Tattoo on your neck - cheap and tacky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭looksee

The original question was are neck tattoos cheap and tacky, so a yes or no answer is valid and there is no need for one side to insult the other. Maybe a poll would have been easier.

If you consider tattoos cheap and tacky you will certainly find neck tattoos c & t, and vice versa. I don't have any tattoos, on balance I would prefer if my kids didn't have them, but as they are adults they can choose (they don't have them). But I don't really care if other people have them, their choice. Some of them look ok, others look terrible, but again, their choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Jayob10 wrote: »
    im a soccer fan, can't stand rugby at all and all the pretence that surrounds it and all the hype.

But theres a point there in fairness. None of these lads have tattoo's yet you see soccer lads with gastly looking ones.

No doubt the soccer players like to appear tough or fashionable, rather the rugby players are just generally tough f*ckers and don't need a tattoo to project this.
    tons of rugby players have tattoo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

and u dont know me but that still dident stop u calling me a rough c--t did it,but hold it is it one rule for and another for me,

I didn't call you a rough anything.

How did I as I don't know you or what you look like?

However, if you do have one of those web tattoos on your neck would you not think that your post may have proven me right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Most people with tattoos love showing them off, think they make them sexy, tough, cool. All things that if you were comfortable in yourself and private about your body you wouldn't need to do

By that logic makeup, nail polish, clothes, haircuts etc all would fall under that category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

like who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

He didn't call YOU that, he just said he thought people with tattoos were. Personal insults scare some people off, everyone should be allowed to make their point.

go to page 11 for youreself and it says in black and white from his experince

murpho999 wrote: »
    I didn't call you a rough anything.

How did I as I don't know you as I don't know how you are or what you look like?

However, if you do have one of those web tattoos on your neck would you not think that your post may have proven me right?

u said in page 11 from youre experince people with neck tattoo are rough c--ts that would mean me as i have on there.but i dont have a web one the problom with this tread is that you and others like u think without meeting/chating to some one with tattoos is that were all rough/hard/thug when more likely 90% of us are decent hard working people as i said before go to my first post to really see where im comeing from regarding tattoos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

vangoz wrote: »
    By that logic makeup, nail polish, clothes, haircuts etc all would fall under that category.

Fair point, i wear make up when I go out as i feel better about myself (so possibly some insecurity on my part) but it's subtle and I don't feel I show it off. I'm just an UGLY fecker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

All easily changeable, removable. Temporary.

Think back to the clothes you wore 10 years ago, you most likely wouldn't wear them now. Is your bedroom/living room the same decor as it was 10 years ago?

Tastes change, but tattoos are permanent. Yes they are removable, but cost a lot and leave a scar.

Again, I don't understand the "art" angle. If you admire an artist, get them to put their design on canvas, If you want to remember the birth/death of somebody close, get a sculpture etc.

You only get one body, why destroy it with ink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Maori players do as it is their culture, Welsh players do also, per my original point rugby in Wales in the national sport played by all classes.
    very few irish rugby players have tatoos, lots of irish soccer players do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I think tattoos are ALL cheap and tacky, i have yet to see one I liked. I have never seen a classy person with a tattoo. In fact I could never go out with someone that had one, not only would I be unattracted to them physically. I think it says something about the kind of person they are i.e. unsophisticated and a bit dumb.

and what makes people sophisticated...? you are being a little bit offensive calling people dumb for having a tattoos...cheap and tacky ..yeah some tattoos certainly are that.
    I,ve lots of tattoos ...Id value a person more if they said it to my face that they found my tattoos dumb,unsophisticated,cheap and so on...you dont know me ..you know nothing about me ..yet you have preconceived opinions about people with tattoos...one poster was honest enough to admit he was narrow minded and he even had reasons for his opinions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

u said in page 11 from youre experince people with neck tattoo are rough c--ts that would mean me as i have on there.but i dont have a web one the problom with this tread is that you and others like u think without meeting/chating to some one with tattoos is that were all rough/hard/thug when more likely 90% of us are decent hard working people as i said before go to my first post to really see where im comeing from regarding tattoos

Fair enough but when you came across me with that opinion you called me a muppet and threatened me.

