Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there Class Distinction in Ireland ?

• 17-09-2011 6:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Ireland always had the name of a "classless" society ...unlike our neighbours across the pond.

I wonder though .....

Even just lookin at the TV coverage of the recent matches...Soccer and Rugby would seem to point up some differences.

Coverage of the recent soccer match in Russia showed mainly a cohort of middle aged irish Fans...most of them looking fairly "weathered" and flashing a fair collection of "Goalpost teeth" and good rounded bumps under their lycra tops.

Average height about 5.5 i would say ..with typical 40/30 measurements.

A viewer would be forgiven if he/she took them for fork lift drivers/taxi drivers/storemen/ general operstives.

On the other hand it was very noticable to this poster that the crowd pictures at the Rugby in NZ showed a much younger demographic.....good proportion of females and all well groomed with shiny well cared for gnashers.

So is there a class distinction here ...an where does the avg GAA person fit in...uber culchie ? Professional person or what......

Just arskin.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

There's a distinction in LCVP but don't know about anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

You forgot the **** class, Bertie and the boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭hairy sailor

How dare you speak to me,now move along peasant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Why would the lower class have worse teeth?

(I wouldn't know, I've never met a poor person)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

brummytom wrote: »
    Why would the lower class have worse teeth?

(I wouldn't know, I've never met a poor person)

According to family guy..

Upper class English people have the worst teeth in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Ireland always had the name of a "classless" society ...unlike our neighbours across the pond.

I wonder though .....

Even just lookin at the TV coverage of the recent matches...Soccer and Rugby would seem to point up some differences.

Coverage of the recent soccer match in Russia showed mainly a cohort of middle aged irish Fans...most of them looking fairly "weathered" and flashing a fair collection of "Goalpost teeth" and good rounded bumps under their lycra tops.

A viewer would be forgiven if he/she took them for fork lift drivers/taxi drivers/storemen/ general operstives.

On the other hand it was very noticable to this poster that the crowd pictures at the Rugby in NZ showed a much younger demographic.....good proportion of females and all well groomed with shiny well cared for gnashers.

So is there a class distinction here ...an where does the avg GAA person fit in...uber culchie ? Professional person or what......

Just arskin.....

Today I watched the rugby,never noticed the crowds delph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

It depends on the person, you get the pretentious types with their air of superiority then you also get those with chips on their shoulders who are determined to feel inferior.
    But what they both have in common is they are pretty small minded and I certainly don't think it's a societal norm.
    Not in my circles anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I don't think we have an upper class.

But we have a middle class, working class and now an underclass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

"A viewer would be forgiven if he/she took them for fork lift drivers/taxi drivers/storemen/ general operstives."

You think youre something special?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Are the German taxpayers now the upper class in this "republic"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

I wonder though .....

Just arskin.....

Could be. The odd thing (or possibly logical thing?) is these physical characteristics even extend to the team itself. Very few of the Ireland team are what I would consider tall for instance. Most of the team are under 6ft and you even get midgets like Stephen Hunt in the squad.

You get these demographic breakdowns everywhere you. eg in America baseball is the 'rural' sport and basketball is the urban. Football is the suburban and soccer is highly followed by immigrants rather than typical wasp types. That's a simplification of course but it's true for the most part.

I think you're more interested in it generally than just how it relates to sport. In that regard there is defo class divide in Ireland but I'd say it's not as pronounced as it is in other countries (eg UK and America) where you can forget about getting into certain circles for no reason other than your birth and upbringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Dotrel wrote: »
    You get these demographic breakdowns everywhere you. eg in America baseball is the 'rural' sport and basketball is the urban. Football is the suburban and soccer is highly followed by immigrants rather than typical wasp types. That's a simplification of course but it's true for the most part.

Explain NASCAR?

Sorry I don't know anything about Nascar but I do know it has that 'southern' 'hillbilly' connotation attached to its fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

1. People with money

2. Coping Class (Most of us)

3. Underclass (Career doleites, druggies etc.)

That about covers it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

whubee wrote: »
    "A viewer would be forgiven if he/she took them for fork lift drivers/taxi drivers/storemen/ general operstives."

You think youre something special?

Don't see where your coming from Dude......just stating an opinion.

They just look a lot like the white van drivers you see on the M 50......

Ok pal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Yes, you could say the Irish are "classless".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Don't see where your coming from Dude......just stating an opinion.

They just look a lot like the white van drivers you see on the M 50......

Ok pal ?
    Claptrap. Get down off your high horse. You can't even spell operatives properly that does'nt mean i'd class you as a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Kojak wrote: »
    Are the German taxpayers now the upper class in this "republic"?

