Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats should I do?

• 30-08-2011 3:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭

Wasn't too sure where to post this;

I have been living abroad for the last couple of months. A few weeks back, a girl I was living with borrowed her friends car for a weekend. I needed a lift to the shops and so she said she could bring me. So half way to the shops, a stupid deer runs across the road, smacks into the car, damaging the wing. So anyway, I said I would chip in to cover some of the cost. Have got the quote for repairs, which came to 1200, a lot more than I expected.

So my question to the good people of AH is; whats an acceptable amount to chip in? Some of my friends are saying half, or a quarter of the price, others are saying don't pay anything, it was her responsibility etc...

She has asked for 600, which to me is a bit much...

Oh, I'm also broke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Since you said you'd chip in you probably should, but I'd say 200'd be more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

she shouldn't really ask you for any money if she's anyway decent, you probably just said that in the heat of the moment

I don't think you should pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Was the shop veryyyyyyy far away????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Lawlesz wrote: »

I have been living abroad for the last couple of months. A few weeks back, a girl I was living with borrowed her friends car for a weekend. I needed a lift to the shops and so she said she could bring me. So half way to the shops, a stupid deer runs across the road, smacks into the car, damaging the wing. So anyway, I said I would chip in to cover some of the cost. Have got the quote for repairs, which came to 1200, a lot more than I expected.

So my question to the good people of AH is; whats an acceptable amount to chip in? Some of my friends are saying half, or a quarter of the price, others are saying don't pay anything, it was her responsibility etc...

Oh, I'm also broke...

You are about to meet Judge Judy..The people are Real..The Cases are Real...Her Ruling Is final...

THIS IS JUDGE JUDY!!!!!

EDIT: By the way..Judge Judy is the best woman EVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Drop the hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭site designer

Jesus don't give her a penny,

The drivers responsible for the car, whether she was doing you a favour or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Should someone not be claiming this off insurance?
    If not it's all on the driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

you were the passenger in a car that someone got a loan of from your friend. so therefore it is not your responsibility to pay half of the bill. She was the person responsible for the car an she was driving. That's would be like being in a taxi an the taxi driver being in an accident an then asking you for 600 quid since you where there when it happened. Tell her t Feck off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭site designer

red menace wrote: »
    Should someone not be claiming this off insurance?
    If not it's all on the driver

Ye but its the drivers responsibility to sort it out, whether its claiming off the deers family or insurance company or otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

Deerly Deerly me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Get a quote from somewhere else 1200 for a wing is to DEER unless you have gone to a main dealer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Did you ask her for a lift or did she offer?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

DOE!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Oh, I'm also broke...

Obviously a made up story - Deers don't have wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

DOE!!

A DEER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Sounds like she drove the shops for you and you offered to take some of the bill so as far a i'm concerned you owe it to her-50% sounds about right but if you want to be stingy go 25%

Legally you owe her nothing but i'm speaking morally.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

you asked her for a lift to the shops.
    give her some money ya scab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Damn those stupid deers getting hit by our cars!

Really though op, you weren't even driving. Don't chip in anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

cowzerp wrote: »
    Sounds like she drove the shops for you and you offered to take some of the bill so as far a i'm concerned you owe it to her-50% sounds about right but if you want to be stingy go 25%

On a serious note OP - I disagree.

Driver of the car takes full responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Was the deer hurt?

Tell her to claim of her insurance but like others said, €1200 is a ridiculous price for a wing, unless its a very new and expensive car it shouldnt be any more than a few hundred to fix (or even replace) a wing.

Are you sure your friend isnt trying to profit out of the whole thing? Bring the car to someone YOU know and get a quote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

kraggy wrote: »
    Did you ask her for a lift or did she offer?

yea, if you asked for a lift then you gotta stump up half sorry, but if she offered then her friends insurance can pay for it, not your problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Tell her to claim on her insurance and you'll chip in towards any premium hike, which will be a lot ledd than 1200

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

cowzerp wrote: »

That's ridiculous. If your mate is driving you to the shop and decides to run another car off the road should you take responsability for that too? The driver is responsable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

why should you pay anything?you weren't driving.you said you would chip in so id agree with the fella that said no more than 200.200 is loads too considering she gave you a lift!!cheek of her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Koltashe

When you told her you would chip in you must have had an ammount in mind that you were willing and can afford to chip in. I would stick to that ammount what ever it is. Though first try and help her get another quote for repairs and see if you together can find a cheaper one. Be involved and offer help and assistance in sorting the issue out, then explain that you are broke and all you can afford to put towards repairs is XXX. That way you will be a good friend who helped out and chiped in and help you avoid a falling out over the whole thing...

