Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bad driving

• 20-08-2011 3:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭

need some advise here ,was driving other week with kids in car about 11pm ,coming into my estate turned right and a guy passed me out on a corner ,he was driving v fast ,i was not happy with this so i followed him and told him his could have caused a bad accident,he called me every name under the sun ,told me i was driving to slow ,i was doing the speed limit ,then he said he kill me ,i went away and rang the guards ,a few days later a guard called to my home,saying he spoke to the other driver who admitted to careless driving ,but said i only followed him because i was racist he polish,the guard said how would i know till i spoke to him ,anyway the guard said he said sorry for his driving ,the guard also said the man was v rude about me and v nasty to him ,guard has asked me to make a statement so he can bring him to court on charges if i go to court they can do a lot more with him (bigger fine and points on licence)would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Yes.

At least the Gard gave a ****e. I wish more people would be apprehended for driving like maniacs on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

sandra06 wrote: »
    then he said he kill me ,

+

would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

= Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

this other driver lives quite near me ,forgot to say my hubby was with me ,guard wants him as a witness to ,he no prob doing that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Simple answer.

Go for it

this other driver lives quite near me ,forgot to say my hubby was with me ,guard wants him as a witness to ,he no prob doing that

That changes the situation very much.

Was it your hubby who asked you to pursue the guy or was it your own decision?

how does it change it? The fella already admitted it to the cops.

seanybiker wrote: »
    how does it change it? The fella already admitted it to the cops.

It changes if he knows where she lives because he can bring trouble after the fact.

If he's evil enough he can make her life hell so that has to be considered.

Also, he could do something and then go back home and leave his trouble behind. OP doesn't have this luxury AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

while he shouldnt have said he was going to kill you that was going too far, but in all fairness if anyone came down to comment on my driving or anything else id throw a few names in at them, you should have just reported the driving if it was that bad.

also bringing 'with kids in the car' into the argument is poor form imo , makes it look like a lazy argument your trying to get more impact out of .

Yeah suppose so. Wouldn't bother me but I know all me neighbours so I'm lucky that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

are you mad! no he has got the message and been visited by the cops, you have nothing to gain and everything to lose here! if he was some randomer ok, but he lives very close to you and could create lots of indirect hassle in the future

Id leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Yes.

At least the Gard gave a ****e. I wish more people would be apprehended for driving like maniacs on the road.

The comments quoted below are the reason more people aren't apprehended for driving like idiots. People automatically decide that it's not worth the hassle to go to court and tell their story. Unfortunately with something like dangerous driving, Gardai can't do much of anything without a witness who will cooperate, give a statement and go to court. The reason for this is the Garda cannot testify to the way the guy was driving as the Garda wasn't there.

The more people the give statements and testify, the more people will be prosecuted for driving like tits and maybe the driving habits in this country will change, and the roads will be a little bit safer.
    It changes if he knows where she lives because he can bring trouble after the fact.

Also, he could do something and then go back home and leave his trouble behind. OP doesn't have this luxury AFAIK.
    Saila wrote: »
    are you mad! no he has got the message and been visited by the cops, you have nothing to gain and everything to lose here! if he was some randomer ok, but he lives very close to you and could create lots of indirect hassle in the future

Id leave it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

i followed him and told him his could have caused a bad accident
    I'm assuming you were very polite and weren't giving out to the lad?
    I'm also assuming you weren't driving like one of those lunatics out there taking 2 lanes, doing 5km/h and all happy chatting away with your best friend about last night's dinner with your ma, thinking in the back of your mind that tis all grand because slower=safer?

Also if you do follow randomers be prepared for whatever you may get, it's your own choice. He said he'll kill you - someone else may really kill you some day. Consider that.

Go to court? I'm assuming you can prove your accusations - otherwise I wouldn't bother. As for the cops - as long as it wasn't official and written down and signed he can say anything he wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

If he tries anything it will just mean more interviews with the guards for him, and no going back to Poland doesn't mean you can get away with crimes.

Definetely go to court op, it might be a bit stressful but that sort of behaviour can't be tolerated, what if he runs down a child the next time he's pretending public roads are his private racecourse?

I would also suggest moving this to Motors or Legal Discussion, posting this in AH with the few key words smells to me like a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

wolf moon wrote: »
    I'm assuming you were very polite and weren't giving out to the lad?
    I'm also assuming you weren't driving like one of those lunatics out there taking 2 lanes, doing 5km/h and all happy chatting away with your best friend about last night's dinner with your ma, thinking in the back of your mind that tis all grand because slower=safer?

Also if you do follow randomers be prepared for whatever you may get, it's your own choice. He said he'll kill you - someone else may really kill you some day. Consider that.

