Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Driver Chases Hit And Run Driver

• 12-07-2011 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

** Warning - footage shows man being knocked down **

http://www.break.com/index/british-driver-chases-hit-and-run-driver-2081144

A man sees a woman driving dangerously and decides to follow her. She ends up knocking an elderly man down and flees the scene. The man chases her, calls the police and blocks her in until the police get to her.

Further to this the man recording the footage added:

“The elderly gentleman survived and had cuts under chin and was badly bruised, her excuse was she was late for work. No news reports were made, and she got away lightly with a 2 year suspended, 200 hours community service, 2 year ban and had to pay the victim £500 compensation.”

Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

A woman behind the wheel? God, those Brits take it too far sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

what a fucking bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

What a fúcking bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I can't believe that, that is totally outrageous!

What was that doddery aul lad doing hobbling along the middle of the road in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

What a bitch, seems like a complete sociopath!!
    I admire what the guys did, but at the speed they were going to catch up with her they could have hit someone themselves. Still, they probably weren't thinking about that in the moment.

I still can't believe someone could do what she did. Such a disregard for another person. I hope she was fired for being late on top of the punishment from the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

That man really kept his cool, in both his driving and how he dealt with her. Fair play. Pity the judiciary were so ****ing lenient.

Nice to know that there are decent people out there. Lets not forget the guy who hopped out to look after the victim too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Is she hot......

Seriously though what a ****ing scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Xivilai wrote: »
    Is she hot......

She will be, when she lands in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

She was probably putting on her make up and never saw him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

There isn`t enough make up in the world to fix that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

FatherLen wrote: »
    what a fucking bitch
    What a fúcking bitch.
    What a bitch

Once... twice... three times a... bitch, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭stevejazzx

2 year suspended sentence? what? surely that's jail time wft? she's insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

She didnt even make any attempt to stop just before she hit the old man. Shame she got off so lightly though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭elmer

she would have gotten more if the guy she hit died - but i don't think anyone wants that. here's hoping we never hear about her again :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Once... twice... three times a... bitch, I suppose.

You can add this to your tally - what an absolute nut bitch that bucket of scum is. A life driving ban and at least 5 years in jail is the minimum she should have got. The man bounced off her car and she never saw a thing, an absolute lying kunt to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

No matter how little attention she was paying to her surroundings, there's no way she could have missed someone walking out onto the road let alone the sound of someone being hit by a car.

That animal deserves time behind bars, fair play to your man for following her. If I was driving like that I'd expect a 2-3 ban at minimum, if I knocked someone over and fled the scene, continually denied it even when evidence of damage is there I'd expect 3-5 years behind bars. She shouldn't be able to ever sit in a drivers seat again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Watched the vid there, fairly mad stuff, fair play to the lads videoing it calling the cops, but I'm still trying to figure out why they had a camera on the dashboard in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

elmer wrote: »
    she would have gotten more if the guy she hit died - but i don't think anyone wants that. here's hoping we never hear about her again :/

She was probably putting on her mascara when she flattened the oap.

I journey to work each day on the bus travelling down the N4, as I look out the window it's bonkers how many females I see applying makeup to their faces driving at full pelt!

WTF is wrong with these folk? not sure if there's ever been any telly adverts about women non safely driving while putting make up on but I know there's been some with men looking out the window at hot chick's asses then crashing.

System seems a bit fooked up and one sided tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

500 points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Wow, just wow.

How can you not know you hit someone or even came close to it?

Jesus if I ran over a rabbit I'd feel it even when I'm driving a jeep

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I couldn't get that other website on fullscreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Realistically, it should recieve a 10 year ban at the least for such ridiculously dangerous driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You can add this to your tally - what an absolute nut bitch that bucket of scum is. A life driving ban and at least 5 years in jail is the minimum she should have got. The man bounced off her car and she never saw a thing, an absolute lying kunt to boot.

Will do.

*scribbles furiously*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭feelpablo

Watched the vid there, fairly mad stuff, fair play to the lads videoing it calling the cops, but I'm still trying to figure out why they had a camera on the dashboard in the first place.

Seems to be a customs vehicle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

that guy is blessed, she was doing at least 50mph/80k how he didnt hit the front of the car after impact I dont know :confused:
    lucky man, well you know what I mean.
    fuckin loon she is :mad::mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Can't believe she didn't get a custodial sentence for that. We have to put up with this kind of soft sentencing every day from judges. It's frustrating beyond belief. What makes it even more frustrating is very few people who have been banned from driving actually abide by the judgment.

