bad driving

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

stovelid wrote: »
    So you would overtake on said road?

Have done so when I was younger, now I'm not too pushed to over-take every tom, john and mick driving their '93 Carina covered in cow shìt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yakult wrote: »
    Have done so when I was younger, now I'm not too pushed to over-take every tom, john and mick driving their '93 Carina covered in cow shìt.

It must get quite tiring doing a judgemental inventory check of every car you pass on the road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

sandra06 wrote: »
    need some advise here ,was driving other week with kids in car about 11pm ,coming into my estate turned right and a guy passed me out on a corner ,he was driving v fast ,i was not happy with this so i followed him and told him his could have caused a bad accident,he called me every name under the sun ,told me i was driving to slow ,i was doing the speed limit ,then he said he kill me ,i went away and rang the guards ,a few days later a guard called to my home,saying he spoke to the other driver who admitted to careless driving ,but said i only followed him because i was racist he polish,the guard said how would i know till i spoke to him ,anyway the guard said he said sorry for his driving ,the guard also said the man was v rude about me and v nasty to him ,guard has asked me to make a statement so he can bring him to court on charges if i go to court they can do a lot more with him (bigger fine and points on licence)would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

Absolutely.

Hang the cnut.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

stovelid wrote: »
    It must get quite tiring doing a judgemental inventory check of every car you pass on the road?

Am I not allowed to observe when driving now? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I wouldnt, but some people will and imo the slow driver has to take some of the blame. I'm talking about peope driving below the speed limit when there is no need to not people who the overtaker decides is driving too slow.

It drives me absolutely insane getting caught behind slow drivers and while I wont overtake on a corner I would certainly drive faster and more aggressively in order to get passed and to make up time after being held up.

Maybe people have a legitimate reason to be driving slowly, you have no idea what is going on in the slow moving car.

The roads would be so much safer with people who are driving below the speed limit and keeping with in their own comfort zone rather than people who drive faster and more aggressively in order to get passed and to make up time.

Back to the ops question if he was Rude and nasty to the cop then he sounds like he needs a lesson but maybe pooing on your own doorstep is not the way forward. Karma has a way of catching up with people like this and you can be sure his card has been well and truly marked with the local law men (and women).

It might be advisable not to be going after guys like this ya never know what nutter is driving or what trauma they have just gone through, report it and move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

RustyNut wrote: »
    Maybe people have a legitimate reason to be driving slowly, you have no idea what is going on in the slow moving car.

The roads would be so much safer if there was no trafic at all

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

wolf moon wrote: »
    FYP

Why don't you build your own private road? You seem to think the public ones should be focused on you alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Why don't you build your own private road? You seem to think the public ones should be focused on you alone.

Same should apply to the sleepy heads/mobile using drivers/mothers driving while kids-dogs-cats raging in the car/dying, blind grannies/dopey ladies doing makeup on traffic lights/drivers scared of driving/ etc.

Give me a fkin break, I've been driving 15 years with no accident in 4 different countries and never seen muppetry like here.

Thats all from me in moto trolling thread of AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

hi i was not driving to slow i had stopped to turn right into the estate ,turned into estate and thats when he passed me ,there was a corner there he could not see anything ,in the estate where i live there is children everywhere there been prob with drivers speeding all the time,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

That changes the situation very much.

Was it your hubby who asked you to pursue the guy or was it your own decision?
    my own decision

said i only followed him because i was racist he polish:

Maybe he meant you were racing and he was in pole :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

hi i was not driving to slow i had stopped to turn right into the estate ,turned into estate and thats when he passed me ,there was a corner there he could not see anything ,in the estate where i live there is children everywhere there been prob with drivers speeding all the time,

will you please stop bringing up children , it was 11pm at night and isnt helping your argument in any way, its idiotic to use this as a debating point.

