Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Cluxton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I don't understand this thread to be honest.

Do Dublin fans want their players signing autographs, attending functions and photoshoots promoting this and that, advertising crisps on TV, being panelists on sports shows, cutting ribbons on new shops, etc etc or do they want their players spending their free time practising on the training field?

It is no coincidence that Cluxton was called on to take that free. Because he didn't in the past waste his time with all the off field nonsense and hype that many players get caught up in, and they end up living it up, when they should be practising taking frees and the like.

In important games, it's all about the percentages, that extra time you spent on the training ground, often in January and February, paying off. Other counties should take note. In my own county of Mayo, players have gone around for years pretending to be heros, dying the hair, thinking they were Beckham and all the other sh*te, and they had won Sweet FA in AI terms.

I think this thread should be locked myself, as it attracts nit pickers. You can't please some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭BlackRoom

The guy is obviously pretty shy and self conscious. He's not out to be a celeb, he does his bit on the field and that's all he's obliged to do.

I don't get the drawing more attention to himself argument either. It may draw more attention to him but it's attention he can handle. A lot easier for him than a mic and a camera in his face, i'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 katowjo

great score!!!

Simular to Peter Canavans against Armagh in the AI Semi Final 2005!

Each to their own and Stephen Cluxton is entitled to celebrate his well deserved victory however he likes! He comes across as a shy guy who prefers to do the talking the pitch! Hats off to him!

Paul Mc Grath/Paul Scholes are examples of other sportspersons who try avoid the spotlight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

guess we wont be seeing the program "cluxtonize"with him in skinny jeans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Initially I thought his behaviour was weird, but having read more about him and seeing the comments about him on this thread I have nothing but massive respect for him. Its very refreshing to see someone just get the job done and reflect quietly, definitely something I can identify with. I bet he was really proud of himself deep down, just probably didnt want to show it outwardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Damokc

Dunno if anyone has mentioned the photo going around of Tomas O'Se giving him the match ball...which by all accounts he then kicked into the crowd. As a Kerryman I say fair play to him for kicking that point. Pity some of the Dublin fans around the city didn't take a leaf out of his book after the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Quazzie wrote: »
    That's a real quality addition to the thread. You should consider writing a book filled with such contributions.
    Hiace. wrote: »
    Guess what - It's still none of your fecking business.

Cool the jets or there will be bans and infractions handed out. Same applies to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭eurokev

wouldnt like to get on his bad side
    punch_i_874746t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Heard an interview with the head teacher from the school where Cluxton teaches. He asked Cluxton early last week if it would be a good idea to put some bunting up. Cluxton asked him if he minded not doing so, as he wanted to concentrate on his teaching duties. He told the keeper that he could take a couple of days off, but the keeper said he would be in as usual on Monday. The head insisted on him staying off till Monday. Just a modest kids of guy, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Damokc wrote: »
    Dunno if anyone has mentioned the photo going around of Tomas O'Se giving him the match ball...which by all accounts he then kicked into the crowd. As a Kerryman I say fair play to him for kicking that point. Pity some of the Dublin fans around the city didn't take a leaf out of his book after the game.
    Would you care to enlighten us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭King Cantona

I think it´s a disgrace that an amateur player, playing an amateur sport is subjected to this kind of ridicule. I´ve heard him being called "a weirdo", people questioning his mental health and saying it was "bad form" not going on a lap of honour. Cluxton profession is a teacher but just because we see his face in the paper regularly and we know his name, we expect that he´s a PR expert, comfortable doing national interviews and obliged to give a memorable quote for papers to use as headlines. He is under no obligation to put himself in the uncomfortable situation of doing live interviews on National TV. I would hate it, I´m sure many others would too, give the man a break - we shouldn´t even be discussing this. People need to take a look at themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

I think it´s a disgrace that an amateur player, playing an amateur sport is subjected to this kind of ridicule. I´ve heard him being called "a weirdo", people questioning his mental health and saying it was "bad form" not going on a lap of honour. Cluxton profession is a teacher but just because we see his face in the paper regularly and we know his name, we expect that he´s a PR expert, comfortable doing national interviews and obliged to give a memorable quote for papers to use as headlines. He is under no obligation to put himself in the uncomfortable situation of doing live interviews on National TV. I would hate it, I´m sure many others would too, give the man a break - we shouldn´t even be discussing this. People need to take a look at themselves.

Well said and it seems to me to be non-Dubs fans who are making an issue of it. He is how he is. One thing he is I do know - A FUC*KING LEGEND:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

This thread is indicitive of the attitude that many Irish sports fans and observers now have towards those. So if Cluxton is being judged cos he went off the pitch, would those who are judging him prefer if he grabbed the attention of everyone by jumping into post match interviews and blowing kisses to the hill which the players have got criticised for in the past.

