If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jürgen Stark: Abandon the Croke Park Agreement, cut welfare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Solair wrote: »
    I am really getting sick of this 'operation human shield' being used by the upper echelons of the public and civil service.

Great post Solair, as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

They are grossly overpaid, and corruption is unpunished. I've been ringing that bell for years. Everyone sucking on the teat of the taxpayer is getting far too much - it's just the other side of the same coin.

No quite - while the unemployed are being targeted by 'special welfare fraud squads', and some commentators here are quick to label all those in receipt of SW as sunholidaying, sky watching spongers (yes, there are a few, I am not denying that. But the majority are like wolfpawnat - just trying to keep their head above water until they can get a job) I have yet to see any evidence of our lords and masters feeling any financial pain or even one prosecution. I mean, Alan Shatter is upset that David Drumm won't cooperate with Gardaí - seriously. Try not 'cooperating' with SW and see where that gets you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Solair wrote: »
    I am really getting sick of this 'operation human shield' being used by the upper echelons of the public and civil service.

The system needs total reform!

Won't quote everything as it was a long post, but you speak the truth.

We all know cuts and tax hikes are immanent but we all want someone other than us to take them. We should all take some of the pain.

But as you stated the waste that is going on within the system is the biggest problem :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,117 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Also everyone that is high and mighty, how many of you are actually doing this at work when you are supposed to be working? If your jobs that boring, I will swap, you can stay home and contemplate how to pay the next bill on a menial sum while I work at your medium pay job. Simples ;)
    Personally I'm on my lunch break, but if you're going to get personal about things then I suggest you can't really afford the internet if you're on such a menial sum!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Tabnabs wrote: »
    But isn't that the elephant in the room? We can slash and burn state welfare and genuinely see people go short for food, heat and light, but those being paid by the state won't see anything like the cuts necessary to put a real dent in the deficit. And I don't mean the librarians, guys cleaning streets, and other low paid positions, it's the €100k plus group who can't justify their wages other than "they have a contract".

I'm guessing you haven't seen the salary of a head librarian.

About 45k for a full time librarian, I've seen anywhere from 2 to 3 times that for a head librarian on PublicJobs.ie

murphaph wrote: »
    Personally I'm on my lunch break, but if you're going to get personal about things then I suggest you can't really afford the internet if you're on such a menial sum!!

My OH is a Vet student, we need to pay for internet so that he can do study at weekends and evenings so he can get his degree and we need NEVER darken the door of the SW again. We pay €20 a month for it, so that is what some would spend a week on cigarettes :D I have no guilt.

He does not get grants and I could apply for Dependant Adult for him, but we don't. We are honest people trying to get by :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭QM79

He does not get grants and I could apply for Dependant Adult for him, but we don't. We are honest people trying to get by :)

Why not? If you are entitled to it you should apply for it. It has nothing to do with honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I cannot quote Scofflaw's post as the thread is locked, so I'm simply going to provide a link for anyone interested:
    Public Sector Pay Pyramid
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63181034&postcount=9

We frequently hear many in the public sector claim that they are not overpaid, or not by much.
    In many cases - this is true.

Reforms should start by flattening out the public pay pyramid.

When Public servants on this forum hear people calling for reductions in the Public Sector Pay & Pensions bill, they are gripped with terror because they imagine they will be taking a hefty paycut.
    They won't. The senior or middle manager will - but they'd rather keep the ordinary PS workers ignorant of that little fact.

My OH is a Vet student, we need to pay for internet so that he can do study at weekends and evenings so he can get his degree and we need NEVER darken the door of the SW again. We pay €20 a month for it, so that is what some would spend a week on cigarettes :D I have no guilt.

So he's not actively seeking work then? No offence, but if you were really and I mean really suffering due to your lost income, surely sour OH would be looking for a job rather than continuing to study?

Your SW payments are obviously more than enough for one person seeing as they are currently supporting both of you.

QM79 wrote: »
    Why not? If you are entitled to it you should apply for it. It has nothing to do with honesty.

Because he had a degree in Archaeology already and since that career went tits up in the bust he went back, resat his Leaving on got veterinary so he has went for that.

I have not applied for it because truthfully I am ashamed enough at having to defend having SW for me and our son and rent allowance and I am too embarrassed to ask for more!

So he's not actively seeking work then? No offence, but if you were really and I mean really suffering due to your lost income, surely sour OH would be looking for a job rather than continuing to study?

Your SW payments are obviously more than enough for one person seeing as they are currently supporting both of you.

No, my ESB and Gas are paid by my family as well as helping with the rent.