Go to court? I'm assuming you can prove your accusations - otherwise I wouldn't bother. As for the cops - as long as it wasn't official and written down and signed he can say anything he wants.

Slower does equal safer

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I'd take it further. He might end up killing a innocent person/s some day with he's careless driving, needs to be taught a lesson that he'll hopefully learn.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Slower does equal safer
    Why to move at all?

You haven't spent many years behind the wheel, have you?

Edit:

Recently was driving back home, there was that car doing 30km/h on 60km/h speed limit, huge tail of cars, drivers very stressed however couldn't overtake the b*tch cause she was driving 2 lanes left-right-left-right, etc, etc. Eventually managed to do so and turns out that she was on a mobile phone laughing away, didn't give a sh!t what's happening behind. IMO she should have have the licence taken off her for a year at least.

So no, slower does not mean safer. It's an utter bollox and if you think otherwise there are a few threads about it on Motors.

Why to move at all?

You haven't spent many years behind the wheel, have you?

You sound like one of those people who thinks that a slow driver "forces" you to overtake them dangerously.

No I think that if you wanna sleep you should do it at home not on the road.

While they might not force you they certainly have to shoulder some of the blame as if they were not driving stupidly slow (or else pulled aside) they would not need to be overtaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If somebody drives like a cunt, they need telling.

And if they go around threatening to kill people (probably only women, by the sounds of it) they might just deserve what they get too.

While they might not force you they certainly have to shoulder some of the blame as if they were not driving stupidly slow (or else pulled aside) they would not need to be overtaken.
    Would you overtake a slow driver on a corner?

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Would you overtake a slow driver on a corner?

I wouldnt, but some people will and imo the slow driver has to take some of the blame. I'm talking about peope driving below the speed limit when there is no need to not people who the overtaker decides is driving too slow.

It drives me absolutely insane getting caught behind slow drivers and while I wont overtake on a corner I would certainly drive faster and more aggressively in order to get passed and to make up time after being held up.

Everybody usually downplays or even lies about their driving on the net too so:

I was driving at the speed limit: I was driving at 10 MPH under it

I drive as the road allows: no matter what the road is like, I drive like a mad cunt.

I wouldn't overtake on a corner if some biddy was crawling along in front of me: fucking right I would

Speed doesn't kill, bad drivers do: I drive at least double the given speed limit

I would make my displeasure known to the slow driver: I would act the cunt by driving two inches away from their bumper to get home for my dinner 4 and half minutes earlier

I told the slow driver I would kill them for complaining: the driver was a woman with small kids so no worries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

I wouldnt, but some people will and imo the slow driver has to take some of the blame. I'm talking about peope driving below the speed limit when there is no need to not people who the overtaker decides is driving too slow.

It drives me absolutely insane getting caught behind slow drivers and while I wont overtake on a corner I would certainly drive faster and more aggressively in order to get passed and to make up time after being held up.

I think its incredibly ignorant when a person in front is dictating the pace that you and the 10 cars behind can drive at.

I wouldnt
    So you agree that no matter how slowly the op was driving, the other driver was acting extremely dangerously, and in fact this would probably support that the op was not driving slowly at all - regardless of their speed, the other driver was intent on going faster even if that put himself and other road users in serious danger, treating public roads as his own personal race track?

If you have no patience and get worked up so easily you shouldn't be driving. Not everyone aims to drive exactly on the speed limit you know. Seriously, is the extra ten minutes on the road going to make that much of a difference to your life?

10kph under the speed limit, I can tolerate. Anything lower, you become a nuisance to many drivers. Of course, I will always wait for a safe stretch to over-take but sometimes you don't have that opportunity, especially in the country side.

Oh and most of these "slow" drivers will hit the brakes every small turn or bump and when a car is approaching, despite them driving slow as snails in the first place. Now that wrecks my head more.

Yakult wrote: »
    10kph under the speed limit, I can tolerate. Anything lower, you become a nuisance to many drivers. Of course, I will always wait for a safe stretch to over-take but sometimes you don't have that opportunity, especially in the country side.

So you would overtake on said road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I'd be careful op.

*quick check to make sure this is AH*

Him living close by and being Polish.. your swans could be eaten if you go any further with this... :eek:

stovelid wrote: »
    So you would overtake on said road?

Have done so when I was younger, now I'm not too pushed to over-take every tom, john and mick driving their '93 Carina covered in cow shìt.

Yakult wrote: »
    Have done so when I was younger, now I'm not too pushed to over-take every tom, john and mick driving their '93 Carina covered in cow shìt.

