At the ATM today..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

it's morally ambigious, honestly....if it was me i'm not sure what i'd do. In the moment i'd probably scarper....now, if yer wan left her card and no money i'd go after her and hand her the card.

I'm morally confused fúcked :confused:

thats better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Pics of the money or GTFO(I don't believe you).

Internet lies make baby jesus cry.

How am I going to get a picture of an event that happened hours ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

biko wrote: »
    Your opportunism is still stealing.
    Mr thief.

Is it different from finding a fiver in Dunnes or a quid on the street?
    Yes. Very different.

Is punching someone in the head the same as shooting them in the head?

Finding money with no way of knowing who owns it is wildly different than seeing somebody leave money unknowingly somewhere and not telling them even though they are within metres of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Sarn

Yes. If you saw the person drop it then the right thing is to give it back to them. No one in sight, then fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Can happen, I was behind a lad once who walked away without taking the money. Although I had the decency to call him back and he was embarrassingly thankful I did. And a lot of the ATMs here allow you to withdraw up to 1000 with 50 being the minimum which must be annoying for poor students. Troll or not, it's a sh*tty thing to pocket it and walk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Yes it is Richard, because the OP knew who the owner was and could have easily returned it. It's more like taking money out of someone's hands, then kicking them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

MeganM wrote: »
    I was in a similar situation once myself, someone left their card in the ATM and walked off, I ended up running two blocks after the woman like a lunatic and I didn't get so much as a thank you when I handed it over.
    It's not a matter of wether the person deserves it or not, it's about doing the right thing.

You should have whiped your arse with the card before handing it over. That way if they are thankful you can be like "at least I gave them their card back, it's some hassle getting another one and I also saved them the worry that it was robbed" and if they're not thankful you can be all like "y'all gots my faecal matter up on them fingers" namean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭yogi beer

The OP is obviously an Atheist. No morals whatsoever...

*troll*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Finding a fiver on the street is simply fortunate. Watching somebody mindlessly forget €500 from a pass machine without having the conviction and honesty to tell this unfortunate woman is quite simply the sign of what I like to call, the common cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

What about my bills? I've got UPC bills to pay, I gotta pay my cleaners, the dog's bi weekly grooming session doesn't pay for itself in fairness.
    Maybe so but it's a dog eat dog world out there. Ain't nobody gonna help the ordinary working man.

Ordinary WORKING man needs to steal someone elses money , what are you? a banker?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

cosmicfart wrote: »
    thats better

I used the Dunnes example as it's happened to me, i've spotted money a good few times and picked it up, no morality comes into play....but if it was a large amount of cash, or a wallet/purse....i'd have the devil on one shoulder and jesus on the other :(

But seriously, i've lost count how many times i've picked up change on the street....does that make me an evil person???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

Exactly, you find 20 euro and you take it, it's opportunism, the only thing that varies is the quantities involved.
    If you saw the person who dropped it would you not give it back to them?
    What about my bills? I've got UPC bills to pay, I gotta pay my cleaners, the dog's bi weekly grooming session doesn't pay for itself in fairness.
    What about her bills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

What a waste of your good fortune. Spend the money on scratch cards! At least that way the money is going to a charitable cause and you might be able to increase today's winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

Eh...Security cameras?

yeah aint they all watched? and if you used your card straight after then they know its you straight away too.. return the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭- bo -

I'm assuming you're trolling but something similar happened me a couple of years ago - person in front of me withdrew a wad of cash, took out his card and strolled off without taking the money (I don't know how a person can actually do this..) The amount was somewhere between €300-400. I realised a few seconds later as I went to the ATM and booted it down the street after him with his money. He didn't even seem to appreciate it that much to be honest, just a quick thanks and he continued on about his business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This thread's a load of old cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

Or a car with keys in the ignition?

TheZohan wrote: »
    What a waste of your good fortune. Spend the money on scratch cards! At least that way the money is going to a charitable cause and you might be able to increase today's winnings.

