Why are young Irish women so rude in bars/clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Sorry about that...

Try chatting me&my friends up another night..

Now we know you're a boardsie we'll be nice:)

Promise.
    With a username like that?!? Get the fu...wait...it's Saturday night...I'm on my own...
    Wanna hang out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

gosh there's some amount of comedians on boards.ie.
    Do you wait around for a new topic and get ready to pounce?

Well yeah there is an element of that and there is a chance you approached a bunch of wagons. But there's also the chance that 7 lads moseying over had obvious intentions which may not have been reciprocated on their side. Girls very often nights out "for the girls" so really aren't interested in any case

And I bet you all smelled of Lynx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Ah here now, don't get upset but AH is the place for having a laugh!!
    If you are looking for a serious answer to your question probably better asking in Personal Issues:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

Apparently, one silly newspaper study thing found that if men approached women from the side, or walked straight up to them they were less likely to be immediately rebuffed than if they creeped up behind them, maybe try that!
    I was definetly a bit of a b1tch to most guys when I was younger, insecurity on my part, and I suppose I just hadn't developed great social skills (I'm nice now!)
    Also if they'd been bothered by a load of nasy creeps all night, they might just not have been in the best form when some nice boys approached them! Wouldn't take it personally:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

We can smell fresh blood! :D

But seriously, when you say all seven of you were approaching, do you mean all together as a group?
    If so, it's easy to imagine that that would come across as overbearing and intimidating (and sleazy) for lots of women.
    Especially if you were approaching lots of women and they were aware of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Sadly most do on here. hate the way with every thread the first few posts are people trying to make the most witty comment to get the most 'thanks' - ie, thanks whores.

But as for your topic. Sadly the majority wont officially agree with you. Even tho, you are right. Good percentage of women in pubs can be stuck up. But you see... alot of sh*t on this board. You're going to be met with some many rationalisations. Ie, "did you come off as stand-off-ish?" , "how did you approach?" , etc etc. That it was YOUR FAULT. Everything but the truth being you can meet alot of stuck up people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Sadly most do on here. hate the way with every thread the first few posts are people trying to make the most witty comment to get the most 'thanks' - ie, thanks whores.

But as for your topic. Sadly the majority wont officially agree with you. Even tho, you are right. Good percentage of women in pubs can be stuck up. But you see... alot of sh*t on this board.

I used to be of the opinon that a lot were stuck up, and in fairness a good few are, but there's a big difference between approaching someone with the hope of pulling and approaching someone for a chat and a bit of craic and taking anything else that comes as a happy bonus
    A very big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

Any girl who is rude to you within a few seconds of meeting you is a bitch. Move on and talk to someone who is worth your time!

Probably best not to look like you're out to get whatever you can though, that's a bit of a turn off.

I agree with you that of course some women can be stuck up but seriously as a female it can be absolutely fcukin annoying on a night out to be constantly annoyed by blokes......
    Im married myself with kids but would now and again get chatted to by a bloke on a night out. Within a few minutes I'd drop into the conversation that I'm married and the bloke then leggers:D
    I used to be all tactful and tippy toeing as I wouldn't want to hurt a persons feelings but over the years I've gotten a lot blunter about it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

Went out last night with several mates, we approached several Irish women for a chat, (none of us were drunk) and all we ended up getting was really harsh put-downs within the first 10secs. A woman has no rational reason to put a man down like that so fast. Where is the respect and manners amongst Irish girls these days?

tbf they are the same in the uk, I am in the arse end of scotland and they are no better :rolleyes:

if you want a dacent woman, its asian you need.

(most) white wimmins are so far up their own ass they cant see the light nowadays.

X is in da house!! Let the fun begin:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

This sh!t is the reason I don't bother my ass. Also I'm hideous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

tbf they are the same in the uk, I am in the arse end of scotland and they are no better :rolleyes:

(most) white wimmins are so far up their own ass they cant see the light nowadays.

nah posh London imo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I think this boils down to the dancehall mentality. FFS just cause you see a group of women out does not make them fair game. Btw being rude is not acceptable by either group approacher or approachee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭MeganM

Went out last night with several mates, we approached several Irish women for a chat, (none of us were drunk) and all we ended up getting was really harsh put-downs within the first 10secs. A woman has no rational reason to put a man down like that so fast. Where is the respect and manners amongst Irish girls these days?

I'll have you know I'm delightful :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Exactly :)
    like, lets take a typical scene. Guy talks to a girl .. if that girl isnt interested absolutely fair enough. Cant she be nice and let the guy know. Even in a round about way? I mean a simple 1 mintue conversation can let the guy know. But there are women who would sooner be rude. some even will blatantly say "get lost" :rolleyes: .. like if some guy is totally locked. fair enough. turn off for most women. But not everyone is gee-eyed chatting to a girl.

its bad like. A guy could of plucked up the courage and just to be shot down harsly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

She doesn't want you to stick your willy in her.