Seems fairly rough to me.

Also, I was talking about those web ones but either way I don't think I'd be on my own in not finding neck tatoos nice.
    Finally, everyone gets pre-judged by their appearance. It's a fact of life . That's why we dress up for job interviews etc, to make the right impression. So you'd better get used to being judged by having prominent neck tatoos.

As much as you like to have them, which is your choice you must respect peoples rights not to like them.

Fair point, i wear make up when I go out as i feel better about myself (so possibly some insecurity on my part) but it's subtle and I don't feel I show it off. I'm just an UGLY fecker!

Its not insecurity, its pure human nature and everyone does it in their own way. Whether its makeup, hair, clothes etc. We have been decorating ourselves for thousands of years.

I would never judge anyone based on appearance (physical or decorative). I've meet so many good people down the years from all walks of life and different cultures, places and practices. In hindsight I've meet many utter d1ckheads that would look like the perfect person to bring home to granny :)

Make up isn't subtle, it's right in everyones face, I've 7 tattoo's and nobody notices them when i go out

Think back to the clothes you wore 10 years ago, you most likely wouldn't wear them now. Is your bedroom/living room the same decor as it was 10 years ago?

Tastes change, but tattoos are permanent. Yes they are removable, but cost a lot and leave a scar.

Again, I don't understand the "art" angle. If you admire an artist, get them to put their design on canvas, If you want to remember the birth/death of somebody close, get a sculpture etc.

Is your house bare? has it been the same since it was built with no decoration? Have you ever changed something about your house since you've been in it?

Honestly I don't know how people are ok with just living in houses as they got them, you only get one, why not decorate it??

See what I did there?
    bamboozle wrote: »
    Maori players do as it is their culture, Welsh players do also, per my original point rugby in Wales in the national sport played by all classes.
    very few irish rugby players have tatoos, lots of irish soccer players do.
    English, french, oz players all have them, as do scots etc.

Oh and has anyone ever met some of our classy Irish players?? alot of them are pricks from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

I have two neck tattoos. I'm female by the way. My tatts are just behind my ears on both sides. I never really thought about whether people would find them cheap or tacky because TBH I really don't give a f*ck about what other people think of how I look. As long as I like how I look that's all that matters and I like how I look, I like it very much :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

true ..you get just the one body....tattoos may certainly destroy it...why drink alcohol,smoke,have a bad diet,engage in high risk behaviour...etc...you,ve a good point though..but its choice ..

murpho999 wrote: »
    Fair enough but when you came across me with that opinion you called me a muppet and threatened me.

Seems fairly rough to me.

Also, I was talking about those web ones but either way I don't think I'd be on my own in not finding neck tatoos nice.
    Finally, everyone gets pre-judged by their appearance. It's a fact of life . That's why we dress up for job interviews etc, to make the right impression. So you'd better get used to being judged by having prominent neck tatoos.

As much as you like to have them, which is your choice you must respect peoples rights not to like them.

Finally, everyone gets pre-judged by their appearance. It's a fact of life . That's why we dress up for job interviews etc, to make the right impression.

look if i offened u im sorry,but as u say its a person choice to do as they so please but from the start of this tread it was all negative comments and was not nice to hear so im only standing up for my choice in life and also what i like in my time on earth;)

I dont follow trends or what is fashionable so any points made regarding this is invalid to me. Good art is timeless.

You only get one life why not make the most of it and do what ever makes you happy and tattooing is one of many hobbies I enjoy.

How is it detroying your body, I dont know of any long term effects of a tattoo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I don't have one, but don't mind tats except the tramp stamp. Saw a group of about 7 skanger girls heading into town one night, all showing off their tramp stamps.

