Why are young Irish women so rude in bars/clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Tayla wrote: »
    Just because noone thanked your post doesn't mean that you didn't want the thanks :confused::confused: How could it be any clearer?

So you know exactly what I think now too? You sound just like my wife!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Phat Cat wrote: »
    Eh, I already did and you are just after quoting my response to her in your last post funnily enough.

That's cool, but your posts are not interesting enough for me to go back and read them.

I was simply answering the questions you asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

So you know exactly what I think now too? You sound just like my wife!

You're the one who said girls were thanks whores because they liked other girls posts. You presumed you knew what everyone else thinks first.

Where's your logic exactly? If someone thanks a post then that means that the poster was a thanks whore??

No you sound like your wife yourself!!

That's cool, but your posts are not interesting enough for me to go back and read them.

I was simply answering the questions you asked.

If my posts are so uninteresting then why did you read them all then feel like responding to one of them? Actually scratch that.

Thanks for your input.

Tayla wrote: »
    You're the one who said girls were thanks whores because they liked other girls posts. You presumed you knew what everyone else thinks first.

Where's your logic exactly? If someone thanks a post then that means that the poster was a thanks whore??

No you sound like your wife yourself!!

I actually agree with you and thanked your post. Feel better now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

All this talk of thanks makes me think we've stumbled upon the real issue at the heart of this thread:

Irish men simply aren't getting enough thanks from Irish women.

Ladies, if you're out and a guy chats you up, you should thank him, even if you don't fancy him.

Is it any wonder that Irish men are turning to foreign women who'll thank them two or three times in the same day sometimes?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

If my posts are so uninteresting then why did you read them all then feel like responding to one of them? Actually scratch that.

Thanks for your input.

I thought it pretty obvious i didn't read them all.

I can only assume you said "scratch that" because you realised you asked a question and somebody answered it, right?

Because if it wasn't that I'd load up velcro shoes because i reckon laces will give you problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Here's one I really don't understand.

If a woman told me I was hot, even if I didn't like her, I'd be flattered. There's a huge ego boost there, you'd feel good about yourself.

So how is it that some women are actually offended by compliments?
    I've never understood this. It may be from someone you don't like, but a compliment is still a compliment :confused:

If a woman told me I was hot, even if I didn't like her, I'd be flattered. There's a huge ego boost there, you'd feel good about yourself.

I've never understood this. It may be from someone you don't like, but a compliment is still a compliment :confused:

I think it's because it happens so often to women that it gets tiresome.
    I know some guys who are fairly desperate and will move from women to women like they're on an assembly line in a club, trying to chat them up, and not paying much attention to how attractive they are. These guys are just looking for whatever they can get.

And for good-looking women, going out can be like running a gauntlet of drunk guys of varying charm and attractiveness.

I think the compliments lose their lustre after a lot of that.

And I think women tend to show attraction by subtle hints like body language, certain questions, rather than being more direct about it, so men don't get obviously complimented as much, and manchildren like myself don't pick up on half of the signals on the very rare occasions they're sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

If a woman gets offended by a polite compliment then she's obviously an asshole. I'd consider this a little pre-warning that i have unfortunately stumbled upon an eejit. Ah well just move on....

Have to say ive never experienced someone being annoyed at a compliment to be honest.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

Irish women are about the most horrible creatures on the face of this planet.

Its getting to the point where Id sooner stick ice picks in me ears than listen to one speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

emul8ter25 wrote: »

Its getting to the point where Id sooner stick ice picks in me ears than listen to one speak.

get out of cavan / d4 / donegal / cork and youll be fine

I love how this is so important for you to say that you just had to post even though you'd only posted on boards eight times before!

Out of genuine curiosity, what is it you hate about Irish women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

Well, for me, I think if a man is very drunk and trying to chat me up, its just awful. They're not even making sense but they think they're suave and sophisticated. I've had to say things like I need to find a toilet etc. I wouldn't be rude though. There's no point.

I've also had times that I chat to men(i'd chat to anyone) and they expect to be able to grope you/stick around aaaallllll night. Its like by talking to them I've given the "green light". It can put you off being nice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭ilikepears

I thinks its all down to insecurity. Sometimes if a guy says your hot how do you know if he's actually being serious, if its the drink talking or if he is taking the piss. Also maybe you could find a girl hot and say it to her but another guy might have commented negatively on her earlier that night. And if a girl doesn't react positively to a genuine nice comment she probably just has her defence up. Or she could just be a bitch. You just have to use your own judgement on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

gigawatt wrote: »
    I've also had times that I chat to men(i'd chat to anyone) and they expect to be able to grope you/stick around aaaallllll night. Its like by talking to them I've given the "green light". It can put you off being nice!!

This is something I've found as well.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Thats a wee bit bitter there now fella....^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Oh God not this crap again.
    Will you please DEFINE "adolescence" or "immaturity"? Girls always go on about how guys their age are "immature" but they never cite any examples of how?

If someone is going to bring up the drunk argument here can I just point out that out of all my friends, the girls are usually far, far more messy than the lads :P
    So what is "adolescence" for you? How are you condescendingly defining twenty something guys as "immature"?
    why are young women so rude in bars / nightclubs? Give some better suggestions -am genuinely interested. Seems to be a common complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

I love how this is so important for you to say that you just had to post even though you'd only posted on boards eight times before!

Out of genuine curiosity, what is it you hate about Irish women?

