Tipperary Venue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

The jobs would be a great help in Tipp but do we need more gambling :mad:
    I know more and more people getting obsessed playing the lotto
    trying their best to strike it rich.
    Most people barely have enough money for lotto let alone casinos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I really hope this proves successful.

123balltv wrote: »
    The jobs would be a great help in Tipp but do we need more gambling :mad:
    I know more and more people getting obsessed playing the lotto
    trying their best to strike it rich.
    Most people barely have enough money for lotto let alone casinos

You only need to attract some of the people with money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

To everyone whining about this, saying it mightn't work - what if it does work? and it is a reasonable success? I think we need to be optimistic in this country. If it doesn't work ten years down the line then so be it. At least there are entrepreneurs out there willing to give it a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I think it's an absolute joke of an idea and Dr Quirkey needs to explain his financing for the deal. If it's all his own cash then fair play to him but i suspect there has to be loans from banks etc included in the €460m figures being talked about so if it all goes t!ts up the burden falls to the tax payers to pick up the tab through bank charges, nama etc.

How in god's name people think Twomileborris is going to attract all of these visitors and compete with Monaco etc to sustain this longterm is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

RoryMac wrote: »
    I think it's an absolute joke of an idea and Dr Quirkey needs to explain his financing for the deal. If it's all his own cash then fair play to him but i suspect there has to be loans from banks etc included in the €460m figures being talked about so if it all goes t!ts up the burden falls to the tax payers to pick up the tab through bank charges, nama etc.

How in god's name people think Twomileborris is going to attract all of these visitors and compete with Monaco etc to sustain this longterm is beyond me.

Financing isnt coming from any bank. Where was it said that its suppose to compete with bloody Monaco?!

Seems that the people being negative actually know very few details about the venture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

daddydick wrote: »
    ???

Would love to know what car you are driving? I cant stand people manipulating stats to help their argument when it is clearly obvious that they are doing so. That also goes to an earlier post who claimed Thurles was two miles from here and H&J Hotel one mile???? :rolleyes: Takes from the validity of your argument.

What? I have driven from Las Vegas to Hollywood in 4 hours. Car was a Ford Crown Victoria. What time did you drive it in? Have you ever even been to Vegas or are you talking through your arse.

Dempsey wrote: »
    Financing isnt coming from any bank. Where was it said that its suppose to compete with bloody Monaco?!

Seems that the people being negative actually know very few details about the venture

Where is the financing coming from so? Who are backing this? Where are they getting their money from?

The Monaco example was given on radio today by a farmer in the area who sold land to the project and intends on investing in it, seems like some of the people backing it need a dose of reality.

Where is the financing coming from so? Who are backing this? Where are they getting their money from?

The Monaco example was given on radio today by a farmer in the area who sold land to the project and intends on investing in it, seems like some of the people backing it need a dose of reality.

If you have so many questions, why dont you break out google and educate yourself. Personally, I'm sick of correcting people that only have a vague idea of what is going on.

Out of interest, what was the farmer's name?

If you have so many questions, why dont you break out google and educate yourself. Personally, I'm sick of correcting people that only have a vague idea of what is going on.

Out of interest, what was the farmer's name?

So i'm guessing you don't know where they're getting the money from either. Trust me i have googled it and i can't find anything to show how this is being financed.

Farmer's name was Martin Healy i believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

when bugsy opened the flamingo on the road to la in 1946 it was seen as a huge white elephant too with its marble fittings, highquality carpets and olympic sized pool, located miles from the wild west themed sawdust covered floored gambling halls of downtown vegas............it turned out all right

when walt disney opened his themepark in the middle of the florida swamp about 30 miles from orlando i am sure there were a few naysayers..........it turned out all right, when disney was being built orlando international airport (now one of the busiest in the world) was still an airforce runway strip

rossie1977 wrote: »
    when bugsy opened the flamingo on the road to la in 1946 it was seen as a huge white elephant too with its marble fittings, highquality carpets and olympic sized pool, located miles from the wild west themed sawdust covered floored gambling halls of downtown vegas............it turned out all right

when walt disney opened his themepark in the middle of the florida swamp about 30 miles from orlando i am sure they were a few naysayers..........it turned out all right, when disney was being built orlando international airport (now one of the busiest in the world) was still an airforce runway strip

