Gay couple kicked out of bar for kissing on the dancefloor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

lst wrote: »
    Not being silly, just you feel that bouncers can blindly instruct patrons who are then oblidged to comply.

I dont know, hence why I stated alleged incident, and innocent until proven guilty [ie the venue is innocent until proven guilty].

Fair enough advising them to tone it down, but not acceptable ejecting them for failing to do so. Its up to the bouncer to protect his patrons and eject anybody who does give them grief. The people who would take a violent stance against guys kissing are likely the same people who would be starting rows anyway.

Yes I know bouncers who do take exception to guys kissing (including two in a "straight" venue that has a gay night, although they just put up& shut up). Many of them, but most bouncers I know wouldnt care.

OT but no venue Ive ever had an involvement with (And theres many) has EVER driven a casualty to hospital, so thats no excuse. EVER! And over the course of about 6 years Iv had dozens of clubs, and hundreds of hospitalizations stemming from nightclubs.

Ah here if you can't differentiate between a bouncer telling someone to skull 10 pints and a bouncer acting in the interest of patrons then I'm not going to bother engaging with you.

Since New Years I've been in two separate establishments where security have driven patrons that were injured in altercations to A&E.

The bouncer told them to cut it out and they acted the muppet by not doing so. They deserved to get kicked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I like how a response has been given by the pub and both sides have settled it between themselves....and yet the argument keeps going.

Boards.....Boards never changes....

Or people happily posting things like all bouncers are power-trippers in a thread about discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

This kind of story wrecks my head. Sometimes I might get refused for no reason whatsoever from a pub or a club without a reason given at all, but this makes national news just because they are gay?

How is "No, you're not allowed in." to a pub that a frequent in and hadn't even had a drink before hand, any less discriminatory than this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

TheZohan wrote: »
    I was told to take out an eyebrow ring once by security as I was entering a nightclub. Reason? In case someone started on me and ripped out the ring. I told the bouncer I'd take my chances and he refused me entry, for my own safety. I took out the ring and was allowed inside.

It was a direction given by the people responsible for the safety and welfare of all patrons frequenting the premises. If you don't like the rules you can leave.

The bouncers gave them fair warning and they continued, they knew what would happen.

It's already been mentioned a couple of times in this thread that there were/are straight people there who were/are not asked to leave after PDA's.

It's sickening that people are defending this tbh.

It's already been mentioned a couple of times in this thread that there were/are straight people there who were/are not asked to leave after PDA's.

It's sickening that people are defending this tbh.

It's sickening that people are making an issue out of a non-issue. The couple involved aren't taking it any further, if they felt as if they were discriminated against they would. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If they were kissing each others willies on the dancefloor then fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

Ah here if you can't differentiate between a bouncer telling someone to skull 10 pints and a bouncer acting in the interest of patrons then I'm not going to bother engaging with you.

Since New Years I've been in two separate establishments where security have driven patrons that were injured in altercations to A&E.
    Telling someone to skull 10 pints would probably please many Irish fellas... Its hardly discrimination on the grounds of ethnic origin/ gender/ sexuality/ marital status/age.... Kicking a gay couple out for kissing as two men is discrimination - not saying that the Oak kicked them out purely for being gay.

Were these venues that drove people to hospital in New York by any chance?
    It's sickening that people are making an issue out of a non-issue. The couple involved aren't taking it any further, if they felt as if they were discriminated against they would. Simples.

They may just be embarrassed about the fuss, or be happy with the apology. Its still wrong for any venue to discriminate against a gay /lesbian / elderly/ young (legal) / mixed race/ mixed age couple for a PDA if a "normal" couple would be allowed do the very same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I would say the Bouncer made the right decision, albeit unpopular, in kicking the two lads out. He probably did them a favour at the same time although it doesn't look like it.

If I was a Bouncer working in a place that's not a Gay venue, and blokes are kissing on the Dance floor, Alarm Bells would be going off in my head and I would definitely expect trouble.