Are you honestly saying that he is better off earning €20k a year as a shop assistant in Tesco's, which in itself is a doubtful prospect since there are toss all work there so he would probably be on the SW too. Than getting a degree in a career that will mean his annual tax will be greater than the €20k already mentioned. No offence, but I really am failing to see your logic!

Because he had a degree in Archaeology already and since that career went tits up in the bust he went back, resat his Leaving on got veterinary so he has went for that.

I have not applied for it because truthfully I am ashamed enough at having to defend having SW for me and our son and rent allowance and I am too embarrassed to ask for more!
    Typical. Ordinary, honest people who would rather be working and contributing are embarrassed to claim their full entitlements, while lazy spongers who make the dole their career know every trick in the book to squeeze extra money out of the taxpayer and aren't shy about using them.

No, my ESB and Gas are paid by my family as well as helping with the rent.

Are you honestly saying that he is better off earning €20k a year as a shop assistant in Tesco's, which in itself is a doubtful prospect since there are toss all work there so he would probably be on the SW too. Than getting a degree in a career that will mean his annual tax will be greater than the €20k already mentioned. No offence, but I really am failing to see your logic!
    I think it's great that he has ambition and doesn't want to stack shelves at Tesco (no disrespect to people that do-work is work) but you have made it clear that sour situation is not desperate enough that you even claim all of the benefits that you would be (legally) entitled to!

I am simply saying that if you were really struggling to make ends meet, your OH wouldn't be in college, he'd be wearing out shoe leather looking for paid employment. I conclude from this that our SW system is overly generous.

In Germany you get €354 a month for a single person on the equivalent of the dole. Rent is paid on a modest (read: you'll have to move to somewhere cheaper if you're used to a nice address) flat with maximum square footage figures etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Typical. Ordinary, honest people who would rather be working and contributing are embarrassed to claim their full entitlements, while lazy spongers who make the dole their career know every trick in the book to squeeze extra money out of the taxpayer and aren't shy about using them.

That's it I'm afraid.
    I know of plenty who've been signing on since they turned 18.
    Dole office staff wouldn't dream of arguing with such pros.
    Different tale for the fella who's been made redundant.
    They'll not get such an easy ride and will probably find applying for SW a de-humanising experience.

In fairness, I don't think this is the place to be questioning the poster's circumstance.

The poster brought it upon herself by referencing people posting on the net during working hours!

Monty, without sounding like one of those Woe-betide-me idiots on the X-Factor, I have actually cried in shame at all of this. I was a nursing student, I had a job, I have lost both :( (creche was going to €700 a month for the baby)

I have had to stand behind Anto in his new tracksuit and runners that I priced on ebay at €140 and €95 respectively while I have no jeans without patches on them because I would be taking something from the house to go into Pennys and get a pair for €15. That is nearly the cost of transport for the little fellas dad to and from college for the week! I have had to listen to "I am off to the bookies after dis" My luxury is decafe coffee and 59c custard creams from tescos while watching old box sets (from my money days) when the small man is in bed.

The feeling of shame going into the CWO and being denied a medical card for a child because I am not declaring his dad's income and they will not accept a letter from the VEC to say he does not qualify for a grant. On Saturday I had to ring the childs godfather for €70 to bring him to the doctor and to get him a prescription!!! I have had a nasty health issue for months but cannot afford the doctor so I have just left it alone!

NO ONE and I mean no one on here with a job knows the shame and self loathing I have for where I am, if it were not for my child I would actually have contemplated suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭20Cent

Fantasy. We are running a huge current account deficit even without the huge Fianna Failure bank costs. Where are we supposed to magic up this money from exactly? :rolleyes:

Stop paying 10's of billions to Anglo bondholders for a start. Then slowly cut down the public service pay bill over a long time.

In Germany you get €354 a month for a single person on the equivalent of the dole. Rent is paid on a modest (read: you'll have to move to somewhere cheaper if you're used to a nice address) flat with maximum square footage figures etc.

Well we livemiles from anything. We live in the cheapest place we could get and guess what, mould on the walls. Nice environment for a child isn't it? We cannot afford a deposit for anywhere else so we are stuck here. The only up side to our living area is that my neighbours are the most part are polite people!
    The poster brought it upon herself by referencing people posting on the net during working hours!

I said to those who are high and mighty, not to everyone in general! :);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The feeling of shame going into the CWO and being denied a medical card for a child because I am not declaring his dad's income and they will not accept a letter from the VEC to say he does not qualify for a grant. On Saturday I had to ring the childs godfather for €70 to bring him to the doctor and to get him a prescription!!! I have had a nasty health issue for months but cannot afford the doctor so I have just left it alone!

