British Driver Chases Hit And Run Driver

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

K4t wrote: »
    Looking forward to seeing the road safety advert with a male driver late for work knocking down an elderly gentleman and ending with him standing behind prison bars.

That wouldn't work anymore consider the amount of sterotypical young male drivers who are out of work, they aren't in a hurry anywhere anymore unless maybe to the Airport emigrating for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Despicable driving. That man was clearly chasing her without his seat belt on.

WindSock wrote: »
    Despicable driving. That man was clearly chasing her without his seat belt on.

And using his mobile whilst driving :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Fcuking disgusting. She clearly knew she had done something because she bolted after it happened and then to be so deadpan when your man was questioning her, make me sick, as far as she knew the guy could have been killed. Fcuking kunting scum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Stinicker wrote: »

(You're allowed to if it's an emergency call!)

Shield wrote: »

I was using sarcasm! shhh or! we might wake the mods and high horse brigade!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

He must have been some tough old dude to take that kind of hit and survive. The amount of elderly people killed on the roads is insane. Whenever the news to that monthly listing of people who die on our roads, it's astonishing how many are over 70.

Oh and .. what a bitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Wow, what a despicable excuse for a human being to do something like that. And then calmly claim not to have seen the guy she just hit with her car?!
    She should have got jail time for what she did and never been allowed drive a motor vehicle ever again, no question.
    Fair play to those guys for the quick action they took.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Stinicker wrote: »
    Shield wrote: »

(Or he possibly could have...)...wait...he possibly could have be using one of those ear clip hands free kits (which is a worse offence in my opinion :p).

Regardless, I'd almost be afraid to show the footage to the authorities in case they tried to prosecute me as well, although I suppose there is no actual evidence of the speed he was doing or how he was speaking on the phone.

Fair play to him anyway. The car being overtaken by the bitch which was alongside the OAP at the time he was hit just continued on as well. :rolleyes:

And it goes to show that really slow drivers can be a contributing factor in causing these situations.

A few things to note about this point though, in case I annoy anyone:
    1) I accept that this isn't really the case here, but I think it can illustrate how it can possibly have such an effect;
    2) This in absolutely no way excuses the bitch and her careless driving;
    3) This would really only be a factor on a road such as a national secondary road, not in a built up area with such a low speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

What a heartless bitch and no jail time for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

She was treated far too lightly for what she did. She ran an elderly man down and fucked off. She blatantly tried to lie to get herself off the hook, utter scum. Should never be let behind a wheel again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The car being overtaken by the bitch which was alongside the OAP at the time he was hit just continued on as well. :rolleyes:

That's assuming that he actually saw it. It seems to me that he was just through the crosswalk at the time, it could well have been in his blind spot even if he happened to be looking in a direction other than the way he was going.
    she would have gotten more if the guy she hit died - but i don't think anyone wants that

I am not a fan of results-based punishment. The offence is hit and run. The intent/recklessness is just as there if the guy is lucky and bounces, or unlucky and dies. Same with a lighter sentence for "attempted murder." The other guy got lucky, or you were incompetent, but your intent was exactly the same, the punishment should be as well.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

lastlaugh wrote: »
    What was that doddery aul lad doing hobbling along the middle of the road in the first place?

It's just a shame for the old lad that he's not a cat in a bin, I guess? There might have been more outrage about this had he been, and this cow would have gotten the public vilification she truly deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 timelessone

''SOD THE BLOODY WORK!!!''

Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Jesus H christ, what a b!tch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I wonder did she make it into work in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

It's when you see things like this you wonder why there are laws at all. How in the name of God did that woman not get locked up for that sort of behaviour. Disgusting.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Sweet Jesus!!!!

I know there was a warning stating footage shows man being knocked down, but my heart skipped a few beats when it happened.

Fair play to yer man for chasing her down.

Lucky there was two of them in the car so the other guy could get out and check how the old man was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

what a fúcking bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Paully D wrote: »
    The elderly gentleman survived and had cuts under chin and was badly bruised, her excuse was she was late for work. No news reports were made, and she got away lightly with a 2 year suspended, 200 hours community service, 2 year ban and had to pay the victim £500 compensation.

Do you have a link for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

My god what a bitch. Fair play to the lad for giving chase, she'd likely have gotten away with it otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Imagine if someone hadn't pulled her up on it, she'd have gone into work and been downing cappucinos in the cafeteria without batting an eyelid. Utter sociopath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Lemsiper wrote: »
    what a fúcking bitch.

ECHO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Imagine if someone hadn't pulled her up on it, she'd have gone into work and been downing cappucinos in the cafeteria without batting an eyelid. Utter sociopath.

"did someone come out underneath me"...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

<tin foil hat time>

What I'm thinking now is would she have driven the same way if the guys weren't following her?

She was obviously trying to get away from them (one reason for the dangerous overtaking?). I'm not saying it's their fault, but it's quite suss that they were 1) following her 2) had a camera on her and 3) the audio of the phone call for the police is muted (was there ever a call?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

You think that the knocking down of the man was an elaborate setup?

They had a camera mounted on the dashboard. This is more common than some would believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

I am not a fan of results-based punishment. The offence is hit and run. The intent/recklessness is just as there if the guy is lucky and bounces, or unlucky and dies. Same with a lighter sentence for "attempted murder." The other guy got lucky, or you were incompetent, but your intent was exactly the same, the punishment should be as well.

NTM
    That seems like a sensible way to look at things. But them isn't the rules for some reason. In law at any rate. If I got monkey drunk and went driving after, I would be dealt with far more harshly if I crashed and killed someone that I would be if I just crashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Eh just a warning althought I'm sure its too late but the website in the OP tried to open some file called 'ads' when I opened the link.
    Minstrel27 wrote: »
    You think that the knocking down of the man was an elaborate setup?

They had a camera mounted on the dashboard. This is more common than some would believe.

To be honest I have my doubts about this video.
    a) There's an add posted in the video in the form of some text stating the camera make or something

b) Why did they give chase ?
    There are these things called licence plates that can be used to trace the owner. They had video. All they had to do was phone the cops and report the plate number and the direction she was heading. The chase was totally unnecessary.

c) the passenger sounded really unconvincing when they old man was hit with his 'ohhh.....ohhhhhhhhh'. Sounded fake.

This seems like some sort of viral ad to me.

Has anyone found any kind of news story link to this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Eh just a warning althought I'm sure its too late but the website in the OP tried to open some file called 'ads' when I opened the link.

To be honest I have my doubts about this video.
    a) There's an add posted in the video in the form of some text stating the camera make or something

b) Why did they give chase ?
    There are these things called licence plates that can be used to trace the owner. They had video. All they had to do was phone the cops and report the plate number and the direction she was heading. The chase was totally unnecessary.

c) the passenger sounded really unconvincing when they old man was hit with his 'ohhh.....ohhhhhhhhh'. Sounded fake.

This seems like some sort of viral ad to me.

Has anyone found any kind of news story link to this ?

Ehhh ? Looks too me like he got knocked now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

msg11 wrote: »
    Ehhh ? Looks too me like he got knocked now..

There are these people called stuntmen you know. do things like get knocked down for a living.

Alls I'm saying is I have my doubts without some sort of independent verification of the story. Looks way too much like a viral ad to me.