If the blokes were warned and then continued to kiss in a non-gay bar, what do the expect?
    I'd say they were dancing around attracting attention to themselves from local lads who were getting tanked up watching them, getting pissed off, and then some idiot would insult one of them or take 'offense' at them kissing and it would all kick off.

If it was two girls I wouln't have a problem with it.*

*(Two nice looking ones of course, not those big butch yokes! ;))

Telling someone to skull 10 pints would probably please many Irish fellas... Its hardly discrimination on the grounds of ethnic origin/ gender/ sexuality/ marital status/age.... Kicking a gay couple out for kissing as two men is discrimination - not saying that the Oak kicked them out purely for being gay.

Were these venues that drove people to hospital in New York by any chance?

Eh no.

They may just be embarrassed about the fuss, or be happy with the apology. Its still wrong for any venue to discriminate against a gay /lesbian / elderly/ young (legal) / mixed race/ mixed age couple for a PDA if a "normal" couple would be allowed do the very same thing.

So now you're guestimating on behalf of the couple? It wasn't an issue for them, they didn't feel discriminated against and they resolved it with the bar.

Every single incident which involves someone that's LGBT isn't discrimination you know. The only discrimination going on here is reverse discrimination.

Do many straight couples go into Gay Bars, dance around and kiss each other?

I wouldn't imagine they do, and I would expect some of thhe resident Gays would be saying 'WTF are they doing in here?" & "Why don't they go to a straight bar instead?".

lastlaugh wrote: »

I wouldn't imagine they do, and I would expect some of thhe resident Gays would be saying 'WTF are they doing in here?" & "Why don't they go to a straight bar instead?".
    Because there's no such thing as a straight bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

I would question why they were given that direction in the first place, surely that alone is discriminatory, would this happen to a couple that were not gay
    maybe they were removed for their own safety. i know a few places where two men kissing wouldnt be walking out any door

I would question why they were given that direction in the first place, surely that alone is discriminatory, would this happen to a couple that were not gay
    maybe they were removed for their own safety. i know a few places where two men kissing wouldnt be walking out any door

Discrimination!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If it's not known as a Gay bar or a Gay Friendly bar, then it's a straight bar to my mind.

Not that I personally care either way though.

But if a Pub/Nightclub is a small one based in the country somewhere, there is an extremly high chance that it is NOT a Gay bar (in other words, it's 'normal' and Gay kissing will be, eh... frowned upon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You can't say that here.

Apparently the correct security approach is to let them get bottled and then lecture the miscreants who did it sternly on homophobia and human rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Dudess wrote: »
    The anti Old Oak Facebook pages are ridiculous - so hysterical and OTT. It is very easy to take things at face value and assume this was a blatant act of gay-bashing. And even though The Old Oak is a place where gropey PDAs are very much prevalent - the place is known for it - it is also an extremely blokey, macho establishment, so two lads snogging could have caused absolute ructions, and the bouncers may just have been doing what it took to prevent a sh1t-storm. And protecting the safety of the lads.

Surprised to hear of any college kids in the place anyway - its clientele is MUCH older. To be honest, I suspect they were on a wind-up...

Wouldn't say it was a wind up, Old Oak is actually fairly popular among students these days, probably because it stays open til 2am when other pubs close earlier. I've been there a good few times for studenty type things. Ended up their after a friend's birthday a couple of weeks ago with my bf, and while we don't really do the whole PDA thing I don't think I'd be comfortable going back there now after this incidence.

As for the facebook pages, I'd imagine they had to be OTT to try and force a response from the management. Even if the lads were drunk and messing and deserved to be thrown out, the Old Oak have handled this thing disastrously; their statement should have come out (:pac:) straight away, rather than sitting back and waiting for things to escalate.
    Nolanger wrote: »
    Bet if a straight couple kissed on a dancefloor in a gay nightclub they would?
    Never been in a gay club, I'm guessing?
    Can't speak for the ones in Dublin, or anywhere else in Ireland, but none of the ones in Cork are any way heterophobic from my experience.

