Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So was out on Fri night.......

• 18-09-2011 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

And some guy came up trying to dance with me etc. I was having a laugh with my friends and just wanted to stick with them. I chatted to him briefly, maybe a minute. You know how it goes though, in the middle of a club, it's loud and you really can't hear a whole lot so after a while I was like, listen it was lovely to meet you...hope you have a good night, I'm just going to go back here to my friends. At which point he said 'Well you can go f*** yourself anyways, girls are all the same f**** p***k teasers'

Naturally I was like eh? Seriously, I mean I generally would talk away to anyone, love meeting new people etc but since when is it acceptable to act like a complete tool like that just because I tried to politely end the conversation? I didn't lead him on either because I genuinely had no interest.

I've friends who have said....'meh in the end I was just like whatever, it was easier to score him than not'

????????? Am I the only person that thinks that's ridiculous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Personal issues
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I've friends who have said....'meh in the end I was just like whatever,

Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Sounds like he gets rejected a lot :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

most lads are so used to being stone walled and pushed away within seconds by stuck up and rude irish girls in clubs , you were just being friendly and as its so rare to find this he probably thought he was in there

rock and a hard place :pac: situation there

it basically just means your not a stuck up bítch but it has its downsides

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

Really?

Really.

Easier to score him after chatting for half an hour than flaking off. Especially if drinks were purchased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I've friends who have said....'meh in the end I was just like whatever, it was easier to score him than not'

Who are these friends, and will they be at the next boards drinking session?? They sound like the answers to all my prayers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I had a similar thing happen to me at a bar. Some bloke started chatting to me, I was chatting back, being polite and having a laugh. It seemed like he was coming on to me, so I mentioned that I had a boyfriend and the bloke was like "fuk this" and stormed off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

and you thought playing hard to get made them keener eh?

guy was a dick, move on :D

Really.

Easier to score him after chatting for half an hour than flaking off. Especially if drinks were purchased

if he bought you a drink and you drank it youve no option but to score him , if no drinks then you can tell him to fúck off

I'd buy him a drink back and go on my merry way if I'd no interest. Or say I'd a boyf or something

Bit random getting a free drink and paying for it with an ould shift don't ya think?!!

I'd buy him a drink back and go on my merry way if I'd no interest. Or say I'd a boyf or something

Bit random getting a free drink and paying for it with an ould shift don't ya think?!!

if he buys you a drink you dont have to drink it, simply say 'no, sorry im not interested' and dont drink it then walk away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Some people are dicks, some are nice. This one was a dick, chin up and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭jonbravo

Well.. theres places to go to chat.. and places to go where ''You Know'' somebody is at some point going to chat you up right or wrong!?

get in there first next time and tell who ever to feck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

jonbravo wrote: »
    Well.. theres places to go to chat.. and places to go where ''You Know'' somebody is at some point going to chat you up right or wrong!?

get in there first next time and tell who ever to feck off!

Yeah, but then you'll have the guy coming into AH next weekend crying that some girl was mean to him in a club when all he was doing was wanting a chat...

can't win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭jonbravo

Larianne wrote: »
    Yeah, but then you'll have the guy coming into AH next weekend crying that some girl was mean to him in a club when all he was doing was wanting a chat...

can't win!
    he'll get over it!! im sure....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

You were nice to a bloke you didn't fancy who was coming onto you in a club, that was your first mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

You were nice to a bloke you didn't fancy who was coming onto you in a club, that was your first mistake.

A girl being nice to a fella and chatting to him is by no means meaning he is 'in there' she was being friendly and polite. It doesn't give the fella the right to own the girl. Chatting to someone doesn't mean you are in with a chance of scoring like, great to chat and have a conversation but you don't score unless you get further than that like!? She was honest with him and didn't string him along.

She told him more or less up front she wanted to be with her friends and wasn't interested in talking to him any further. She is innocent in this, he just took it the wrong way and acted immature. You move on. Op he wasn't worth it if he was mean too you like that. Manners goes a long way!

Why waste your time with someone you don't fancy? what's wrong with that, isn't it better that they know and that their time isn't wasted in the long run!

Meet people for a chat great but shouldn't mean to a lead to anything if you force it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

squod wrote: »
    Personal issues
    >

I think you need to check your history and see some of the threads you have started here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

You should have had sex with him, isn't that right lads?

doovdela wrote: »
    A girl being nice to a fella and chatting to him is by no means meaning he is 'in there' she was being friendly and polite. It doesn't give the fella the right to own the girl. Chatting to someone doesn't mean you are in with a chance of scoring like, great to chat and have a conversation but you don't score unless you get further than that like!? She was honest with him and didn't string him along.

She told him more or less up front she wanted to be with her friends and wasn't interested in talking to him any further. She is innocent in this, he just took it the wrong way and acted immature. You move on. Op he wasn't worth it if he was mean too you like that. Manners goes a long way!

Why waste your time with someone you don't fancy? what's wrong with that, isn't it better that they know and that their time isn't wasted in the long run!

