rings mum whilst being eaten by bear ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭papu

Horrible Story , I personally wouldnt have called mom , or atleast wudnt have stayed on the phone like that.

Perhaps the father should have had a gun or something if bears were a threat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

The real tragedy is that she didn't have numbers of some of the lads on here who know exactly what she should have done.

Mods - why can a poster be instantly banned for making a joke about a celebrity who dies of self induced natural causes, yet its ok to have good laugh about a young unknown girl who dies a horrifically slow and agonising death?

If she was a celeb, it would RIP's all round and mod warning on page 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

The real tragedy is that she didn't have numbers of some of the lads on here who know exactly what she should have done.

Mods - why can a poster be instantly banned for making a joke about a celebrity who dies of self induced natural causes, yet its ok to have good laugh about a young unknown girl who dies a horrifically slow and agonising death?

If she was a celeb, it would RIP's all round and mod warning on page 1.

I can't give a full answer to this.

Celebs tend to sue and write angry letters. We try to pre-empt anything legal coming our way with celebs. They tend to be the most trigger happy.

Regular Joes do send emails/letters in asking for threads to removed or comments edited or deleted. The validity of those is assessed and appropriate action is taken.

We can't filter everything for everyone on both sides, but we can't allow it be a free for all.
    Right now this what works best.

Sorry if that doesn't fully answer your question, one of the other guys will prob swing by later and give a better response to your question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

What a horrific way to die, poor girl must have been terrified.

Having said that, ringing her mother was not a good idea. Imagine being the poor woman having to listen to that, I'm sure she'll hear it every day for the rest of her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Normal people ain't got the power to demand people policing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Should have hopped the phone off the bears head several times-chatting on phone while been eating is ridiculis to say the least!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Stupid. She should have phoned the police, not her ma!

What would you do while been ate alive by a wild animal beside defecate on yourself...?
    craggles wrote: »
    Idiot, should have played dead

Who are you to comment? Are you some sort of authority on the subject? Highly doubt it.
    MiNdGaM3 wrote: »
    So she was a trainee psychologist and had just graduated from music school at the young age of 19... interesting...

What's strange about this exactly?
    Sonics2k wrote: »
    Honestly, if this happened to someone I know.

I'd probably make the exact same puns, as well as call em feckin eejits for being in such a place.

No you wouldn't...

Rabies wrote: »
    I can't give a full answer to this.

Celebs tend to sue and write angry letters. We try to pre-empt anything legal coming our way with celebs. They tend to be the most trigger happy.

Regular Joes do send emails/letters in asking for threads to removed or comments edited or deleted. The validity of those is assessed and appropriate action is taken.

We can't filter everything for everyone on both sides, but we can't allow it be a free for all.
    Right now this what works best.

Sorry if that doesn't fully answer your question, one of the other guys will prob swing by later and give a better response to your question.

Dead celebs sue??? :eek:
    cowzerp wrote: »
    Should have hopped the phone off the bears head several times-chatting on phone while been eating is ridiculis to say the least!

I like how you try to use the word "chatting" to make it sound as if the daughter phoned her mother to hear all the gossip of the past days. Maybe if you were there you could have karate chopped the crap out of the bear and the three cubs. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Never. Answering. Phone. Again.

Ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭MiNdGaM3

What's strange about this exactly?

Seems like an awful lot to have accomplished at such a young age. Even just making it to be a trainee psychologist would take years of study.
    While it's a terrible story, a tragedy and all that, something about it just doesn't seem right to me. That's all.

Besides, they out in the wilderness, where there are bears roaming and hungry, they didn't take the required precautions and were killed by, surprise surprise, a hungry bear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

They should have taken better precautions.

Also, why do they automatically set up a hunting party to go after the bears and kill them? It was a mother bear trying to feed her hungry cubs, and these people were in her territory.

The bears should not be killed. Its tragic and all but its ridiculous to head off and get revenge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

LighterGuy wrote: »
    you people should be FU*KING ashamed of yourselves. To make a joke about a persons death can be seen as bad enough. But such a horrific story as this!? ... you're fu*king animals hiding behind your keyboards thinking "a great old laugh"

I dont know why mods dont ban these users. I can call another user a pr*ck and get banned. But yet you can make down right statements that cross lines and get away with it on here :rolleyes:

Maybe the MODS should create a new forum for 'shocking stories' and then everyone can pass on condolences etc.
    LighterGuy wrote: »
    fu*king right.
    Im sure "eco hippies" will be all over this saying its just the bears nature etc :rolleyes: it should be left alone :rolleyes: .... BS. Kill it and put its head on the wall.

Absolute Horse Sh!t.

What exactly is that going to prove?

It will send out a message to all Bears not to kill and eat things or something?

Should the cubs be killed along with their mother also?

Bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Maybe if you were there you could have karate chopped the crap out of the bear and the three cubs. :rolleyes:

I don't know Karate so that would not be ideal!
    Mobile phones are solid and no bear would enjoy it banging off its head.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

lastlaugh wrote: »
    What exactly is that going to prove?

It will send out a message to all Bears not to kill and eat things or something?

Should the cubs be killed along with their mother also?

Bollocks.
    Animals that eat a human are more likely to do it again, it's common practise to kill any animal that has eaten or tried to eat a human. And yes, the cubs will be killed as well.

stevenmu wrote: »
    Animals that eat a human are more likely to do it again, it's common practise to kill any animal that has eaten or tried to eat a human. And yes, the cubs will be killed as well.

And animals that have their former habitat encrouched upon are more likely to become hungry and desperate for food. Who's fault is that?

"Six hunters were sent in by the emergency services to kill the mother bear and her three cubs.
    The double killing is the latest in a spate of bear attacks across ­Russia, as the hungry animals seek food in areas where people have ­encroached and settled on their former habitat."

I feel worse for the Bear and it's family than I do for the girl and her mother.

Please don't post things like this where I can read them so shortly after having to read your posts in the cycling thread.

I'm not sure I can bear it and need time to recover between the gargantuan doses of stupidity.

stovelid wrote: »
    Please don't post things like this where I can read them so shortly after having to read your posts in the cycling thread.

I'm not sure I can bear it and need time to recover between the gargantuan doses of stupidity.

You should be Fooking ashamed of yourself.

Now, see if you can speed up a little in your car and knock down some cyclists, there's a good girl.

And animals that have their former habitat encrouched upon are more likely to become hungry and desperate for food. Who's fault is that?
    "Fault" is a very noble concept, but if a bear was going to eat you or your family would you just let it or would you shoot it?

MiNdGaM3 wrote: »
    Seems like an awful lot to have accomplished at such a young age. Even just making it to be a trainee psychologist would take years of study.
    While it's a terrible story, a tragedy and all that, something about it just doesn't seem right to me. That's all.

Besides, they out in the wilderness, where there are bears roaming and hungry, they didn't take the required precautions and were killed by, surprise surprise, a hungry bear...

Trainee Psychologist. Is that an actual title? Remember, it didn't happen in Ireland. Are you well versed with the Siberian education system? She may have finished school at the age of 14. Who knows. A Trainee Psychologist may be somebody who has completed a two year course and is not an intern. There are many alternatives.

What precautions would you take?
    cowzerp wrote: »
    I don't know Karate so that would not be ideal!
    Mobile phones are solid and no bear would enjoy it banging off its head.

Pretty sure if you threw a phone at a bear you would find out the effects very fast.

You should be Fooking ashamed of yourself

That was actually unintentional.

Unfortunately, the contents of your post doesn't appear to be.

stevenmu wrote: »
    "Fault" is a very noble concept, but if a bear was going to eat you or your family would you just let it or would you shoot it?

That's a silly question.

I wouldn't be stupid enough to endanger my or my families lives by being in an area in which there are hungry bears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Faolchu

I'm wondering why in the hour between the first call and last call no one managed to get to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I would never want my mother to hear that.

That was actually unintentional.

Oh I know it was unintentional, but even though it was, it was a lot better than your intentional attemps at humour earlier in the thread.
    You cub all do with showing some comparison.
    Unfortunately, the contents of your post doesn't appear to be.

I don't think you should be ashamed of yourself.
    I think people are entitled to makes jokes about things without being lambasted for it.

I don't think you should be ashamed of yourself.
    I think people are entitled to makes jokes about things without being lambasted for it.

I wholly agree with you but in the original instance you highlighted I wasn't actually making a joke about the bear.

I'd be one of those people that think jokes are fair game in any AH thread but if the thread "matures" (naturally of its own accord and not through the policing of whingers), people probably shouldn't keep trying to crowbar jokes in unless the weight of people wanting to joke turns it naturally back to that course - if that makes sense.

Faolchu wrote: »
    I'm wondering why in the hour between the first call and last call no one managed to get to her

Because they were not in a city... Have you read the op? Seriously...

I wholly agree with you but in the original instance you highlighted I wasn't actually making a joke about the bear.

Fair enough, but can you explain what you were trying to say when you said; "You cub all do with showing some comparison."?

That reads to me like you were adding the 'cub' as a pun.
    I'd be one of those people that think jokes are fair game in any AH thread but if the thread "matures" (naturally of its own accord and not through the policing of whingers), people probably shouldn't keep trying to crowbar jokes in unless the weight of people wanting to joke turns it naturally back to that course - if that makes sense.

I would agree with you on this. If something is funny, it is funny, regardless of the context. I am always amazed at the shock and outrage expressed by some posters, especially in AH.
    I for one, am only here for lighthearted browsing, and occasional debate.
    Some people need to relax and not get so het up about things, but that is just my opinion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Faolchu

Because they were not in a city... Have you read the op? Seriously...

does russia not have some form of transport akin to helicopters? I mean it wasnt that remote if she could get a cell phone signal then could a helicopoter not reach her

Fair enough, but can you explain what you were trying to say when you said; "You cub all do with showing some comparison."?

That reads to me like you were adding the 'cub' as a pun.

Are you taking the piss?

I was making an intentional pun about about the 'cub' but not in the post that you originally highlighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭MiNdGaM3

Trainee Psychologist. Is that an actual title? Remember, it didn't happen in Ireland. Are you well versed with the Siberian education system? She may have finished school at the age of 14. Who knows. A Trainee Psychologist may be somebody who has completed a two year course and is not an intern. There are many alternatives.

What precautions would you take?

I'm afraid I made the bold presumption that to reach the level of "trainee", she would have needed to have completed her degree program and be doing some actual training or research work. A quick search indicates that 5-6 years study would be required before (if required) even reaching the "residency stage" in Russia (I'm presuming, once more, the general framework for Russian education is the same all over Russia).
    I doubt doing a small course entitles anybody to claim to be a trainee psychologist. Besides, she had just left music school, though then again maybe in Russia, that means a guitar lesson :rolleyes:

As for precautions, I would probably have some sort of weapon on me at all times if I was in bear territory.

Are you taking the piss?

Nope.
    I was making an intentional pun about about the 'cub' but not in the post that you originally highlighted.

I know you were making an intentional pun about the cub. And it was complete sh!t.

I was just pointing out that in your insulting post towards me, you inadvertantly came up with a better pun, that's all.