.

hamlet1 wrote: »
    southside dubliners think they are better than northsiders
    all soccer pundits seem to have a working class dublin accent,whereas rugby pundits sound much classier
    tcd students are much snobbier than ucd ones
    no class distinction in the gaa,they are all the same
    most golf clubs are very uppercrust as are some sailing clubs
    big class distinction between schools,especially in the cities and bigger towns.i went to an all girls secondary school and we considered ourselves to be above the local vocational school

Thats a pretty ridiculous statement to make...people from all classes have equal chances to get into these universities so the 'TCD is for snobs' cliche really shouldn't hold up anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Melange

Of course there are class distinctions and stratifications in Ireland. I have yet to encounter a society which does not have them. They seem to be almost endemic in human nature. Of course, they tend to be very central to some cultures (English or Indian, for instance) and downplayed in others (Australian, for example). This relative difference can lead some to conclude there are no class divides in some societies (which often did not have a native and specifically aristocratic elite, historically), but they do exist if you look close enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

I said Munster Rugby supporters were some of the most arrogant pricks I have ever come across and i stand by that.

Unfortunately, I'd have to agree. The air of superiority that resonates around Thomond is really quite startling and not something I've ever noticed at Leinster or international matches.

I know there's a perception that Leinster fans are all Ross O'Carroll-Kelly relatives but the reality is quite different. In my experience, the Leinster fans are more interested in unwinding at the games and getting drunk in Searson's afterwards. Whereas the Munster crowd are incredibly reserved, cold and radiate a stand-offish self importance that I've never noticed elsewhere

Jess16 wrote: »
    Unfortunately, I'd have to agree. The air of superiority that resonates around Thomond is really quite startling and not something I've ever noticed at Leinster or international matches.

I know there's a perception that Leinster fans are all Ross O'Carroll-Kelly relatives but the reality is quite different. In my experience, the Leinster fans are more interested in unwinding at the games and getting drunk in Searson's afterwards. Whereas the Munster crowd are incredibly reserved, cold and radiate a stand-offish self importance that I've never noticed elsewhere

Hit the nail there Buddy...nah ! Flushed it .....

Time to put that tired "working class" bullcrap to bed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

thats a rediculous generalisation to make ,

theyre both full of stuck up cúnts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

i think there is , there is a upper class albeit not a lot , the majority include middle class and the working class. the gap between the middle and working class isn't as obvious as it once was. there is such a thing as upper middle class as well. in terms of sports , rugby for example in limerick is followed/played by all 3 classes , in dublin in recent times a lot more traditional working class people now follow, play the game so the class distinction isn't straightforward. a lot of this would be to the success of the irish rugby team from 2000 onwards and that of munster and leinster.

soccer now has a much strongher foothold in the rural areas , italia 90 being a catalyst for this with players in the irish team atm from traditional gaa strongholds such as tipperary, wexford, waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dudess wrote: »
    Ireland a classless society me bum-hole. When the country was in the grip of the catholic church, there was an absolute hatred of the poor encouraged.

I read an article (which I will try and dig out) regarding the Catholic Church's attempts to create a middle and upper class in Ireland, to replace the Protestant ascendancy with a Catholic one.

If anyone wants to see the Irish class system in operation, try joining a sailing club in Dun Laoghaire. The National will welcome anyone, the Royal will welcome anyone with money and the St George will welcome anyone who comes from a long line of Surgeons, university professors or Bank executives and has the correct background/education/breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ireland used to have a mish mash of classes no one really gave a sh*t

until the celtic tiger and everything changed over night, we've become more class aware since then

(i also maintain that the middle class irish make the worst snobs..very stand offish)

So what would you be if you were a teenager who played handball ( outside school ) and basketball ( in school ) and at home watched and supported every sport going.

My partner grew up in Wales and moved here in his forties and one off the things he couldn't get his head round was how rugby was considered very middle class here, because in Wales its a very classless sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

The worst snobs I have often encountered are the middle class 'culchies' from outside of Dublin (sons/daughters of solicitors, doctors, bankers, big farmers), many of them who don't like Dubliners in general because they are either 'skangers' or 'D4 heads'. Nothing in between, of course.

Yet, the glaring thing is that a lot of them seem themselves as too sophisticated to ever go back living in Limerick, Galway, or wherever. This does not apply to all middle class Irish though.

The non-Dublin people who come from humble stock seem to get on better with ordinary Dubliners in general IMHO.

Ireland always had the name of a "classless" society ...unlike our neighbours across the pond.

I wonder though .....

Even just lookin at the TV coverage of the recent matches...Soccer and Rugby would seem to point up some differences.

Coverage of the recent soccer match in Russia showed mainly a cohort of middle aged irish Fans...most of them looking fairly "weathered" and flashing a fair collection of "Goalpost teeth" and good rounded bumps under their lycra tops.

Average height about 5.5 i would say ..with typical 40/30 measurements.

A viewer would be forgiven if he/she took them for fork lift drivers/taxi drivers/storemen/ general operstives.

On the other hand it was very noticable to this poster that the crowd pictures at the Rugby in NZ showed a much younger demographic.....good proportion of females and all well groomed with shiny well cared for gnashers.

So is there a class distinction here ...an where does the avg GAA person fit in...uber culchie ? Professional person or what......

Just arskin.....