I don't think anybody wants this to actually fail, but you have to be realistic. The only way it could work is if Ireland lowers it's costs and stops ripping off tourists. Lower the cost of rent, electricity, etc which in turn means lower hotel room, restaurant, transport costs and other services.

I worked out, with the average hotel room price in Ireland at the moment, combined with the cost of eating out + petrol etc. there actually wouldn't be too much of a difference in price to fly to Las Vegas and holiday there instead. You can get a delicious meal in 1 of the hotels restaurants over there for $8.95 (around €6). Drink is free while gambling. A packet of cigarettes is $5 (under €3.50). The hotel rooms cost far less than here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

I take it the casino would need the backing of some multinational casino company (mafia) otherwise they would be cleaned out by every grifter in the world

So i'm guessing you don't know where they're getting the money from either. Trust me i have googled it and i can't find anything to show how this is being financed.

Farmer's name was Martin Healy i believe.

What makes you think that the identity of all the investors will ever become public knowledge? This isnt a state funded project, its a private venture. It has been repeatedly said that no state money or bank money is going to be needed. I know that an Arab company is involved, I dont expect to ever find out exactly their involvement but some people think that they are entitled to full disclosure of the investors and financing of this.

Martin Healy is the site caretaker, I'd be taking whatever he says with a pinch of salt tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

Tehachapi wrote: »
    What? I have driven from Las Vegas to Hollywood in 4 hours. Car was a Ford Crown Victoria. What time did you drive it in? Have you ever even been to Vegas or are you talking through your arse.

You said 3/4 hours? I done it last summer in 6 and that was doing well. According to googlemaps it's 4.5 hours with ZERO traffic and 6 hrs 40 mins allowing for traffic....so unless there's no traffic in either LV or getting across LA to Hollywood (extremely unlikely) then best of luck in doing it in 3/4 hours!! Its 270 miles so at an average of 60 mph you'll do it in 4.5 hours - best of luck trying to get out of LV and across 60 miles of LA at 60 mph average!

daddydick wrote: »
    You said 3/4 hours? I done it last summer in 6 and that was doing well. According to googlemaps it's 4.5 hours with ZERO traffic and 6 hrs 40 mins allowing for traffic....so unless there's no traffic in either LV or getting across LA to Hollywood (extremely unlikely) then best of luck in doing it in 3/4 hours!! Its 270 miles so at an average of 60 mph you'll do it in 4.5 hours - best of luck trying to get out of LV and across 60 miles of LA at 60 mph average!

The vast majority of that trip is on the interstate 15, which is mostly 70mph in that section. I was doing around 71-72 with the cruise control on. If you go through pasadena you can avoid the LA traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Ever see the Film by Michael Moore from 1989 called Roger and Me?

In that movie the town of Flint, Michigan faces the closure of General Motors factory. To revitalise the town they, and private investors, pumped millions into three white elephant projects to revitalise employment - they all failed.

Autoworld - An auto theme park - it closed after a year

A massive mall - it didn't last long either

A new brand spanking new hotel replete with state of the art conferencing facilities - Ended up hosting bingo nights and comic con events.

Flint, Michigan is a town of over 120,000 people and it couldn't get these things to work to generate employment. It couldn't get people to visit the city.

Are people really going to go to 2MB on a regular enough basis to make this 'white elephant' viable?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Guarantee you this wont go ahead - Quirkey will get his gambling legislation changed and that will be that. He can open mini-casinos as he sees fit then.

The smart alec Lowry was conned by O'Brien (heh, didnt he think he was getting a fantastic bargain) and he is about to be conned again.

