Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Senator David Norris plans to re-enter race for President

• 11-09-2011 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/senator-david-norris-plans-to-reenter-race-for-president-2873139.html
    SENATOR David Norris is about to make a sensational declaration to re-enter the race for the presidency, the Sunday Independent can reveal.

Mr Norris reconsidered his decision to withdraw after a consistent outpouring of public support, the urgings by independent TDs and senators and now the dramatic confirmation that some FF Oireachtas members will support his bid for a nomination.

Mr Norris, who returned to Ireland yesterday, will tonight hold a meeting with his advisers, some time after which the announcement is expected, possibly on Friday, when he appears on 'The Late, Late Show'.

As the political choreography of his re-entry was being finalised, a compelling argument emerged in the form of the Fianna Fail support for his candidature.

A senior Fianna Fail figure told the Sunday Independent last night that from a political point of view it would be advantageous to the party.

"We haven't got our own candidate and given the level of public support for Norris I think it would play well to nominate him," he said.

"I think the party leadership would turn a blind eye if some TDs or senators signed his papers.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Fianna Fail support him?

Damn and I almost considered voting for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

This is new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

He's fierce determined to get into the Aras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

That is extraordinarily brave and completely unexpected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Its a race - which one will be locked first - me or this thread! LOL :D

*Cough* http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056379869

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Cynical Apathy

Lets hope people are smart enough not to vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Biggins wrote: »
    Its a race - which one will be locked first - me or this thread! LOL :D
    I believe in you Biggins, get drinking!

phasers wrote: »
    I believe in you Biggins, get drinking!

Hic* O..kay Cheers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Love to see him back in the race

Shut the Homophobes up for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Just when I was thinking, "Who the f**k do I vote for to keep SF out?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

His views on Rome and the Pope are the perfect example as to why people should vote for him in the ROI. I think he would represent the revolution against Rome in the Republic.

Sparks43 wrote: »

Back under your bridge!

The People should be the one to decide who is elected

That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

It's the Sindo, so I doubt that it's true.

If it is, it shows that FF are still happy to support people who do despicable and unacceptable things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I'm actually quite homophobic and was going to vote for him, and would vote for him still if he gets the nomination. He comes across as quite learned and cultured, his sexuality dosen't really bother me, I feel he has been effectivley shut out of the race and that to me is not democracy and if the village drunkard wants to run for President he should be allowed and getting nominated like this is a stupid undemocratic system. He really believes in his politics and Gay Mitchell thinks he can be some sort of DeValera like goon which he won't. Michael D. if elected will damage relations with the US and he is just too mouthy for my liking. David Norris fits the bill for me.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

If it is, it shows that FF are still happy to support people who do despicable and unacceptable things.

The only people that would be shocked by that revelation, would be FF actual supporters! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

If he gets FF backing, I wont have anybody to vote for. Just when i thought we could have honourable politicians :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Well..he was at an organised "walk" in aid of Arthritis sufferers in the Phoenix Park in May so if he hasn't reached the Aras at this stage......

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Yeay, the race is interesting again.

Not that I'm voting for anyone. But at least I have some semblence of caring again in seeing who wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

A cynical and misguided attempt if true. Hardly re-entering triumphantly is he? More like slinking back in,tail between legs,on the ragged coat tails of FF .Very un-Presidential. IMHO.

Hope the people recognise this move for what it's worth.:mad:

Stinicker wrote: »
    I'm actually quite homophobic and was going to vote for him, and would vote for him still if he gets the nomination. He comes across as quite learned and cultured, his sexuality dosen't really bother me, I feel he has been effectivley shut out of the race and that to me is not democracy and if the village drunkard wants to run for President he should be allowed and getting nominated like this is a stupid undemocratic system. He really believes in his politics and Gay Mitchell thinks he can be some sort of DeValera like goon which he won't. Michael D. if elected will damage relations with the US and he is just too mouthy for my liking. David Norris fits the bill for me.

Well fair play to you

If you can put your feelings on his sexuality to one side and look at him as a man and a candidate you have shown a degree of maturity that quite a high amount of AH posters on this issue lack.

I am not gay myself but i see others as equals and dont judge or predjudice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

News said that FF will not let it's members individually support candidates.

The talk about voting for or Norris is premature. He has to get a nomination yet, and after what's happened I don't think it's possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

KeithAFC wrote: »
    His views on Rome and the Pope are the perfect example as to why people should vote for him in the ROI. I think he would represent the revolution against Rome in the Republic.

Who would have thought a gay Protestant would be a likely Irish President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

He'll probably get elected and all. Just goes to show how stupid Irish people are, and how the majority want to appear progressive* at all costs.

*The fact that his sexuality is a factor in a decision to vote for him shows a lack of progress, imo.

woodoo wrote: »

Personally couldn't care less about either of those aspects.

I have a major problem with his expressed views and damn stupid abuse of his position, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Pah! You people are so judgemental.