Glad a statement has been issued, although the "both sides made mistakes" line is a bit fishy. I'll put my flaming pitchfork and protest signs to one side but at the same time I doubt very much I'll go back there tbh.

If it's not known as a Gay bar or a Gay Friendly bar, then it's a straight bar to my mind.

Not that I personally care either way though.

But if a Pub/Nightclub is a small one based in the country somewhere, there is an extremly high chance that it is NOT a Gay bar (in other words, it's 'normal' and Gay kissing will be, eh... frowned upon)
    Keep digging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

No one was heard saying in a real girly voice..."Gis a Kissy Wissy Missy!"

Keep digging.

What do you mean?

I'm trying to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

I would say the Bouncer made the right decision, albeit unpopular, in kicking the two lads out. He probably did them a favour at the same time although it doesn't look like it.

If I was a Bouncer working in a place that's not a Gay venue, and blokes are kissing on the Dance floor, Alarm Bells would be going off in my head and I would definitely expect trouble.

If the blokes were warned and then continued to kiss in a non-gay bar, what do the expect?
    I'd say they were dancing around attracting attention to themselves from local lads who were getting tanked up watching them, getting pissed off, and then some idiot would insult one of them or take 'offense' at them kissing and it would all kick off.

If it was two girls I wouln't have a problem with it.*

*(Two nice looking ones of course, not those big butch yokes! ;))

You joke but in reality of course ya wouldnt have a problem with it - thats the issue! The idea that two guys cant, a straight couple can do whatever and two hot girls can do whatever.

So now you're guestimating on behalf of the couple? It wasn't an issue for them, they didn't feel discriminated against and they resolved it with the bar.

Every single incident which involves someone that's LGBT isn't discrimination you know. The only discrimination going on here is reverse discrimination.

Yes and my point was that IF a venue were to discriminate (and I specifically stated that I was not accusing the Oak Tree of picking on them for being gay, in two/three seperate posts) then it is inappropriate.

Other posters here feel it would be acceptable for any venue to throw out fellas for kissing in order to keep the peace / to appease the old men / to satisfy a power trip - but none of those reasons are acceptable.

I wouldn't imagine they do, and I would expect some of thhe resident Gays would be saying 'WTF are they doing in here?

Yes lots do go into gay bars, dance around and kiss each other. Breaking news! Lots of single straight girls and straight couples, and even a few single straight fellas do! And there doesnt be any nasty comments, its each to their own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Have to agree with that. Why are people still pissed about it despite the fact that both parties have reached an amicable understanding? There's no evidence that the decision was made just because the guys kissed each other, and the only reason people are upset is because they were gay.

If it was a straight couple being kicked out for ignoring a bouncers request there'd be no such uproar, and I reckon more people would be saying things like 'there must be more to it' or 'they should have done what the bouncer asked them to do'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Monty.

Maybe the owner doesn't want it becoming a gay bar by default.

Keep digging.

What do you mean?

the only people who cannot be discriminated against are straight white males who are not travellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

WindSock wrote: »
    Do you think he would have done the same if it were two chicks?

Must say that's the first time I've seen that word to describe two girls in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

I think this is being blown way out of proportion.If they were assaulted for being gay that would be a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I thought the Dark Ages were over :confused:

It's outrageous that in this day and age such bigotted attitudes still exist.

Though I wonder would they have been kicked out so readily had they been two women? I doubt it somehow.

I thought the Dark Ages were over :confused:

It's outrageous that in this day and age such bigotted attitudes still exist.

Though I wonder would they have been kicked out so readily had they been two women? I doubt it somehow.
    theres only one way to find out. you go girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

Leave it alone FFS!The dark ages are over,of course bigoted attitudes still exist!This is why I hate these things people always go OTT!