BTW, those Kate Von D tattoos are horrendous imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Tattoo'd people have mental problems...

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2008/07/080715204734.htm
    http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art57938.asp

and low self esteem...
    http://clearinghouse.missouriwestern.edu/manuscripts/280.php

And they are sheeplike pathetic delusional disfigured clowns...
    http://www.ugliesttattoos.net/

So there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

mattjack wrote: »
    and what makes people sophisticated...?

Since you asked, for me sophistication being subtle, not attention seeking and private about showing off their body at inappropriate times, as well as a whole range of other things which you already know about.

In my personal experience a large proportion of people with tattoos and specifically neck tattoos are not these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Is your house bare? has it been the same since it was built with no decoration? Have you ever changed something about your house since you've been in it?

Honestly I don't know how people are ok with just living in houses as they got them, you only get one, why not decorate it??

See what I did there?.

Ya see, walls are meant to be painted, carpet/flooring is meant to go on the bare concrete floor....It's not a fad, people/society have been furnishing their homes for hundreds of years.

It's only in recent times that tattoos became "fashionable". Prior to this they were the preserve of scumbags, sailors and prison inmates. Now every tom, dick and joe soap has one. And this fad will pass, just like perms in the 80s, shiny shell suits in the 90s etc. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Make up isn't subtle, it's right in everyones face, I've 7 tattoo's and nobody notices them when i go out

See what I did there?

English, french, oz players all have them, as do scots etc.

Oh and has anyone ever met some of our classy Irish players?? alot of them are pricks from my experience.

very very few of them have tatoos & certainly far fewer than their equivilents on their national soccer teams.

excellent point you made there about rugby players, you're really providing a great argument in favour of tatoos.

Ya see, walls are meant to be painted, carpet/flooring is meant to go on the bare concrete floor....It's not a fad, people/society have been furnishing their homes for hundreds of years.

It's only in recent times that tattoos became "fashionable". Prior to this they were the preserve of scumbags, sailors and prison inmates. Now every tom, dick and joe soap has one. And this fad will pass, just like perms in the 80s, shiny shell suits in the 90s etc. ;)
    People have been piercing and tattooing there body for thousands of years, so by your reasoning the furnishing of homes is just a new fad.
    bamboozle wrote: »
    very very few of them have tatoos & certainly far fewer than their equivilents on their national soccer teams.

excellent point you made there about rugby players, you're really providing a great argument in favour of tatoos.
    So you have or have not met them?? Not often you hear of the irish soccer millionaires kicking the crap out of lads like a certain few rugby players did in kilkenny a few years back.

daveyeh wrote: »
    Tattoo'd people have mental problems...

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2008/07/080715204734.htm
    http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art57938.asp

and low self esteem...
    http://clearinghouse.missouriwestern.edu/manuscripts/280.php

And they are sheeplike pathetic delusional disfigured clowns...
    http://www.ugliesttattoos.net/

So there.

Haha nice try troll.

I do agree Google is wonderfull tool. Have you anything to add yourself or will I get a wall of links in response?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

what a muppet u are,i hope we never meet for youre sake but people like u are internet hardmen all talk and sh-t talk at that u wouldent have the balls to go up to someone in public and call them a rough c??t would u,no u sh_t youreself

In fairness, I don't think I'd ever walk up to someone who looked rough and say "You look like a rough c_nt" regardless of whether or not they had tattoos. That would simply be asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Haha nice try troll.

I do agree Google is wonderfull tool. Have you anything to add yourself or will I get a wall of links in response?

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=smart+arse

If you get a symbol for the green lantern tattooed on your neck at 19 do you really think you are still going to think its cool when your are 45.

Since you asked, for me sophistication being subtle, not attention seeking and private about showing off their body at inappropriate times, as well as a whole range of other things which you already know about.

In my personal experience a large proportion of people with tattoos and specifically neck tattoos are not these things.

So does everybody have to be "sophisicated" in your view and fall in line with social norms?