Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Cluxton

• 19-09-2011 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭

Couldn't help notice Cluxton disappearing off down the tunnel at the final whistle and not partaking in the celebrations and presentation.
    Maybe its just the personality of the lad and loves nothing more than playing football and shunning the limelight..
    Either way the lad has ice in his veins..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

QDog10 wrote: »
    Couldn't help notice Cluxton disappearing off down the tunnel at the final whistle and not partaking in the celebrations and presentation.
    Maybe its just the personality of the lad and loves nothing more than playing football and shunning the limelight..
    Either way the lad has ice in his veins..

I think what he did only drew more attention to himself, very strange behavior imo. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

first dibs on groupies in the dressingroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

sideswipe wrote: »
    I think what he did only drew more attention to himself, very strange behavior imo. :confused:

yep...this is it indeed. he knew what he was doing.and its worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Just grabbing a quick shower so he can be first to Coppers, get the best seat, pick of the women, etc.

He's an intensely private man, never gives interviews, isn't for sale to any sponsor, and practices his art almost religiously. That's why he was called up by Bernard Brogan to take the free in extra time and wasn't fazed by it at all-he'd done it a million times in practice from that exact spot, and the team knew they could rely on him.

If what he needs to keep his head clear is to focus on the game and to shun the limelight, then more luck to him. All that really matters is the example he leads by for 70 mins on the pitch, and it's a bloody good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I don't know Cluxton but given his demeanour yesterday, the odd story I've heard about his temper and the run in with Jason Mcateer I'd say his hero is a certain R Keane from Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I don't know Cluxton but given his demeanour yesterday, the odd story I've heard about his temper and the run in with Jason Mcateer I'd say his hero is a certain R Keane from Cork

He's your typical Dub then, always looking up to us Cork men;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Dots1982 wrote: »

Was the run in with Trigger not just a publicity stunt for charity??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

That's why he was called up by Bernard Brogan to take the free in extra time

I have never heard about Cluxton's personality before. This is interesting; because you always see the players call him up for the frees, he never seems to make his own way up at all.
    I'd say his hero is a certain R Keane from Cork

When I saw him standing on the pitch looking up, he reminded me of Roy Keane. Roy Keane spoke of an empty feeling after winning; that was exactly what Cluxton looked like yesterday. All those years of trying, to eventually get there, and then not to feel elated.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I have to say that I have so much admiration for the lad after yesterday. Played a great match, waited for Sam to be given and did what he was comfortable doing. He's not somebody like Mickey Harte or Paul Galvin who adores the limelight. He just loves playing for Dublin and is a shy guy. Nothing wrong with that.

Rackstar wrote: »
    Was the run in with Trigger not just a publicity stunt for charity??

It was a charity match but it was serious fight on the pitch....it wasnt for show as Mcateer stated afterwards, they were just comptetitive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

sideswipe wrote: »

I'd agree with you there. I am all for respecting the privacy of a player who may not be all that comfortable in the spotlight, but doing what he did only drew more attention to himself, not less. A lot of people were wondering why he was going down the tunnel with the Kerry players, and it was seen live on TV too. What is the harm on just standing on the pitch, tucked away on the periphery of the hoopla if he so chooses? Doing what he did just creates chatter & gossip about himself, and that seems pretty self defeating if you are as private as he is imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I'd agree with you there. I am all for respecting the privacy of a player who may not be all that comfortable in the spotlight, but doing what he did only drew more attention to himself, not less. A lot of people were wondering why he was going down the tunnel with the Kerry players, and it was seen live on TV too. What is the harm on just standing on the pitch, tucked away on the periphery of the hoopla if he so chooses? Doing what he did just creates chatter & gossip about himself, and that seems pretty self defeating if you are as private as he is imo.

Maybe he'd seen Marty Morrissey grabbing players for interviews and didn't fancy any of that. He didn't want any of the limelight, let's leave him alone for that. Not his fault it was shown on tv, or people are trying to dissect what he did online.

People are being very harsh on him saying he is drawing more attention on himself. Maybe so, but if he is a private guy uncomfortable with interviews etc., I can totally relate to the way he behaved. I think I might react in a similar way myself; I certainly have done as a supporter; people asking me why I wasnt excited or happy after a big win.... some people find it hard to show emotion, and some feel that winning a big match will fill a void, and then realise it doesnt.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

When Kevin Mcmenamin and Gilroy were complementing him in the interview on the Sunday Game in the Burlo last night his face was blank, no reaction at all, he looked like he had just finished on the losing side.
    Even when he got a round of applause he just sat there. I'm not criticising him mind, I'm not exactly a social animal myself. I spose he doesn't like attention.
    Some people are like that, he probably can't help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

He is an extremely private man.wont do interviews and has turned down plenty of money from sponsorship deals.I reckon he left before he got cornered by the TV and radio crews.He would have been their number 1 target after scoring the winner.What he did drew attention to himself but still better than getting a mic stuck in your face on live TV if you have been avoiding that for the last 10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's not uncommon, some people just are that way. I'm probably the same tbh and there are likely a few others here in the forum

Not everyone wants to be grabbed by Marty Morrissey and speak live to hundreds of thousands or be seen high fiving on the sidelines

I can respect what he did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Maybe it's a goalkeeper thing. They're all a little bit special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

He walked off the field in disgust at The Black Eyed Peas being played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

He's just like Scholes for United, an intensely private guy. You can't fault him for it, some people are just that way. I'm sure he is as satisfied as all Dublin players today, it's not like he hasn't got a heart or anything. Similarly in the Burlington at the players dinner you've got the camera parked in front of him and he looked very anxious and out of place, so what?

Leave the guy alone and let him deal the way he wants to, it isn't for anybody else to judge :)

175055.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Stephen Cluxton is a class act. I would think it a disgrace on RTE's part, knowing his aversion to the media, that they couldn't leave him alone and he felt he had to move off the pitch.

That is in the realm of speculation, of course.

He is a phenomenal player, possibly one of the best goalkeepers of all time. He has taken the art of the restart to a new level and counties have all started picking keepers based on the template Cluxton has set out.

That strike for the winning point was textbook, that video should be shown to all young fellas who want to place kick.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

ProudDUB wrote: »

wouldnt agree with that. he went off when Kerry were going in. If the camers had not have caught it, absolutley no one would have noticed or said 'why isnt Cluxton down at the hill celebrating?'. there are 30 or 40 lads doen having the craic, him not being there wouldnt have been spotted, and only for he happened to be coming in with Kerry, he wouldnt have been seen going off.

to be honest, I think there is far too much being made of it. if he wants to celebrate in his own way, its his choice. he might prefer to be in the dressing room, alone with his thoughts thinking about what he has achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

Stephen Cluxton is a class act. I would think it a disgrace on RTE's part, knowing his aversion to the media, that they couldn't leave him alone and he felt he had to move off the pitch.

That is in the realm of speculation, of course.

He is a phenomenal player, possibly one of the best goalkeepers of all time. He has taken the art of the restart to a new level and counties have all started picking keepers based on the template Cluxton has set out.

That strike for the winning point was textbook, that video should be shown to all young fellas who want to place kick.

exactly it took a lot of bottle to convert that free , he's an outstanding goalkeeper imo , he reminds me a bit like lar corbett in that the is very intense and very focused. you have to admire that really. im not sure how id react if that was me but people react in different ways. i think alan brogan said that it was a bit of an anti-climax when he was interviewed after the game so i suppose emotions are running high especially after a game a bit like of ROG after the rugby game who was very emotional during his interview. i do see a comparison with roy keane who still seemed very intense after picking up his premiership medal, trophy etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

exactly it took a lot of bottle to convert that free , he's an outstanding goalkeeper imo , he reminds me a bit like lar corbett in that the is very intense and very focused. you have to admire that really. im not sure how id react if that was me but people react in different ways. i think alan brogan said that it was a bit of an anti-climax when he was interviewed after the game so i suppose emotions are running high especially after a game a bit like of ROG after the rugby game who was very emotional during his interview. i do see a comparison with roy keane who still seemed very intense after picking up his premiership medal, trophy etc.

I think I'd start to disrobe, and would require being restrained by at least three of the strong members of the panel. I think I'd be roaring "OH JESUS I'M GOING MENTAL" or something to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I think he is the best gaelic football goalkeeper that we've seen. Back in the day a gaa goalie's job was to make a few catches and boot a few kickouts into the middle. He'd go largely unnoticed unless he made a great save.

Cluxton has taken it to another level. He's sweeper, distributor, freetaker, shot-stopper and whatever else you're having. Dublin wouldn't have won yesterday without him, and when was the last time we were saying that about a goalie after an All-Ireland final?

He could probably have had a career as a professional keeper in soccer, though Dublin supporters may be thankful that he didn't go down that route. He's certainly good enough. There was enormous pressure on that freekick at the end and he kicked it like it was a routine free in a club league match. Top-level sport is all about doing it when it really matters and that's what Cluxton has consistently done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Lumbo wrote: »
    Maybe it's a goalkeeper thing. They're all a little bit special.
    They're nearly always mental. I wonder are there a few soccer teams across the water taking an interest in Cluxton.Hes a brilliant goalie.IMO hed easily be good enough for the championship over there.And then he'd be paid for his brilliance.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

A general rule:

Kicking the winning point in the All-Ireland entitles you to act any way you want to immediately afterwards. Handstands along a tightrope suspended over flaming tigers, or to slip quietly into the dressing rooms while stoicly commiserating the opposing side - it's your call, you earned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Goalkeeper12

cluxton could have easily had a career as a professional soccer player if he wanted to but he wasnt interested, he was offered a contract by shamrock rovers but turned it down. i also know for a fact that he turned down a substantial offer from adidas for him to wear their gloves but he turned it down because he didnt want to do any of the media work that came with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

He's a private man, He kicked the winner. He was getting no privacy yesterday if he'd have stayed around. All he wanted was to win, Job done, time to go backstage and savour it.

He's prob one of the only men i prayed would win a medal. Not that he deserves it anymore than anyone else but we all have our favourites and he's been nothing short of heroic on many occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Absolute class act, as others have said could have easily had a career in professional soccer. Some people are just quiet. But after kicking that point he cemented his place in the GAA hall of fame as the best keeper imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭ceegee

Think people are going a bit overboard in their praise. Tbh it was a free that youd expect your freetaker to slot over at intercounty level, and being a shot to win rather than draw, the pressure wasnt as big as it could have been.
    To say he definitly could play championship level soccer is also a bit daft, the difference in skillset between soccer and gaa keepers is significant, and it would be fairly rare for a player of cluxtons height to make it at that level.
    That said, fair play to the man, deserves an allireland for his displays over the years, but thimk the best ever tag is one thats undeserved as of yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Best GAA goalkeeper ever by a street and I'm not a Dub.

To say he definitly could play championship level soccer is also a bit daft, the difference in skillset between soccer and gaa keepers is significant, and it would be fairly rare for a player of cluxtons height to make it at that level.

What height is he?

Also, someone said he earlier in the thread he was offered a contract by Shamrock Rovers. if he is close to that level, then he might not be far off championship level. You have to look beyond his current ability and ask yourself how much he could have improved if he had trained as a professional goalkeeper for a few years.

I have always been hugely impressed with the accuracy of his kick outs, but they werent great yesterday, ironically enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

best Goalkeeper ever in the GAA
    doesn't he play in the forwards for his club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

What height is he?

He's normal..5'8 maybe..I think..I never really noticed, I'll be seeing him Wednesday I think
    And seriously, everyone just leave him alone, hes a very private guy, he does his job well (trust me), he plays his gaa well (as you know) and thats all he wants really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭gimmeaminute

Maybe things didn't go to plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I respect him more for being true to himself and hying away from the limelight. I love to see the quiet man win the day. Too often its the empty vessels that make most noise in this world that get their way. Not everyone is eloquent or has the desire to have cameras on them.

I think this new habit of sticking microphones in players faces on the pitch seconds after the game ens ahould be stopped anyway. I understand they want something to "distract" fans from invading the pitch, but tbh its not as if you can expect to get any sense out pf a player who's physically shattered and mentally unable to comprehend the enormity of what they've done. The fact that Cluxton felt he had to run off the pith to avoid being interviewed is a bit ridiculous really. The players whould be allowed enjoy the moment in peace and that includes keeping both fans and journalists off the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Sir Vival

Out of interest, anyone know his profession..?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Sir Vival wrote: »
    Teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Nearly sure he's a school teacher ? .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Final point aside yesterday was probably his worst performance this year for Dublin. Kerry won a lot of his kick-outs and he missed some kicks that he would have expected to get himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

He didn't over celebrate and to be honest that's a good trait.

As a losing team, you hate to see the winning team jumping and celebrating and so on, makes it all the harder to take.

Cluxton has the right attitude, and to be honest, there is more to life than winning or losing an All Ireland, something people should remember. There's no point getting too excited or too gutted over winning or losing any game of football.

I personally hate those idiots you find in GAA clubs, who think GAA is the be all and end all, and the most important thing in life, and who spend hours in the pub talking GAA.

Cluxton has earned the right to act any way he see's fit, more so than the armchair supporters who comment on his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

Sir Vival wrote: »

He teaches.

He didn't over celebrate and to be honest that's a good trait.

I love the clip of Ciaran Carey after he scored a winning point (Or was it an equaliser?) against Clare in 1996. He is running back to his position without any antics. Nowadays, players are always pumping the air for the smallest things. But the way Carey reacted that day commands so much more respect

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Nearly sure he's a school teacher ? .........

101% sure hes a teacher
    he teaches me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭gimmeaminute

101% sure hes a teacher
    he teaches me..

Not Maths, I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Teaches biology afaik, he's bit of a legend in our science building in DCU.

Not Maths, I hope.

Nope he teaches JC Science, LC Biology and Health and Physiology(fitness training) to TYs. And he coaches Soccer and GAA teams of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Nope he teaches JC Science, LC Biology and Health and Physiology(fitness training) to TYs. And he coaches Soccer and GAA teams of course
    Is he still in Vincents ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭TheTwiz

No he plays for Parnells and teaches at Dominican College on Griffith Avenue as far as i know.