Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rings mum whilst being eaten by bear ..

• 17-08-2011 6:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

omg, imagine being the mother and your kid making these calls

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/265455/Bear-s-eating-me-girl-told-mum-in-call

A DISTRAUGHT mother listened on a mobile phone as her teenage daughter was eaten alive by a brown bear and its three cubs.
    Olga Moskalyova, 19, gave an horrific hour-long running commentary on her own death in three separate calls as the wild animals killed her.
    She screamed: “Mum, the bear is eating me! Mum, it’s such agony. Mum, help!’”
    Her mother Tatiana said that at first thought she was joking. “But then I heard the real horror and pain in Olga’s voice, and the sounds of a bear growling and chewing.”
    She added: “I could have died then and there from shock.”
    Unknown to Tatiana, the bear had already killed her husband Igor Tsyganenkov – Olga’s stepfather – by overpowering him, breaking his neck and smashing his skull. Olga, a trainee psychologist, saw the ­attack on her stepfather in tall grass and reeds by a river in Russia and fled for 70 yards before the mother bear grabbed her leg.
    As the creature toyed with her, she managed to call Tatiana several times during the prolonged attack. Tatiana rang her husband – not knowing he was ­already dead – but got no answer.
    Mum, the bear is eating me! Mum, it’s such agony. Mum, help!
    Olga
    She alerted the police and relatives in the village of Termalniy, near Petropavlovsk Kamchatskiy, in the extreme east of Siberia.
    She begged them to rush to the river where the pair had gone to retrieve a fishing rod that Igor had left.
    In a second call, a weak Olga gasped: “Mum, the bears are back. She came back and brought her three babies. They’re... eating me”.
    Finally, in her last call – almost an hour after the first – Olga sensed she was on the verge of death.
    With the bears having apparently left her to die, she said: “Mum, it’s not hurting anymore. I don’t feel the pain. Forgive me for everything, I love you so much.”

The call cut off and that was the last Tatiana heard from her ­daughter. Half an hour later, Igor’s brother Andrei arrived with police to find the mother bear still devouring his body. Badly mauled Olga was also dead.
    Six hunters were sent in by the emergency services to kill the mother bear and her three cubs.
    The double killing is the latest in a spate of bear attacks across ­Russia, as the hungry animals seek food in areas where people have ­encroached and settled on their former habitat.
    A weeping Tatiana said that Olga had everything to look forward to, and was happy with her life and boyfriend Stepan.
    “My daughter was such fun. She was so cheerful, friendly, and warm,” said Tatiana.
    “She had graduated from music school, and just days before the bear attack she got her driving licence.”
    Her husband and daughter are due to be buried today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

unbearable

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yep, if I'm being eating alive, the first thing I do is reach for my mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

That's a Beary distressing situation for her mother. She could gnaw-t see that coming I bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Stupid. She should have phoned the police, not her ma!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I've eaten many a girl but they were still alive afterwards :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Idiot, should have played dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Truely horrific. I wish I'd never read this to be honest, and that is not meant to be insulting btw.

It says a lot about the level of maturity on boards that all people can do is mock this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

craggles wrote: »

So they would've eaten her faster? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Stupid. She should have phoned the police, not her ma!
    Not stupid at all. Her ma thought it was a prank at first but then realised how serious and rang for the services to go and get her.

If she rang the police, they might not have taken her seriously either and by the time they did, she would've been in no fit state to tell them where she was. Plus she would've been scared sh!tless out of her mind and at 19 the first person you likely think of is a parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Holy fcuk :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

that story has scarred me. how horrifying :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Why didn't she just give the Bear and it's cubs a roundhouse kick to the face?

Now she has come to a Grizzly end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Horrific, not funny at all. The poor mother. They really need to preserve land and habitats for the bears rather than let development continue unchecked and result in a load of angry hungry bears...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

Is it not just Grizzly bears that fall for that playing dead thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭MiNdGaM3

So she was a trainee psychologist and had just graduated from music school at the young age of 19... interesting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Like the dead step father whom the bears were eating? Hungry bears eat things they kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Poor girl. Sympathy to the family.

Is it not just Grizzly bears that fall for that playing dead thing?

A lot of bears stop attacking if you play dead but it depends why their attacking in the first place. If you stumble onto a sleeping bear and wake him up that puts the bear in a very difficult situation, it has to decide wheter to run or attack in order to protect itself. In that situation playing dead will convince the bear your not a threat (it doesnt really think your dead). If a bear attacks out of hunger (which will happen more in the thundra regions) playing dead wont work you have to fight the bear the best you can, punching their nose or gouging its eyes sometimes works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Tell ya what.

Go find some bears, wander around their home and what not.
    When/if the bears attack, you do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Playing dead doesn't help. Bears kill to eat, not for the craic.

It seems more like the Mama Bear was getting the kiddies used to killing and eating stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Truely horrific. I wish I'd never read this to be honest, and that is not meant to be insulting btw.

It says a lot about the level of maturity on boards that all people can do is mock this.

The mods here have funny ways.A Cork v Dublin thread is locked yet some of the nasty comments on this thread are fair game.Would the very same pricks be laughing if it happened to one of there loved ones?

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

The mods here have funny ways.A Cork v Dublin thread is locked yet some of the nasty comments on this thread are fair game.Would the very same pricks be laughing if it happened to one of there loved ones.

Honestly, if this happened to someone I know.

I'd probably make the exact same puns, as well as call em feckin eejits for being in such a place.

Doesn't mean I'm not upset or in this case, sorry for the loss of the family, especially the mother who had to hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Horrific, not funny at all. The poor mother. They really need to preserve land and habitats for the bears rather than let development continue unchecked and result in a load of angry hungry bears...

was in a very remote spot apparently, just a unfortunate attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

In Soviet Russia, bear eat you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Playing dead doesn't help. Bears kill to eat, not for the craic.

It seems more like the Mama Bear was getting the kiddies used to killing and eating stuff.
    It's like when a cat gives the kittens a mouse to play with. It's just horrific to think about. An instant kill from one smack would be bad enough but the poor girl was toyed with for an hour. The pain is one thing but the terror she would have felt is unimaginable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Isn't this the second bear thread in the last couple of days. The last was about bears being abused in China. In that thread man killed bear and everyone was contemplating the pure evil of man. In this thread, bear kills man and we get the 'unbearable' type responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

mal1 wrote: »
    Isn't this the second bear thread in the last couple of days. The last was about bears being abused in China. In that thread man killed bear and everyone was contemplating the pure evil of man. In this thread, bear kills man and we get the 'unbearable' type responses.

there was plenty of those responses on that thread too :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A lot of bears stop attacking if you play dead but it depends why their attacking in the first place. If you stumble onto a sleeping bear and wake him up that puts the bear in a very difficult situation, it has to decide wheter to run or attack in order to protect itself. In that situation playing dead will convince the bear your not a threat (it doesnt really think your dead). If a bear attacks out of hunger (which will happen more in the thundra regions) playing dead wont work you have to fight the bear the best you can, punching their nose or gouging its eyes sometimes works.

Far as I know this depends on the kind of bear, black bears or brown bears. Playing dead with one kind is the right thing to do, but with the other kind it's completely the wrong thing to do.

Can't remember off hand which is which, but I think black bears you should make a lot of noise, brown bears you roll up into a ball (open to correction on that). Horrific story anyway. Hope the authorities caught up to the bears in question.

I don't understand... would you not ring emergency services or something?
    It's horrible and all... but she rang her several times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

bluewolf wrote: »

hello Im being attacked by a bear!
    where are you
    the middle of nowhere!
    ok bear with us
    no he's with us!
    mam, the ambulance wont believe me!
    but your a 19 year old trainee psychologist, use the force!

oh the mum called
    fair enough so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You cub all do with showing some comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

oh the mum called
    fair enough so

To be honest, even if she had called the mother 3 times...shock reactions can be really ****ing weird things.

You can do all kinds of mad **** and not really know why.

To be honest, even if she had called the mother 3 times...shock reactions can be really ****ing weird things.

You can do all kinds of mad **** and not really know why.

Oh i know, i know, god only knows what any of us would do, it just seemed at a glance that nobody called them and the mum was sitting there listening to a commentary! so i got a bit confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Shock can make your mind work in strange ways. I know an old fella that says he came across a motorcycle accident about 30 years ago and the rider was just walking down the road as if nothing happened to him. When your man asked if he was ok the guy just said yeah, and that he was heading home. He had extremely severe injuries to his upper body, and dropped dead a minute later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Thats totally ursine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

barone wrote: »
    was in a very remote spot apparently, just a unfortunate attack

The article mentioned there've been loads of bear attacks in the last while due to development encroaching on their natural habitat so they're hungrier...not sure how that relates to where the attack happened though but must have some connection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's actually seems curiously logical that you might ring your mother for help if in deep shock and dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

If it was Gerry Ryan who had been killed by the bear I imagine nobody here would be cracking such grizzly jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

Such a grizzly tale...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

stovelid wrote: »
    It's actually seems curiously logical that you might ring your mother for help if in deep shock and dying.

Exactly, wtf are people whining about. She called her ma as she was dying. Hardly out of the ordinary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

WindSock wrote: »
    stovelid wrote: »

Exactly, wtf are people whining about. She called her ma as she was dying. Hardly out of the ordinary.

I believe dying soldiers calling out for their mother during world war 2 was a common occurrence. I remember seeing it on one of History channel's documentaries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

If she had her phone why didn't she check in on facebook with a last gasp LOL thrown into it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Mega-merge with 'worst ways to die' thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Awful. Words can't convey how awful.

Some sick ****s in this thread too.

WindSock wrote: »

i'm not whining i was confused!!! :(

Morlar wrote: »
    Far as I know this depends on the kind of bear, black bears or brown bears. Playing dead with one kind is the right thing to do, but with the other kind it's completely the wrong thing to do.

Can't remember off hand which is which, but I think black bears you should make a lot of noise, brown bears you roll up into a ball (open to correction on that). Horrific story anyway. Hope the authorities caught up to the bears in question.

Well yea the type of bear is important but more important is the bear's intent towards you eg attack in fear or hunger. A polar bear will nearly always attack out of hunger where as a lot of grizzly attacks are out of fright and black bears rarely fatally injure man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I've eaten many a girl but they were still alive afterwards :pac:

Only because you've no teeth!

I believe dying soldiers calling out for their mother during world war 2 was a common occurrence. I remember seeing it on one of History channel's documentaries

A soldier who was killed in northern Ireland called out mother when he was shot. Things like that arent to be laughed at, its no surprise either were all human and in a moment of pain and terror who are we to laugh at a young girl looking to seek comfort of the woman who raised her.