What's the point of being a politician if you can't use your influence to get your former gay lover off a rape charge in Israel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

What's the point of being a politician if you can't use your influence to get your former gay lover off a rape charge in Israel?

coke 'n' hookers rent boys

Pah! You people are so judgmental.

Welcome to the Internet. We hope you enjoy your stay. Fasten your seat-belt - its going to be a bumpy ride!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Up de Barrs

Just because someone doesnt want to see him as President doesnt make the homophobic. I fully support the gay rights agenda and the sooner we legislate for marriage equality the better and I would like a gay man or woman as President some day but I think that by his words and actions David Norris has shown himself to be unsuitable for the role.

Pah! You people are so judgmental.

Welcome to the Internet. We hope you enjoy your stay. Fasten your seat-belt - its going to be a bumpy ride!

[ double-checks that it is AH ]

Quoting Nasri chat-up lines at the secondary school now ?

[ double-checks that it is AH ]

Quoting Nasri chat-up lines at the secondary school now ?

:D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Change the record. You're just coming across as desperately entrenched in your tribe's narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd be delighted to see him run as a candidate regardless of whether or not I'd vote for him. He may not be as credible as he was before but at least it'll be the people that get to decide rather than those with ulterior motives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But he likes sex with men... bit of a quandary there for ya Keefy hon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭coup1917

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I give up on this country, I really do....

Sure Bertie might as well throw his hat in at this rate. Because typically in this dump of a country, as long you're a bit of a 'character' and tad of a sleeven with a brass kneck, there's no shortage of eejits prepared to look the other way and vote for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Big mistake going in under FF support, this would damage his campaign somewhat more than the last one, as wrong as that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Eradicate

Hope he does! But not as a FF canditate!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Dudess wrote: »
    But he likes sex with men... bit of a quandary there for ya Keefy hon...
    Shouldn't that be "Keefy hun"? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Big mistake going in under FF support,

He has no choice, he won't get on the ballot without it

Is it better to try and fail to get on the ballot or to take the support and get on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

woodoo wrote: »

Ahh come on now - are you telling me Douglas Hyde wasn't a raging queen?

http://www.nationalarchives.ie/topics/PRES/Images/p39.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

mikemac wrote: »
    Is it better to try and fail to get on the ballot or to take the support and get on it?

Honestly, I think at this stage it will look desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

conorhal wrote: »
    I give up on this country, I really do....

Sure Bertie might as well throw his hat in at this rate. Because typically in this dump of a country, as long you're a bit of a 'character' and tad of a sleeven with a brass kneck, there's no shortage of eejits prepared to look the other way and vote for you.
    Look the other way? What you listed are the very reasons why they will vote for you. I'd call it shocking, but given our track record it's really... not. Sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 chrisogalway

Sad in this day and age that what are fore fathers fought for 100 years ago seems to have been in vain... an english gay man getting unofficial votes for our PRESIDENCY!!!?? we beat the english and gained over 90% freedom (26 counties) and 100 years passes and were likely to give this english gay chancer the presidency! -they are turning in their grave thats for sure if tehy were here today what would they think? heres just my opinion; i reckon they would not have bothered if they knew that their kids kids would turn out to be a jedward loving, gay english presidential candidiate approving generation... shame on us this poor country on its knees has now lost its pride within itself.

Sad in this day and age that what are fore fathers fought for 100 years ago seems to have been in vain... an english gay man getting unofficial votes for our PRESIDENCY!!!?? we beat the english and gained over 90% freedom (26 counties) and 100 years passes and were likely to give this english gay chancer the presidency! -they are turning in their grave thats for sure if they were here today what would they think? heres just my opinion; i reckon they would not have bothered if they knew that their kids kids would turn out to be a jedward loving, gay english presidential candidiate approving generation... shame on us this poor country on its knees has now lost its pride within itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What are you on about?

Norris isn't English.
    Born in Africa alright

These threads attract all the new posters and re-regs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

The Presidency should be scrapped. its a pointless 'figurehead' job like the Royals in England and will cost the taxpayer probably in the region of tens of millions by the the 'race' and the terms of 7 years in office as complete.

Seriously, this should be scrapped and our new leaders should be hounded by us taxpayers to do away with pointless positions like this.

and you dont think that if his father was deployed to ireland instead of ww1, he would have killed our fore fathers for what they thought was a just cause gaining more colonies their entitlements of courese, use your head mate his father would have shot dead an irish man fighting for independence 100 years ago or there abouts had he have been deployed and its as simple as that or do you choose to be nieve and find that irrelevent in regards to the context?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

and you dont think that if his father was deployed to ireland instead he would not have killed our fore fathers?! use your head mate his father would have faught us 100 years ago or there abouts had he have been deployed simple as that or would you choose to find that irrelevent in regards to the context?

God, you're right. Instead of electing him president, can we send Norris to fictional prison for his dead father's hypothetical crimes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Let's vote him in-the world would be so proud to see we support paedo sympathisers in our name.

He's a pompous arrogant git anyway and would not represent even a tiny percent of the population, even if he tries to play on the gay thing which should be irrelevant to the presidency.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.