Not a conspiracy-thoery, just a question. Sept 2008-now...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ye are like sharks, waiting to pounce on anything :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

What is the future for Ireland?

Like what is this country? What do Europe want from us? We need a new industry which seems to be IT at the moment with alot of IT companys setting up HQ here but they are mainly American. What if they **** up?

We need to start our own companys like Tesco etc.. Dunnes if they went global but they don't seem to want to even try.

We need to become our own Multinational country suppling jobs for our people and jobs for other people it's a two way street the Irish seem to think that all jobs in Ireland are for Irish people, when the companys in the first place are not Irish.

An example of a multinational company we could have started was supplying energy from the West Coast oil find.

People moaning all day long about the recession and whos to blame. Fact is we are here now, and the only way to get out of it is work our bollix off too pay off the bill FF has laid on this country and make sure it never happens again.

We have some of the best meat and dairy produce in the world
    Kerry Group started as a co-op.
    Glenlisk was a family run operation and then massive corporation Danone bought into them
    Sudocream is known around Europe and a household brand here and that's an Irish company who invented it.

Lots of things we do well :)
    Just need more of these

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Obelisk

looky loo wrote: »
    'The future isn't what it used to be'.

inmyday wrote: »
    WE DIDN'T LISTEN!

If we accept that this deal was never meant to provide justice to the people of Ireland, then we have to judge its success or failure on other grounds, the ones it was designed to fulfill. From that perspective the willingness of the rulers of the French, Germans, British and others to drive countries like Ireland and Greece and Portugal, each of us less than 2% of the Eurozone economy, into ruination is understandable, albeit unforgiveable. Just as there is no honour amongst theives, so there is no solidarity amongst capitalists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Obelisk wrote: »

If we accept that this deal was never meant to provide justice to the people of Ireland, then we have to judge its success or failure on other grounds, the ones it was designed to fulfill. From that perspective the willingness of the rulers of the French, Germans, British and others to drive countries like Ireland and Greece and Portugal, each of us less than 2% of the Eurozone economy, into ruination is understandable, albeit unforgiveable. Just as there is no honour amongst theives, so there is no solidarity amongst capitalists.

More RTE sponsored rubbish. The two Brians sold the country for their own reasons. Europe didn't react in time that's for sure. But blaming Europe for Brian Lenihan's mess is a step too far. If there is to be anything written about this in history it should be the truth. Not some anti-Europe conspiracy theory.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056054930

squod wrote: »
    More RTE sponsored rubbish. The two Brians sold the country for their own reasons. Europe didn't react in time that's for sure. But blaming Europe for Brian Lenihan's mess is a step too far. If there is to be anything written about this in history it should be the truth. Not some anti-Europe conspiracy theory.

Did you watch the video? I know we were sold out.

So tell us, who exactly did they sell out to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Obelisk wrote: »
    Did you watch the video? I know we were sold out.

So tell us, who exactly did they sell out to...

I haven't. Many apologies, way too exciting for me. Spooky music and dramatic editing kinda puts me off videos like that. I don't think it matters who benefited. The people who are responsible got away with it (so far....).

squod wrote: »
    I haven't. Many apologies, way too exciting for me. Spooky music and dramatic editing kinda puts me off videos like that. I don't think it matters who benefited. The people who are responsible got away with it (so far....).

Any better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Zebra3 wrote: »
    There was talk about problems in the economy in 2007.

And Blankcheque Bertie told those who were talking about the problems to go and commit suicide.

To much laughter from his audience. :rolleyes:

I know but it was early 2007. There hadn't been anything in the media, I don't think so anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Who remembers this classic,there was uproar in this country for such a suggestion,that man should had got an award for his honesty!,foward to 0.40-

Anyone remember this speech, people got angry :mad:
    And the German ambassador was asked to apoloigze
    Ireland was a "coarse place".
    Junior ministers here earned more than the German Chancellor.
    Some 20pc of the population were public servants.
    Our "chaotic" hospital waiting lists would not be tolerated anywhere else.
    Wage demands were too high.
    Our immigration policy was wrong and we had learned nothing from Germany or the Nordic countries.
    He also cited the doctors' rejection of €200,000 a year posts on the basis that this sum was "Mickey Mouse" money and referred to the former dominant position of the Catholic Church
    Truth hurts I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

mikemac wrote: »
    Anyone remember this speech, people got angry :mad:
    And the German ambassador was asked to apoloigze

Truth hurts I suppose

yeah i do,heres a wonderful hindsight from it-
    http://www.irishabroad.com/news/irish-voice/news/GermanEnvoyCriticizesIrish240907.aspx
    Foreign Minister Dermot Ahern was said to be furious when the content of the ambassador’s speech to German businessmen at Clontarf Castle in Dublin was reported to him.