It seems to me that Cluxton is the embodiment of his manager on the field. He has been around the scene for years and seen the disappointment and the negative criticism that came with it. Don't forget that the same people who wrote his team off would be the same people who would now be praising them. Maybe he realised that.

I am a Donegal fan but think it's great that Dublin won the All Ireland and no one deserves it more that the likes of Cluxton. People should lay off him and let him celebrate however he wants. He has been slogging away at it for a decade and finally got what he craved.

Lighten up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Well said and it seems to me to be non-Dubs fans who are making an issue of it. He is how he is. One thing he is I do know - A FUC*KING LEGEND:D

there is as many non dubs saying its ridiculous as there is dubs pointing it out and saying its weird. its nothing to do where people are from. not everything is a dubs against the world you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Maybe he needed to drop a load after that free, I no I was nearly ****ting myself when he was taking it so I can only imagine how he felt:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Chalad

Think a lot of goalkeepers are a little different.

Neville Southall used to drive home after winning leagues, cups, etc with Everton. The rest of the players would be out hitting the bars, getting hammered, picking up women etc, whilst good old Nev, would be tucked up in bed with a mug of cocoa.

Fair play to Cluxton, he's been a brilliant keeper over the years, and he slotted over the winning point with ease. To be fair, he made it look easy, which it certainly wasn't under that pressure.

I also take my hat off to the guy for belting McAteer. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

eurokev wrote: »
    wouldnt like to get on his bad side
    punch_i_874746t.jpg

Stephen Cluxton

DOB: 17/12/1981
    CLUB: Parnells
    FAVOURITE POSITION: Corner Forward
    DUBLIN DEBUT: v Longford 2001

Honours won:
    Toughest Opponent:
    Sporting idol: Manny Pacquiao
    Who would you pick in a GAA transfer market?
    Favourite film/tv:
    Favourite food: Home cooked food
    Other hobbies/interest: Soccer
    Best advice you ever got: Don’t talk to the media
    Ambitions: Winning more stuff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Cluxton snubs sponsorship

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton has turned down the opportunity to cash in on his All-Ireland winning heroics.

According to the Irish Sun, the Parnell's clubman - who is a notoriously private person and rarely gives media interviews - could make up to €30,000 from sponsorship deals after kicking the winning free against Kerry last Sunday. However, the report says he is only interested in doing charity work.

"We've told him that he must be mad not doing any publicity with the money that's in it. But he won't do it," said John Honan, who is principal of St. Vincent's CBS, Glasnevin where Cluxton is a member of the teaching staff.

"He says he doesn't want it and he'll only do charity. He's only interested in the game, not the celebrity."

Former Dublin footballer and PR agent Mick O'Keeffe believes Cluxton is the most marketable star in Irish sport at present.

"Some players transcend counties and Cluxton is one of a small number of these. Youngsters from here to Galway would know his name and who he is," O'Keeffe said.

"The biggest stars in Ireland can make up to €50,000 per annum in deals. Counting ad campaigns, sponsorship deals, the value of a free car and so on, I'd say Stephen Cluxton could easily make in excess of €30,000 this year. I'd have clients falling over themselves to sign him up at the moment."

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=155455

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

I can't figure if he's crazy or really just insanely passionate about the game or what.

It's a nice change from B. Brogan who is like the Kerri katona of GAA!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

According to the Irish Sun
    Stopped reading.

What next, quotes from The Herald?

Christ. Dublin win. GAA Fourm turns into Hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

I like the fact that he is not selling out. He has a job and a regular income. He obviously is not on the breadline and doesnt buy into the hype. Look at Kenny Egan for example, he was well regarded by everyone when he won his medal in boxing, but then looked like a sap in Centra ads and having his mug all over the paper.
    Im assuming Cluxton has learned from the likes of Egan and the others that start imersing themselves into the public eye for things other than what they are actually good at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

The right decision to be honest he is better off not getting himself mucked around on advertisements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Already a thread on Stephen Cluxton, so I have merged the thread on sponsorship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Seriously can't believe the abuse this lad has gotten all over the place. It seriously brings shame to my heart that people think this great servant to Dublin football and IMO GAA as a whole is a "weirdo".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 bandit14

Well done to clux and the lads last sunday,if you are tuned in here clux take no notice they are all only jealous!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

6173682006_7f203d22e2_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Damokc wrote: »

Pity the jeans man from Kerry would not follow Cluxton's example and take a low profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Sorry but he showed a bit of class walking off. It's a career he is not being paid to do. He takes time out from his family and works his boll*cks off all year training and dedicating his life to Dublin GAA. He can do whatever the fcuk he wants.

Respect to Cluxton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

No sign of him on the Late Late either!