Senator David Norris plans to re-enter race for President

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    [ double-checks that it is AH ]

Quoting Nasri chat-up lines at the secondary school now ?

:D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

KeithAFC wrote: »
    His views on Rome and the Pope are the perfect example as to why people should vote for him in the ROI. I think he would represent the revolution against Rome in the Republic.

Change the record. You're just coming across as desperately entrenched in your tribe's narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd be delighted to see him run as a candidate regardless of whether or not I'd vote for him. He may not be as credible as he was before but at least it'll be the people that get to decide rather than those with ulterior motives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

KeithAFC wrote: »
    His views on Rome and the Pope are the perfect example as to why people should vote for him in the ROI. I think he would represent the revolution against Rome in the Republic.
    But he likes sex with men... bit of a quandary there for ya Keefy hon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭coup1917

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

I give up on this country, I really do....

Sure Bertie might as well throw his hat in at this rate. Because typically in this dump of a country, as long you're a bit of a 'character' and tad of a sleeven with a brass kneck, there's no shortage of eejits prepared to look the other way and vote for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Big mistake going in under FF support, this would damage his campaign somewhat more than the last one, as wrong as that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Eradicate

Hope he does! But not as a FF canditate!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Dudess wrote: »
    But he likes sex with men... bit of a quandary there for ya Keefy hon...
    Shouldn't that be "Keefy hun"? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Big mistake going in under FF support,

He has no choice, he won't get on the ballot without it

Is it better to try and fail to get on the ballot or to take the support and get on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,311 ✭✭✭✭alastair

woodoo wrote: »
    Who would have thought a gay Protestant would be a likely Irish President.

Ahh come on now - are you telling me Douglas Hyde wasn't a raging queen?

http://www.nationalarchives.ie/topics/PRES/Images/p39.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

mikemac wrote: »
    Is it better to try and fail to get on the ballot or to take the support and get on it?

Honestly, I think at this stage it will look desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

conorhal wrote: »
    I give up on this country, I really do....

Sure Bertie might as well throw his hat in at this rate. Because typically in this dump of a country, as long you're a bit of a 'character' and tad of a sleeven with a brass kneck, there's no shortage of eejits prepared to look the other way and vote for you.
    Look the other way? What you listed are the very reasons why they will vote for you. I'd call it shocking, but given our track record it's really... not. Sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 chrisogalway

Sad in this day and age that what are fore fathers fought for 100 years ago seems to have been in vain... an english gay man getting unofficial votes for our PRESIDENCY!!!?? we beat the english and gained over 90% freedom (26 counties) and 100 years passes and were likely to give this english gay chancer the presidency! -they are turning in their grave thats for sure if tehy were here today what would they think? heres just my opinion; i reckon they would not have bothered if they knew that their kids kids would turn out to be a jedward loving, gay english presidential candidiate approving generation... shame on us this poor country on its knees has now lost its pride within itself.

Sad in this day and age that what are fore fathers fought for 100 years ago seems to have been in vain... an english gay man getting unofficial votes for our PRESIDENCY!!!?? we beat the english and gained over 90% freedom (26 counties) and 100 years passes and were likely to give this english gay chancer the presidency! -they are turning in their grave thats for sure if they were here today what would they think? heres just my opinion; i reckon they would not have bothered if they knew that their kids kids would turn out to be a jedward loving, gay english presidential candidiate approving generation... shame on us this poor country on its knees has now lost its pride within itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What are you on about?

Norris isn't English.
    Born in Africa alright

These threads attract all the new posters and re-regs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

The Presidency should be scrapped. its a pointless 'figurehead' job like the Royals in England and will cost the taxpayer probably in the region of tens of millions by the the 'race' and the terms of 7 years in office as complete.

Seriously, this should be scrapped and our new leaders should be hounded by us taxpayers to do away with pointless positions like this.

and you dont think that if his father was deployed to ireland instead of ww1, he would have killed our fore fathers for what they thought was a just cause gaining more colonies their entitlements of courese, use your head mate his father would have shot dead an irish man fighting for independence 100 years ago or there abouts had he have been deployed and its as simple as that or do you choose to be nieve and find that irrelevent in regards to the context?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

and you dont think that if his father was deployed to ireland instead he would not have killed our fore fathers?! use your head mate his father would have faught us 100 years ago or there abouts had he have been deployed simple as that or would you choose to find that irrelevent in regards to the context?

God, you're right. Instead of electing him president, can we send Norris to fictional prison for his dead father's hypothetical crimes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Let's vote him in-the world would be so proud to see we support paedo sympathisers in our name.

He's a pompous arrogant git anyway and would not represent even a tiny percent of the population, even if he tries to play on the gay thing which should be irrelevant to the presidency.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

frada my point exactly we dont care!! our generation doesnt give two hoots about 100 years ago and what we fought for, this is purely an example of how times have changed and the complete lack of respect for the people who died for us being able to even be here in our great country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Sad in this day and age that what are fore fathers fought for 100 years ago seems to have been in vain... an english gay man getting unofficial votes for our PRESIDENCY!!!?? we beat the english and gained over 90% freedom (26 counties) and 100 years passes and were likely to give this english gay chancer the presidency! -they are turning in their grave thats for sure if they were here today what would they think? heres just my opinion; i reckon they would not have bothered if they knew that their kids kids would turn out to be a jedward loving, gay english presidential candidiate approving generation... shame on us this poor country on its knees has now lost its pride within itself.

I clearly remember this quotation from history, "James Connolly, why did he fight? Them was the queers that done it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

and you dont think that if his father was deployed to ireland instead he would not have killed our fore fathers?! use your head mate his father would have faught us 100 years ago or there abouts had he have been deployed simple as that or would you choose to find that irrelevent in regards to the context?

Huh.....?

Originally I would have strongly considered giving Norris a vote, but after all the very very poor judgement he's demonstrated I wouldn't trust him to represent us on an international platform. We're still trying to undo the damage done by Bertie and his canary yellow suit at G8....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

chrisogalway banned.
    Lets just take his input to its logical conclusion immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

frada my point exactly we dont care!! our generation doesnt give two hoots about 100 years ago and what we fought for, this is purely an example of how times have changed and the complete lack of respect for the people who died for us being able to even be here in our great country...

Wow, cos living in the past is EXACTLY what we all need to do....as well as getting upset over stuff that NEVER happened, sure that'd be great craic altogether. Should we also pretend the Americans won Vietnam? Sure that could be fun...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭meanmachine3

bring it on senator norris. you'll have my vote.i will not vote for a candidate affiliated to any party, personally i think it's wrong. and i'll be damned if i'm going to vote for someone else to open the flood gates of this country again. my point is this michael d. higgins is running for labour. the last labour president this country had decimated it by opening the flood gates to every joe soap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

I was probably going to vote for Norris before the controversy, now I'm not so sure for a variety of reasons. Even leaving aside the lingering doubts about paedophilia and abuse of position, I wouldn't really respect the U-turn of re-entering the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Diapason wrote: »
    I was probably going to vote for Norris before the controversy, now I'm not so sure for a variety of reasons. Even leaving aside the lingering doubts about paedophilia and abuse of position, I wouldn't really respect the U-turn of re-entering the race.

Paedophilia: Grand.

Changing your mind: That's a dealbreaker ladies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Not quite what I said, nor indeed what I meant, but carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Diapason wrote: »
    Not quite what I said, nor indeed what I meant, but carry on.

... and whats the deal with peanuts on airplanes?