Tattoo on your neck - cheap and tacky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I think tattoos are ALL cheap and tacky, i have yet to see one I liked. I have never seen a classy person with a tattoo. In fact I could never go out with someone that had one, not only would I be unattracted to them physically. I think it says something about the kind of person they are i.e. unsophisticated and a bit dumb.

I,d say you,ll be quite a catch for some lucky guy some day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

mattjack wrote: »
    I,d say you,ll be quite a catch for some lucky guy some day...

Sarcastic??? I generally keep my tattoo opinions to myself as a lot of people have them...so when I let rip I REALLY do! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

murpho999 wrote: »
    I have nothing against tatoos but don't find them very nice.

People can argue about art all they want, but grafitti is art to one person and vandalism to another.

Don't understand why people find the permanency of them nice. Would hate to have the same image on my arms for the rest of my life.

Also not very nice on most Irish people due to our skin colour and freckles.

Have to say though in my experience though only rough c**ts get them on their neck, especially those web ones on the side and throat, absolutely awful.

what a muppet u are,i hope we never meet for youre sake but people like u are internet hardmen all talk and sh-t talk at that u wouldent have the balls to go up to someone in public and call them a rough c??t would u,no u sh_t youreself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

of the guys who think tattoos are cheap and tacky one presumes that angelina jolie and megan fox are too cheap and tacky for ye to want yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

what a muppet u are,i hope we never meet for youre sake but people like u are internet hardmen all talk and sh-t talk at that u wouldent have the balls to go up to someone in public and call them a rough c??t would u,no u sh_t youreself
    Congratulations on proving him wrong.
    You have quite obviously shown yourself as being the height of sophistication :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

steady on there mate.

My bet is you fall into the category of bloke who gets a tattoo on their neck in order to look "hard".

as for the previous poster being an "internet hardman", I think ya should take a look at your own post.

Yeah AJ and MF are possibly the most tacky girls in Hollywood-point proven. AJ practically dated her brother....very classy!!!:rolleyes:

of the guys who think tattoos are cheap and tacky one presumes that angelina jolie and megan fox are too cheap and tacky for ye to want yeah?

probably yeah. It doesn't make them sexier thats for sure.

Celebs/Actors/Rock Stars can pull that kinda look off, but Micky or Jacinta down the road just look rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Thread is sad really.

Apparently because I have tattoos I'm "unsophisticated", "dumb", a " show off" and "insecure".

I'll take all of the above over being judgmental and having a bitter, closed mind any day.

Angelina Jolie wasn't doing herself any favours with the tattoos she got. Major fail on getting 'Bill Bob' and a big ugly dragon inked on herself. Cue a dodgy removal job which she tried to cover up with another ugly tattoo.

Jayob10 wrote: »
    steady on there mate.

My bet is you fall into the category of bloke who gets a tattoo on their neck in order to look "hard".

as for the previous poster being an "internet hardman", I think ya should take a look at your own post.

not at all man,but as i have 2 sleeves done and my neck also this tread has been quite vocal from people that have no tattoos,calling and persumming that we are thugs/scumbags/knackers if u read my first repley u can see where im comeing from.all i said was if he taught from what he knows from experinece that neck tattoos are from rough people have the balls to say to there face thats all.and for me looking hard not at all man not at all:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭hanleyc2

Sonics2k wrote: »
    I'm assuming you haven't seen to many tattoos then.
    I'm not talking about the silly little flowers, or hearts with Mom written through them or those silly little designs so many women get on the lower back.

There are some incredible pieces of art in tattoo form, incredible designs with intricate details.

You should look up some of the work by artists like Kat von Dee, Mr. Sebastian and so on. They do (did) some beautiful work.

+1 for Kat Von D and her work. Seen her on LA Ink, amazing tattoo work.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Thread is sad really.

Apparently because I have tattoos I'm "unsophisticated", "dumb", a " show off" and "insecure".

I'll take all of the above over being judgmental and having a bitter, closed mind any day.

its not really though. Fair enough, its crazy to say someone is an idiot or "Stupid" for getting a tattoo.

But invariably, it is a particular kind of person who gets a tattoo. It's designed to make you stand out from the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Thread is sad really.

its not really though. Fair enough, its crazy to say someone is an idiot or "Stupid" for getting a tattoo.

But invariably, it is a particular kind of person who gets a tattoo. It's designed to make you stand out from the crowd.

You're stereotyping. Mine don't make me stand out from the crowd; they're not on display.

Lots of stereotyping and generalising going on in this thread.

It's designed to make you stand out from the crowd.

Most people with tattoos love showing them off, think they make them sexy, tough, cool. All things that if you were comfortable in yourself and private about your body you wouldn't need to do

Suppose it is all about taste at the end of the day. The permanancy of the tattoo makes me think its short sighted. Its a fashionable thing, may represent a snapshot or meaningful event at a particular time. But it will stay with you forever. As I said, its a certain type of person who will choose to permanently mark their body, even in a creative sense.