Meet people for a chat great but shouldn't mean to a lead to anything if you force it!

Oh dear, you took all that time typing to answer a sarcastic post.

No I am not being sarcastic I am just going from the perspective of the OP.
    She was nice, friendly and chatty to him but being nice etc doesn't necessary mean that a guy is going to get the girl?! It takes a lot more than just a conversation to win a girl that's what I am getting at!?:o

And now you've taken the time to answer when I was pointing out that my first post in the thread was sarcastic and you wasted all that time answering it. This could go on for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

In an irish nightclub on the dancefloor it often takes a lot less;)

mackg wrote: »
    In an irish nightclub on the dancefloor it often takes a lot less;)

I know what you mean like but still, a little conversation as well as a dance and a little smooch can win a girl over a lot more than just chatting too her! Its a combination of things, if got something she likes I mean personality and a sense of humour! Then she is all ears!
    And now you've taken the time to answer when I was pointing out that my first post in the thread was sarcastic and you wasted all that time answering it. This could go on for a while.

I won't answer your posts any more then.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

If you go about flauntin' it what should you expect from young men heated up????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

I've been in nightclubs a fair few times with female friends from college. These girls now are absolute stunners and as soon as they hit the dance floor they have to put up with a never ending conveyor belt of lads dancing up, trying to grab their hands and pull them around to dance with them, without ever saying a word cos of the music :rolleyes:
    They're all shacked up in long term relationships and none of these guys would have a hope anyway but the first time I saw it I was a bit gobsmacked because they'd be getting pawed at by sweaty drunks, literally every few minutes.

You see a lot of threads on here about how Irish girls are cold and unapproachable on nights out but there's a fairly significant proportion of the male population that are seriously fúcking irritating and just can't take no for an answer.

most lads are so used to being stone walled and pushed away within seconds by stuck up and rude irish girls in clubs

Yeah, it's not his fault he was rude and aggressive to a girl for not being interested in him because ultimately Irish girls have made him that way. Irish girls suck and are all bitches, and the OP should expect this behaviour because she's breaking the mould by being a decent human being.

As an Irish girl myself, I like to prowl the clubs, finding 18 year old virgins, promising them sex back at mine only to harvest their still beating heart instead. Then I go round telling all their friends they died without sexy time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Sticjones

I've been in nightclubs a fair few times with female friends from college. These girls now are absolute stunners and as soon as they hit the dance floor they have to put up with a never ending conveyor belt of lads dancing up, trying to grab their hands and pull them around to dance with them, without ever saying a word cos of the music :rolleyes:
    They're all shacked up in long term relationships and none of these guys would have a hope anyway but the first time I saw it I was a bit gobsmacked because they'd be getting pawed at by sweaty drunks, literally every few minutes.

You see a lot of threads on here about how Irish girls are cold and unapproachable on nights out but there's a fairly significant proportion of the male population that are seriously fúcking irritating and just can't take no for an answer.

Secretly they love it though. Otherwise why go to a nightclub at all, just go to one of their houses, stock up on drink and dance away to whatever the youngsters are into these days "Justin Timber" , "Miley Gaga", etc for a fraction of the cost of paying into and drinking in a nightclub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl goes home with guy > Girl is slut.

Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl doesn't go home > Girl is tease.

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's not interested > girl is stuck up cow

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he doesn't mind > girl says she does > girl is frigid.

Guy approaches girl > girl says fvck off before he gets word out > guy goes on internet site and says all Irish girls are biatches and he wouldn't anyway since they're all orange and fat.

Such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Sticjones wrote: »
    Secretly they love it though. Otherwise why go to a nightclub at all, just go to one of their houses, stock up on drink and dance away to whatever the youngsters are into these days "Justin Timber" , "Miley Gaga", etc for a fraction of the cost of paying into and drinking in a nightclub.

Is that how you justify your groping to yourself? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

As an Irish girl myself, I like to prowl the clubs, finding 18 year old virgins, promising them sex back at mine only to harvest their still beating heart instead. Then I go round telling all their friends they died without sexy time.

Now THATS what I call a good night out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Sticjones wrote: »
    Secretly they love it though. Otherwise why go to a nightclub at all,

Yeah that's why women go to clubs all right.

Giselle wrote: »
    Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl goes home with guy > Girl is slut.

Guy talks to girl > girl talks back > guy assumes he's in there > girl doesn't go home > Girl is tease.

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's not interested > girl is stuck up cow

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he doesn't mind > girl says she does > girl is frigid.

Guy approaches girl > girl says fvck off before he gets word out > guy goes on internet site and says all Irish girls are biatches and he wouldn't anyway since they're all orange and fat.

Such is life.