Lucky it was a deer and not a pig that she hit, the pig's motorbike could have done fierce damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

IS SHE HOT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Anyone suggesting that the cost should be shared is being ridiculous. The driver of the car is responsible, just because she gave the OP a lift does not mean he should pay half of any cost from damage.

The OP wasn't driving the car, and could effect in no way the outcome of events. The person wasn't forced to drive the OP to the shops, their decision - on their own head be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Call Santa. Tell him what happened. He'll pay deerly for what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Buy a bike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Hope the deer sues you for all you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Go see the girl antler you don't have any money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

wyndham wrote: »
    IS SHE HOT?

Not the best but I'm not into deer personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Is the stupid deer ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Jesus don't give her a penny,

The drivers responsible for the car, whether she was doing you a favour or not

How very noble of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Is the stupid deer ok?

Maybe it was just a little slow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

~You offered, so it'd be kind of stingy to back out. I'd say 300 though, not half.
    Was she insured on the vehicle just out of curiosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

You shoud make the Deer pay, after all, it is they that are responsible as they were the one who ran into the car... does your friend have third party insurance?

P.s I do hope the poor Deer is o.k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

You already offered so you can't back out now, but her expecting half is crazy!
    Personally if I were her, I probably wouldn't ask you for a penny cos I'd feel like a stinge.

Offer €200 or €300 and if she kicks off about that give her nothing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

It depends - if you weren't distracting her when she hit the deer I would chip in around 300 as a gesture of goodwill. If you were distracting her I would give 600 because the damage was partly your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

You shouldn't have to pay anything. You were just a passenger. She was the one driving - it's her responsibility to pay for all the repairs. She should have been more careful. I'm guessing that the owner of the car didn't have insurance. It's partly the owners fault too for not having this and letting an un-insured driver take the car. The girl driving and the owner (if there's no insurance) should be paying for the repairs, not you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Little Miss Lady

Get another quote for the repairs.
    That's waaaayyyy too pricey, I should know have had enough wings needing panel beating and what not in the past!!

Plus yeah it's nice to offer too chip in but it was the driver's fault, so the onus is on herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

yea, if you asked for a lift then you gotta stump up half sorry, but if she offered then her friends insurance can pay for it, not your problem

She doesn't have to stump up half at all.
    A few weeks back, a girl I was living with borrowed her friends car for a weekend. I needed a lift to the shops and so she said she could bring me.

Did she have permission to borrow the car? Was she insured to drive it?
    It's not your problem OP, if it's anyones problem it's the girl who crashed it and the owner of the car. Why don't the 2 of them pay half each?

In fact if this girl wasn't insured to drive it then the owner should definitely have to pay at least half herself for being so irresponsible and lending her car to an uninsured driver.

€1200 is a mental price anyway......get another quote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Oh, I'm also broke...

the Phoenix Park isn,t abroad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Oh, I'm also broke...

Stupid story, why would you pay to fix someone else's car unless you were the driver and you are not insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Kill her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭hbert

I think it depends if you actually asked her for the lift or not? If you did maybe 200 as a good will gesture? If you didnt actually ask I'd say give her nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

Kill her

Roll her up in carpet and throw her off a bridge ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

As far as I know the deer was ok, it got up and ran off. The deer seemed to have spun as we hit it, so there was two marks, one on the drivers door and one on the rear wing. And just to answer some of the questions;

As far as I know, she wasn't insured to drive the car.

I have suggested going through the insurance of the owner and we chip in to cover the premium hike, but she's not interested. I know legally, I'm not liable to pay, but I think morally (as another poster said) I should help her out, as she was helping me out to start with, I also don't wanna mess with Karma. `i wasn't distracting her at the time, if anything her driving was careless as she didn't seem to slow when we first saw the deer down the road.

As a further twist to the story, I left the country this mornong as my work contract had finished. i have already handed over $280 so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

If she wasn't insured then she's a moron and I wouldn't give her a cent.

Let her and the owner of the car who should have been more responsible sort it out themselves.