And then in 2010-
    http://www.examiner.ie/home/318k-windfall-as-ahern-bails-out-of-dail-138144.html
    He will be paid four times the average industrial wage in his pension entitlements, which include:

- €17,763 lump sum worth two months of a TD’s pay when he retires.

- €159,873 golden handshake severance payment in a lump sum, worth one and a half years of a TD’s salary.

- €66,611 TD pension in the first year after retirement.

- €53,291 annual TD pension every year after that.

- €36,750 as a ministerial step-down payment in the first six months after retirement, based on 75% of his current ministerial salary.

- €75,000 annual ministerial pension after that, based on 60% of his ministerial salary before it was cut in last year’s budget.

Mr Ahern will be entitled to collect his pension as soon as he retires from the Dáil. But senators and TDs elected after 2004 have to wait until the age of 65 before being eligible for such payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

RichieC wrote: »
    Resession = when rich people start losing money.

Happy days= when the poor quietly suffer and the rich get richer and fatter.
    Absolute rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The USA sets the tone for these things, and 2008 was when this all hit the headlines with the Lehman Brothers & AIG collapses, and the knock-on effects on Ireland and other countries. But it definitely didn't start there: the sub-prime mortgage crisis has already claimed victims such as Countrywide Financial.

In late 2006 The Economist was already sounding alarms, such as in this article. Note the table that lists Ireland's house price increase 1997-2006 as a 252% increase i.e. a factor of 3.5x. Did people's earnings also increase by 252%? My salary (1999-2007) didn't even keep up with the normal inflation rate. :rolleyes:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

around 2004/5 I was suffering under a blanket of severe depression, unable to find work and living by myself, raising a child on benefits, I was scraping out an existence while my brothers and sisters were living it up at the height of the celtic tiger. Four of them married within the first few years of the millennium, they were all doing well financially and had bought themselves fine houses with massive mortgages and began starting family's. At a time when everyone else was doing well I was pretty much considered a burden on society.

Cue 2008 I finally started getting better and sought out some training and managed to gain part time employment, it wasn't anything special but enough to help me find my feet. One step at a time I began climbing back up the ladder and progressively found more and better work. At the same time one by one they started losing their jobs, their houses became financial burdens, cracks started to appear elsewhere and while they're hanging on in there, they still have families to support and mortgages to pay and in the meantime, my line of business is going from strength to strength. If it means I do better when times are rough then long may it last. I like this recession shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 GULLION

Mark200 wrote: »
    This is why:

http://i53.tinypic.com/zx8vup.jpg

People are saying crap all the time. The vast majority of which doesn't come true. Just because you allegedly got something right does not make you an expert.

"Even a broken clock is right twice a day".

And I'm bored of the "<insert thing I don't like> is why we're in this mess".

We discussed this at work in 1997 when we saw property doubling in price in our area in 5 years, we bought in 1992 for 82K (4 Bed Detached) and in 1997 they were 170K, even though the wife and I were on very good wages we could not afford at 170K lucky we bought at 82K ( Figures Adj from Punt to Euro) could not understand how people on lower wages than us could afford to buy, and figured the market would bottom out with in a year. OK it took longer, and we saw our 82K go to 350K. would not have paid that unless it came with a pool a merc and room for a pony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭harmoniums

I guess I was one of the lucky ones, I saw the writing on the wall and sold my place in 2007 (for a modest profit of about 30%) moved out to California to a new job and rented.
    I didn't know what to do with my sign-on bonus so I bought gold at about $680 an ounce.
    I also shorted the ever living sh*t out of financials with some ETFs.
    I started a side business making military style rifles (semis, not machine guns!) and had my production ramped up just prior the the election of Mr. Obama.
    All the gun nuts went mad thinking he'd sign some order banning guns and panic buying started.
    I callously raised my prices as it appeared the market could bear it, and made out like a bandit.
    I shut the business down in 2009 and gave back my license.

Here I am in 2011, still renting, why? because we ain't done yet, housing here in the US still has another 20% or so to fall imo.

Still have all the gold I bought, but that's probably in some kind of bubble stage (beginning? end? who knows?) so I think I'll liquidate a bit, question is where to put it?

Its all swings and roundabouts though, I'm sure I'll make some dumb decision and lose what little I've scraped up in the coming years.......

(thats why you'll never hear me bitch about dole/social welfare etc, I'm not smart enough to keep my money, my current small amount of material success is an aberration when looking at my historical trends)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Remember being in the dressing room after training one night when the banks were doing sale and leasebacks on all their headquarters late 2006 I think that a couple of the lads should hold off buying as prices would be odds on to fall in the coming year.

Remember well being told to f off and stop being negative.

I laugh now.

Obviously not at the lads but more the mentality that had gotten into people, prices could only go one way at the time and a lot of people failed to realise they could come crashing right down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

When property prices/retail rents were on a par with some of the most exclusive parts of London, you knew something was not quite right.