To throw a wide blanket over it, One sport is predominantly played throughout the world by the middle/upper class and the other by the working class. Ireland is no different and this is reflected in the make-up of the crowd.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    My partner grew up in Wales and moved here in his forties and one off the things he couldn't get his head round was how rugby was considered very middle class here, because in Wales its a very classless sport.
    They are in the minority not Ireland.

The only places where rugby is predominantly played by the working class as well as the middle class is New Zealand, Wales and Limerick. In South Africa, Australia, England,Scotland and Ireland (outside of Limerick) it is predominantly the pursuit of private schools and the middle class.

This is changing though especially in rugby because of recent success both a provincial level and Internationally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

woodoo wrote: »
    But we have a middle class, working class and now an underclass.

Oh, that's new, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

with regards to the rugby scene, the only place I've seen no class distinction is at Thomand Park.
    Thomond Park is it?

I've seen the Cork crowd with their UCC scarves and pursed mouths, being quite haughty , if I may observe.
    that was probably just their attitude towards yourself, in fairness
    Attitude in general pal....seen thes goons as well...Munster Rugby claims to be clasles but in reality is the most closed shop ever.

Arrogant shower and i can back up that ....travelling back from Asia arrived in Heathrow....got to the Irish terminal Wetherspoons....full of braying Munster supporters ...who were the rudist most objectionable bunch of pricks i have seen in a long time .

Thats fact !

Wow! Get your print screen function going, I think I may be about to take Flutt's side in an argument. Collector's item.:pac:

No. Actually, what I would say, is that, up until about twenty years ago, there used to be an element of elitism to rugby and Limerick was the only county where it was, both a vibrant and, an egalitarian sport.

Mainly, down to the fact that it was a club sport rather than associated with local rivalries between competing private educational facilities.

The worst (and most underbred) elitist/classist behaviour I have ever seen at rugby matches, has nearly always been at schools' Junior Cup matches.

I have rarely seen it at inter-provincials, and thankfully, almost never at internationals.

It is leaving the game; and rugby,thanks,in no small part, to the behaviour of men like Brian O'Driscoll and Paul O'Connell and the rest of the outstanding group of athletes and gentlemen, both on and off the pitch, who have represented us over the past ten years, is becoming the inclusive game and meritocracy that all sports should be for all children.

And I think this inclusiveness (rather than exclusivity) will serve us far better as a society and as a nation into the future.

In closing, Go lads, Don't fook it up against Italy! I couldn't bear if that lost bonus point against the USA came back to haunt us.:pac:

southside dubliners think they are better than northsiders
    all soccer pundits seem to have a working class dublin accent,whereas rugby pundits sound much classier
    no class distinction in the gaa,they are all the same
    most golf clubs are very uppercrust as are some sailing clubs
    big class distinction between schools,especially in the cities and bigger towns.i went to an all girls secondary school and we considered ourselves to be above the local vocational school

Apart from this, I have no real problem with your post, except for the obvious generalisations. After all, generalisations and stereotypes tend to stem from somewhere.

But, if you think this is how Dublin works, you're not from Dublin.

Priviliged Eastside (coastal) Dubliners with capital and a lot of political (and often judicial) influence, who went to the "right schools",and can often be incredibly lazy, yet "succeed" through nepotism, look down on hardworking Westside Dubliners who have achieved a moderately happy life through their own dilligence, cos they're jealous and insecure.

These Westside Dubliners say "Meh", leaving it to the under-achieving silverspoon crowd, and the druggies, to take whatever comfort they can from blaming each other for the ills of society, while the relative achievers go about their daily lives, rightfully oblivious.

If I indulged in generalisations, I would say, this is far closer to the truth than a Northside-Southside thing.

Btw, I don't like Peter Sutherland or John Gilligan. Damn this underachieving jealousy masquerading as values.:(:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I used to work with a guy from around Donnybrook who would mutter 'scum' under his breath as we walked to and from lunch in and around Thomas Street.

He truly saw them as lesser beings than himself. There's a bit of that in Dublin, not so sure about Cork. There's people on Thomas Street/Vicar Street would never venture up around Baggott Street, and vice versa.

markesmith wrote: »
    I used to work with a guy from around Donnybrook who would mutter 'scum' under his breath as we walked to and from lunch in and around Thomas Street.

He truly saw them as lesser beings than himself. There's a bit of that in Dublin, not so sure about Cork. There's people on Thomas Street/Vicar Street would never venture up around Baggott Street, and vice versa.

I used to work in a menial job in Donnybrook. Probably didn't know the bloke you're talking about. From a pretty good area in south county dublin meself. Not D4 or anywhere near that rich. Went to a national school.

Have to say though, never felt looked down upon or threatened in either Thomas Street or Eglington Road.

Guess there are priviliges to being a barman.:pac:

Nowhere near as good as being a Guard though.:(:mad::pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The only places where rugby is predominantly played by the working class as well as the middle class is New Zealand, Wales and Limerick. In South Africa, Australia, England,Scotland and Ireland (outside of Limerick) it is predominantly the pursuit of private schools and the middle class.

Rugby's not a toff's sport in France either. Pretty sure the Pacific Islands are the same, and Argentina. I'm not sure about Japan, Russia, Georgia...

I only mentioned the traditional forces, not tier 3 nations.

I didnt know about France hence me not mentioning them, the islands would be classed in the same breath as NZ and in Argentina it isnt a working class sport.