She wants somebody too but just not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

My own favourite Dublin club story was when I was in a club one night a few years back and headed for the jacks. There were two girls standing near by blocking my route. As soon as I was in their vicinity one just turns, looks at me puts her hand up in that talk to the hand gesture and says 'No'.

All I could do was laugh and say to her;

'Do I need your permission to go to the toilet?'

She went red, told me to 'F!ck off' and her friend started laughing.

The only really "bad" experience I've had with Irish women in pubs or clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

My own favourite Dublin club story was when I was in a club one night a few years back and headed for the jacks. There were two girls standing near by blocking my route. As soon as I was in their vicinity one just turns, looks at me puts her hand up in that talk to the hand gesture and says 'No'.

All I could do was laugh and say to her;

'Do I need your permission to go to the toilet?'

She went red, told me to 'F!ck off' and her friend started laughing.

The only really bad experience I've had with Irish women in pubs or clubs.

That did make me lollers a bit. :D She was a bint, what can ya say?

X is in da house!! Let the fun begin:D

yes

asians dont want stupid expensive drinks ever time they go out and they certainly dont need shoes every day of the week. :D

and the sex is...well better.

and lol @ yer mans post above, thats like typical of the $hit i have seen. I would just laugh at stupid blints like that. thick as a plank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I've a face like Marmite - it's a melted coal bucket for some girls, a place they instantly want to sit for others. I've had dry spells and I've had floods and I've had plenty of rejection, instant and more considered.
    Overall though, I'd never conclude that "wimminz is stick up" - some people are for you, some are not and not finding the right one for you is not half as bad as wasting time with the wrong one so I'm happy enough for a woman to tell me to fack off quickly, then I can look elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

yes

asians dont want stupid expensive drinks ever time they go out and they certainly dont need shoes every day of the week. :D

and the sex is...well better.

And they're happy to constantly cook for you. :D

Jaysus, these asian women sound the business!
    What's the story with the Asian men?
    Just curious like, ya know??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Story about what? They have small willies, apparently, and aren't all that interested in sex or being manly. The two may or may not be connected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Lollers. My Filipino ex-housemate LOVED shopping, more than anyone else in the house.

Cossax wrote: »
    And they're happy to constantly cook for you. :D

lol

>>>>> . <<<<<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

And I bet you all smelled of Lynx

Lynx ... the scent of victory.
    Sure no birds can resist it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i asked a woman for a lighter in the pub this evening
    she said "ok" and handed me a lighter

irish bitches be alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

there's a big difference between approaching someone with the hope of pulling and approaching someone for a chat and a bit of craic and taking anything else that comes as a happy bonus. A very big difference

This is precisely it and also why I'm home tonight as a result of what was happening to my friends and I in a Dublin bar this time last week.

We were in a Baggot St bar after being in Lansdowne for the England game when we were approached by a member of a group of Englishmen who were standing nearby. The man was in his late forties, a little drunk as was to be expected in a pub on a Saturday night and much to the younger guys embarrassment, he informed us how he was looking for some nice Irish girls for his sons, who were also there. Much banter ensued and we all got talking about the rugby, where we from, careers etc, at which stage they asked if there was a niteclub we could all go to, to continue the craic we were having.

We were meeting some other friends but they were such gentlemen and genuinely good fun that we joined them later. However, some random Irish guy who had very kindly informed me I was a 'babe' at the bar earlier decided to bust through the group of English guys to insist I dance with him instead.

Now I am not a rude person and rather than tell him where to go, I simply tried to move away from him when he was pressing his sleazy self against me. The subtlety was clearly lost on him and he continued to maul me to the point where the English guys had to intervene and politely inform him I wasn't interested. But he was undeterred and actually grabbed me again despite me clearly telling him to get lost. When he did it a third time, these English guys who I'd only just met went and quietly spoke to the bouncer to get this guy kept away from us.

Imagine our shock then when he spent the remainder of the night stood at the side of the dancefloor, staring at us. We were seriously uncomfortable so we all decided to leave to continue our party elsewhere. So we're all outside, getting into taxis when I notice psycho Irish guy has actually followed us out and climbed into the taxi beside me! I got straight out and of course so did he and promptly began to start a fight with the English guys, who at this stage had had enough of him.

It got so bad that the guards had to arrive to get this guy away, all because he was too drunk and too stupid to take no for an answer. I actually felt mortified that these polite, engaging English guys had their night ruined by an Irish drunken moron. And I'm sick of Irish women being accused of being the baddies when in actual fact there are plenty of Irish guys who need to take a long, hard look at themselves and their actions before flinging the blame elsewhere