Guy talks to girl > girl says "in your dreams" before she knows what he has to say

Guy smiles at no one in particular > girl sees it> girl says "in your dreams and turns away

Guy talks to girl > girl interested >girl's friends pull her away

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he's just looking for his jacket 'cos he's leaving and she's sitting on it> girl allows him get his own property with look of disgust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Guy talks to girl > girl says "in your dreams" before she knows what he has to say

Guy smiles at no one in particular > girl sees it> girl says "in your dreams and turns away

Guy talks to girl > girl says she's got a boyfriend > guy says he's just looking for his jacket 'cos he's leaving and she's sitting on it> girl allows him get his own property with look of disgust

More than an element of truth to this!

No no no. Most girls will be fine as long as you're not acting like a muppet. We're don't all think everyone just wants to get off with us if they look at us. Just home from town and I can honestly say there were more guys who couldn't speak and just tried to grope me than the number of guys who were willing to have a reasonable chat at the bar :confused:

Generally speaking:

Guy who strikes up a conversation at the bar and isn't making pelvis thrusting motions = possibly in there

Guy who just tries to randomly throw himself at you on the dancefloor = 7006.3% less attractive.

Hon the blues btw. Love a good bandwagon.

Guy talks to girl > etc
    No no no. Most girls will be fine as long as you're not acting like a muppet. We're don't all think everyone just wants to get off with us if they look at us.

Indeed, most girls will be fine, my point was that that most blokes will have experienced the rude reactions I was describing at least once and probably more and not because they were acting the muppet. It's not a one-way street on the muppetry. You may well not react to all social contact as though every bloke is hitting on you, but sadly too many women do react like that, just as too many fellas react like the one in your OP.
    Generally speaking:
    Guy who strikes up a conversation at the bar and isn't making pelvis thrusting motions = possibly in there

Guy who just tries to randomly throw himself at you on the dancefloor = 7006.3% less attractive.
    Hon the blues btw. Love a good bandwagon.

I agree with your original point, but I'd have to dispute this. I know you only say "possibly", but if this was generally true there'd be a lot more people getting it on and a lot less moaning about it, here and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Long story short OP, most guys aren't out to have a nice chat at the bar and find a new best friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

seanbmc wrote: »
    Sounds like he gets rejected a lot :pac:

And that's his problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

paddyandy wrote: »
    If you go about flauntin' it what should you expect from young men heated up????

Christ, I wouldn't like to see you judging a rape case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭dafunk

I got called a lesbian by a work colleague when I refused his advances at a work do.

WTF is with that. I don't want your dick inside me so I must be gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

ElleEm wrote: »
    I had a similar thing happen to me at a bar. Some bloke started chatting to me, I was chatting back, being polite and having a laugh. It seemed like he was coming on to me, so I mentioned that I had a boyfriend and the bloke was like "fuk this" and stormed off!
    Tbh, that sounds more like a case of he's not interested in pretending to be friends and is saying "**** this [situation]" rather than "**** you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Who tries to get with someone in a nightclub? It's the worst scenario possible for chatting someone up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Confab wrote: »
    Who tries to get with someone in a nightclub? It's the worst scenario possible for chatting someone up.
    you've never hooked up with someone on a night out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Ha ha excellent postage! myself and all my friends have experienced most but probably all of the above,i sat next next to a girl at the end of the club a few months back and despite not saying a word to her or even looking at her she said "sorry but i have a boyfriend"....:confused:
    "Eh...ok"
    "You seem really nice but im spoken for"
    "Im actually just sitting her waiting for my friends to get the coats to be honest"
    *gives me a "yeah right" look*

You wouldnt mind but she wasnt even ok looking let alone good looking! same club different night a friend of mine is getting on really well with a girl,talking for a few minutes,both showing all the usual interested signs in each other......then one of her buddys comes over and literally drags her away! she had just told one of the other lads the girl had come out of a longterm relationship a few weeks earlier and it was "too soon" to be talking to anyone.....wtf? a grown woman cant decide this herself???

I know the Irish male-female club thing is done to death here but sweet Jesus its just so weird and difficult here compared to anywhere else ive been

Unfortunately too many guys do get way to drunk but on the other side of it a lot of Irish women need to get over themselves,i think its just an insecurity thing though as i find it tends to be the average looking ones who behave the worst in my experience,i know a few girls who are gorgeous and spend most nights out politely turning down one guy after another when it would be understandable if they were a lot ruder

Apart from the whole "Irish women are delusional and too into themselves" argument, which is true to an extent. Am I the only one who thinks that some of these men are thick as sh!t to think that because a girl talks to them for a minute they feel they should be able to get into her knickers? Can people not be friendly any more? Perhaps the reason women have an attitude like they do is because of the reaction of these guys when they do talk to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

This is fool proof, with quality instructions like this there should be no single men left in Ireland

martic wrote: »
    This is fool proof, with quality instructions like this there should be no single men left in Ireland
    Man that's pathetic. If you acted like that they'd think you were gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

To the above reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

smash wrote: »
    Man that's pathetic. If you acted like that they'd think you were gay.

Plus the dude is ginger.

So he never gets laid.

martic wrote: »
    To the above reply
    I knew you were being sarcastic.