This happens ALL the time. Unfortunately the media are only interested when a life has been lost. This kind of stuff wouldn't be considered newsworthy enough to make it to print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭greenybaby

seen this a few days ago alright, imo dash cams should be in every car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

A lot of people are actually installing them now because of the amount of people putting in false claims against them etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Looking forward to seeing the road safety advert with a male driver late for work knocking down an elderly gentleman and ending with him standing behind prison bars.

K4t wrote: »
    Looking forward to seeing the road safety advert with a male driver late for work knocking down an elderly gentleman and ending with him standing behind prison bars.

That wouldn't work anymore consider the amount of sterotypical young male drivers who are out of work, they aren't in a hurry anywhere anymore unless maybe to the Airport emigrating for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Despicable driving. That man was clearly chasing her without his seat belt on.

WindSock wrote: »
    Despicable driving. That man was clearly chasing her without his seat belt on.

And using his mobile whilst driving :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Fcuking disgusting. She clearly knew she had done something because she bolted after it happened and then to be so deadpan when your man was questioning her, make me sick, as far as she knew the guy could have been killed. Fcuking kunting scum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Stinicker wrote: »

(You're allowed to if it's an emergency call!)

Shield wrote: »

I was using sarcasm! shhh or! we might wake the mods and high horse brigade!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

He must have been some tough old dude to take that kind of hit and survive. The amount of elderly people killed on the roads is insane. Whenever the news to that monthly listing of people who die on our roads, it's astonishing how many are over 70.

Oh and .. what a bitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Wow, what a despicable excuse for a human being to do something like that. And then calmly claim not to have seen the guy she just hit with her car?!
    She should have got jail time for what she did and never been allowed drive a motor vehicle ever again, no question.
    Fair play to those guys for the quick action they took.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Stinicker wrote: »
    Shield wrote: »

(Or he possibly could have...)...wait...he possibly could have be using one of those ear clip hands free kits (which is a worse offence in my opinion :p).

Regardless, I'd almost be afraid to show the footage to the authorities in case they tried to prosecute me as well, although I suppose there is no actual evidence of the speed he was doing or how he was speaking on the phone.

Fair play to him anyway. The car being overtaken by the bitch which was alongside the OAP at the time he was hit just continued on as well. :rolleyes:

And it goes to show that really slow drivers can be a contributing factor in causing these situations.

A few things to note about this point though, in case I annoy anyone:
    1) I accept that this isn't really the case here, but I think it can illustrate how it can possibly have such an effect;
    2) This in absolutely no way excuses the bitch and her careless driving;
    3) This would really only be a factor on a road such as a national secondary road, not in a built up area with such a low speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

What a heartless bitch and no jail time for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

She was treated far too lightly for what she did. She ran an elderly man down and fucked off. She blatantly tried to lie to get herself off the hook, utter scum. Should never be let behind a wheel again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The car being overtaken by the bitch which was alongside the OAP at the time he was hit just continued on as well. :rolleyes:

That's assuming that he actually saw it. It seems to me that he was just through the crosswalk at the time, it could well have been in his blind spot even if he happened to be looking in a direction other than the way he was going.
    she would have gotten more if the guy she hit died - but i don't think anyone wants that

I am not a fan of results-based punishment. The offence is hit and run. The intent/recklessness is just as there if the guy is lucky and bounces, or unlucky and dies. Same with a lighter sentence for "attempted murder." The other guy got lucky, or you were incompetent, but your intent was exactly the same, the punishment should be as well.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

lastlaugh wrote: »
    What was that doddery aul lad doing hobbling along the middle of the road in the first place?

It's just a shame for the old lad that he's not a cat in a bin, I guess? There might have been more outrage about this had he been, and this cow would have gotten the public vilification she truly deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 timelessone

''SOD THE BLOODY WORK!!!''

Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Jesus H christ, what a b!tch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I wonder did she make it into work in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

It's when you see things like this you wonder why there are laws at all. How in the name of God did that woman not get locked up for that sort of behaviour. Disgusting.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Sweet Jesus!!!!

I know there was a warning stating footage shows man being knocked down, but my heart skipped a few beats when it happened.

Fair play to yer man for chasing her down.

Lucky there was two of them in the car so the other guy could get out and check how the old man was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

what a fúcking bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Paully D wrote: »
    The elderly gentleman survived and had cuts under chin and was badly bruised, her excuse was she was late for work. No news reports were made, and she got away lightly with a 2 year suspended, 200 hours community service, 2 year ban and had to pay the victim £500 compensation.

Do you have a link for this?