Something is not adding up here. You should have a Medical card or at the very least a G.P Visit card. Reapply to Dublin and if they refuse contact the appeals officer.

20Cent wrote: »
    Stop paying 10's of billions to Anglo bondholders for a start. Then slowly cut down the public service pay bill over a long time.
    So stage a unilateral default? Ok. Now how do we slowly cut down the public service bill when we can't borrow anymore and have a 20 billion euro deficit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

Monty, without sounding like one of those Woe-betide-me idiots on the X-Factor, I have actually cried in shame at all of this. I was a nursing student, I had a job, I have lost both :( (creche was going to €700 a month for the baby)

I have had to stand behind Anto in his new tracksuit and runners that I priced on ebay at €140 and €95 respectively while I have no jeans without patches on them because I would be taking something from the house to go into Pennys and get a pair for €15. That is nearly the cost of transport for the little fellas dad to and from college for the week! I have had to listen to "I am off to the bookies after dis" My luxury is decafe coffee and 59c custard creams from tescos while watching old box sets (from my money days) when the small man is in bed.

NO ONE and I mean no one on here with a job knows the shame and self loathing I have for where I am, if it were not for my child I would actually have contemplated suicide.

Yet the right wingers here still scream for cuts when countless thousands are in the same position.

I'm not a religious man but I pray your situation improves.

ChRoMe wrote: »
    Yet the right wingers here still scream for cuts when countless thousands are in the same position.
    She is in the position she is in because she does not feel entitled to ask for all the benefits she qualifies for, and because she and her partner are investing in their future, taking short-term pain by obtaining better qualifications for a long-term gain in living standards. Their situation is reflective of that, and is hardly typical. And it's certainly not typical of the spongers who spend their lives on benefits.

and is hardly typical.

What are you using to base that assumption on?

I believe its this assumption of the majority of people on welfare being undeserving of the payments is the core of the disagreement.

What are you using to base that assumption on?

I'm basing it on the assumption that most people don't have a small child, are in rented accommodation, are not willing to claim their full entitlements, and have one partner trying to live on a tiny grant because they are doing a second degree course in an effort to secure a good job in the future.

Is that really such an outlandish assumption? :confused:

Because if most of the (say) 400,000 people on the dole is a bare 200,001 people, and half of these are doing a second degree (100,000 of them) then the student population would have gone through the roof, and I'm sure somebody would have noticed.

I'm basing it on the assumption that most people don't have a small child, are in rented accommodation, are not willing to claim their full entitlements, and have one partner trying to live on a tiny grant because they are doing a second degree course in an effort to secure a good job in the future.

Is that really such an outlandish assumption? :confused:

Because if most of the (say) 400,000 people are on the dole (say a bare 200,001) and half of them are doing a second degree (100,000 of them) then the student population would have gone through the roof, and I'm sure somebody would have noticed.

No, what are you basing you assumption on that a large amount of social welfare recipients are not truly deserving cases. I.e "spongers","scammers" or whatever venom filled term a lot of people here choose to use.

I believe its this assumption of the majority of people on welfare being undeserving of the payments is the core of the disagreement.

No - not at all. I might have said that in 2006. Not today - not by a million miles.

No, what are you basing you assumption on that a large amount of social welfare recipients are not truly deserving cases. I.e "spongers","scammers" or whatever venom filled term a lot of people here choose to use.
    I'm not - wherever did you get the impression that I assume that? :confused:

No - not at all. I might have said that in 2006. Not today - not by a million miles.

Well if you dont believe that the majority of people are undeserving what rationale do you have for demanding these people in very bad situations should be plunged further into poverty? :confused:

woodoo wrote: »
    Something is not adding up here. You should have a Medical card or at the very least a G.P Visit card. Reapply to Dublin and if they refuse contact the appeals officer.

We are living in Dublin. They are claiming that I am not providing full information with regards my OH's income. So will not issue a card as a result.

He, himself was denied one because and I quote "he had no income" Oh the irony!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

wolfpawnat, you are your OH are the type of people who should be supported. I have no problem with the welfare you are receiving and you should avail of everything you are entitled to. Once your OH qualifies in his field, he will contribute to the country in a positive way. My issue lies with those who view welfare as a career and will take, take, take every cent they can get for life.

If you offered them a job in the morning for 5K more than the dole per annum, they wouldn't take it. I grew up with these people and they deserve to have their welfare cut.