What does my post count matter? everyone started at 0 at some point.

my hate would be the general trend in women wanting to sound common. its painful on the ears.

gigawatt: Can I just counter that one by pointing out that I (and probably most lads here) have had the opposite experience, where I start off having a great convo with a girl at the start of the night, and by the end of it she's literally hanging out of my coat falling all over the place and asking me where her house is :D

It is NOT just lads who are embarrassing while drunk. :P

I was out with a girl and some of her friends a few weeks ago (as in we already knew eachother and she'd asked me to go with them), and our night had to be abruptly cut short when she started getting sick everywhere and forgot her friend's name. :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I think drink is hugely to blame here.

problem is women are too used to guys coming onto them in a kinda sleazy way, and so expect that this is what most men will do. so then the genuine guys don't get a look in. guys will only have the courage to do it with drink in them though, and obviously this doesn't mix too well with some personalities.

As a girl it does get tiresome. but the only reason it does is because you're one in a number of girls that that guy has given that creepy look to that night (or at least you are as far as she's concerned). plus a slobbering drunken guy coming onto you isn't very appealing, so you do get tired of having to say no to guys, and politeness can get forgotten about. but then why worry about being polite when the guys haven't exactly picked you out as being anything special.

drunkeness, cynicism and some snobbery, that's what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    why are young women so rude in bars / nightclubs? Give some better suggestions -am genuinely interested. Seems to be a common complaint.

I did!

I think sometimes "the girls" may be out together and have left the hubbies/boyfriends at home. They're not interested in chatting to anyone else. There's still no reason to be rude though

gigawatt wrote: »
    I did!

I think sometimes "the girls" may be out together and have left the hubbies/boyfriends at home. They're not interested in chatting to anyone else. There's still no reason to be rude though

If they're out in a bar where there is obviously going to be single guys near them its a bit rich to be getting cranky with someone for trying to chat them up.

Like you said no need for rudeness. A simple sorry im with someone will suffice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

http://www.tacomaworld.com/gallery/data/500/258Troll_spray.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It would be an ego boost but still it would be incredibly rude for a female to approach a lad, interupting a conversation and a night out, to tell him he is hot. Ive had girls ask me if i wanted to dance. I just tell them sorry i dont dance, which i dont. After 3 or 4 "gwan's" i just blanked them and resumed what i was doing. You could say thats rude but i think its ruder to ask me the same question more than once. Im out with my bro's, i dont want the company of a random stranger and having to come up with awkward conversation fillers. Also a girl that says "Do you want to buy me a drink" will get told to f--k off.

As i said in the thread earler, its totally unacceptable to approach a stranger for a "chat" with the intention of a ride. There is no difference between that and what Chuggers do. I'd love to see nightclubs and pubs throw people out for it. Unless Woman start complaining to doorstaff and barmen about it, it wont stop or just say to these people that they are spoiling your night.

Women who are "rude" to anyone chancing their arm for a "chat" or a dance get a virtual fistpump from me :cool:

What does my post count matter? everyone started at 0 at some point.

my hate would be the general trend in women wanting to sound common. its painful on the ears.

I say, it is positively revolting!

But seriously, I'm not sure how true that is. I hear a huge variety of accents from women, based both on location and social class. We have a huge variety of accents compared to many other countries.

In fact, in my experience, I've probably come across more people (men and women) who would affect accents perceived to be upper class or upper middle class.

If you mean they're lacking in vocabulary, then you can accuse a huge portion of the population of the English-speaking world of that both male and female.

I take it you've never met a girl with a Nordie accent?
    I could listen to it all day and all night and never get bored again :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

If a bunch of seven lads approached me and my friends, we'd likely walk away. Largely, we go out for the craic and the dancing. If it was the pub, and a group of lads approached, as has happened, you'd have a bitta banter.

That said, there are fellas who are like octopuses. If you have a big pair of tits, they are like heat-seeking missiles. They are over to ya in ten seconds flat, and depending on their drunkenness they either:

1. Sweat like a paedo in a playground and try to talk.
    2. Dance at you. Not with you, because you're just trying to chill with your homies.
    3. Grab your tits or your arse for a grope.
    4. Lob the gob.

If someone tries to talk to me, I'll go along with a bitta banter. If someone tries to dance with me when I don't want to, the awkward shuffle commences where you move slowly away. The third one is really, really annoying. Three times in the last couple months, I've got a mauling. As for number four, that one is by far the most common and the response depends on what I've had to drink. :D

That said, there are bitchy girls who are mean to fellas for no good reason. Likewise, there are A LOT of slightly drunk lads who are rather sleazy and need to be told to feck off. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Ever notice in the animal kingdom documentaries (lions for example) how mating usually involves the male trying to dominate the female by stalking her but she'll usually retort by f*cking him out of it for the first while until (sometimes) eventually... Success. Sorry if making a comparison with animals is offensive.

It would be an ego boost but still it would be incredibly rude for a female to approach a lad, interupting a conversation and a night out, to tell him he is hot. Ive had girls ask me if i wanted to dance. I just tell them sorry i dont dance, which i dont. After 3 or 4 "gwan's" i just blanked them and resumed what i was doing. You could say thats rude but i think its ruder to ask me the same question more than once. Im out with my bro's, i dont want the company of a random stranger and having to come up with awkward conversation fillers. Also a girl that says "Do you want to buy me a drink" will get told to f--k off.

I can relate to this^ But i don't think its rude to have a girl compliment you. Recently enough a girl walked past me in a bar & said hey, your cute.... I actually found this hugely surprising & very awkward & a bit embarrassing. I mean what do you say back??? I clumsily muttered something like eh....so are you as my head went bright red just to make things worse.:rolleyes:

Point is a compliment is nice thing at the end of the day i suppose.