No I think this 500 is going straight into my hedge fund.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ even if he returned it now he'd be charged with theft...don't think the gards would say, top lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

An ATM swallowed 100 quid belonged to me a few years ago(possibly about 5 or 6). Spent about 5 mins searching all my pockets and couldnt figure out where the money went. What a thick b@stard

I used the Dunnes example as it's happened to me, i've spotted money a good few times and picked it up, no morality comes into play....but if it was a large amount of cash, or a wallet/purse....i'd have the devil on one shoulder and jesus on the other :(

But seriously, i've lost count how many times i've picked up change on the street....does that make me an evil person???????

picking up change on the street is totally different than then taking money from an ATM that someone just ahead of you forgot to pick up.

if you are looking for justification in 'taking' money from an ATM I cant help you. its wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Complete bullsh*t, this post is obviously. However, if it wasn't, then I would worry for you, OP, that you'd have to ask a bunch of strangers on the internet if it's wrong to walk away from an ATM with someone else's money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

I was in line at the ATM today and the woman in front of me was on the phone getting money out of the ATM and I was the only person in the line.

Well the woman left but she did so without her money so I took the money that was just presented and calmly walked to my car and went home. She didn't seem to have noticed that she forgot her €500.

Well I'm wondering is what I did wrong, I mean it's not really stealing now is it, it's more opportunism that anything else. In a way her stupidity deserved to be punished in my opinion, I mean how thick do you have to be to leave money behind in the ATM, I mean that's why you go there is the first place, to get money out!!

What a lowlife miserable thing to do. I wish you lots of bad luck pal.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

How about you ditch the mutt, clean the place yourself and stop giving Craig Doyle money. While you're at it how about you quit being a thieving c*nt.

Whilst on the subject of thieving c*nts and to make the most out of a bad thread, anyone know what happened all those people last year with the Dublin ATMs giving out 500 notes to anyone with an ATM card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Obvious troll, but €500 is enough to get the police involved (and what you did is absolutely a crime btw). Then if you parked in view of the security camera (or adjacent cameras) then the police will probably check them and track you down off your licenses plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

What a lowlife miserable thing to do. I wish you lots of bad luck pal.:mad:

He wont have any luck with that money that's for sure
    That happened to me once I walked of and left 50 euro but the person behind me alerted me to it I was so grateful it is so easy to do
    OP I hope karma comes and bites you in the arse

The hypocrisy amongst people is incredible.

If I had said that I had 50 in my account and went to withdraw it but the machine gave me a €500 note I would be lauded. People would say fúck the bankers, well done and would proabably have got a pile of thanks as well.

Yet being opportunistic at an ATM results in me being called a thieving cúnt.

One rule with one group and one rule for the other.

Hypocrisy thy name is after hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

I was in line at the ATM today and the woman in front of me was on the phone getting money out of the ATM and I was the only person in the line.

Well the woman left but she did so without her money so I took the money that was just presented and calmly walked to my car and went home. She didn't seem to have noticed that she forgot her €500.

Well I'm wondering is what I did wrong, I mean it's not really stealing now is it, it's more opportunism that anything else. In a way her stupidity deserved to be punished in my opinion, I mean how thick do you have to be to leave money behind in the ATM, I mean that's why you go there is the first place, to get money out!!

wimmins and ATMs just dont get on.

I never seen a woman get cash in a minute or less like most guys can.

The hypocrisy amongst people is incredible.

If I had said that I had 50 in my account and went to withdraw it but the machine gave me a €500 note I would be lauded. People would say fúck the bankers, well done and would proabably have got a pile of thanks as well.

Yet being opportunistic at an ATM results in me being called a thieving cúnt.

One rule with one group and one rule for the other.

Hypocrisy thy name is after hours.

ehh the Banks..........ill make an exception here, no morale qualms whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It is theft. As a Garda I have prosecuted two people for doing the same thing. Not difficult to trace you either. All ATMs have cameras.