Not really, I'd imagine if we traveled to Germany we'd probably be granted immediate upper class status. Since we are after all covering the losses their banks should be taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Yes, you could say the Irish are "classless".
    as in "they lack class"?:D How feckin dare you.
    Anybody who thinks there are no class distinctions in Ireland is being dopey, a quick trip to S,Co Dublin, especially the area around Vico road and Killiney village should reveal the Irish upper class fairly rapidly, same goes for Cork(except I cant remember where the Yacht club members all congregate there), probably a posh part of Limerick as well(ok, maybe thats pushing it a bit:-) and there are huge swathes of middle-class areas everywhere as well as the working-class areas we all know, and the lower-class areas such as southhill,ballybrack, tougher, etc etc. Of course Ireland is divided by class, although you could argue that "class" in Ireland is very much created by financial standing more so than other divisions, but there are also very obvious "class" accents, ranging from "ja, roish Ryle", to "eaukay Connor" through to "story bud".

Claptrap. Get down off your high horse. You can't even spell operatives properly that does'nt mean i'd class you as a moron.

Cool your jets my friend...no need to get personal...i was just posing a question based on my observations of the recent Rugby and Soccer games.

I am not from ireland and I have a Masters in Sociology from a UK University....so these questions interest me .

Just looking for opinions thats all ....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Could be. The odd thing (or possibly logical thing?) is these physical characteristics even extend to the team itself. Very few of the Ireland team are what I would consider tall for instance. Most of the team are under 6ft and you even get midgets like Stephen Hunt in the squad.

A tall and athletically gifted young lad was probably more likely to play a sport in which height is a major advantage such as Gaelic Football.

I don't think that's the case. I think for the most part a player will be drawn to the sports that are around them and that they are exposed to. I generally believe that soccer in Ireland is an urban based working class sport and that on average urban based working class people may be slightly smaller in height than middle class people or people from rural backgrounds.

This is just based on observing the man on the street. I've no stats to back this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Soccers very popular in many rural areas as well though. I wonder if we'll begin to see a lot of rural-born players making the Ireland squad in years to come.

We already have. Back in the day the Ireland team was almost exclusively made up of guys from Dublin, the UK and maybe a couple from Cork City.

However if you look at the current Ireland squad whilst the majority are still Dubs you'll see theres others from all over Ireland and even some from places I'd never even heard of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

with regards to the rugby scene, the only place I've seen no class distinction is at Thomand Park.

We already have. Back in the day the Ireland team was almost exclusively made up of guys from Dublin, the UK and maybe a couple from Cork City.

However if you look at the current Ireland squad whilst the majority are still Dubs you'll see theres others from all over Ireland and even some from places I'd never even heard of.

Like...uh......Wexford ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

temply wrote: »
    with regards to the rugby scene, the only place I've seen no class distinction is at Thomand Park.

Thomond Park is it?

I've seen the Cork crowd with their UCC scarves and pursed mouths, being quite haughty , if I may observe.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

No matter where human beings are together there is always a scale of values.

Like...uh......Wexford ?

Carnmore and Kilpedder for instance. Other places like Ballyboden, Adamstown and Portlaoise I'd have heard but but would have trouble even finding on a map tbh.

Thomond Park is it?

I've seen the Cork crowd with their UCC scarves and pursed mouths, being quite haughty , if I may observe.

that was probably just their attitude towards yourself, in fairness

Attitude in general pal....seen thes goons as well...Munster Rugby claims to be clasles but in reality is the most closed shop ever.

Arrogant shower and i can back up that ....travelling back from Asia arrived in Heathrow....got to the Irish terminal Wetherspoons....full of braying Munster supporters ...who were the rudist most objectionable bunch of pricks i have seen in a long time .

Thats fact !

Attitude in general pal....seen thes goons as well...Munster Rugby claims to be clasles but in reality is the most closed shop ever.

Arrogant shower and i can back up that ....travelling back from Asia arrived in Heathrow....got to the Irish terminal Wetherspoons....full of braying Munster supporters ...who were the rudist most objectionable bunch of pricks i have seen in a long time .

Thats fact !

Hallo Flutteringbantam - need an alias in here for back up, ya?

Bless ya, buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Carnmore and Kilpedder for instance. Other places like Ballyboden, Adamstown and Portlaoise I'd have heard but but would have trouble even finding on a map tbh.

Ballyboden and Adamstown are in Dublin :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

there is a distinct underclass their stripes of dishonour are not hard to miss, Dunno how they missed it emselves?! adidas equipment is the new denim , to whom denim is the new polyester trousers. These folk will drag you down.. Drag us all down at this rate :/

Hallo Flutteringbantam - need an alias in here for back up, ya?

Bless ya, buddy

Maybe you can prove that baseless allegation, or apologise, shaft.