MrMatisse wrote: »
    Hopefully the recession forces the doom sayers on this thread to emigrate, although unfortunatly there usually public servants or those with 'safe' jobs who stick around here for ever and bemoan everyone elses efforts at doing something big and taking risks.

Eh, the people who granted permission for this are Public Servants, and are being lashed out of it by people on the other side of the argument to you for doing so in the first place.
    Absurdum wrote: »
    Plus, Tipperary birds ain't got nothing on the Monte Carlo ones

I've yet to meet a Monte Carlo bird who'd suck the shweaty balls off ya in Quinns after an All-Ireland semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 snowdaisy

An Bord Pleanala have made many fúck ups themselves, when did their word become gospel?
    As for

The site has already been searched and archaeological digs have been done on the site last year so this is actually waffle.

I agree this hideous thrashy proposal only got planning cos of brown envelopes or dirty dealings but Pauline has some valid points.

Sorry to tell ya Dempsey but i'm an archaeologist, i know the sites that were excavated around two-mile-borris for the motorway and this aint one of them - they're all under the motorway now!

One of the most extensive archaeological sites ever excvated in the country was dug for the road at two-mile-borris and there's more where that came from.
    A brief of the sites by the director of the excavations is here:
    http://tia.ie/Archaeology/NationalArchaeologySeminar/ArchaeologySeminar2007/PDFseminarabstracts2007/file,10012,en.pdf

I'm going to gamble my bollocks off in this place

snowdaisy wrote: »
    I agree this hideous thrashy proposal only got planning cos of brown envelopes or dirty dealings but Pauline has some valid points.

Sorry to tell ya Dempsey but i'm an archaeologist, i know the sites that were excavated around two-mile-borris for the motorway and this aint one of them - they're all under the motorway now!

One of the most extensive archaeological sites ever excvated in the country was dug for the road at two-mile-borris and there's more where that came from.
    A brief of the sites by the director of the excavations is here:
    http://tia.ie/Archaeology/NationalArchaeologySeminar/ArchaeologySeminar2007/PDFseminarabstracts2007/file,10012,en.pdf

I'm not talking about when the motorway was done, I'm talking about last year. Several excavations were done in longford pass bog (thats 2 min drive from the site) at the end of bord na mona's production season and there was several excavations done on the site of the the venue including the land designated for an axillary car park. I know because I witnessed them with my own eyes and talked to the archaeologists doing the work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Time for a bump, the Minister from Dublin South has announced it's been turned down
    The proposed ''super-casino'' at Two-Mile Borris in Co Tipperary will not now go ahead, according to Justice Minister Alan Shatter.
    The minister said the casino was "out", based on a decision at Cabinet yesterday. Mr Shatter added that there was no need for a resort style casino in this country.
    He said the Government would make provision for more ''modest'' casinos as exist at present in the country.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0921/casino-business.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Boooo :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

For **** sake ...!!!!!!

What a shower of ****ing handicaps... **** it I'm emigrating ... ****ing ashamed to be Irish now at this stage .. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Eleven of fifteen government ministers from Dublin

If this was jobs for Dublin Alan Shatter would be falling over himself to get this approved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Michael Lowry and Gamblor; what could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Politicians in this country, from all persuasions, have a habit of looking a gift-horse in the mouth. Bunch of twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

I can't get over this to be honest, I don't know how they would turn down a major part of what is nearly a half billion investment in the country. If they have such a problem with gambling why not shut down the bookies that are on every street corner in the country..! The idea is to attract people to the venue with the popularity of Irish Horse Racing. It's a huge market and the Irish are quite prominent players in the sport.

I could go on and on about this but I am just so dumbfounded I would not know where to start. Idiots !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

couldn't really see how this was going to be a success, the whole thing sounded over ambitious and could well have turned out to be a 'white elephant' , then people would be saying what eejits they were for granting permission in the first place for it to go ahead