It must get quite tiring doing a judgemental inventory check of every car you pass on the road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

need some advise here ,was driving other week with kids in car about 11pm ,coming into my estate turned right and a guy passed me out on a corner ,he was driving v fast ,i was not happy with this so i followed him and told him his could have caused a bad accident,he called me every name under the sun ,told me i was driving to slow ,i was doing the speed limit ,then he said he kill me ,i went away and rang the guards ,a few days later a guard called to my home,saying he spoke to the other driver who admitted to careless driving ,but said i only followed him because i was racist he polish,the guard said how would i know till i spoke to him ,anyway the guard said he said sorry for his driving ,the guard also said the man was v rude about me and v nasty to him ,guard has asked me to make a statement so he can bring him to court on charges if i go to court they can do a lot more with him (bigger fine and points on licence)would u go to court if u were me?:confused:

Absolutely.

Hang the cnut.

stovelid wrote: »
    It must get quite tiring doing a judgemental inventory check of every car you pass on the road?

Am I not allowed to observe when driving now? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Maybe people have a legitimate reason to be driving slowly, you have no idea what is going on in the slow moving car.

The roads would be so much safer with people who are driving below the speed limit and keeping with in their own comfort zone rather than people who drive faster and more aggressively in order to get passed and to make up time.

Back to the ops question if he was Rude and nasty to the cop then he sounds like he needs a lesson but maybe pooing on your own doorstep is not the way forward. Karma has a way of catching up with people like this and you can be sure his card has been well and truly marked with the local law men (and women).

It might be advisable not to be going after guys like this ya never know what nutter is driving or what trauma they have just gone through, report it and move on.

RustyNut wrote: »
    Maybe people have a legitimate reason to be driving slowly, you have no idea what is going on in the slow moving car.

The roads would be so much safer if there was no trafic at all

FYP

FYP

Why don't you build your own private road? You seem to think the public ones should be focused on you alone.

Same should apply to the sleepy heads/mobile using drivers/mothers driving while kids-dogs-cats raging in the car/dying, blind grannies/dopey ladies doing makeup on traffic lights/drivers scared of driving/ etc.

Give me a fkin break, I've been driving 15 years with no accident in 4 different countries and never seen muppetry like here.

Thats all from me in moto trolling thread of AH.

hi i was not driving to slow i had stopped to turn right into the estate ,turned into estate and thats when he passed me ,there was a corner there he could not see anything ,in the estate where i live there is children everywhere there been prob with drivers speeding all the time,

my own decision

said i only followed him because i was racist he polish:

Maybe he meant you were racing and he was in pole :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

hi i was not driving to slow i had stopped to turn right into the estate ,turned into estate and thats when he passed me ,there was a corner there he could not see anything ,in the estate where i live there is children everywhere there been prob with drivers speeding all the time,

will you please stop bringing up children , it was 11pm at night and isnt helping your argument in any way, its idiotic to use this as a debating point.

at the start i would have said you were entirely in the right about him being dangerously driving, but judging by your posts ive met people like you before and I would say you were probably driving slowly before getting to the estate, this other driver was probably trying to pass you out for quite some time and everyone just has a certain point where they decide enough is enough , if you truly thought his driving was dangerous , calling the gards would have been enough , there was no need to go over to him , thats just wasting more of his time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

ok, so it's pretty easy to see that you're the Polish person that was originally driving.
    You English is crap so it's easy to see.
    You were the one driving dangerously and this other person caught up with you & called the cops and now you're ****ting yourself coz you might go to court.
    Just coz you can drive like lunatics back in Poland ( & ye do) doesn't mean you'll get away with it in Ireland. Tough **** and from now on drive carefully, Jesus, you had your kids in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Be janey your kids were up late weren't they. You do realise that what you did is classed as "road rage"? I'm not condoning what the guy did at all, but you shouldn't have gone after him like that to remonstrate. All too often you see people that get mouthy with other drivers end up getting a good smack in the gob for themselves. You should have rang the guards.

Either way you won't bring him to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

defo, those foreigners cant drive, i was backing my car into a spot today and this idiot started backing his pile of crap out in front of mine. He was about to ram me , and his dummy wife was looking out the back. And they were foreigners in case u ask how do i know

tonydude wrote: »
    defo, those foreigners cant drive, i was backing my car into a spot today and this idiot started backing his pile of crap out in front of mine. He was about to ram me , and his dummy wife was looking out the back. And they were foreigners in case u ask how do i know

What part of foreign was he from?

And they were foreigners in case u ask how do i know

Ok I'll take the bait, how do you know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

RustyNut wrote: »
    Ok I'll take the bait, how do you know ?

foreign accent and foreign licences plate gave it away,

Now I know how you know thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 michaelAM

I did my driving test about 2 years ago and I was warned that driving more than 10% under the speed limit results in a fail. So I guess it is just as bad to drive under the speed limit!