Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are young Irish women so rude in bars/clubs?

• 03-09-2011 10:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jameshealy19

Went out last night with several mates, we approached several Irish women for a chat, (none of us were drunk) and all we ended up getting was really harsh put-downs within the first 10secs. A woman has no rational reason to put a man down like that so fast. Where is the respect and manners amongst Irish girls these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Uh oh...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

because Irish women are stuck up blah blahs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

I reckon you must be a minger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

They didn't wanna talk to any of you. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

You want women to believe when you approach them in a niteclub that you want to chat!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

How did you approach them? I think that's important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Change your approach so.
    Or your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

put your willy in before you approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Because our shít don't stink, duh.

Ah no, stop approaching bitches is my advice. ;)
    You want women to believe when you approach them in a niteclub that you want to chat!!

Yes and yes. Many guys DO come across a bit sleazy, even if they don't realise it. Plus nightclubs = reputation as meat markets. Pubs not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Here we go, it is saturday after all.
    Shortly there'll be "I've just seen a fireball flying across the sky thread" and we've already had the Garda one so all is as expected

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

from behind is favourable for both parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Ben Moore

It's a numbers game, move on til you find girls willing to talk to you then you have more of a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Went out last night with several mates, we approached several Irish women for a chat, (none of us were drunk) and all we ended up getting was really harsh put-downs within the first 10secs. A woman has no rational reason to put a man down like that so fast. Where is the respect and manners amongst Irish girls these days?

You approach a girl as a group of guys and you wonder why you get ran? Seriously, wasting your time. One on one maybe, but there's a big scary world out there where bad shít happens. Most girls are conscious of spiked drinks and loons. You may very well be a complete gentleman but in a packed club with all your mates for back up she's never going to find out.

Scare factor, it exists.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

You do realise that everyone here is in on a Saturday night?

Pound to a penny they dont know what you're on about! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

What bar/club were you in? How did you approach them? What did you say? Do you have a face like a burst welly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Feck off uggo something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jameshealy19

wow! Just got the usual response from the boards posters.
    Actually it wasn't only me, there was seven of us, all approaching. Two of the lads are foreign. they said that girls in Ireland have a much greater bitch shield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Sadly you can meet alot of stuck up women in clubs and bars. Obviously women of all agres but especially when its 18-22 year olds. Of course you officially "dont" to the view of many on this board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

Sorry about that...

Try chatting me&my friends up another night..

Now we know you're a boardsie we'll be nice:)

Promise.

Actually it wasn't only me, there was seven of us, all approaching. Two of the lads are foreign. they said that girls in Ireland have a much greater a**hole shield

Fixed your post!:D

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Sadly you can meet alot of stuck up women in clubs and bars. Obviously women of all agres but especially when its 18-22 year olds. Of course you officially "dont" to the view of many on this board.
    its all about personality :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Actually it wasn't only me, there was seven of us, all approaching. Two of the lads are foreign. they said that girls in Ireland have a much greater bitch shield
    Only seven of you? thats not intimidating at all :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Young Irish women are in general a peculiar bunch. Treat them nicely and they'll treat you poorly, treat them like shít and they'll be all over you. Big fans of the ol' "treat them mean, keep them keen" ideology.

I've heard they get better as they get older.

There's your answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jameshealy19

gosh there's some amount of comedians on boards.ie.
    Do you wait around for a new topic and get ready to pounce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

its natural

recession, only a few going to get through, women's radar for wasters is finely tuned, no point in wasting time when the ones with real potential are few and far between.

its all about personality :rolleyes:

If you want to use the word "personality" instead of saying some women are just really stuck up.

Sure. its personality then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Beginning to understand your rejection problem now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Its After Hours posters really! Thats your first mistake!
    Its Saturday night..we're bored? or something.

If you want to use the word "personality" instead of saying some women are just really stuck up.

Sure. its personality then.
    no i meant,if you get some replies,it be the usual we not all bad and shallow,but depending on the appearance of the approacher and approached,they either be tld to fck off before a word is said,or might be nice and have a brief convo and let down before on their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Sorry about that...

Try chatting me&my friends up another night..

Now we know you're a boardsie we'll be nice:)

Promise.
    With a username like that?!? Get the fu...wait...it's Saturday night...I'm on my own...
    Wanna hang out?