at the start i would have said you were entirely in the right about him being dangerously driving, but judging by your posts ive met people like you before and I would say you were probably driving slowly before getting to the estate, this other driver was probably trying to pass you out for quite some time and everyone just has a certain point where they decide enough is enough , if you truly thought his driving was dangerous , calling the gards would have been enough , there was no need to go over to him , thats just wasting more of his time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

ok, so it's pretty easy to see that you're the Polish person that was originally driving.
    You English is crap so it's easy to see.
    You were the one driving dangerously and this other person caught up with you & called the cops and now you're ****ting yourself coz you might go to court.
    Just coz you can drive like lunatics back in Poland ( & ye do) doesn't mean you'll get away with it in Ireland. Tough **** and from now on drive carefully, Jesus, you had your kids in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

need some advise here ,was driving other week with kids in car about 11pm ,coming into my estate turned right and a guy passed me out on a corner ,he was driving v fast ,i was not happy with this so i followed him and told him his could have caused a bad accident,he called me every name under the sun ,told me i was driving to slow ,i was doing the speed limit ,then he said he kill me ,i went away and rang the guards ,a few days later a guard called to my home,saying he spoke to the other driver who admitted to careless driving ,but said i only followed him because i was racist he polish,the guard said how would i know till i spoke to him ,anyway the guard said he said sorry for his driving ,the guard also said the man was v rude about me and v nasty to him ,guard has asked me to make a statement so he can bring him to court on charges if i go to court they can do a lot more with him (bigger fine and points on licence)would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

Be janey your kids were up late weren't they. You do realise that what you did is classed as "road rage"? I'm not condoning what the guy did at all, but you shouldn't have gone after him like that to remonstrate. All too often you see people that get mouthy with other drivers end up getting a good smack in the gob for themselves. You should have rang the guards.

Either way you won't bring him to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

defo, those foreigners cant drive, i was backing my car into a spot today and this idiot started backing his pile of crap out in front of mine. He was about to ram me , and his dummy wife was looking out the back. And they were foreigners in case u ask how do i know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

tonydude wrote: »
    defo, those foreigners cant drive, i was backing my car into a spot today and this idiot started backing his pile of crap out in front of mine. He was about to ram me , and his dummy wife was looking out the back. And they were foreigners in case u ask how do i know

What part of foreign was he from?

And they were foreigners in case u ask how do i know

Ok I'll take the bait, how do you know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

RustyNut wrote: »
    Ok I'll take the bait, how do you know ?

foreign accent and foreign licences plate gave it away,

Now I know how you know thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 michaelAM

I did my driving test about 2 years ago and I was warned that driving more than 10% under the speed limit results in a fail. So I guess it is just as bad to drive under the speed limit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

In defence of slow drivers, I just drove back from Tesco and did the last mile or two to my house at about 20 miles an hour because I Am The Resurrection came on and I wanted to hear (and mime with one hand) the guitar solo near the end before I reached the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

If it bothered you enough to follow the guy, and ring the Gardai then yes.

I hear a few stories now and then of people giving out about the cops and when pressed they come out with "oh yeah, they wanted us to make a statement but we really didn't want the hassle".

Then why call?

Plus it gives the *insert preferred colourfull phrase for scumbags*a feeling that they got away with it, and gives them extra courage to go on and do it and worse again.

It's up to you in the end, court can be daunting, but, "start as you mean to go on".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

of course you should go for it, he over took you on a bend ffs,
    and never mind the fact your kids were in the car, you or your husband could have been seriously hurt, or worse. if he had to swerve to avoid a car or a person.

and the fact he pulling the racist card is boll*x.
    :rolleyes:like you said, who the hell would you know he was polish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Yes, of course. Bad driving is dangerous and unacceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

booboo88 wrote: »
    of course you should go for it, he over took you on a bend ffs,
    Yeah, that's pretty much it. Overtaking on a corner, hand in your licence and get the fcuk out of my sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fando

Btw, what's the purpose of those "children on board" stickers anyway? Should they force you to drive more carefully or something? Seems odd for me. I am driving with the same respect for any living being around, no matter young or old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

fando wrote: »
    Btw, what's the purpose of those "children on board" stickers anyway? Should they force you to drive more carefully or something? Seems odd for me. I am driving with the same respect for any living being around, no matter young or old.

theres already a long thread on same subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If he called you names and threatened to kill you, go to court. Not to teach him a valuable lesson and prevent him from causing an accident in the future, but to be vindictive. Revenge is really satisfying.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It isn't Prawo Jazdy is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

Yes I would. I've had simmilar situation like yours, just some idiot drove fast from minor road -his car was half way on my road and I had to break harsh and still drive around him, then he was behind me I stopped went out and went to talk to him -he was very agressive and at some point I thought he will punch me or something. He was polish like me and I HATE those di..heads in their BMW/VW driving like mad where small kids are playing etc!!! Every time I am sorry no guards are around and they dont do anything about it!:mad: