So was out on Fri night.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

As an Irish girl myself, I like to prowl the clubs, finding 18 year old virgins, promising them sex back at mine only to harvest their still beating heart instead. Then I go round telling all their friends they died without sexy time.

Now THATS what I call a good night out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Sticjones wrote: »
    Secretly they love it though. Otherwise why go to a nightclub at all,

Yeah that's why women go to clubs all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Giselle wrote: »
    Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl goes home with guy > Girl is slut.

Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl doesn't go home > Girl is tease.

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's not interested > girl is stuck up cow

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he doesn't mind > girl says she does > girl is frigid.

Guy approaches girl > girl says fvck off before he gets word out > guy goes on internet site and says all Irish girls are biatches and he wouldn't anyway since they're all orange and fat.

Such is life.

Guy talks to girl > girl says "in your dreams" before she knows what he has to say

Guy smiles at no one in particular > girl sees it> girl says "in your dreams and turns away

Guy talks to girl > girl interested >girl's friends pull her away

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he's just looking for his jacket 'cos he's leaving and she's sitting on it> girl allows him get his own property with look of disgust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Guy talks to girl > girl says "in your dreams" before she knows what he has to say

Guy smiles at no one in particular > girl sees it> girl says "in your dreams and turns away

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he's just looking for his jacket 'cos he's leaving and she's sitting on it> girl allows him get his own property with look of disgust

More than an element of truth to this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

No no no. Most girls will be fine as long as you're not acting like a muppet. We're don't all think everyone just wants to get off with us if they look at us. Just home from town and I can honestly say there were more guys who couldn't speak and just tried to grope me than the number of guys who were willing to have a reasonable chat at the bar :confused:

Generally speaking:

Guy who strikes up a conversation at the bar and isn't making pelvis thrusting motions = possibly in there

Guy who just tries to randomly throw himself at you on the dancefloor = 7006.3% less attractive.

Hon the blues btw. Love a good bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Guy talks to girl > etc
    No no no. Most girls will be fine as long as you're not acting like a muppet. We're don't all think everyone just wants to get off with us if they look at us.

Indeed, most girls will be fine, my point was that that most blokes will have experienced the rude reactions I was describing at least once and probably more and not because they were acting the muppet. It's not a one-way street on the muppetry. You may well not react to all social contact as though every bloke is hitting on you, but sadly too many women do react like that, just as too many fellas react like the one in your OP.
    Generally speaking:
    Guy who strikes up a conversation at the bar and isn't making pelvis thrusting motions = possibly in there

Guy who just tries to randomly throw himself at you on the dancefloor = 7006.3% less attractive.
    Hon the blues btw. Love a good bandwagon.

I agree with your original point, but I'd have to dispute this. I know you only say "possibly", but if this was generally true there'd be a lot more people getting it on and a lot less moaning about it, here and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Long story short OP, most guys aren't out to have a nice chat at the bar and find a new best friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

seanbmc wrote: »
    Sounds like he gets rejected a lot :pac:

And that's his problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

paddyandy wrote: »
    If you go about flauntin' it what should you expect from young men heated up????

Christ, I wouldn't like to see you judging a rape case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭dafunk

I got called a lesbian by a work colleague when I refused his advances at a work do.

WTF is with that. I don't want your dick inside me so I must be gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

ElleEm wrote: »
    I had a similar thing happen to me at a bar. Some bloke started chatting to me, I was chatting back, being polite and having a laugh. It seemed like he was coming on to me, so I mentioned that I had a boyfriend and the bloke was like "fuk this" and stormed off!
    Tbh, that sounds more like a case of he's not interested in pretending to be friends and is saying "**** this [situation]" rather than "**** you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Who tries to get with someone in a nightclub? It's the worst scenario possible for chatting someone up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Confab wrote: »
    Who tries to get with someone in a nightclub? It's the worst scenario possible for chatting someone up.
    you've never hooked up with someone on a night out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Ha ha excellent postage! myself and all my friends have experienced most but probably all of the above,i sat next next to a girl at the end of the club a few months back and despite not saying a word to her or even looking at her she said "sorry but i have a boyfriend"....:confused:
    "Eh...ok"
    "You seem really nice but im spoken for"
    "Im actually just sitting her waiting for my friends to get the coats to be honest"
    *gives me a "yeah right" look*

You wouldnt mind but she wasnt even ok looking let alone good looking! same club different night a friend of mine is getting on really well with a girl,talking for a few minutes,both showing all the usual interested signs in each other......then one of her buddys comes over and literally drags her away! she had just told one of the other lads the girl had come out of a longterm relationship a few weeks earlier and it was "too soon" to be talking to anyone.....wtf? a grown woman cant decide this herself???

I know the Irish male-female club thing is done to death here but sweet Jesus its just so weird and difficult here compared to anywhere else ive been

Unfortunately too many guys do get way to drunk but on the other side of it a lot of Irish women need to get over themselves,i think its just an insecurity thing though as i find it tends to be the average looking ones who behave the worst in my experience,i know a few girls who are gorgeous and spend most nights out politely turning down one guy after another when it would be understandable if they were a lot ruder

Apart from the whole "Irish women are delusional and too into themselves" argument, which is true to an extent. Am I the only one who thinks that some of these men are thick as sh!t to think that because a girl talks to them for a minute they feel they should be able to get into her knickers? Can people not be friendly any more? Perhaps the reason women have an attitude like they do is because of the reaction of these guys when they do talk to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

This is fool proof, with quality instructions like this there should be no single men left in Ireland

martic wrote: »
    This is fool proof, with quality instructions like this there should be no single men left in Ireland
    Man that's pathetic. If you acted like that they'd think you were gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

Oh dear, you took all that time typing to answer a sarcastic post.

To the above reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

smash wrote: »
    Man that's pathetic. If you acted like that they'd think you were gay.

Plus the dude is ginger.

So he never gets laid.

To the above reply
    I knew you were being sarcastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Pick Up Artist lines? Can't believe you posted that, girls don't like to be manipulated. If you're a nice guy that will shine through and the girls will be interested.

most lads are so used to being stone walled and pushed away within seconds by stuck up and rude irish girls in clubs

Got to laugh at the fact that some people are rejected so frequently yet they decide in their heads that the problem likely lies with the entire female population of Ireland rather than to stop for a minute and think "oh dear, maybe its me???".

Then again sometimes vast and entirely made up generalisations are easier to live with that simple realities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Reading these threads make me even happier that I'm not single and trolling around nightclubs.

Seriously, though, do we Irishmen simply not have the brains to try things differently if our current approach isn't working? Surely if you meet with nothing but rejection and frustration on nights out, it's time to think about changing how you behave, or where you go, or at least try to figure out why you're not getting anywhere.

Also, I can't believe this has to be said yet again: just because a woman is dressed up and dancing does not mean she's interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

"When you're in a nightclub, what is the best way to open up a group of wimmin?"

I was gutted he didn't say a canopener :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

Ha ha excellent postage! myself and all my friends have experienced most but probably all of the above,i sat next next to a girl at the end of the club a few months back and despite not saying a word to her or even looking at her she said "sorry but i have a boyfriend"....:confused:
    "Eh...ok"
    "You seem really nice but im spoken for"
    "Im actually just sitting her waiting for my friends to get the coats to be honest"
    *gives me a "yeah right" look*

A few years ago, I was picking friends up after a night out from a hotel function. I was in the lobby trying to round them up for the hike (2 min walk) to my car when I noticed that a young lady had left her purse on a table beside us. She was walking towards the main door, so I shouted that she had left it behind but she didn't hear me, so I picked up the purse and followed her towards the door, meeting her outside as she waited for a taxi. The conversation went as follows :

Me : Excuse me.
    Her : Sorry, I have a bf.
    Aside : Friends with her snigger.
    Me : Erm, you left your purse behind at the table.
    Her : (Turning a very deep shade of red) Right! (Snatches purse from my hand and turns her back).

Anyway, 3 weeks later I start a contract in a new company, walk into a meeting room to be introduced to the team that I will be working with and no prizes for guessing who is sitting right across the table from me. She did bring up the incident and thanked me endlessly when she realised that a good report from me, would help her career. Charming young lady, NOT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

COYW wrote: »
    A few years ago, I was picking friends up after a night out from a hotel function. I was in the lobby trying to round them up for the hike (2 min walk) to my car when I noticed that a lady had left her purse on a table beside us. She was walking towards the hotel exit, so I shouted that she had left it behind but she didn't hear me, so I picked up the purse and followed her towards the door meeting her outside the door as she waited for a taxi. The conversation went as follows :

Me : Excuse me
    Her : Sorry, I have a bf.
    Aside : Friend with her snigger.
    Me : Erm, you left your purse behind at the table.
    Her : (Turning a very deep shade of red) Right! (Snatches purse from my hand and turns her back).

Anyway, 3 weeks later I start a new contract in a new company, walk into a meeting room to be introduced to the team that I will be working with and no prizes for guessing who is sitting right across the table from me. She did bring up the incident and thanked me endlessly when she realised that a good report from me, would help her career. Charming young lady, NOT!

When my girlfriend and I first started dating - we used to go out to clubs with her single, attractive, friend who didn't like to wear a lot of clothing. I'd get to sit back and watch guys come up and hit on her all night long.

I learned a lot watching it.

There are so many guys who (unintentionally) come off as total dicks in the clubs. They are drunk, they just spent 15 minutes talking to their friends and getting psyched up to approach her or they spent all weekend watching PUA videos about how you have to be a dick in order to get girls to like you.

So they come up. And if the girl talks to them for even a few seconds, they don't want to leave and they expect to get laid. Just like the girl starting this thread. Then they act like spoiled children when you say goodbye.

The result is that unless a girl looks at you and instantly thinks you are perfect for her, she doesn't want to waste her time. 'I have a boyfriend' is what she'd say most of the time.

And because girls are so bitchy, guys need to get drunk, spend 15 minutes talking to their friends, getting psyched up to approach a girl or spend all weekend watching PUA videos about how to be a dick to pick up girls.

It's a vicious cycle.

Of course, if you're good looking enough, it doesn't really matter what you say :) (I am not good looking enough, sadly)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

I think it boils down to the fact that sometimes guys just are too drunk and don't realise that they are coming across way too leery and are making the girl uncomfortable. I think they get past a point where they don't notice the lack of interest and keep plugging away and just make a nuisance of themselves

One thing I thought hilarious though was my friend was at the bar at one point, it was really busy and people were pushing past us. One particular lad moved past and she commented 'go on sure, rub off me again why don't you' and his friend who was following past him said 'you surely don't think you're that good looking do you?'

Perfect example of us getting notions of ourselves :rolleyes:

One particular lad moved past and she commented 'go on sure, rub off me again why don't you' and his friend who was following past him said 'you surely don't think you're that good looking do you?'

So he didn't take her up on her offer then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I've friends who have said....'meh in the end I was just like whatever, it was easier to score him than not'
    Introductions please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Giselle wrote: »
    Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl goes home with guy > Girl is slut.

I wouldn't say that.