Callin' you out on that one, put up or shut up:mad:

latenia wrote: »
    Ballyboden and Adamstown are in Dublin :confused:

Dublin County. I was more referring to Dublin City previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

1. People with money

2. Coping Class (Most of us)

3. Underclass (Career doleites, druggies etc.)

That about covers it.

Okay Fulton, upon reflection I can simplify what I said earlier.

1. People with money.

2. People without money
    3. People who couldn't give a bollix.

Ireland's Class System in a nutshell.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭hamlet1

southside dubliners think they are better than northsiders
    all soccer pundits seem to have a working class dublin accent,whereas rugby pundits sound much classier
    tcd students are much snobbier than ucd ones
    no class distinction in the gaa,they are all the same
    most golf clubs are very uppercrust as are some sailing clubs
    big class distinction between schools,especially in the cities and bigger towns.i went to an all girls secondary school and we considered ourselves to be above the local vocational school

Thats fact !

hamlet1 wrote: »
    southside dubliners think they are better than northsiders
    all soccer pundits seem to have a working class dublin accent,whereas rugby pundits sound much classier
    tcd students are much snobbier than ucd ones
    no class distinction in the gaa,they are all the same
    most golf clubs are very uppercrust as are some sailing clubs
    big class distinction between schools,especially in the cities and bigger towns.i went to an all girls secondary school and we considered ourselves to be above the local vocational school

Totally wrong.

Thats fact !

Need more than that pal, reporting that post in 10 mins.

that's what you got to retract.

anyone reading page 3 of this thread can see exactly where you triped yourself up, pal :)

Need more than that pal, reporting that post in 10 mins.

that's what you got to retract.

ooh i got you rattled!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

I wonder though .....

Just arskin.....

Wait, class is now measured on the gap between ones teeth and height? Well! I'd better straighten up and stiffen the oul lip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭parrai

ooh i got you rattled!

Absolutely brilliant !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Thats fact !

I've been a Leinster season ticket holder now for 6 years, I've been to all Leinster Vs Munster games in the last 4 years. I can speak from experience in saying when it comes to snobby supporters sadly Leinster takes it hands down, there's the "prawn cocktail brigade" as Roy Keane would put it who are the greatest shower of **** in the world.

The worst Munster supporters are the ones who moved to Dublin, found they now were earning a decent bit of money and decided to adopt a version of the "nouveau riche" D4 attitude while retaining their Munster heritage, turning them in a right dickhead.

Munster rugby is fairly classless, look at Moyross. It's a rugby stronghold yet a working class place with a reputation that rivals some of the worst parts in Dublin. You don't find any Rugby strongholds in the working class area of Dublin, it's pretty much Middle Class and above sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

alls I can see is there's predominantly two extremes, those who think emselves classy (money'd) and those who are determined to be absolutely lacking. I can't speak for the former personally, sheilded off from us in their own little world but the latter are all too prominent :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

RMD wrote: »
    I've been a Leinster season ticket holder now for 6 years, I've been to all Leinster Vs Munster games in the last 4 years. I can speak from experience in saying when it comes to snobby supporters sadly Leinster takes it hands down, there's the "prawn cocktail brigade" as Roy Keane would put it who are the greatest shower of **** in the world.

The worst Munster supporters are the ones who moved to Dublin, found they now were earning a decent bit of money and decided to adopt a version of the "nouveau riche" D4 attitude while retaining their Munster heritage, turning them in a right dickhead.

Munster rugby is fairly classless, look at Moyross. It's a rugby stronghold yet a working class place with a reputation that rivals some of the worst parts in Dublin. You don't find any Rugby strongholds in the working class area of Dublin, it's pretty much Middle Class and above sadly.

I can't disagree with that but I'm sure that, thankfully, it will change soon. The whole country is following rugby now, like they began to follow soccer after '88
    I'm from the sticks and people are a hell of a lot more inclined to watch rugby than soccer now and the clubs are getting to be huge

I hope this isn't just one golden generation and that with a nationwide pool we'll maintain ourselves as a worldclass team.

What else can we say we're worldclass at? Horse Racing and recently Golf and I hope we can keep those three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭parrai

I wonder though .....

Just arskin.....

There are alot of young irish people that have emigrated to New Zealand and Australia at the moment, so it's not surprising that there would be a younger demographic attending....

And as regards the

and
    "uber culchie"
    That's just condescending ignorance!

Just sayin...

parrai wrote: »
    There are alot of young irish people that have emigrated to New Zealand and Australia at the moment, so it's not surprising that there would be a younger demographic attending....

And as regards the

and
    "uber culchie"
    That's just condescending ignorance!

Just sayin...

it really is so condescending, reminds me of another poster on here, but can't put my finger on who exactly...