Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards DCU Meet Up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭aoife_bennett

ak4 wrote: »
    best policy is just to be out in the open i think

You come find me and I'll make you a special sticker (Triona, we needs stickers too. On our shopping list?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Shreddingblood

Or ginger, in my case.

Oh that's why you like QOTSA!:pac:

You come find me and I'll make you a special sticker (Triona, we needs stickers too. On our shopping list?)

No one's identity is safe.

Oh that's why you like QOTSA!:pac:

And they say stereotyping is dead :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Keano!

hang on a minute..... do we have to go to a pub where the odds are 99% of people will know nobody else... and then collect a sticker...write our username from boards on it, and then wear it about the place for the night trying to meet new people and settle into dcu?

:p

just sounds mad as i think about it, but so up for it. some of the best nights i've ever had out have been in pubs and bars.... hoping this is another to add to the list!

anyone know an idea on numbers going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭ak4

no offence to whoever is organising it but most people wont show, just have it in the nubar where there will be tonnes of people in :)

The people have spoken good sir. It's a democracy here.

prepare to be the only few in a pub so :/

I thought that was the idea.

its gonna be so awkward like,

Well, if you don't want awkward, don't go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

but nobody is going to know anyone anyway in the first few days of college so it'll be equally as awkward as that'd be which won't be very as everyone's in the same boat and the whole idea is to get to know other people starting in a new place

im not intending to go im just stating the fact yous will be lucky to get 2 or 3 people that actually turn up cause the fun will be elsewhere

Most of the people on this thread have expressed a wish to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 SoTek72

Well from my experience alcohol helps reduce awkwardness among people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭polkabunny

No one's identity is safe.

I think it's on my profile anyway :p
    Aoife, I found some address label stickery yokes here at home, if I remember them we won' have to buy stickers :)

You're missing one vital piece of information... There'll be cake there! If only 2 or 3 people show up, more cake for me! :D
    Also, a lot of people seem to be genuinely interested in going. If you want to go to the NuBar, off ya go sweetcheeks. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Eh, well "no offence" like but... if you're not intending to go, why don't you leave this thread and go plan your own super exciting plans for that night? You sound like a busy person, I'm sure you don't have all that much time to troll this little corner of the internet.

Oh, and you have fun now y'hear? :)

polkabunny wrote: »
    I think it's on my profile anyway :p
    Aoife, I found some address label stickery yokes here at home, if I remember them we won' have to buy stickers :)

You're missing one vital piece of information... There'll be cake there! If only 2 or 3 people show up, more cake for me! :D
    Also, a lot of people seem to be genuinely interested in going. If you want to go to the NuBar, off ya go sweetcheeks. :cool:

You're some woman for one woman, I'll give ya that!!

As stated previously ak4, if you don't want to go, don't.

Konata wrote: »
    Eh, well "no offence" like but... if you're not intending to go, why don't you leave this thread and go plan your own super exciting plans for that night? You sound like a busy person, I'm sure you don't have all that much time to troll this little corner of the internet.

Oh, and you have fun now y'hear? :)

Hero. Are you in?

Fo sho yo! :P

Looking forward to it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 emmy_lou

eh no! fun will be had at the slipper, don't worry.....

SoTek72 wrote: »
    Well from my experience alcohol helps reduce awkwardness among people.

Before drinks: sitting in corner watching everyone like a creep.
    One drink: coming out of corner engaging in conversation.
    Three drinks: having a FUNNY conversation.
    Five drinks: like a boss :cool:

Fo sho yo! :P

Looking forward to it :)

The awkward moment when ak4 is proved wrong.

Before drinks: sitting in corner watching everyone like a creep.
    One drink: coming out of corner engaging in conversation.
    Three drinks: having a FUNNY conversation.
    Fifteen drinks: like a boss :cool:

FYP

The awkward moment when ak4 is proved wrong.

I never even mentioned that I've been at several boards meet ups, all of which have been mad craic with loads of people... awkward moment indeed ;)

i hope it goes well just voicing my opinion

I never even mentioned that I've been at several boards meet ups, all of which have been mad craic with loads of people... awkward moment indeed ;)

Wanna be friends? (I'm giving you cake, just to help along)

Who can resist when there's cake involved? :D

Sweet :)

i hope it goes well just voicing my opinion

Well I hope you have a great time people watching from a corner of the NuBar.