Whats should I do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Hope the deer sues you for all you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Go see the girl antler you don't have any money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

wyndham wrote: »
    IS SHE HOT?

Not the best but I'm not into deer personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Is the stupid deer ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Jesus don't give her a penny,

The drivers responsible for the car, whether she was doing you a favour or not

How very noble of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Is the stupid deer ok?

Maybe it was just a little slow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

~You offered, so it'd be kind of stingy to back out. I'd say 300 though, not half.
    Was she insured on the vehicle just out of curiosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

You shoud make the Deer pay, after all, it is they that are responsible as they were the one who ran into the car... does your friend have third party insurance?

P.s I do hope the poor Deer is o.k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

You already offered so you can't back out now, but her expecting half is crazy!
    Personally if I were her, I probably wouldn't ask you for a penny cos I'd feel like a stinge.

Offer €200 or €300 and if she kicks off about that give her nothing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

It depends - if you weren't distracting her when she hit the deer I would chip in around 300 as a gesture of goodwill. If you were distracting her I would give 600 because the damage was partly your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

You shouldn't have to pay anything. You were just a passenger. She was the one driving - it's her responsibility to pay for all the repairs. She should have been more careful. I'm guessing that the owner of the car didn't have insurance. It's partly the owners fault too for not having this and letting an un-insured driver take the car. The girl driving and the owner (if there's no insurance) should be paying for the repairs, not you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Little Miss Lady

Get another quote for the repairs.
    That's waaaayyyy too pricey, I should know have had enough wings needing panel beating and what not in the past!!

Plus yeah it's nice to offer too chip in but it was the driver's fault, so the onus is on herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

yea, if you asked for a lift then you gotta stump up half sorry, but if she offered then her friends insurance can pay for it, not your problem

She doesn't have to stump up half at all.
    Lawlesz wrote: »
    A few weeks back, a girl I was living with borrowed her friends car for a weekend. I needed a lift to the shops and so she said she could bring me.

Did she have permission to borrow the car? Was she insured to drive it?
    It's not your problem OP, if it's anyones problem it's the girl who crashed it and the owner of the car. Why don't the 2 of them pay half each?

In fact if this girl wasn't insured to drive it then the owner should definitely have to pay at least half herself for being so irresponsible and lending her car to an uninsured driver.

€1200 is a mental price anyway......get another quote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Wasn't too sure where to post this;

I have been living abroad for the last couple of months. A few weeks back, a girl I was living with borrowed her friends car for a weekend. I needed a lift to the shops and so she said she could bring me. So half way to the shops, a stupid deer runs across the road, smacks into the car, damaging the wing. So anyway, I said I would chip in to cover some of the cost. Have got the quote for repairs, which came to 1200, a lot more than I expected.

So my question to the good people of AH is; whats an acceptable amount to chip in? Some of my friends are saying half, or a quarter of the price, others are saying don't pay anything, it was her responsibility etc...

She has asked for 600, which to me is a bit much...

Oh, I'm also broke...

the Phoenix Park isn,t abroad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Wasn't too sure where to post this;

I have been living abroad for the last couple of months. A few weeks back, a girl I was living with borrowed her friends car for a weekend. I needed a lift to the shops and so she said she could bring me. So half way to the shops, a stupid deer runs across the road, smacks into the car, damaging the wing. So anyway, I said I would chip in to cover some of the cost. Have got the quote for repairs, which came to 1200, a lot more than I expected.

So my question to the good people of AH is; whats an acceptable amount to chip in? Some of my friends are saying half, or a quarter of the price, others are saying don't pay anything, it was her responsibility etc...

She has asked for 600, which to me is a bit much...

Oh, I'm also broke...

Stupid story, why would you pay to fix someone else's car unless you were the driver and you are not insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Kill her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭hbert

I think it depends if you actually asked her for the lift or not? If you did maybe 200 as a good will gesture? If you didnt actually ask I'd say give her nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

Kill her

Roll her up in carpet and throw her off a bridge ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

As far as I know the deer was ok, it got up and ran off. The deer seemed to have spun as we hit it, so there was two marks, one on the drivers door and one on the rear wing. And just to answer some of the questions;

As far as I know, she wasn't insured to drive the car.

I have suggested going through the insurance of the owner and we chip in to cover the premium hike, but she's not interested. I know legally, I'm not liable to pay, but I think morally (as another poster said) I should help her out, as she was helping me out to start with, I also don't wanna mess with Karma. `i wasn't distracting her at the time, if anything her driving was careless as she didn't seem to slow when we first saw the deer down the road.

As a further twist to the story, I left the country this mornong as my work contract had finished. i have already handed over $280 so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

If she wasn't insured then she's a moron and I wouldn't give her a cent.

Let her and the owner of the car who should have been more responsible sort it out themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

Jesus man don't hand over anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

op, I hurt my finger clicking on your thread, you owe me €300. Pay me now beatch, or I will get p1ssy with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Koltashe

As far as I know the deer was ok, it got up and ran off. The deer seemed to have spun as we hit it, so there was two marks, one on the drivers door and one on the rear wing. And just to answer some of the questions;

As far as I know, she wasn't insured to drive the car.

I have suggested going through the insurance of the owner and we chip in to cover the premium hike, but she's not interested. I know legally, I'm not liable to pay, but I think morally (as another poster said) I should help her out, as she was helping me out to start with, I also don't wanna mess with Karma. `i wasn't distracting her at the time, if anything her driving was careless as she didn't seem to slow when we first saw the deer down the road.

As a further twist to the story, I left the country this mornong as my work contract had finished. i have already handed over $280 so far...

Then leave it at that.... You chiped in as you said you would and it is up to the driver to sort out the mess SHE has created by borrowing the car and giving lifts and being careless when driving...
    And on the car owners insurance: why the hell should she/he loose their no claims bonus or be hassled in anyway when all he/she did was be kind and generous by letting a friend borrow a car. That driver friend of yours should cop on, get the car fixed and return to the owner in the condition she borrowed it. And in the future if she wants to borrow cars from friends get insurance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Carrieleee

More importantly though, was the deer okay?

You offered to chip in so give her something, nothing like 600 though, it's not your responsibility!

Carrieleee wrote: »
    More importantly though, was the deer okay?

He got up and ran off, so I'm assuming he was ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I'd say half. Your friend wouldnt have had a crash if yous werent going to the shop.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I'd say half. Your friend wouldnt have had a crash if yous werent going to the shop.

That's why I offered to pay something towards the damage, but im my defence - she was the only one who was in control of the situation, and the only one who could have prevented it. I've already said it was her careless driving that caused the accident. I'm not shirking responsibility for being the reason she was on the road, but I don't see how I'm equally as responsible as her for what happened once we were on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

That's why I offered to pay something towards the damage, but im my defence - she was the only one who was in control of the situation, and the only one who could have prevented it. I've already said it was her careless driving that caused the accident. I'm not shirking responsibility for being the reason she was on the road, but I don't see how I'm equally as responsible as her for what happened once we were on the road.
    Wasnt having a go at you. If it was me I'd pay half. But I'm a soft cnut like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Finger her bum