Either someone lacking in brains, with an incredible lack of foresight, a large degree of tackiness

or

Someone who likes to project an image of themselves to other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I think tattoos are ALL cheap and tacky, i have yet to see one I liked. I have never seen a classy person with a tattoo. In fact I could never go out with someone that had one, not only would I be unattracted to them physically. I think it says something about the kind of person they are i.e. unsophisticated and a bit dumb.
    probably yeah. It doesn't make them sexier thats for sure.

Celebs/Actors/Rock Stars can pull that kinda look off, but Micky or Jacinta down the road just look rough.

stand out from the crowd?? generally it's rarer to not have a tattoo than have one these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Oh lord :(

What is your definition of classy? I assume it wouldnt involve individuals who have alcohol induced blackouts now would it?

Posts like yours says a lot about the person they are i.e unsophisticated and a bit seriously dumb.

stand out from the crowd?? generally it's rarer to not have a tattoo than have one these days
    Not at all- I have quite a broad and varied circle of friends, and none have tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Tattoo on your neck - cheap and tacky?

cheap & tacky doesnt begin to describe it, compare the irish soccer team to rugby team for tattoos, plenty on the soccer lads, none on the rugby lads, i reckon its a class thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    Would you get one done?

Bad tattoos can look cheap and tacky, regardless of where on your body they are. I personally would NOT get a tattoo on my neck.

My 2.

I'd wholeheartedly agree with that. But 90% of folk jump on the bandwagon and don't think of this.

They will be the ones who will regret it in years to come when its "cooler" or more fashionable to not have a tattoo as those folks will be in the small minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Of course I wouldn't.

Do you think if I saw a rough c**t with tats on their necks that I'd go up and tell call them a rough c**t?
    Do you think I'm suicidal?

I'm not a muppet or an internet hardman, so less of the insults please as you don't know me.

I find it ironic you calling me names on the net and then complain about internet hardmen.

Would you walk up to an absoulte stranger on the street and call them a muppet?

I'm just someone who avoids rough c**ts and in my experience people with tats on their necks as I described are exactly that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Unfortunately this seems to be true.

My sister got one on her shoulder about 5 years ago, she now despises it, hates it being on show so never wears strappy tops in the summer.
    Her two sons (early 20s) have them as well and no matter how much she told them they would regret it they went ahead with it.

Not scumbags, just following the herd mentality. I hope in years to come that they will fall out of fashion, and become cheaper to remove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

bamboozle wrote: »
    cheap & tacky doesnt begin to describe it, compare the irish soccer team to rugby team for tattoos, plenty on the soccer lads, none on the rugby lads, i reckon its a class thing.
    Woah woah woah, now im not a tattoo fan myself but are you a better class of person because you play rugby? :confused:

Unfortunately this seems to be true.

My sister got one on her shoulder about 5 years ago, she now despises it, hates it being on show so never wears strappy tops in the summer.
    Her two sons (early 20s) have them as well and no matter how much she told them they would regret it they went ahead with it.

Not scumbags, just following the herd mentality. I hope in years to come that they will fall out of fashion, and become cheaper to remove.

i'd say this story is a snapshot of the reality of 90% of people with tattoo's.

The other 10% are made up of people who are arty farty/rebellious types and love projecting that image of themselves as some kind of a free spirit.

Or folk who lie to themselves.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Of course I wouldn't.

Do you think if I saw a rough c**t with tats on their necks that I'd go up and tell call them a rough c**t?
    Do you think I'm suicidal?

I'm not a muppet or an internet hardman, so less of the insults please as you don't know me.

I find it ironic you calling me names on the net and then complain about internet hardmen.

Would you walk up to an absoulte stranger on the street and call them a muppet?

I'm just someone who avoids rough c**ts and in my experience people with tats on their necks as I described are exactly that.

and u dont know me but that still dident stop u calling me a rough c--t did it,but hold it is it one rule for and another for me,

Woah woah woah, now im not a tattoo fan myself but are you a better class of person because you play rugby? :confused:

im a soccer fan, can't stand rugby at all and all the pretence that surrounds it and all the hype.

But theres a point there in fairness. None of these lads have tattoo's yet you see soccer lads with gastly looking ones.

No doubt the soccer players like to appear tough or fashionable, rather the rugby players are just generally tough f*ckers and don't need a tattoo to project this.

and u dont know me but that still dident stop u calling me a rough c--t did it,but hold it is it one rule for and another for me,
    He didn't call YOU that, he just said he thought people with tattoos were. Personal insults scare some people off, everyone should be allowed to make their point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

bamboozle wrote: »

Really????

I honestly cannot believe some of the tripe being spouted here.

Please explain how playing rugby is more "Classy" than soccer..... or any other sport for that matter. Is there a table I can see which ranks sports by class?