Well yeah there is an element of that and there is a chance you approached a bunch of wagons. But there's also the chance that 7 lads moseying over had obvious intentions which may not have been reciprocated on their side. Girls very often nights out "for the girls" so really aren't interested in any case

And I bet you all smelled of Lynx

Ah here now, don't get upset but AH is the place for having a laugh!!
    If you are looking for a serious answer to your question probably better asking in Personal Issues:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

Apparently, one silly newspaper study thing found that if men approached women from the side, or walked straight up to them they were less likely to be immediately rebuffed than if they creeped up behind them, maybe try that!
    I was definetly a bit of a b1tch to most guys when I was younger, insecurity on my part, and I suppose I just hadn't developed great social skills (I'm nice now!)
    Also if they'd been bothered by a load of nasy creeps all night, they might just not have been in the best form when some nice boys approached them! Wouldn't take it personally:)

We can smell fresh blood! :D

But seriously, when you say all seven of you were approaching, do you mean all together as a group?
    If so, it's easy to imagine that that would come across as overbearing and intimidating (and sleazy) for lots of women.
    Especially if you were approaching lots of women and they were aware of this.

Sadly most do on here. hate the way with every thread the first few posts are people trying to make the most witty comment to get the most 'thanks' - ie, thanks whores.

But as for your topic. Sadly the majority wont officially agree with you. Even tho, you are right. Good percentage of women in pubs can be stuck up. But you see... alot of sh*t on this board. You're going to be met with some many rationalisations. Ie, "did you come off as stand-off-ish?" , "how did you approach?" , etc etc. That it was YOUR FAULT. Everything but the truth being you can meet alot of stuck up people.

Sadly most do on here. hate the way with every thread the first few posts are people trying to make the most witty comment to get the most 'thanks' - ie, thanks whores.

But as for your topic. Sadly the majority wont officially agree with you. Even tho, you are right. Good percentage of women in pubs can be stuck up. But you see... alot of sh*t on this board.

I used to be of the opinon that a lot were stuck up, and in fairness a good few are, but there's a big difference between approaching someone with the hope of pulling and approaching someone for a chat and a bit of craic and taking anything else that comes as a happy bonus
    A very big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

Any girl who is rude to you within a few seconds of meeting you is a bitch. Move on and talk to someone who is worth your time!

Probably best not to look like you're out to get whatever you can though, that's a bit of a turn off.

I agree with you that of course some women can be stuck up but seriously as a female it can be absolutely fcukin annoying on a night out to be constantly annoyed by blokes......
    Im married myself with kids but would now and again get chatted to by a bloke on a night out. Within a few minutes I'd drop into the conversation that I'm married and the bloke then leggers:D
    I used to be all tactful and tippy toeing as I wouldn't want to hurt a persons feelings but over the years I've gotten a lot blunter about it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

tbf they are the same in the uk, I am in the arse end of scotland and they are no better :rolleyes:

if you want a dacent woman, its asian you need.

(most) white wimmins are so far up their own ass they cant see the light nowadays.

X is in da house!! Let the fun begin:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

This sh!t is the reason I don't bother my ass. Also I'm hideous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

tbf they are the same in the uk, I am in the arse end of scotland and they are no better :rolleyes:

(most) white wimmins are so far up their own ass they cant see the light nowadays.

nah posh London imo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I think this boils down to the dancehall mentality. FFS just cause you see a group of women out does not make them fair game. Btw being rude is not acceptable by either group approacher or approachee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭MeganM

I'll have you know I'm delightful :p

Exactly :)
    like, lets take a typical scene. Guy talks to a girl .. if that girl isnt interested absolutely fair enough. Cant she be nice and let the guy know. Even in a round about way? I mean a simple 1 mintue conversation can let the guy know. But there are women who would sooner be rude. some even will blatantly say "get lost" :rolleyes: .. like if some guy is totally locked. fair enough. turn off for most women. But not everyone is gee-eyed chatting to a girl.

its bad like. A guy could of plucked up the courage and just to be shot down harsly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

She doesn't want you to stick your willy in her.

She wants somebody too but just not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

My own favourite Dublin club story was when I was in a club one night a few years back and headed for the jacks. There were two girls standing near by blocking my route. As soon as I was in their vicinity one just turns, looks at me puts her hand up in that talk to the hand gesture and says 'No'.

All I could do was laugh and say to her;

'Do I need your permission to go to the toilet?'

She went red, told me to 'F!ck off' and her friend started laughing.

The only really "bad" experience I've had with Irish women in pubs or clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

My own favourite Dublin club story was when I was in a club one night a few years back and headed for the jacks. There were two girls standing near by blocking my route. As soon as I was in their vicinity one just turns, looks at me puts her hand up in that talk to the hand gesture and says 'No'.

All I could do was laugh and say to her;

'Do I need your permission to go to the toilet?'

She went red, told me to 'F!ck off' and her friend started laughing.

The only really bad experience I've had with Irish women in pubs or clubs.

That did make me lollers a bit. :D She was a bint, what can ya say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

X is in da house!! Let the fun begin:D

yes

asians dont want stupid expensive drinks ever time they go out and they certainly dont need shoes every day of the week. :D

and the sex is...well better.

and lol @ yer mans post above, thats like typical of the $hit i have seen. I would just laugh at stupid blints like that. thick as a plank.